We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon - 4.5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon - 4.5 stars”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon. We loved hanging out in the main pool. The beach is beautiful, but make sure to bring water shoes because there was a lot of coral and other things in the water. The free water sport activities are great - paddleboarding, kayaks, etc. The food is really great. Thankfully breakfast and dinner were included because the prices are no joke! Our lunches were very expensive even just for a burger and salad. Our room was fine except we had a huge issue with bugs at night. We finally realized that you have to make sure the lights are off as it gets closer to night time. Don't do what we did the first night and put a towel near the door because then the fire alarm goes off. The gym is really great. Probably the best gym I have seen at any resort. The tennis courts are also really nice and they give you free racquets to use. Just make sure to bring balls or be prepared to buy them because they don't give you those for free. For activities outside the resort, do the catamaran tour. The lunch and views are nice. The swimming and snorkeling were also great on the catamaran. All in all, I would give this resort 4.5 stars.

Room Tip: If I were to go back, I would request a room closer to the gym and the Italian restaurant. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    774
    231
    75
    41
See reviews for
1,081
1,615
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Sugar Beach Resort for a family vacation in September, due to its excellent location on the West Coast of Mauritius and the stay we previously enjoyed at the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised that from check-in, through the first night's dinner and the next morning's breakfast, that staff at the hotel recognised us and some even remembered our names. Mr Viren Chetty and his staff are to be complimented for their management of the hotel, and for the consistently high quality of service, facilities and food offered at this hotel.

Our rooms during this stay were close to the gym and the tennis courts, both of which we used, as well as the spa. Rachel from the Tennis/sports club deserves special mention for her friendliness and smile each morning!

We will most definitely return to Sugar Beach.


Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach Hotel again for your holidays and for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has been much appreciated by our team members and they are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and the various facilities of the hotel. Mr Viren Chetty, our Executive Assistant Manager and Rachel send their warm regards to you.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to be honored again by your presence.

Respectfully Yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited Sugar Beach Resort over Christmas 2013. We had a good stay overall and I loved the resort but there were some things that were offputting.

So the good - Beautiful Resort, lots of palm trees and greenery. The beach was great too, a private beach with blue waters and white sand. Getting a beach chair was never a problem as they were plentiful. The pool area was great too - really big and great for families. They also had a second pool, a "quiet" pool which is meant for people who want to relax and be away from noise. They had a great main restaurant - again with no problem getting a table no matter what time you arrive. The main restaurant is by the main pool which made for a nice setting. There were also two more restaurants at the resort, but these you would need to pay for and make a reservation. Both were really nice though. The rooms were nice too, nice layout and good space. We had a standard room on the 1st floor and loved it. All rooms have a balcony or patio which was nice. Good facilities at the resort, including volley ball, tennis, a spa, free non-motorised watersports and more.

There were negative things as well though which must be noted:

- The buffet at the main restaurant: while the food was quite tasty we found the buffet to be quite monotanous with the same things every night. They tried to change the theme of the buffet each night but the dishes were always the same more or less. The same can be said for breakfast - tasty but the exact same things on the menu every morning. We felt they could have changed it up and given more variety.

-Drinks were really expensive! We were on a half board package. Most people would advise an all includive package. I would not. The all inclusive package is very limiting as you are only allowed to order certain things. I would only suggest All inclusive if you are a big drinker (mainly beer and wine tho) otherwise it may not be worth it. Having said that we are not big drinkers but when we did order something we nearly fell off our chairs. They were charging about 5 times as much as the places in town which was crazy! 130 Rupee for a coke. In town - 30 rupee.

-The TV in our room did not work properly, and after having called someone every day for 4 days straight we finally gave up and accepted that the TV would not be in working order during our stay.

-Lastly, and the most disappointing, was the service. We visited La Pirogue (The sister hotel of Sugar Beach) about three years ago and the experience was amazing! Everyone was falling over to help the customers and it was really amazing to experience such hospitality. We expected the same kind of hospitality at Sugar Beach but we did not get it. When at the pool, we ALWAYS had to walk to the bar to ask for a waiter. Im not sure if they were understaffed or if the waiters were just lazy, but it really was not pleasant especially in 30 Degree heat when you are dying for something to drink! The waiters at breakfast and dinner were pretty much the same - with the exception of one or two. It almost seemed like they were too busy to care about assisting guests. Like i said, perhaps the resort needed to employ more people? But it was not the level of service we were expecting. The bad service was not restricted to Waiters. We experienced the same "dont care" service from the guys at the beach where you need to go to sign up for watersports. The guys at the towel cabana. The concierge. The Front Desk. It was really frustrating!

Sugar Beach resort is a paradise, it really is beautiful and i did enjoy my stay.Should you choose to stay here you will certainly have a good time. However our stay could have been much better should we have gotten better service from the staff. My suggestion - SUGAR BEACH TRAIN YOUR STAFF IN CUSTOMER SERVICE BEFORE YOU LOSE CLIENTS! I do not think we will return to sugar beach. While we enjoyed out stay, our experience at other Mauritian resorts in the past(La Pirouge and Shandrani) was far superior, we felt much more at home and were really disappointed by the Sugar Beach lack of hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 8 nights at Sugar Beach. We had been somewhat reluctant to go to an all inclusive resort as we thought that this may compromise on quality, however it was an excellent decision and we would highly recommend holiday makers opt for AI, as otherwise the food and drinks are ridiculously priced (about £12 for a salad, £6 for a bottle of beer). You have a good choice of restaurants (Tides (both by day and night), Citronella and the main restaurant (the breakfast, including bubbles, and the themed buffet dinners are vast here) were excellent. We also thoroughly enjoyed Paul & Virginie at La Pirogue (the sister hotel next door) although we much preferred the vibe at Sugar Beach.

We had a standard room, however were lucky enough to be right on the beach front and next to the the South Pool which is a quiet area (i.e. no screaming kids). The views from our room (which was upstairs) were unbeatable, so ask for room 801 if you want peace, quiet and great views. The only draw back for some may be that it is the furthest point from the restaurants, however for us this was a bonus as it kept it quiet at all times.

We went to the spa twice for great full body massages (about £60 for an hour) although the first treatment we received 20% off.

There are about 6 tennis courts in great condition and a decent enough gym too.

We enjoyed swimming with dolphins and loved the day trip to the Ile aux Cerfs too.

The staff are friendly, the entertainment was really great (good evening singers, dancers and a truly excellent jazz band).

All in all, we had a fantastic trip and cannot find fault. And for what we got, the price was incredibly good value.

We would recommend this highly to anyone. We are in our early 30s with no kids, however we made friends with couples with kids of all ages who were loving their holiday too. There is something for everyone here.

Room Tip: 801 - right on the beach, upstairs, furthest from the restaurants and next to the quiet /South pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LemurToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We would like to thank you for such a nice and detailed review. We are indeed pleased to learn that all in all, you had a fantastic trip and cannot find fault in Sugar Beach. Indeed the hotel has three restaurants and gives you two more options that are the Thatches Restaurant and Paul Virgine in order to make you discover a little more on the Mauritian Gastronomy.

We very much appreciate that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities and would be happy to welcome you back for you to enjoy once more the uniqueness of Sugar Beach.

Respectfully Yours

The sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Food disappointing. Service pathetic. All inclusive package not that all inclusive. Only thing positive to mention was the weather and the beauty of the resort. Exchange was daylight robbery. Boasting a kids club but resort definitely not kids friendly. Food not suited for kids. Buffet times start at 19h00 and three year old already starving. Kids club take kids older than two years but they don't mention that if not potty trained, then need to hire baby sitter. Ridiculous!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We regret that you did not experience a good holiday at Sugar Beach and have well noted the highlighted points and assure you that we shall look into the matter. However we would like to inform our readers that the Kids Club is opened from 09h30 to 22h15 with a small pause from 17h00 to 18h00 and various activities such as crab hunt, wind surf, swimming, tennis as well as educational excursions are organized by our professional and trained team members for the kid’s entertainment. Lunch is served as from 12h30 to 13h30 and is a la carte. Dinner is from 18h00 to 19h30. As for potty trained it is well mentioned on our website that for evening events, the services of a babysitter are necessary for children aged 2 to 3.
We again regret that you did not enjoy a good December 2013 Vacations and look forward to welcome you back.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just booked our tickets to return once again. We stayed first two weeks of Dec. This was our fourth time to the resort. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff are first class, from reception, to the ladies who serviced our room. This time we never really left the hotel. Special thanks to ,Jason, Didier, Shervin, Christophe who kept the hubby busy and entertained. You can do as little or as much as you want to at the resort. We learnt to SUP (stand up paddling) and did some snorkeling. Citronella the Italian restaurant which you can eat at on HB, is excellent, both the food and service. We used the spa and gym everyday. Thank you to the very hands on MD, Andre Sloan who make this resort run so well .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We are pleased to learn that your tickets to return once again have been booked already; we thank you for continuously believing in us and for your loyalty to Sugar Beach. Our team members have reserved more sea activities such as windsurfing, kayaking, paddling and many others for you to enjoy on your next visit.

We would also like to thank you for acknowledging our staffs who contributed in making your holidays so good and are patiently waiting for your next visit to make you enjoy once again Sugar Beach’s unique experience.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A long trip from the UK, but so well worth it, even for a week. We felt relaxed the moment we arrived at the hotel. The staff were amazing, anything you wanted you could have. The food was plentiful and varied, I'm vegetarian and there was always more than enough for me to eat. The two restaurants on the beach are well worth booking for a perfect evening meal. I would recommend the All Inclusive - the mini bar was included and even the chap who drove along the back of the beach all day serving drinks was also included.
The only point I would make is that I would avoid South African school holidays - it got a bit busy in the buffet restaurant for the last couple of days of our holiday.
The Spa is well worth a visit, I had a lovely massage.
Very relaxing, but with lots of activities if you want to join in, if not, choose a spot on the beach away from the main area and you could be on your own desert island!
I would definitely go back...started saving already!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in for you to enjoy a perfect and relaxed stay at Sugar Beach. Mon Plaisir Restaurant has 14 different themes for dinner which is indeed varied with a large choice for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. We really appreciated that you enjoyed most of our facilities and services and assure our readers that there are even more to do at Sugar Beach.

It will be a pleasure for our whole team members to welcome you back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,435 reviews
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,100 reviews
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing