We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS FAMILY HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the moment of arrival to the time of departure - relaxation, no worries and contented adults and kids - who could ask for more!
Departed with a heavy heart - from the level of service to the level of organized management and staff - truly a wonderful holiday of 2 weeks enjoyed by parents and 3 children - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gavin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Gavin

Thanks for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you and the family have enjoyed the two weeks at Sugar Beach. Your kids must certainly have benefited from either or both our kids and teens clubs. Hopefully you will return again. Please feel free to contact me on info.sbr@sugarbeachresort.mu for any preferences or assistance you may require with a return visit.

Thanks again and best regards from us all at the resort.

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,190)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've just returned from a fantastic 9 night stay at Sugar Beach. The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the beach and the service is faultless. We stayed all inclusive and would definitely recommend this as the choice of food and beverages is second to none. The staff in all departments are exceptionally friendly and make you feel very special - would not hesitate to return to Sugar Beach

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Michael

Thanks for sharing your very positive impressions on Trip Advisor. Glad you had such a good experience and hope that this will be one of many stays with us.

Best regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We joined a group of 60 friends in the first week of July 2014 from all over the world for a very special wedding.

The staff of Sugar Beach are so friendly and so engaging which made our stay one of the best we've had. Thanks to Shirley and Olivier for arranging special dinners for our group. And to our head waiter, who by the end of our stay was ordering our hot drinks before we sat down at the buffet for breakfast. One area of improvement would be the speed of bringing cocktails and drinks to the tables at dinner time. These often arrived after we completed our meal.

The watersports were fabulous and a special thanks to Yannik who arranged the dolphin swimming by offering us a cancellation on our last day and to Dany who made sure we did not miss out on anything boating.

A number of us got upper respiratory infections and I can only say that thanks to Oumila, our wonderful on-site nurse, many of us got 50% better within a day. She was so attentive, came to find us at breakfast each morning to see how we were feeling and even popped into my room to deliver meds and make sure I was doing OK. She is a gem and although we were feeling poorly, she added to our wonderful experience of Sugar Beach. Thank you Oumila!

The spa on site is world class and I would highly recommend it, especially the facial.

Andy was so fantastic to the kids. My first cycling trip was fantastic where our guide took us off road and onto the coastal tracks. Really magnificent. If there was a negative aspect, we were disappointed when advertised activities were cancelled or replaced by less attractive ones. We were so looking forward to the cook up competition and did not go on other activities that day only to find it was replaced by a cooking demonstration. Also, a number of the kids activities that were planned did not take place which was disappointing.

Notwithstandng this, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay; it was magical week of a fabulous wedding of our friends and would highly recommend Sugar Beach as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the main breakfast area are ideal for families as all the activities happen around he...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SSAJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guests

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as part of the wedding party in July.

Hope that you have now all fully recovered from the respiratory infections you experienced during your stay and was pleased that Oumila our in house nurse was able to speed up your recovery. I have passed on your compliments to her as well as the other team members you mentioned.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that some of our programmed activities were changed at the last minute or did not take place at all. I will certainly ensure with both our recreation monitor and the kids club, that this is better supervised in future and that the programme runs as advertised.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all once again to the resort.

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a great experience and the only minus i have is about the weather, but that's the price to pay for going to Mauritius in the winter. But in no way this spoiled our vacations. Ths Mauritius Winter is far better that our home Summer.
The hotel is magnificient and as a colonial trait all around. We also went to the sister hotel (La Pirogue) and there you will see the all local environment and you will notice better the difference.
The ground are amazing and ver well mantained. We loved the pool areas and there is always plenty of sunbeads available. The quiet south pool as a infinite view that is breathtaking and the main pool is very well conceived and very nice.
The beach is the cleaneast of the sorrounding hotels and the water is great, just like a lagoon. Be advised to bring some proper water shoes because there is a lot of coral in the sand and some small sea urchins.
Our rooms were near the quiet south pool and in the first two days they smell fresh paint a litlle but they were very clean and with a nice balcony to look at the ocean.
The satff was always very friendly. It's true they are a bit slow in the service, mostly in the drinks by the pool but tihs vacations so, take it slow and enjoy.
We went in half board and had a full board free upgrade and the choice in the restaurants were limited but enough and with very good quality. We tried all the restaurants and none as disappointed us. I don't agree that that is some limitations even for the all inclusive guests, and i think they shouldn't had charged us the coconut water or the afternoon crepes. I think that should be a free treat for all the guests.
The food as good all around and the meal areas were spacious and beautiful. I also don't agree that they charge the water at lunch or dinner when they give us a lot of free water bottles in the room.
The cats are all around but they really don't get in the way.
The daily activities were few when we stayed but that was mainly because it was low season and the hotel were only half full.
I agree that the paid net is not necessary because the free net is enough.
Overall it was a fantastic experience in a great five star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for your generally very positive feedback. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will return again.

As your visit coincided with our low season there was some maintenance work going on which included the complete replacement of the air-conditioning system. At the same time we took advantage of repainting the villas while they were shut down for the air-conditioning work.

To control the stay cats on property we have implemented a project called the Cat Cafe, where in conjunction with one of the local animal welfare organisations we are are catching the cats and sterilizing them before returning them to the resort where they are cared for and fed. This is a very humane way of managing the problem that has received a lot of praise from our guests.

Thanks again for your great feedback.

Sincerely

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

If ever there was a place you wish you could stay forever it would be Sugar Beach. A beautiful, tropical plantation feel to the design and buildings, with a magical ambience to relax even the most stressed individual. Walk the many paths around the resort, lounge by the pools, enjoy the breeze on the deck of Tides restaurant, or stroll the beach for miles. The Aura spa was very good, and includes a fabulous Hammam oasis room, with warm stone beds to lie on, plunge pool, steam room and special Hammam treatments and massage. We visited nearly every day, paying just a small fee to use the Hammam, taking time to relax and refresh at the end of our day. It was re-energising and one of our favourite parts of the resort. On top of all of this is the incredible dinner buffet every evening. We took an all-inclusive package which made it so simple, never having to worry about carrying money or cards with us. The selection of food is astounding, something for everyone, and true five star quality. Breakfast was equally as generous and delicious. Several restaurants to choose from. When you tire of eating and need to burn off the calories there are plenty of activities and watersports to take part in. We used the peddle boats and took a snorkelling tour as well. The swimming pools are excellent, spotlessly clean, and the lagoon is good for a swim so long as the water is calm. The fitness centre offers daily classes too.
I mention that this resort has "heart" for a couple of reasons:
Anyone who has been to Mauritius knows that there is a huge problem with homeless animals, it is part of island life. But Sugar Beach, along with PAWS animal rescue, have started a program to assist, feed, and neuter the many homeless cats and kittens that were already calling the area home. This was necessary to prevent illness and to control the population with neutering. It has created a happy healthy place for these cats to live and it is marvellous to see the staff and hotel caring about the situation, rather than turning a blind eye and ignoring it. You will see the cats around the resort, but in no way do they interfere with your stay (in case you have any worries of that).
Secondly, the staff at this resort are exceptional, happy, positive, eager to help with any request. After our two week stay we felt we came away with many new friends, and look forward to seeing them on our return visits. They truly make you feel welcome and at home while providing a five star experience. If you go make sure to say hello to Rajesh at the south pool and have a coconut cocktail, divine!

We only had a couple minor issues to report -
1. There was a large group (250-300 people) from a bank, staying at the hotel which proved to be very noisy, and often monopolised the staff. They held large dinner parties on the lawn and beach areas every night, lots of noise until approximately midnight. It really took away from the relaxing atmosphere of the resort.
2. The beds could use better mattress covers/protectors, as there wasn't much between the bedsheets and the mattress. You could see the mattresses were quite grubby.
3. During the last days of our stay, the resort was conducting their yearly maintenance and renovations on the other villas surrounding us. It was noisy during the daytime and disruptive to the quiet pool area. Some of the construction staff were a bit rude, ogling ladies as they went past on the sidewalk, proving uncomfortable for anyone who had to walk near there.

A BIG TIP: Don't pay for the premium wi-fi as it is useless, a huge pain that never worked properly. The regular free hotel wi-fi is available anywhere outside your room, just walk to the nearest pool etc and the wi-fi is just fine. Better yet, if you have an unlocked phone just pop down to the nearest ORANGE mobile phone store and get a local sim card put in. That way you will have proper internet and data coverage wherever you go. It was under £10. There is an Orange mobile store at the Cascavelle shopping centre, approx 10 minute drive from Sugar Beach.

As for room selection- if you want quiet then choose a room near the "quiet south pool", this area is not really suited to families with children - unless you can assure your children will be silent and polite. For families and those with children or teens I would suggest a room closer to the centre of the resort and the main pool, lots going on, close to the watersports and activities.

A rental car is not necessary in Mauritius, the taxi service from the hotel was a fair price and you could hire a car with driver to take you on any of the island tours. Driving in Mauritius is fast and a bit crazy, we opted to not rent a car and felt much more relaxed with someone else driving us.
Other than island tours everything we needed was at the resort, not much reason to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelergirl7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guests

Thanks for your very positive remarks. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay so much and in particular that you appreciated our efforts with regards to the stray cats problem and the creation of the "Cats Cafe" feeding programme.

I was sorry that the maintenance work to the villas was disturbing and can assure you that this has now been completed. In fact the work comprised of the complete replacement of the villa airconditioning system.

As concerns the mattresses, I apologise if there was not an adequate mattress protector provided and will ensure that this is better checked by housekeeping in future. We have also commenced with the repalcement of all the mattresses at the resort and hope that this problem won't repeat itself again.

We are currently upgarding our wifi in terms of both bandwidth and speed and are also installing individual access points in all our rooms. I am sure that when completed, future guests will not experience the difficulties you mentioned.

Thanks again for your valued remarks. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at Sugar Beach during the September holiday with a family of five - three young children. The overall impression and service of the hotel was excellent. A real old style colonial hotel! The gardens, beach and sporting facilities are great. The family rooms are more than spacious enough. The additional two a la carte restaurants are fantastic. We went the all inclusive route, which I would certainly recommend as lunch/drinks are excessively expensive if you don't go the all inclusive route.
The only slight negative we found with the hotel was that the drinks service overall and specially at the pool was very slow. As most guest I assume go the all inclusive route the hotel does not really have an incentive to push drink sales, so they seem a bit slow. The wine list particularly with the all inclusive menu was of very poor quality. Being so close to South Africa with a world class variety of wine I think a hotel of this class can do a lot better. Some of the wine was really terrible.
Overall though we had a great stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: If possible try book rooms away from the Tides restaurant as it can get slightly noisy at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Kevin

Nice to read that you are still thinking of us after your recent stay at Sugar Beach. I am pleased that you and the family enjoyed our colonial surroundings and that the facilities and services were to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for the slow service around the pool. We have added additional staff, improved supervision and training and are starting to obtain better feedback in this area. I can assure you that I also regularly review the all-inclusive wine list and hope that you will find the quality of wines selected greatly improved when next you stay with us.

Hope to welcome you all back again.

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Sugar Beach 5 years ago and had a lovely, relaxing break. This time we were a little disappointed with the slip in standard. Nothing major, but attention to detail has dropped - cigarette smell in room, poor/surly service, ogling of female guests at the quiet pool, restaurants constantly closed for weddings.

It's a shame - great location but the quality has definitely dipped.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Jason

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again. I was sorry to read that you have found standards to have dropped as we have always prided ourselves on attantion to detail. I can assure you however that we will renew our efforts to groom and train team members in order to return standards to those that made us your favourite resort on the island.
As concerns the closure of resaurants for any reason like weddings, I wish to assure you that this only applies to Citronellas and whenever this happens, we automatically open on a Sunday night to replace the closed night. Note that in a normal week Citronella's is usually closed on Sunday night. Please nevertheless accept my apologies if this in anyway inconvenienced you.
I hope that in spite of the disappointment this time you will consider to visit us again and see for yourself the improvements we have made.
Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,470 reviews
11.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
22.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $249 - $901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing