We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2012 and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you do enjoy a cocktail or three then the all inclusive option works out cheaper as the drinks can be a bit pricey. The food was superb, especially at Paul and Virginies. The beach bar was a great for lunch and it served the best burger we've ever had. Tea time cocktails at the coconut bar was a must. All in all we had a great time made possible by the staff La Pirogue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 3,319 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having just returned from 12 nights at La Pirogue we thought we would share our views of this hotel. It was our first visit to Mauritus and i would recommend Oct or Nov as being a good time to go, it was hot but not unbearable. The customer service was excellent and everyone had a smile on their faces. In the restaurant the service (thanks Rajesh) was first class nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and the maids again provided excellent service (thanks Maryvonne) with flowers and decorations regularly provided. The beach and sports services were again all excellent. We chose half board as we aren't big drinkers and often don't feel the need for a full midday meal. Yes drink prices were not cheap but then again you have to look at the overall package and besides there was a supermarket oppersite and a mini bar in your room and we made full use of both. We also used the facilities of the sister hotel the Sugar Beach which is handy as we alternated between both hotels evening buffets and the Italian Citronella's which was good. Have to say having read a few of the negative comments regarding customer service at the Sugar Beach we agreed its no where as good as La Pirogue's although the buffet setting is superior.

The standard rooms at La Pirogue were ok, very clean and functional but some people commented that for a 4+ hotel they expected more.

If you want a great day out try Casela's Nature Park and walk with lions or tigers its not cheap but is a once in a lifetime experience.

If your looking for a great location to unwind, sip your cocktails and watch fantastic sunsets then you'd have to go a long way to beat this place, we loved it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAPHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

our 6 nights stay in la pirogue was just amazing...when we arrived,we were too tired to do anything,the staffs were so warm,professional and helpful.we did just a simple checked in procedure,and sent us straight to our beautiful hut..;) a few minutes in the room,they sent us some delicious meals,so that we dont have to come out for dinner free of charge...how thoughtful..
we chose for half board instead of all inclusive,since we were always on excursion in the afternoon...the food was super nice and they changed the menu everyday so you wont get bored..
the hotel,the beach and surroundings were beautiful...we were able to enjoy the sunset on the beach every evening..and not to forget the kids club that always make our daughter refused to come back to us every night..;p
and are we going to go there again?yes....absolutely...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were there in October 2012 for our honeymoon. Although few clouds, the weather and temperature were great and we could enjoy this fantastic resort. Very well furnished, people around always smiling and helpful, and also superior food. We suggest the "swimming with the dolphin" experience... simply amazing!!!
The only spot was that small boats can come very close to the shore, which may be dangerous, and also polluting for the water.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StefanoLion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Good for scuba diving as the Padi centre is on site and has a very good service. You can do two dives a day, and possibly three if there are enough divers up for it (4). The hotel serously lacks in good customer service skills and consistent service. It seems to be properly staffed (in numbers) but many of them seem to be lingering around doing nothing or slowly one thing at a time; there is no concept of multitasking or timeliness! The paid Internet service is terrible & much slower than 3G. You are tied to the hotel as only a few Restaurants in walking distance and taxis have no meters and charge up to £20 for a 10min ride in a country where you can have lunch for £1.

If you can get a good deal where you get an all inclusive package and enjoy free aquatic sports, buffet dinning and sunbathing, then this might be your dream holiday.

On the other hand, if your expectations are set for that little bit extra that tends to come with a 4+ star, just look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagnetikRob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Decent hotel and well maintained. The standard rooms are good but the interior looks quite old as compared to other hotels in Mauritius. Dinner and breakfast at the thatched restaurant were excellent with a lot of variety. Hotel staff were very helpful. Hotel facilities and complimentary sports activities were very basic. I felt the swimming pool was a let down. There is a spa which is shared with Sugar beach but it is very disappointing.

Overall, for the price, its good and value for money but the hotel is getting old and it needs uplifting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Yep....second visit to the fantastic La Pirogue, and still the same as last year..paradise!!
Staff second to none and most recognised us from the year before, so the service was wonderful.
Accomodation in the Standard room as good as ever and food plentiful and very varied. Was on all inclusive again which meant no big bill at end of holiday...I think well worth it if you want drinks and excellent meals.
Without repeating myself too much on my last review of this Hotel, just check out the other reviews and you'll get the picture! If you want sun, sand, beautiful seas and excellent service then visit this place!....overall a perfect Hotel on a gorgeous Island. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Standard rooms very adequate, two minutes from the beach. We had room 61 last year and 57 this year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Davebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $284 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing