We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Aanari Hotel & Spa(Flic En Flac)
$141
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$889
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$272
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
$327
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gold Beach Resort(Flic En Flac)
$235
$203
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
$276
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Manisa Hotel(Flic En Flac)
$92
$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
$182
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveler rating
1,159
565
249
101
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
565
249
101
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsming courtjapanese gardenluxury roomfamily suitemain restaurantfront officeseafood restauranthalf boardindian cheflarge poolbeach restaurantlate checkbeach bedsour honeymoongreat beachdress codesea view
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We chose the Sofitel based on Trip Advisor reviews and agent recommendation. We had to be specific about our needs to ensure we had a room that met our needs...not all rooms are sea facing. The hotel is impressive as your dive in and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Room: family suite 120 was a great sea view, large loung with Nespresso and Surround sound. Main bed room was huge with all the amenities and more. Great bed, jucuzzi bath, shower and views.
Food: great b/fast and themed dinner ensured we had different food options every night. The drinks are expensive but had the happy hour with half priced drinks which was a bonus. We chose half board as the full board only includes lunch and not drinks...a wise choice.
Spa: must try, the full body massage was great and with the buy one get one free, also affordable to experience one every day. The hot stone was good but lots of time is wasted by therapist to access the stones. Great facilities but was disappointed that the jucuzzie was an optional extra.
Beach: great white sandy beach with few rocks, like some other parts of Mauritius. The east side of island is best as less windy and rainy. Take swim shoes as there is pieces of coral in water. The boat shop has all the snorkeling and activity apparatus you will need at no cost and was impressed with free glass bottom boat, snorkeling at reef, water skiing which are normally paid for activities.
Service: faultless. The staff are friendly and attentive. I wanted oats porridge and this was ready for me when I entered Resturant..truly amazing. Night before check out receptionists offered wake up call, confirm transfer and early breakfast, before I could ask...how efficient.

All in all a wonderful experience and will definitely be back. Thank you Sofitel!

Room Tip: Rooms: ensure you request a room with sea view, if that is your requirement as not all rooms are sea facing. Our room 120 was family suite which was magnificent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumendra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The resort is excellently located in a tropical garden.Probably needs some more maintenance for a 5* hotel.We had some small problems in the beginning,connected with the A/C but all have been fixed quickly by the stuff.With few exception the stuff is very friendly,and with the help of some small tips the service is very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground level room.The terrace is much better than the upper balcony and the aces to the beach and swimming pool more facile
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BucharestCatalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

we stayed for two weeks,within August, on a half board basis. the breakfast and the food in general was excellent, with a variety of dishes and lovely desserts every day. usually we had a lunch on the beach bar of the hotel (which was not included in our package)- nice light dishes, but the bar in general was quite expensive (about 10euros per drink and 20 per dish).
try the spa!!everything was just great!!!the place, the staff, the treatments!!!
the hotel staff was always polite and helpful!
very nice, spacious and clean rooms!!
an excellent place to get a good rest and nice evening beach walks! of course be prepared for a huge contrast between luxurius hotels and the poverty that you face in the cities, specially those on the inner country.
on a holiday level, the only things i did not enjoy much was a) the sea; coming from greece is difficult to swim in the ocean-not that clean and i did not feel safe out of the lagoons, eg when water skiing on the open ocean i had a little fear of sharks, b) the weather; although we stayed on the west side of the island, which is the ideal for this time of year, the weather was changing all the time. within these two weeks we never had more than three hours of sun in a row. the sun and the clean sea were just what we missed from
greek summers... otherwise a unique tropical experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linoulav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for posting your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at the Sofitel Imperial Hotel and have taken note of your opinion concerning the high price of drinks.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your visit again to our property.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It's late in the day to be writing about this property as we stayed here June 2011. We were an extended family of 11 and stayed for 6 days. When we arrived all exhausted from our flight we realised that my dad had left his bag behind at the airport. The hotel staff was more than helpful,made calls to the airport and arranged for a taxi and a reliable hotel driver to get the bag picked up. Their response was quick and solution effective. We just had to pay the taxi fare, which was fair enough. The pool is fantastic, it's like you are wallking into the sea minus the waves. They have peddle boats and kayaks which are free for the guests. The boundries upto where you can venture out in the ocean are well defined. The Property is huge, with nicely maintained gardens, and there is no dearth of loungers. The food at the chinese restaurant is good and the coffee shop nice and open, but with a lot of uninvited flies and occassional birds that use it as well. Their sea side restaurant serves great food and they do have happy hours. The rooms are fairly nice, but we did have a problem with our card key not working every evening. Then again they took care of that rather quickly too. The Bath area is seperate and spacious. The ventilation system around the loo works beautifully. We enjoyed our stay and hoped we had a few more days at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmgarewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay has been a positive experience and that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team.

Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights mid January for some R & R at the end of a Safari in Kenya. We opted for a prestige suite because we were able to get it at an early booking special rate of 50% discount. To get this rate the room total had to be paid immediately and no cancellations/refunds were permitted; we had Travel Insurance so it was worth the slight risk. Our visit did not start well. I had organised with the hotel a transfer at either end of our stay and after a frustrating 20 minutes looking everywhere at the airport for our driver it was apparent no one was there to pick us up. We took a taxi and arrived, furious at the hotel. We were later than expected because of what had happened and the check – in at this hotel takes an inordinate length of time. With hindsight we should have deferred the “briefing” until the next day but we just wanted to get it over & done with. We were starving and just able to manage a quick dinner afterwards in their buffet restaurant before it closed for the evening. I had complained bitterly to Cynthia, the reservation agent on arrival, she had seemed almost surprised that I was unhappy. We noticed that after this and during our stay here if we had to approach the front desks she did her level best to avoid us. We settled in and two days later were asked to go up to reception one morning for them to explain to us what had happened. Apparently I had informed them that I was going to get a rental car???? Not true. I did reserve a rental car directly with Sixt on their website but at no time mentioned this to the Sofitel. The car was dropped off to us on the morning after our arrival and collected again on the morning before our departure. The front desk manager took some convincing that the hotel had absolutely nothing to do with the rental car issue and even if I had mentioned it to them surely the agent I made the transfer booking with should have confirmed with me if she thought I no longer required the transfer? We were given a reluctant and condescending apology of sorts but we would have felt better if the whole scenario had not been dragged up again.
The suite we were in was large and very nice. It was reasonably clean with the exception of the floor which gave us black soles of our feet if you walked barefoot on it until they washed it on the third day of our stay. The only problem we had with the room was the shower waste in the main bathroom was semi blocked with someone’s hair and it blocked up completely and didn’t drain after 2 days but it was rectified as soon as I mentioned it to housekeeping. The suite was large with a lounge complete with a bureau to use as an office desk, two bathrooms, two showers, a bath, 2 TV’s, 4 telephones and 2 completely separate Air Conditioners. The bedroom was big with a walk in wardrobe and a blissfully comfortable & also huge bed. To the Sofitel’s credit there is free wi-fi which works in the rooms. We were very happy with the room for the price paid but it would have been too expensive if we had paid the full price. To charge the full price the room would need to be updated with fresh and modern décor. The room was at the rear of the property & had no sea view but we knew this. The restaurants’ here are a mixed bag. The service levels are extremely variable and mostly are very good but we received some exceptionally poor service from just plain rudeness to being totally ignored. At no time were we anything other than polite but we noticed on several occasions people loosing their cool with restaurant staff. Overall the Chinese restaurant is probably the best. The main buffet restaurant is inconsistent; we dined here three times and enjoyed it twice. It is here that you take your breakfast and it is definitely better to be early rather than late. The later you are the less choice you will have and the more the service will have deteriorated. The breakfast is OK rather than outstanding. I only had a cooked breakfast twice, for me I am not keen on bacon, sausage, etc…that is just dripping with fat. Curiously, in a French hotel the cheeses when you could get them were just rubbish. You have to make advance reservations for all but the main buffet restaurant & they are keen to get you to order a Lobster meal in the beachside restaurant. Don’t do it! Their lobster dinner is the biggest rip – off food wise we have ever seen. You get a small appetiser, half a small lobster each (horribly dry & overcooked in our case) & a piece of non descript cake for dessert. We returned to the beach side restaurant on another evening and ordered from their menu which was much better but not outstanding. We had two room service meals of the jumbo prawns and they were really good, the best food we ate at this hotel. We also had two meals out at the local Hippocampe restaurant and this place put all the food outlets in the hotel to shame. The beach the hotel is on is OK but becomes very shallow at low tide. The snorkelling here is poor and if you walk to the left is a little better but then you have to deal with a boat lane & have to keep making sure the many boats that pass have seen you. We were very glad we had a rental car and after touring around the entire Island; settled for the last three days of our stay on a routine of driving each day to the beach near the village of Le Morne (not on the Le Morne peninsula but slightly further round) which we considered to be the best beach on the Island and the least populated part of Mauritius. One day we tried to take some snorkelling gear with us (we didn’t say we were leaving the grounds) but were informed we could only have the gear for 2 hours!! Overall I would not recommend this hotel. It would not be hard to do better and if we return to Mauritius we will look for a newer property somewhere on the south coast. Interestingly the south coast is the area where most of the new construction is taking place on the Island, there is a gorgeous new Lux property among others being constructed on the Le Morne peninsula.

Room Tip: I would only recommend this Hotel if you can get a good room rate as we did
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews