We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing in every way!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just amazing in every way!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and we are still pining! The hotel is simply stunning and all the staff we met were very courteous and professional.Our room overlooked the quiet pool and was more than adequate, although do take your own hair dryer they only have those little ones attached to wall. On the evening of our wedding anniversary we had a special table set on the beach with our own log fire, lanterns and our own delicious menu, it was truly amazing. Although we stayed all inclusive my husband worked out if I had not had so many cocktails it would probably have been just as reasonable to go half board. The all inclusive is definitely worth doing as it is a very good package with good choice and simple to understand (if it has an asterix next to it its included). The beach is quite painful underfoot and there are lots of sea urchins so take beach shoes. There are daily snorkeling trips which are well worth doing. The recreation team are brilliant and if you have older kids Dennis and his team would keep them more than occupied. They kept my husband entertained and he is the equivalent of a big kid. In the whole time we were there we never had a bad meal, breakfast plentiful and the restaurants easy to book. I would recommend the walking with lions at Casella before health and safety closes it down. The hotel offers the opportunity to spend two nights at it sister hotels and as my husband is a golfer we chose to spend two nights at Le Touessrok. This hotel is in another league and the golf superb but we still preferred SB as it was more relaxed, Le Touessrok is a little up itself but rightly so. We stayed early September and booked the west coast as we thought it would be warmer but the weather was just the same on the east coast so would risk staying there in winter. We will definitely return the 12 hour flight is worth it and special thanks to Fazeley who provided the much appreciated pool service and Soopa who cared for us at breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breesy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We wish to congratulate you again for your 25th wedding anniversary. Thank you very much for choosing Sugar Beach for your recent stay and also for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. As a team, we have always try to work together so as to satisfy each and every guest in the hotel. We are delighted that we succeeded in keeping you entertained during your holidays. However, we wish to inform our readers that we have a team in charge of cleaning up our beach and have communicated it to the concerned team member.

We thank you again and wish to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,896
    706
    207
    67
    37
See reviews for
960
1,515
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

from the moment we arrived in the hotel your every need is catered to. we decided to go all inclusive for our stay and it was definately worth doing. we got a room overlooking the sea and it was spectacular. the breakfast buffet had an amazing selection of food and the buffet every night was out of this world. the citronella cafe provided the best italian food we have eaten outside of italy.... and the the tides seafood restaurant was great as well. the staff in all areas of the hotel were really helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough for you. they are what makes the hotel so good. for an all inclusive 5 star resort, sugar beach ticks all the boxes. flic en flac is only a short stroll along the beach and they have a spar supermarket which is useful. we would recommend going to flic en flac if you are interested in renting a car or moped as it is a lot cheaper than through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

It is a pleasure for us to read that our team members catered for your needs from the very moment you arrived in the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back soon at Sugar Beach Hotel.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 10 nights with our two little girls (6 and 5) at sugar beach and it was one of our best holidays. The beach and the view is stunning, a good variety of food and excellent service is provided by very friendly and helpful staff. We definitely recommend it to families, our daughters had a great time in particular at the kids club. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rav1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you very much for choosing Sugar Beach for your recent holidays and for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you have had your best holidays here at Sugar Beach and that our team members were friendly and helpful to you.
We thank you again and will be glad to welcome you and your family back to Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Sugar Beach resort recently and found it superb in every respect. We were stunned by the beautiful setting and the whole presentation and upkeep of the site.
Our standard room was spacious and the balcony was a bonus.
The food was of an exceptional standard. We eat all our meals in the buffet and did not feel the need to venture elsewhere as the themed selections offered such a variety.
There has been some debate on this site about half board versus inclusive. We chose half board and truthfully found we had such amazing breakfasts that we did not need a midday meal. As to the cost of drinks we went to the village ( a ten minute walk through La Pirogue, the sister hotel, and along the road) and bought beer and spirits for our 'sundowners' on the balcony! We just had a bottle of wine with our evening meal at the equivalent of UK restaurant prices. This suited us fine and is something many people did.
We hired a car and driver for a day and explored the island through White Sands Tours. This we really enjoyed as well as the Sunset Cruise that was on offer.
There are many activities included on site and excellent entertainment in Tides bar during the vending. The Creole Jazz band were superb!
All in all five star everything in a five star setting.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and no room is overlooked so all find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jooles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We have passed on your review to our team members especially to our entertainment team who are very happy to learn that you appreciated their shows. We thank you again for sparing some time to drop in a few words on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcome you back to Sugar Beach Hotel.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Sugar Beach is located on a real white beach protected by a reef.
It is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever visited. The rooms are located in a very nice garden. The rooms on the first floor have a breathtaking view of the beach and the sea. You can take long walks along the beach at Flic en Flac.
The hotel itself offers spacious rooms with bathrobes, slippers, coffee and tea, etc.
There are two swimming pools one of which is provided for guests who love peace. Besides the self-service restaurant, there are two à la carte restaurants, one Italian.
It is a 4-star hotel, but I would consider that it is a five star hotel.
The only negative point is that if you order a drink in the hotel which is very expensive. One solution is to take all included, but this also not for free.

Copy this link to your browser and you will see some beautifull views form the hotel and Mauritius http://youtu.be/zy58BlZisB8

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first our secound floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 148traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

It is a pleasure for us to read that you have visited one of the most beautiful beaches here at Sugar Beach Hotel located on a real white beach, at Flic en Flac. We are glad that you appreciated our spacious rooms, our two swimming pools as well as our food and service in our different restaurants. Our guest's satisfaction is our greatest achievement.

We thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you back at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon in early Sept for 10 nights. Staff at the hotel were very professional, friendly and efficient. We were welcomed with a lovely lemon-grass drink and were able to access our room earlier than anticipated (as we arrived early in the morning following an overnight flight from the UK). Our first floor room had a beautiful view of the ocean. The hotel itself was very clean and staff were always at hand to help. Grounds were very well maintained.

At the boathouse you can use pedalos, kayaks, and go out snorkelling free of charge. There is also a gym and regular exercise classes - much needed as food is plentiful and delicious! We went half board and this was ideal for us as ate so much at breakfast. As it was our honeymoon the hotel also treated us to a five course meal at Tides restaurant - this was amazing. We ate at the Italian restaurant (citronella's) one evening (included in HB). Staff response time was a little bit slower but we may have got used to the speed of helping ourselves in the other buffet-style restaurant!

If you want snacks you can get these from the hotel shop or take a short walk to shops nearby (turn left out of the hotel and walk along the road for about 10-15 mins - shops on the right) - these are cheaper.

It's their winter season at the moment - warm in the day with a breeze (about 23 to 25c) and then cooler at night. Would advise a light jumper/cardigans for the evening. There was regular entertainment but this tended to not start until 8.30 or 9.30pm - we tended to eat a bit earlier as it was dark by 6/6.30pm so did not always stay around for the entertainment but what we did see was good to sit and listen to whilst having a cocktail.

Trips out were ideal in this weather as could happily wander round - would recommend Charms and Flavours trip and trip to Botanical gardens - gave us a good opportunity to learn more about Mauritius - its history and current climate. Summertimes staff very knowledgeable and engaging.

We paid to swim with dolphins - really worthwhile and staff made a real effort to ensure that this was the best experience possible. The water is very clear and warm. Plus you don't have to travel far to see dolphins or go snorkelling.

We would strongly recommend the Sugar Beach Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n1cpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

We wish to congratulate you again for your wedding.

We are happy to read that staffs at the hotel were very professional, friendly and efficient. We thank you for having taken the time to write a review on us and also for recommending us on Trip Advisor. However, with regards to your comment on the staff response, we have communicated it to our team members and have reinforced our procedure to ensure higher guests’ satisfaction and we are sure you will find this greatly improved on your next stay with us.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you back at Sugar Beach.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Beach as place to chill out for 5 days before heading home, after a hectic 3 weeks tour of Africa. A 45 minute drive from the airport led us to Sugar Beach on the Western ( Sheltered side) of the island.
The Resort raised entrance was impressive, with a great view over the beach. We were met with a cool iced tea drink on arrival. The place was immaculate, with neatly clipped lawns & gardens.
All Staff were friendly and helpful.
Free WIFI ( slower speed ) in the lounge, pool & bar areas. WIFI upgrade available for a fee.
Rooms available on the southern end of the resort were a bit of a walk, but were quieter and also had their own pool.
Beds were comfortable and rooms were of a reasonable size. Outside, was a small sitting area on the ground floor and a balcony for units above ( only two levels).
Half board dining was the way to go with a new choice of food available in the buffet dining or a la carte dining restaurants on the property and ajoining sister resort La Peroge every night. One gripe was that water at the dining table was charged for by the bottle (US$17 for one glass of wine and bottle of water).
The beach area always seemed to have enough deck chairs, even though the place was full.
For a bit of adventure, rather than taking Taxi's, we headed off to Port Louis on the local bus a 1 hr drive. We walked around the city sites & visited the Citadel, for a great look out over the city. Flic n Flac shops were an experience, with traders desperate to do a sale, driving you crazy if you happened to walk into their shops.
Overall a great experience.
A nice way to finish off our Holiday.

Room Tip: Southern end of the resorts for a quieter experince and own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavita H, E-Commerce at Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sugar Beach,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that overall you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. With regards to the speed of our free wifi and shops at Flic en Flac, we wish to inform our readers that we have started a project to upgrade our WIFI connection so as to continuously ensure our guests’ satisfaction. Furthermore, we have a well-recognized jewelry shop as well as an exclusive shop on the resort and we also offer a free shuttle service to the nearest shopping center which is a ten minutes’ drive from the hotel.
We thank you for your comments and hope to be honored by your presence in a very near future.

Respectfully yours

The Sugar Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
28.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing