We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull venue and staff, shame about the cost of wine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Booked with letsgo2, paid a little extra for direct flights with BA (12 hours).
Private car from airport to hotel.
Arrived 10:00am local time and were allowed our room early.
Comfortable, clean, plenty of hanging space etc.
1st night, wine list.... I've left my glasses in the room so wife has wine list. She chose the cheapest bottle on there which turns out to be £60!!! Only bottle we bought from them all holiday.
Buffet, good but some strange combo's.
Our waiters for the almost entire two weeks, Vikash and Vikal, were top drawer, always going the extra mile.
The entertainment was good, the resident band tried to vary things a bit and the dancers were very good.
Plenty of free activities, cylcle rides (with a bit of tour guide slant), aqua gym every morning at 11.00 is a laugh and snorkling eqipment was free to hire (although the experience was only 5/10), aslo pedalo's, mini golf, salsa lessons and canoes all free.
The setting and pool is outstanding, the sister restaurant in Sugar Beach, Citronella's, was nice (and the wine started at only £21 a bottle).
Temps for 2 weeks starting 27th May were 27 degrees most days with a sea breeze. It rained for one hour on our third day, a bit cloudy on one or two other days.

Overall a very good experience, go there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 3,319 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

stayed here for a week and had a brilliant time.
the rooms were spacious and clean and very comfortable and after a week and half away without a TV was great to have a flat screen in our room.
Food everynight was good - sometimes its brilliant at other times it was fine. Breakfasts were great. We went half board and we are not big eaters or drinkers and just went to the shops outside the complex to get something to eat. we went to Cafe Tourisma which i would not recommend. My husband and I went there and had a cheese panini (with no cheese inside) and chips (very greasy). the only thing i would recommend would be the sugar cane juice which they make fresh.
At the restaurant in La Pirogue - some of the waiters can be abrupt and werent happy when we didnt order wine with our dinner but thats the customers perogative! it did feel like we were treated slightly different by some of the waiters because of this!
I would definitely recommend eating at Sugar Beach which you have to book with Reception. I would also recommend eating at the Mauritian restaurant. We did eat at Paul & Virginie but thought the Mauritian restaurant was better. Again these all have to booked through reception.
There is internet access and you can have wi-fi (at a cost) if you bring your laptop with you although this isnt configured for i-phones.
the evening entertainment was hit and miss. the dancers were good and the singers were sometimes excellent. a few were cringeworthy but it all added to the experience.

one night they had a management reception in the grounds(which took all day to set up) to which we were all invited - as we were hungry we went and had a quick look and then eat with the aim to come back afterwards. stalls were set up with lots of gifts and jewellery etc. By the time we came back (only an hour later) they were packed up and gone so i would recommend the hotel prolong this so people can eat and then look.

the beach was lovely and there are hawkers but they dont bother you. the pool was refreshing and cleaned religiously everyday and the grounds are stunning.
All in all, we had a brilliant honeymoon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We visited La Pirogue for the day whilst staying at Le Meridien where are less than pleased - decided to hire a car and see other hotels. My wife had been to La Pirogue many years ago and had great memories.

We immediately found the Hotel and f/o Manager welcoming - great threshold experience.

The staff were all polite, service was excellent although bar prices were not cheap which is the norm in Mauritian hotels (3 rum cocktails plus 3 fruit juices were over 50Euro). The grounds were pristine and guests looked happy.

Dont let the star rating put you off... it had a 5 star service.

Room Tip: Shops 15min walk or 5 on bike. Horse Ride nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorkNPlayHomenAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Our stay at La Pirogue on our honeymoon was everything and more than we could have hoped for. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, the facilities were great and our room was perfect. Thanks for making our time in Mauritius so special, we will be back. Nancy & Jeff Forster, Australia..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fozzees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I want to write a balanced review of La Pirogue, having stayed at the hotel for the second time in March. La Pirogue is good value, but it simply is not perfect. I will begin with the negative aspects of our stay. These comments are on the rating card we left at the hotel so I do hope that management takes note of these concerns.
Issues:
1. Smoking. While the majority of the first world has recognised that smoking causes cancer, La Pirogue seems to be in denial about this. Smoking seems to be encouraged in all areas of the hotel. The many European tourists seemed to not care at all about lighting up a cigarette, cigar , pipe, or whatever next to us and our four month old baby, in restaurants, at the pool or wherever. Smokers will never willingly deny themselves their disgusting habit and for that reason La Pirogue should have smoking and non smoking sections. Its a shame to see this going on in this day and age............
2. Front desk: despite our best efforts at communication the front desk made several booking and billing errors. Not a major issue but I would suggest checking the bill at the end of the stay
3. Airport transfer. Although not directly afilliated with the hotel, their contracted transfer service" Summertimes" tours made an error on our paperwork and booked us on an incorrect flight back to Johannesburg. Only after reconfirming our tickets myself was the error fixed. We would all have missed our flights if the mistake hadn't been picked up so be very careful to reconfirm your return flights accurately.
4. Large family groups. I dont think that La Pirogue can adequtely handle large groups. We travelled in a group of nine( 5 rooms) and despite several attempts to clearly state who was who, it never really worked to the point where my sister and I were congratulated on our wedding anniversary???. How can the front desk explain that despite us sending several clear emails about the room allocation in the group, they had it all wrong when we arrived, and had failed to fix it on their system by them time we left 7 days later?
5. Booking La Citronelle. This restaurant has to be booked 24 hours in advance. Despite trying every day for 3 days, first thing in the morning, we were told that the restaurant was fully booked by a " large group of people". We noted that the restaurant was almost empty every night and eventually protested and a booking was made for us. I'm not sure why this happened...????

The positive side
1. Most excellent location. The beach is one of the best on the island and the weather is great
2. The service of most of the people we encountered was very good
3. The food at Thatches, Paul and Virginie , La Citronelle and at Sugar Beach was very good. While it will always bug me that wine / alcohol is so expensive in Mauritius, they charges us a small corkage fee which helped.
4. The swimming pools at La Pirogue and Sugar beach are excellent.
5. The kids club helped us a lot with our four month old ...... much appreciated
6. Aura spa: had massages and several other treatments there and the service was cery good!
All in all it was a good experience. I am not sure if we would return. I will be looking for a hotel with improved non smoking facilities for our third trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kjfmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed at LA PIROGUE for 8nights during JAN 2011 with our 4 KIDS (AGE 5-11).
The resort is GREAT FOR HONEYMOONERS AND FAMILIES ALIKE. Great care is taken to ensure that both parents and kids have a wonderful time. The Kids Club is open until 22:00 at night-This gives parents time to enjoy dinner or some private time together. THERE ARE LOADS OF ACTIVITIES FOR THE KIDS TO ENJOY . We spent most days with the kids but they loved going to the kids club at least for a while every day. My daughter celebrated her birthday during our stay and the staff went out of their way to give her A WONDERFUL TIME. They baked her a delicious choc cake and she enjoyed a small party that she will always remember.
The rooms were average and new beds would be great.We had stiff backs after the first night but on mentioning this to management our beds were immediately changed and we were given feather pillows. We did not spend much time in the room which is a bit small but still comfortable and clean. FOR A BIG RESORT SERVICE IS EXCELLENT AND STAFF ARE HIGHLY EFFICIENT AND FRIENDLY.
Food is excellent and there is always a great selection . Evening entertainment is enjoyable. THE POOL IS BEAUTIFUL and the beach is nice although the coral is dead ,like the rest of Mauritius beaches. Snorkeling is average.
If you are keen on CLEANLINESS AND SERVICE YOU WILL ENJOY LA PIROGUE. IT IS A LOVELY HOTEL WITH BEAUTIFUL GARDENS AND A PLACE WHERE YOU CAN RELAX & UNWIND.
I suggest booking half board. You can enjoy meals at Sugar Beach Resort as well on Haf Board. Breakfast is a bit better at Sugar Beach but dinner is always extraordinary at La Pirogue especially when it is Mauritian Buffet. The Citronella Cafe makes lovely pastas and pizzas.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KwazuluNatalSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed here for 8 nights after a trip to South Africa to finish off our honeymoon. Lovely hotel with plenty to do during the day. The room was ok, perhaps a little dated. I would probably upgrade if I went again. Nice beach, nice pool, excellent food. We also went to neighbouring Sugar Beach one evening. There was a very different vibe there, a much trendier bar and entertainment set up. The food was also excellent.
If I went back to Flic en Flac I would probably stay at Sugar Beach as I preferred the more modern feel, but La Pirogue was very good value for an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kk413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,666 reviews
11.5 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $284 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing