We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Holiday”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Me and my wife went for our honeymoon to Mauritius and just wanted to inform people of the positives and the negatives to the hotel.

Positives:

Friendly Staff
Nice Rooms
Great Pool
Great View
Breakfast (we were on half board)

Negatives:

Beach wasnt great (sand had broken shells everywhere and although we could snorkel for free there was nothing but weeds to see and maybe 1 small fish in the whole area)
Dinner
Restaurants didnt have air conditioning (this might just be a personal thing but when I eat I prefer to be at a comfortable temperature and not have to wear long pants for dinner in 30+ humid weather)
Distance to anything (there is probably nothing to do within walking distance to the hotel. You will either need to hire a car or grab a taxi/cab.)

Recommendations (For Mauritius in General not reflected on Hotel):

Acitivities:

The only activity that me and my wife really enjoyed was the "walk with the Lions", Sub Scooter and probably just seeing the sites around Port Louis (as this is the capital it was just more of a tourist thing). The other attractions we went to werent presented the best and just seemed to lack anything that made us think "WOW".

Other:

Personally if I was to go back to Mauritius I think I would stay near Grand Bay as we did the Sub Scooter there and the beaches there seemed to be the beaches you would see in tropical posters (Crystal Blue Water and nice soft sand). I am not sure what hotels/accommodation there is there but we enjoyed the beaches there alot more then we did near Flic en Flac & Wolmer. There are alos signs of civilisation at Grand Bay and there are shops to visit within close proximity.

Also although the main language is supposedly english there are alot of people who cannot speak english at all and most speak Creole and French as their native language. Another thing to note is that there isnt much sense of a queue in Mauritius. I am not sure if that is a norm that we were just unaware of but queuing once in town is non existent. This is not a reflection on the hotel but just a general observation.

Overall it was a great honeymoon and a very enjoyable holiday but as stated above I would stay at Grand Bay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n412io
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    480
    219
    85
    48
See reviews for
490
958
49
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We very highly recommend this hotel! The staff were constantly going out of their way to please. Never before have we experienced such wonderful service. The food was excellent and the hotel amenities irreproachable. Our only problem had nothing to do with the hotel but rather with the online reservation web site Orbitz.com. NEVER EVER use Orbitz for a booking - better to pay a few more dollars than deal with incompetence, unreliability and complete disorganization! Go to this hotel - you'll love it! BUT make sure you DO NOT BOOK THROUGH ORBITZ.COM!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSQuebec_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from an 11 day stay at the Sofitel Imperial and would like to share our views about it. The most appropriate word to describe our stay - and the hotel in general, is probably 'nice'. Superb, classy, or great value for money, it quite emphatically isn't - and whilst there were several aspects that met or exceeded our expectations, there were just as many that didn't.

It would be fair to start with some plus points. The pool is splendid. It's extremely large with various areas for children, casual dippers or the more serious swimmer. We found the beach to be very good too and the aspect looking south to Morne, particularly impressive. There seemed to be plenty of parasols and loungers to accommodate everyone, although those on the beach look somewhat past their best. The water sports centre has a fair range boats and equipment etc, to use for free. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the themed areas and water features all add to an air of tranquility.

So what's the problem then? Well, on the downside, here's a few examples. The splendid pool has a large surrounding area which is so old and tired, with broken or missing tiles and little or no mortar in places. This seems totally at odds with the magnificence of the pool itself and lets it down badly.

If you did any research before making a decision upon this hotel, you may have wondered why there are few, if any, shots of the outside of the accommodation. This is not surprising, for the drab exteriors of the staggered rows of rooms are not what you may expect of a 5 star rating. The rooms are OK - ish, but the approach to them via long open corridors is reminiscent of cell blocks. There are several other class hotels along this stretch of Wolmar beach - all of which seem proud to show off their superior looking accommodation, rather than hide behind the camouflage of trees etc, as the Sofitel does.

The staff in general were pleasant and accommodating, with the exception of some of the younger waiters and waitresses who could be decidedly surly at times.

It's the prices however, which were our main bone of contention. We had booked a bed and breakfast deal direct, on the premise that there would be a selection of restaurants, beach bars etc, in close proximity, to alternate with the hotel's offering for a bit of variety. Big mistake. There is nothing. Not even a beach food or drinks vendor and you can see why the hotel wants to keep it that way. The nearest bar or restaurant is in Flic en Flac some 5 kms away and even when you're there, none of them are anything to write home about.

If you were to have a full or half board package, the price of meals, at least, would be less apparent but we quickly became disillusioned at paying 50 to 60 pounds for a 2 light meals at lunchtime or over a 100 pounds for 2 buffet meals and two glasses of wine of an evening. Add to this a cost of 30 pounds for a cheap bottle of South African wine, a 10 pound plus hit for a cocktail - except when half price during happy hour - where they were so weak it was laughable - and you get the picture. There is a good quality restaurant above the water sports centre which we decided to visit one evening. The food was first class, which kind of made up for the expense - but guess what? We were the only people there, sitting alone on the beach, and you could see why. All the half and full boarders were filling themselves up back at the buffet.

In view of all this, we still had a nice time. But then just nice is not really what you're looking for on a holiday with this price tag. Would we go back? Not really.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARKENNARDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stay two weeks at Sofitel for holidays in March 2010. The hotel is wonderful, with nice design. The rooms are comfortable and good maintained. The whole hotel is very clean; our room was cleaned up in an excellent way by a very friendly Madam Brigitte. The food was good. Breakfast was a big buffet with hot food, fruits, toasters and all the usual things. Dinner was a massive buffet including lots of different types of foods specially lot of fish (every evening with a special theme like Mauritian, French, Italian, Fish, …). We booked a full board accommodation; unfortunately the noon buffet was very poor, there were only few types of salad and a couple of hot dishes. At the beginning the buffet was served next to the beach (full of fly and under the sun), after we complained about this unacceptable situation the buffet was moved to the main restaurant. If you have any problems talk to the receptionist, but if you get an unsatisfactory answer ask to speak with the responsible of the service they will do something (and not only say “yes yes” as happen in most hotels”). We fully advise this hotel, but without full board.
If you stay at sofitel and wish to have a special day on the sea ask on the beach about Ticou. He organize one day excursion by boat (you will be the only guest on board, so you really feel like a king). You will start from the hotel and go to a small bay right behind the corner to watch dolphins and swim with them if you wish. Then you proceed (during the navigation you can fish or not, remember you are the king and you can decide) to a beautiful place to do snorkeling really like being in an aquarium, than you go to the Benitiers Island (ile aux Benitiers) an uninhabited island south of Flic and Flac were you will eat on the beach lobster and ton fish grilled, really great cooked. Thanks to the Ticou’s team.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gimo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I went there to celebrate my parent's 26th anniversary and had a fabulous stay at the Sofitel. The rooms very beautiful and had gorgeous ocean view. The decor was modern and had almost all the amenities. However, the room lacked a clock so we had to search for our phones to check the time.

The breakfast buffet was good but not great. It could be a lot better.. They lack variety and had same things everyday. Nothing changed for 7 nights we stayed there. We also ate at their restaurants and nothing impressed me much.

The service was outstanding. They really took care of us and also send a cake and champagne for my parents which was a nice touch.

Overall, a good hotel. If they can improve their food, it can really top other hotels in Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shikhasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egelsbach, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed there for 12 days and really felt comfortable and welcome. The hotel area is large and totally uncrowded. You absolutely can relax and enjoy the beach on daybeds. Also the service is extremely professional, all staff is friendly and helpful.
Never stayed at a hotel better than this!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HifiMatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

The service at Sofitel Wolmar was very good and the staff did their best to our service.
The rooms were always well cleaned and everything around the hotel was very proper.
We liked best to stay in the the garden which was proper, quiet and with lots of sunbeds.
The meals at the hotel were always well tasting and if there was something we didn´t really appreciate we would complain at the many birds sitting at our chairs and tables during meals.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugglorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,127 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
845 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing