We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The room was comfortable, the breakfast was great, and the overall stay was excellent.

The late check-out was very much appreciated--it allowed me to have a quick shower after running around most of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank anarinees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your view of our property on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled to learn that your overall stay was "excellent and that you found breakfast great and the room comfortable".
We shall share your feedback with our Team who will be all the more motivated to continue to excel in their service to our valued Guests.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial and thank you once again for your very nice comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, a little taste of paradise. I stayed on my own as a solo traveller for 8 nights as I had a been invited to a traditional Mauritian wedding and wanted a holiday beforehand. The staff went out of their way to make me feel completely at home especially Joy the head concierge who arranged trips out for me with a lovely driver. There were so many wonderful thoughtful little touches. The minute I stepped through the beautiful entrance I was given an icy cool fragrant flannel which just what was needed after the flight and taxi ride (a nice quick 40 mins from the airport). The room was turned down with a little chocolate every night and fresh bottles of water provided. The maid even made a butterfly shape of my nightie, these little things just make you feel special and looked after. In the morning the chef remembered that I liked grilled tomatoes and cooked them specially for me without me even asking, so sweet. I had a glass of bubbly for breakfast one morning and the lovely girl brought freshly squeezed orange juice with it, again without me asking. I went half board and the food was out of this world, delicious, beautifully prepared and really nothing was too much trouble for the attentive, gracious staff. The room was spotless with an amazing huge bed and stunning bathroom, dressing room and balcony. The location is stunning, like something out of a Bond film, white sandy beach, beautiful clear water, azure blue sky and tall palms swaying in the breeze. I just cannot recommend this hotel enough, really had the holiday of a lifetime, thank you Sofitel!

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room so you get a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaJoanne666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

We are delighted to learn through TripAdvisor that your stay was indeed enjoyable and that you found the Sofitel L'Impérial "absolutely fabulous" and had "a taste of paradise" during your holidays.
Thank you so much for sharing your impression; our Ambassadors will all the more be motivated to continue on this track to provide quality service to our valued Guests.

We look forward to welcome you once again to our property and reiterate our appreciation to you for those lovely comments.

Kind Regards


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into Sofitel Imperial after Le Meridien overbooked and we were forced out as a result. While the Sofitel website indicated that there was ample children's facilities, there is practically nothing. Our children (2 four year olds and 2 two year olds) have nothing to do in the "kids club" in the evenings, besides watching French children's television. The 16 year old has NO other teenagers his age at the resort. The resort is filled mainly with older people. Not family friendly at all. The prices are also RIDICULOUS, charging R700 for a R50 bottle of South African wine. We are on a "full board" package and the menu is incredibly limited - with very few options available. While the hotel is beautiful and the service almost impeccable, this IS NOT a family friendly hotel. Will be going back to Sugar Beach next year, without question.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for sharing your opinion of the Sofitel Mauritius L’Imperial on TripAdvisor.

We are so sorry to learn that our services did not meet your expectations in some areas. We have well noted your comments on the Kids Villa and shall take necessary measures to review this particular service.
Concerning the price of wines, please be informed that the wines we import from foreign countries are heavily taxed and are of course more expensive. Rs 700.00 (17,50 Euros) is however a reasonable price for a bottle of imported wine.
As for the choice of Menus, we offer a different themed Buffet every evening and four restaurants to choose from to cater for all our Guests.

We however appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better.

Yours Sincerely,



Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

After honeymooning here in 1993 we decided to return for our 20th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The hotel and area was beautiful 20 years ago and now is even more so especially the new additions to the hotel itself. The Japanese Garden which our suite opened out onto, was both relaxing and tranquil but only a short stroll to the main part of the hotel and beach.
Staff were wonderful and very helpful. All three restaurants served outstanding food and entertainment in the bar was of a high standard.
In 20 years, Flic En Flac has become a lively resort with a good selection of restaurants, a few shops and even a night club. And don't be put off by the little street-side eateries, they are very good and there's nothing wrong with going local.
From Sofitel it is approximately 45 minutes easy saunter along the beach to Flic En Flac, in one direction, and about the same to Tamarin Bay in the other direction, something we did almost every day.
We won't be leaving it another 20 years before we return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your view on our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you chose the Sofitel L'Imperial once more for your anniversary and that your stay has been up to your expectations.

We shall transmit your appreciation to our staff you found "wonderful and helpful". Your very positive comments will indeed motivate us all further as we strive to excel in our service to our valued Guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and thank you once more for your very positive comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited Sofitel L'imperial resort & Spa in October, we had a ground floor room which opened up to the grass area right by the beach. Room was spacious, and clean and beds were so comfortable. We were half board and thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast aswell as the buffet dinner which changed theme every night, with half board you also get to dine in the Chinese restaurant (5 course meal) which was amazing and you can also dine at the Teppanyaki restaurant which was outstanding (you pay a small fee extra).
We visited the spa twice and both times we were very impressed, wonderful service and treatments, the pool was great although would have preferred if the water was a little warmer but every morning I joined in the water aerobics which was great as well as the Volley ball on the beach which was everyday at 4pm. We made use of the free water activities and also paid to go on the dolphin excursion which was brilliant, well worth the money.
We were very fortunate to be at the hotel for the grand re opening, it was a night to remember with soo many food stations, cocktails, entertainment, fireworks and traditional music played.
I would especially like to say thank you to 'Joy' who is head of concierge, he checked us in, and was always around incase we needed anything - so helpful. Also Prettam Hoolooman who was very helpful and friendly and always had a smile on his face. The majority of the staff were very friendly, helpful and always around incase guests need anything.
We popped into the local town one night to watch the football and have a drink which was nice, and there is also a supermarket 5 mins drive from the hotel if you need any essentials.
We wuld definitely visit this hotel again- thank you Sofitel for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloeannmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for the nice comments on our Hotel you took time to post on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that your stay has indeed been enjoyable and you found our Hotel "amazing, with wonderful staff". We were very pleased to count you among our Guests during our inauguration evening and are happy that you enjoyed this exceptional event.

We have extended your appreciation to our Ambassadors and to Joy in particular; they will all the more be motivated to continue to excel in their service to our valued Guests.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort and Spa and thank you once again for your appreciation.

Kind Regards,


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Sofitel L'Imperial in Flic en Flac on the West coast of the island.

The hotel was closed for renovation for a couple of months and only opened again early October (the official opening ceremony with all hotel guests and external stakeholders took place on 26 October and we experienced a fabulous buffet and laser show including fireworks).

On our arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist who checked us in while we enjoyed a welcome drink and watched the sunset over the beach.

The rooms are modern and with sea view.

The main restaurant which is used for breakfast, lunch and dinner is set up buffet style. Every night there was a different theme (from Italian and French cuisine to seafood and barbecue). There is also a Chinese/Japanese restaurant and a seafood restaurant. The "Jacaranda" restaurant on the beach was still closed for renovations during our stay.

Staff is very friendly and go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One night they set up the dinner table right on the beach for even more privacy. The table was decorated with candles and rose petals - just what you need when on honeymoon...

The beach is clean and the sea has an incredible turquoise colour.

Flic en Flac is close to Blackriver where guests can try their luck with big game fishing or book a boat trip to watch and swim with dolphins.

We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay and can only recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for posting your comments on our property TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you had the most relaxing holiday and that you will recommend the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,

Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing time at Sofitel L' Imperial Resort in October during his birthday week away. We really wanted a hotel were we would receive quality, friendly and efficient service and where we could just relax. We were worried that the hotel would not be ready in October since it had previously closed down for refurbishments. To our delight the hotel was fully operational and the service was impeccable from the moment we arrived till the time we checked out.

Our room was large, comfortable and well-serviced. We were happy that the Wi-Fi in our room was fully functional at all times which was convenient for some of those regular facebook updates. The TV mostly had French channels but we were on holiday and had little interest in watching TV.

We made use of the spa and gym facilities which we thoroughly enjoyed, especially the aqua gym class. We indulged in the Yin Yang, four-hand massage at the spa and it was incredibly relaxing to have two massage therapists synchronously massage each one of us at the same time. The staff at the spa were great and the spa felt so private from the main hotel which made for a great place to relax. Birds also joined us in the relaxing area while we sipped on Chinese tea after the massage.

The main restaurant offered an attractive selection of foods and the staff was friendly and efficient. I really enjoyed the sweet treats and the wide food selection at each meal time. We also visited the Chinese restaurant (The Ming Court ) on my husband's birthday and the food plus the service made for a perfect evening. He was treated to a delectable birthday cake after dinner which was lovely surprise from the hotel.

The live performances in the bar area each night was also very entertaining. We loved that we could sit in the bar area after dinner and dance or simply enjoy the performances. The one night local dancers performed which was a pleasure to watch.

Many thanks to Siddik, Joy, David from the gym, Gregory, Mariola, Melanie and Vishal. Merci beaucoup!

Sofitel L'Imperial Resort is a fantastic place to stay when on you are on holiday!

-The Tlou's

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much indeed for the comments you posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa and "the impeccable service from the moment you arrived till the time you checked out...".

We have shared your positive feedback with our Teams and they are all the more motivated to continue to excel in their service to our valued Guests.

We look forward to another opportunity of serving you again and reiterate our appreciation to you for your very nice comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Jolanda Sadni Ziane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,851 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,202 reviews
19.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $248 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing