We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sugar Beach resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sugar Beach resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from an absolutely fabulous week in Mauritius staying at the gorgeous Sugar Beach Resort. From the moment we walked through the gorgeous arch of this resort we were made extremely welcome with all needs met. Our room was gorgeous, staying in a standard room, that had the best ocean views and sounds of waves crashing in to the shore. Our welcome to the room was met with a lovely tropical fruit platter on arrival. Our room was meticulously cleaned and tidied each day, with all hotel staff being courteous, polite and very welcoming. While there is much to do and see on this beautiful island, we felt so at home at the resort that we just wanted to relax by the poolside and enjoy some down time, with only a couple of activities that we planned to do. The weather was perfect with perhaps only a need for a shawl/wrap in the evenings due to the gorgeous ocean breezes. The Aura Spa provides a luxurious and calming moment to unwind, pamper and relax to also enjoy your holiday. We had a dream to be married in Mauritius, but due to the date we arrived and and were returning on, (must be in country for 3 business days) we decided to have a vow renewal ceremony to celebrate and renew our wedding from 2 weeks prior. A massive thank you to Christine Bellouard for making this dream come true :). All in all, a magical and memorable holiday was had, and would absolutely recommend this resort to anybody thinking of where to stay in Mauritius. As with all hotel resorts, the cocktails and lunches were a little more expensive than what there was probably out in the township of Flic-En-Flac, but due to the fact that our breakfasts and evening meals were already pre-paid, we didn't feel it was necessary to eat any further meals throughout the day. We are already planning our next holiday there! For further information regarding this referral, I can be contacted at:
kaday71@bigpond.net.au

Thank you agin Sugar Beach!

Kerry Day

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 798 which had a fabulous view of the ocean, and had great sounds of the waves cras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_Day71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    702
    207
    67
    37
See reviews for
957
1,511
34
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a terrific holiday at Sugar Beach Resort, a spectacular hotel, very well managed, a gorgeous setting, hotel grounds are magnificent, beach is gorgeous, food is fantastic, staff are lovely and helpful. The Sun Kids club was fantastic. The General Manager could often be seen ensuring all was well and he introducted himself and chatted to us and the other guests at the hotel which we thought was exceptional. There is no critisim except that no holiday here would be long enough.
Thank you Sugar Beach for ensuring our holiday was one we would remember forever.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamhHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently just came back from the resort for our wedding+honeymoon in mid-May 2013. We love the place very much and the staffs are very friendly. The pre-wedding setup such as email and follow-up by the assistance sales manager, Ms.Christine Bellouard, was exceptional. Ms.Dominique was also part of the team that arrange the wedding for us and our gratitude to her as well. On the day of the wedding, Christine accomodates even to last minute request from me which was very much appreciated as it makes the wedding more special during our photoshoots.

Reception - On our arrival, we were greeted by their frontdesk staffs and was asked to wait while they process our checkin. by the way, we checked in early by 2 hours and to our surprised, our room is ready which is very good as we were a bit tired after driving for 1.5 hours. We rented a car, btw...Alexandra, I think, is the staff the explained to us our checkin and showed us our room. But I do find it odd that when they explained to me what facilities they have such as swimming pools, etc, they used their fingers to point which we were thinking, how the hell can we remember all the places she pointed. Isn't it would be much better if accompanied with the resort map? All the places she pointed is lost in translations and in the end, we refer to their resort map after Alexandra showed us our room.

The room - Our room is 658 and we think this is the best room which has the view of the lawn and the sea. We can sit at the balcony for hours watching the waves crashing on the corals and enjoys the sunset. Splendid views...though we were constantly disturbed and annoyed by flies. The room itself is kept clean constantly by housekeeping staffs.

Boat House - We were greeted by Steven which is overly friendly and when we told him that we have no clue on what activities to do, firstly he asked us when we arrived and when are we leaving, then he said that he needs to know so that he can PLAN for us our activities. What an excellent service...But we told them what are our preferred activities and he gaves us his recommendations which we fully agreed. We chatted and we feel comfortable having his presence as he was very helpful and informative. Too bad that we were not able to enjoy wind-surfing as my wife loves it but due to low tides hence it's not possible. Overall, every single staffs in the Boat House are friendly and always willing to help. Kudos to them...

Dinner - Mon Plaisir (different themes daily basis, loves Sat as it's Atlantic themes which its seafood), Citronella's Cafe (love "Pan-fried Fillet of Beef, juicy and tender...highly recommended). You can go to their sister resort (La Pirogue) for lunch and the food were fantastic as well plus the service staffs are very friendly and well-trained).

On the downside, what we were unhappy is the way how we were treated at Tides Restaurant. We went there twice for lunch and the staff seems uninterested and as if we're non-existent. It took them a while to notice us and shows us a table. It is more saddened when you realized that you are serve the last even to the point of taking orders. The staffs don't smile or ask us how is our stay and when taking our orders, they seems to be in a rush to leave our table. We told them that we have just arrived and we're not sure what to order and guess what they did? They nodded...that's it. My wife needs to tell them that we're on full-board package and yet there's not a single words mustered from their mouth. I have to read the menu carefully and only then realized that those with a green asterisk are foods that is covered in full-board package. But surprisingly, the staffs treated other guests very well and they even stopped to chat with them. This makes us feel like an unwelcome guests. Let me repeat this...it happens TWICE. I wanted to have dinner and reservation needs to be made in advance and so we did but the staffs that makes the reservation is totally unfriendly and seems to be in bad mood. In the end, we decided to cancel the reservation to avoid further heartache. One thing for sure is that the food is fantastic but such a letdown by the service staffs.

So much to say yet don't know where to begin or end but overall the resort is very much loved by my wife that she doesn't want to leave the place and one last thing is thank you very much, Christine. You have made our our stay SBR an unforgettable experience. A week stay in SBR is definitely not enough and we would love the opportunities to go back again as we treat this place as our "second home". :D

Room Tip: If you're not a pool-lover, rooms in Manor House is quiet and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClammyShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our family of five - two adults and three boys (aged 13, 11 and 8) just spent 10 days at the Sugar Beach hotel. And we loved it all. The two older boys really enjoyed hanging out with the other adolescents. The eleven year old infiltrated the teen group - he was the youngest - but it worked out ok. He would have been the oldest in the kids group. There were lunches and dinners organized each day for the teenagers and activities in between. We hardly saw them for the week - they had a great sense of freedom as the resort seems really safe. Despite a great kids club, the eight year old stayed with us most of the week and we really enjoyed having him all to ourselves!

There was one main pool - and one 'quiet' pool. It's not reserved for adults, but it is supposed to be quiet. The quiet pool was just lovely for an end of day swim watching the sun setting as you flapped up and down the pool. The hotel provides fresh pool towels in exchange for a little card you get when checking in.

All of the staff were charming. From the welcome in the morning at breakfast, right through to the evening. I wish I had written down all their names - or had written the review earlier so I could mention them here. I can only remember Bernard, Stephen and Jonathon from the boat house - who were great at getting us organized with windsurfs every day, and snorkling and the like. Also, Denis from the teen club who really knew how to make it special for the teenagers. A very special mention for the gentleman working on the breaksfast terrace in the morning who anticipated with grace and charm our specific coffee and tea needs every day!

We had a lovely standard family room, which was two interconnecting rooms with a little terrace which opened out onto the garden, which then opened onto the beach. A beautiful vista from our porch (see photo). Rooms very comfortable. One room had a large double bed. And the other room had two large single beds (or two small double beds - however you want to see it). Our two younger children shared a bed. They offered to set up a trundle bed in the adult's room but we didn't go for that option. They were terrific at changing towels and keeping the room spruced up.

From a pratical sense, we booked the full-board option. We found it difficult to get absolute clarity on what was included in full-board beforehand. Here's our take on it now that we've been. Full-board gives you access to the main restaurant 'mon plaisir' for breakfast and to certain meals at all of the restaurants at Sugar Beach and neighbouring Pirogue (Tides, Citronellas, Beach Bar, Paul and Virginie) for lunch (the meals allowed are marked by a little asterisk, and the choice is good enough). Drinks are extra with the full-board option. At night, full-board also covers Mon Plaisir, and you get a sort of budget to spend at Tides and Citronella's, which really only covers the main course. Again, at night drinks are extra. I don't know how much extra the all-inclusive option would be, but I would consider it I were to go again. We paid about an extra 600 euros for the 10 days for the options and drinks - and we were reasonable enough in our choices.

The food was just amazing. Really very good. The menu in the restaurants is different at lunch and at night-time. Service can be very slow in Tides and Citronella's. I guess you're on holidays and have the time, but sometimes it did drag on. The buffet in the main restuarant was spectacular every single night. A different theme each day, and really really tasty. We loved it. Breakfast was also a delight - fresh omelets made to order as well as pancakes and crepes. Their vienosseries were worthy of a good Parisian bakery. We know because we live there. Boys loved it.

At night, there was usually some kind of entertainment at Tides. They have some incredible local bands - really amazing singers. So, that was great.

The only downside, was that our magnificient room - was in fact not that far from Tides, so at night-time you could hear the music and entertainment throbbing away. And wifi worked out at about 30 euros per device. Though you could get free wifi in the restaurants and common areas.

So, all in all. Go with your family. Its perfect. Everybody will enjoy it. My kids already are lobbying us to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. And then specifiy that you don't want to be near Tides - if you don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have visited this hotel in December, based on all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and were absolutely delighted. The resort is close to perfect and if something is not to your expectations, they will address it immediately. Customer service is taken to perfection. We were 3 adults and a baby and they went out of the way to make sure every wish we had was met. If you are looking for a piece of mind on holidays - this is a place to go. The beach is perfectly fine without any extra shoes and we had our 18 months old walking around without any problems. So is the sea to swim, however tidal. We also went half board and it was fine, but we did watch the costs.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the premium rooms as closer to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had so enjoyed my previous trip to Sugar Beach I planned a follow up trip. I took my own advice from my previous visit and booked all inclusive option which did make a big difference and I would recommend it to anyone. However, that;s about where the recommendations end. As a returning guest I had hoped for at least a "welcome back" from management- who were oblivious to my return entirely- funnily enough the "welcome back" came from the Maitre D who was so genuine in his welcome I was quite moved and equally happy to see him as I had also remembered his kindess from the previous trip. At that point management seemed to be embarrased enough into a room upgrade to one of the groundfloor rooms on the beach- gorgeous room indeed. However on my last night I found a snake in my room! I was totally horrified and very,very upset. The night duty manager was kind and helpful in getting my belongings moved to another room and that's the last I heard from the hotel. I had hoped for a letter from the GM or hotel group acknowledging the problem and apologising for it but 2 years on still no word from them so I write this review and spend my tourist money elsewhere. For location: Sugar beach is perfect, for the staff in the spa and restaurants: equally top marks. The spa ladies are still some of trhe nicest and most professional I have met. However they are let down badly by hotel management who are absent, indifferent and absolutely couldn't be bothered to encourage repeat visitors or take the time to contact a guest after an upsetting stay. (note: the date I travelled is not the date reflected here)

Room Tip: avoid ground rooms on the beach if you don't like animal encounters of the slithery kind
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank totoKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Sugar Beach for our Honeymoon. The resort is massive and has very nicely appointed rooms. The hotel is rated 5 star on its website and the level of service is commensurate for this rating. We stayed in a ground floor, sea facing Superior Room which was spacious and well appointed. Although the hotel has been renovated during the last few years I feel that the rooms are more a 4-star standard rather than 5-star. Don't get me wrong - everything was clean and well serviced but it just wasn't "quiet there" with what one would expect in a 5-star hotel.

There was the main restaurant which offered a buffet style menu every evening. And two other restaurants that was a la carte and needed to be booked (Citronella and Tides). We were on the all inclusive which was necessary as the cost of drinks and food if one were paying cash is very expensive (even when comparing to Europe or UK prices).

The buffet at the main restaurant had a different theme every evening. After a while the food gets a bit "samey" even though the theme was different. Citronella is great - we went there three times and managed to find really good food on their All Inclusive menu. We had a "honeymoon" dinner at Tides which was also very nice and romantic.

My wife and I realised that either you are a resort type of person or not. We discovered we aren't really "the resort types". It took us about two days to really learn to relax and when we did we needed to find something more to do rather than sit by the pool or sea, eat and drink. We went on a catamaran trip for the day (booked via the hotel) which was great and rented bicycles and cycled around flic-en-flac which was good for a change of scenery ...

For those who love the resort type of holiday where you can totally relax, drink rum cocktails all day long, swim, eat and chill then Sugar Beach is the place for you. Staff are amazingly helpful and they will try their best to meet all your needs. Weather on the west side of the island is the best too. We were there when they had some major floods in Port Louis (where sadly several people died) but on our side we had a bit of rain for two days. So West is definitely Best.

All in all a great resort. We met people there who were returning for their 10th year. For us it was a "once is enough" type of place but that is just us and not a reflection on the resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerschB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
11.1 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
28.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing