We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We loved our weeklong stay at La Pirogue, its exactly what we expected, warm weather, a tropical resort filled with palm trees, kind and attentive staff, plenty of activities for teens, a large variety of food at the hotel buffet, endless Pina Coladas. For the very picky traveller, the rooms are a little dated, good wine is avaliable but at a price, the fish dishes in the hotel restaurant are truly 5* where the meat dishes were 3*. For the rest, we will certainly recommend La Pirogue and will return one day again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,123)
There are newer reviews for La Pirogue Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 3,123 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Recently returned from a holiday in Mauritus and stayed at the immaculate La Pirogue at Flic en Flac on the West coast. As others have commented, was paradise from the start. The staff did everything for you, they could not have been more helpful or friendly. Food was excellent in all restaurants and being on All Inclusive, no big bill at the end. The mini bar in the standard room was restocked each day and drinks at all bars were superb. The gardens were immaculate, I'm sure they swept the grass!! White sands and blue sea and fine weather, even Sept which is just the start of their Summer. I could go on and on with all the positive reasons for staying at La Pirogue, but read other people's comments and you'll get the picture! Would strongly recommend this hotel and will be returning next year. (Check out the Web site on La Pirogue, stunning pictures and as good as it looks!)
(Having spent four years on this island some 45 years ago, La Pirogue did not exist, but I'm glad they developed it!!) Was paradise...still is paradise..

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine, have everything you need. Large bed, t,v. telephone, bath, shower, air con...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had researched numerous Mauritian venues and picked this one as 'likely to succeed".
Our expectations were fulfilled. The physical amenities, from dining area to pool, to (shared) gym were all first rate. The cabin was immaculately presented and quiet. Good bed!
Staff service was efficient and friendly and of a standard often associated with smaller 'boutique' hotels and the food was varied and tasty.
Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macdood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just like to say that rather than repeat what many others have said - its all true.

We stayed here on honeymoon after looking at numerous others - and really glad we did.
As one of the original developments on this coast they obviously picked the best bit of beach as a walk up past the Hilton etc along the road showed that their beach wasn't a match for La Pirogue. We also drove up to the North east coast one day and although nice, just were not as nice or peaceful as "ours".

The resort itself is fabulous, understated and relaxed compared to sister hotel Sugar beach next door which struck us as a bit prissy and toytown. The accommodation is fine, standard rooms were more than adequate and were kept spotlessly clean by the very efficient housekeeping staff.

Talking of staff - there were many, which resulted in excellent efficient service. We were staying in the early part of their summer season and I'd say it was about 60% full and they were geared up for a busy time. Excellent service from all.

Food and drink - All Inclusive or not?? We paid a supplement for the All Inclusive option and was glad we did as it took a lot of worrying and doubt away. Adding up the value of what we had it equated to about the same but we were not going mad drinking (no one was - its that sort of place, in fact a lot of people just disappeared about 9.30 where to? It may have been it was just too expensive to carry on having a drink). There's no wristbands or anything, just a bill presented which you sign and it gets registered on their system. As a result of seeing the bill, you also get to see how much it all costs - £50 lunch (pizzas, salad and couple of beers) anyone? If you go all AI you can eat selected things (all good) from the several restaurants on both hotels, otherwise you would easily spend £100+ on a meal (albeit very nice)

Thatches buffet - very good quality
Paul et Virginie - Good but could do with some more lights so you could see what you are eating and the waiters could see where they are going!
Beach bar - Probably our favourite - no food in the evenings though which is a shame.
La Badiane - sorry didnt actually go here...
Sugar Beach - Tides. Lovely, try and get a table on the sand. Terrific food and presentation. Amazing pork kakuni dish which I had two nights in a row. Tastes fantastic and I liked watching the expressions of other diners having the same dish.

We went on a few trips, including a tour of the south west of the island, which after a few stops in shops and outlets that frankly we just weren't interested in showed some stunning landscapes and features of the island.

As someone else has suggested, get some swimming shoes for use in the sea it is uncomfortable otherwise. Take your goggles and snorkel ( or use the hotel's) and go out on the snorkelling trip - free- which sometimes goes beyond the reef - fantastic. Look out for the fruit bats of an evening - they are no problem but look quite scary (about the size of a crow!)

Anyway to sum up it was a terrific holiday/honeymoon. The resort is terrific, the clientele well behaved and hardly any children (hence a quiet pool!)

Would definately return again.

Anyway, it

Room Tip: We didn't give it a thought but luckily we were allocated a non smoking room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DaveT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have just returned from La Pirogue and cannot stop talking to everyone about it!! We very carefully selected this hotel after hours of research as we wanted to make sure the location we chose would fit all criterias:
- beautiful beach & sea we could swin in!
I had read a lot of comments from people saying you could not go on the beach because of the coral, which was nonsense! Yes there is coral in the sand & sea, but you can still walk on the beach, although i would definitely recommend aqua shoes to go in the water
- nice weather
A few locals confirmed to us that the west coast is the best as it is drier, less windy (particularly compared to the east coast) & sunsets are stunning. we experienced all this to be true.
- good food & choice of restaurants
Food was of a high standard and although we initially thought that having gone on the All inclusive might mean restricted choice, this was not the case at all. There is an abundance of food & drinks available on the All inclusive and the quality is superb. We dined mainly at the Thatches as there was so much choice with a different themed buffet every night, but also got to eat at La Badiane which we would highly recommend trying for a more intimate romantic setting, and also had a superb meal at Paul & Virginie, organised for our honeymoon.

The staff at La Pirogue were so helpful & could teach a lot to English businesses about customer service! Everyone was extremely friendly & could not do enough for us. Other people have already commented on how helpful staff are . The staff really do make every effort possible to make sure you enjoy your stay at la pirogue.

We would definitely recommend the All inclusive as literally everything is included! There is no hidden extras to pay for as long as you choose the items clearly marked on the menus with a green star and our bill was nothing on check out. Our mini bar was stocked up everyday - we enjoyed a few cocktails & glasses of wine throughout the day, took a trip out on the glass bottom boat, pedalos & kayak, played mini golf, petanque & still didn't get to enjoy all the faciities of the resort!
Our accommodation (Room 80) was great, in a brilliant location (about 1min30seconds walk to the beach!). We went for a Standard room & didn't regret our choice. Bed was huge, room was nice & very clean with air con and ceiling fan, all rooms have a patio with chairs & table.
All in all, this truly felt like paradise & we hope to go back at some point.
o.k, an all inclusive holiday at la pirogue is not cheap, but definitely worth every penny.
I have already written a lot but Don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions or want more details!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SweetSugarBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

One of the most enjoyable places we have been to, and without a doubt would return to. The gardens with 2000 palm trees are amazing. The staff are super-friendly and always helpful. Food was of a high standard and plentiful. The free water sports possibilities were greater than anywhere I have seen (even water skiiing). There is also a spa area with complimentary hamam. One is totally pampered here and indeed it is like paradise.

The weather in early September (8-15) was perfect, blue skies on all but one day, temps of 26-29C.Can't imagine how hot it will be in summer! Being on the western side of the island you get the beautiful sunsets. The thatched bungalows are great and plenty big enough. If I had a gripe it would be that the shower equipment was a little old. But the beds were comfortable, and walking out every morning into the gardens was food for the soul! And the whole area was very clean, including the guest toilets (which deserve a particular mention because they were just so clean and fresh).

We looked at some of the other hotels in this area just to see, and La Pirogue is definitely the one to stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank AstroSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were blissfully pampered by the hotel staff throughout our short stay, even up to the point of the staff carrying our plate from the buffet area to our dining table, removing the plates immediately we have finished, refolding our napkins..... They were always smiling ! Dinner was by theme and gargantuesque ! The hotel consists of thatched bungalows in a well managed garden full of coconut trees. The room we stayed in (N° 113) was a bit old, small but clean. Anyway we were the whole day outside ! The spa, particularly the hammam was a delight. The yoga class was a bit too high level for me. They should have organised for different groups taking into account that not all residents are experienced. The corals seen were unfortunately not up to our expectations. Definitely worth a stay !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clearsea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,475 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $283 - $1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius
La Pirogue Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing