We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor choice for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Poor choice for business travel”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

While nice for relaxing this hotel is not set up for accommodating the business traveler. Pros: nice breakfast buffet, nice grounds, helpful staff, rooms are modern and bed super comfortable. Cons: Internet is very slow (ex: 90mb file on my iPad that downloads in 3 minutes on my pedestrian home network took 90 minutes here), wifi signal too weak to use in my room, pool opens late and closes early, and there is nightly live music until 11:30pm which is not helpful for those who want to get to sleep early. I won't be back, which is a shame because it could have been a better experience given the investment Sofitel has made here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jkofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry that your stay for business did not quite meet your expectations and would like to apologize for the slow internet service which caused alot of inconveniences.

We have also taken note that you have appreciated the overall service, food and comfortable room and bed.

We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you and look forward in welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Mauritius Imperial Resort.

Yours Sincerely,

Christophe Carlier

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    470
    211
    78
    47
See reviews for
477
923
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had two days of meetings in Ebene but decided to stay down the coast in Flic N Flac. Considering this was a resort, it was still fine for the business traveler. I only had time for the breakfast buffet, which was pretty good, although it could have been set up a little earlier. The beach looked really nice and the service overall was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that your stay at our Resort was up to your expectations and that you
found our overall service excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
and thank you again for your nice comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place will engrave itself on your mind for the rest of your life!!!

We were greeted by our relationship manager and a deliciously refreshing welcome drink. She explained to us all about the hotel and how we should make ourselves feel at home. We had booked the honeymoon suite and it was marvelous!! Their premises stretches for miles, studded with their lavish rooms, recreation centres and of course, the beach! We had been to each & every one of their bars, cafes and restaurants and had absolutely loved it!
Ever had that dream of sleeping on the beach with utterly nothing but joy on your mind? Well, that pretty much comes true up here! The vibrant way in which they have embraced the beach around their site to blend in the moods and colours of the sea makes this the ultimate romantic beach destination on the land!
This happened back in May 2009 but till date I haven't come across any other man-made resort this fascinating!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments on our property on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that your honeymoon was absolute bliss at the Sofitle Imperial and that you thoroughly enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the leisure facilities proposed at the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Imperial and thank you again for your nice feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The property was expansive and very welcoming! The rooms were amazing and spacious with a balcone and great views. The only downside is that some of them are a far walk from the lobby, so request a room nearer to the reception area. The pool is amazing, the food in the main restaurant is good. They provide a roster of the day's activities that include parties and performances of local music and dance.

They have an on site excursion kiosk that will help you with any water sport or leisure activities for you. They have an on site scuba dive shop, but they weren't very responsive, so I dove with some other center.

The only major complaint were the staff in the restaurants. They were sometimes rude and did not know how to take care of their guests. The reception and guest relations staff was friendly and gracious!

Overall, we had a great time here.

Room Tip: If you are facing the pool in the reception area, the rooms to the right have better views. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apoorva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for the nice comments you posted on Trip Advisor on the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the swimming pool, variety of food and sports and leisure activities.
We are very sorry and sincerely apologize if our Restaurant Staff have been rude to you, which is unacceptable by all standards.

We look forward in welcoming you back to our property and thank you again for your positive feedback.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrival was quite smooth and efficient done by Stephanie, we stayed there for a week. The resort itself is nice however it needs some renovation which will take place soon. Wifi in the room had very low connectivity but atleast we could log in finally after calling operator several times and went personally to reception to have it fixed when asked if we could change the room where we could get better connectivity anwer was "NO"!! The garbbage bin in the room was damaged and had to chase housekeeping to get it replaced even after addressing it to reception where they even wrote it in their log book but nothing was done. The cattle in the room was so dirty and had rust in it but we did not address it as we were tired and just did not want to address it as other issues were already not resolved.

The worst part was our wedding anniversary day-unfortunately!! My husband wanted to give me surprised and also asked reception if they arrange any special amenities for such occassions and rather then congratulating or showing some interest my husband was asked to give a proof (wedding certificate) if it is actually our wedding anniversary, QUITE HUMILIATING it gives an impression that the staff is questioning the guests if we are ethical enogh, althought my husband provded it (If I was asked I would have said thank you and I don't want to celebrate my anniversary in your hotel) i dont know if it is policy of the Hotel but I have never come across such situation in any of the Hotels. Asking a proof for a piece of cake??? I think the management needs to look into it furthermore we had a issue with Room servise when my husband was sick on our wedding anniversary day and I requested our dinner (which was included in the package) as we were half board to be sent to the the room since we just came back from hopital was denied by Room servie bluntly saying sorry it will be chargeable, without even lsitening to what I was saying. I had to tellher to speak to Guest relations as i already spoke to them...it was not easy!!!!

Overall there was no attention from management and no attention for details as one after another incident spoiled the whole vacation. The only good part was Chef Sharma who happily prepared food as per my taste almost everytime and was always happy to serve unlike other staff of the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 50MSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comments on our property on Trip Advisor and have noted all your remarks.
We are sorry that the stay and service did not quite meet your expectations and would like to sincerely apologize for this experience..

Your detailed comments will assist us in improving the service and to ensure that these mishaps are not repeated.

We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you and look forward to your visit again at our property.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I travelled to Mauritius with my family in September 2011 and had the privilege of staying in this beautiful property for seven days. The location is a little off-track on the far western side of Mauritius. It took fairly good time to drive to all tourist attractions. However, the resort itself is probably one of the most prettiest places you will find on the island. The excitement of getting back to the resort in the evening, after a full day of sightseeing was eagerly awaited by everyone.

It has all luxury amenities/services one can possibly ask from a top-rated hotel. Excellent breakfast which they served in the open restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool. Often you would find sparrows flying and chirping near you.

Evenings were fun with some or the other theme events planned for each night. Our room was on the first floor directly facing the sea with clear-blue mesmerising water. Waking up each morning and sipping tea on the balcony was pure heaven. We also tried the glass bottom boat ride, snorkelling and scuba diving - all offered by the resort.

Worth every penny you spend on your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have obstructions to having a clear ocean view. Choose a room upstairs for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karanh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your review of our property.
We are delighted to learn that your experience at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial was very enjoyable and that your found our property stunning and that the services were all up to your expectations.

We look forward to the honor of welcoming you back again to this corner of paradise and thank you again for your positive comments.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went for a romantic holiday in March.
Pro:
Very attractive hotel and well maintained
Rooms are great, spacious, fantastic bed
Food is brilliant
Con:
Drinks are expensive and have to pay for even water
Dancing in evening not so great with loads of kids running around - more of a kiddie disco
Not much to do if it rains
Recommend it for:
Young families with kids

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much indeed for having shared your positive comments on our Hotel.
We are pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, MyBed and the variety of food in our Restaurants.

We also noted your comments regarding the cost of drinks and entertainment and our Team will work towards the improvement of these issues.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial and thank you again for your nice comments.

Yours Sincerely,

Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,080 reviews
10.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,323 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 17 in Flic En Flac
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing