We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked our trip at the very last minute (less than 12 hours before we flew) and we had already picked Sugar Beach because two people we know have stayed before.

It was everything we dreamed and hoped it would be. We arrived at around 11am (a bit early for check-in) but we were seated, given a welcome drink and informed that our room was ready within about two minutes of arrival - thank you Vedah for such a wonderful welcome.

Pretty much all the rooms are sea-facing, ours (752) also overlooked the quiet pool and was therefore away from the main reception and restaurants/tides bar for which we were very grateful. We had a standard room and we loved it - it was clean, comfortable and we didn't intend on spending a huge amount of time in there but it met all our needs.

We spent the majority of our days by the quiet pool and we never wanted for drinks - the service was wonderful.

We stayed on a half board basis and whilst we didn't spend more than the difference to go all inclusive, we would go all inclusive next time purely for the convenience.

We ate in the main buffet, tides and citronellas. We don't have any complaints about the food which all of a very good standard - we particularly loved Citronellas and wanted to spend our last evening there but our last evening was a Sunday and it was closed - must remember that for next time :) We had most of our lunches in Tides and the food was excellent, if a little overpriced.

We took advantage of the snorkelling and the pedaloes. The water was a bit shallow for the pedaloes but the snorkelling was out of this world - fish urchins and seahorses. For someone who had never snorkelled before I felt like I was in a disney movie.

Overall, we found Sugar Beach to be amazing. Everything about our experience was 5 star - the food, the room, the grounds and the staff. I wish I could remember the names of everyone who made the trip so memorable, but I can only remember Vedah and Olivier ( who were both sooooo lovely). We were planning our return before we had even checked out of the hotel (we are determined to go at the end of the year).

Would highly recommend this resort to anyone - we are a (fairly) young couple but found Sugar Beach suited everyone we spoke to - families and couples alike.

Room Tip: Ask for the 700's if you want quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerriejo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 3,392 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon. We made an extensive search before deciding in favor of this resort and we were not disappointed even once. This was our first visit to Mauritius, thus did not stay in any other resort to compare, but we would not exchange this stay in such beautiful surroundings to any other resort. We stayed 9 nights and spent most of our days by the beach enjoying sun, ocean and beautiful views accompanied by palm trees. We also took 3 daily trips (north, south, and east) so that we could explore the island as much as possible. Sugar Beach resort is situated close to Flic en Flac town, on the west coast offering tranquil waters and beautiful views for sunset lovers. Hotel has beautiful large gardens, palm trees, green space for sports, pond behind its Manor House and two swimming pools. We stayed at the Manor House in a double room with view to the ocean and beautiful gardens. Room was clean, spacious, with air conditioning and flat screen TV, and with all amenities you need. In room wi-fi was available at a fee, so we used the free of charge wi-fi in public places throughout our stay which was OK for reading emails and communicating with friends via Skype. Food: we generally ate at the main restaurant Mon Plaisir and were very pleased with the variety and quality. Anybody can find food for his or her taste: fish, beef, poultry, lamb, pork, vegetarian, salads, deserts... Food is plentiful and delicious. Breakfasts are also rich and you can find anything from pancakes to fresh fruit and yogurts. We stayed as half-board and it was more than sufficient for us to have a strong breakfast and eat fruits for lunch and after all day activity at the beach to have a good size dinner. There are few restaurants in this resort but Mon Plaisir is the best. Citronella, the Italian Restaurant is average. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly yet at some stage had a feeling that tipping is important part of the 'service' you get from non management staff. You can use most of the water sports facilities free of charge. Don't bring beach towels as you will be provided free of charge (save place in your luggage). To summarize. Mauritius is a beautiful island and a must visit. We were extremely pleased with our visit. People are friendly, smiling and always helpful. Weather is warm (although very humid), sunny with some refreshing tropical showers. Sugar Beach Resort, in our view, is one of the best places to stay on the west coast. It has long sandy beaches, beautiful surroundings and gardens. We could not find anything that we did not like throughout our stay. If you are to stay more than 7 nights, make sure you take some tours around the island to add some spice to your stay. Our favorite was the small island on east coast called Ile Aux Cerfs. Highly recommended to rent a small boat and spend the day on the island instead of taking a catamaran trip there as you will be allowed to stay only 2 hours which is not enough to explore and fully enjoy this superb piece of heaven. Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Rooms at third floor at Manor House overlook ocean and gardens. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager111_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sugar Beach is the 6th hotel we've stayed at in Mauritius during our visits - and is now regarded as our best hotel - the service, standards, quality of food, accommodation, and activities were excellent, particularly for a 4* hotel. We also stayed in the same year at the Sofitel just up the road from Sugar Beach, and would give Sugar Beach the thumbs up.

Food: was excellent, with a great variety of options for breakfast and dinner. We were not on full board. We were provided with special vegetarian meals on request. The pastry selection was excellent . An early morning breakfast was available when we checked-out, which was appreciated given the long trip back to the airport.

Rooms: we had a double sea-facing room, upstairs, with balcony. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. In-room wi-fi was available, at a cost (free at Sofitel).

Gardens: Sugar Beach has one of the best gardens and exterior finishes in Flic and Flic. The design of the hotel complex allows for ample garden space, yet close enough to the beach. The Manor House is an excellent choice for relaxing and getting away from the main reception and pool areas.

Pools: the location of the ‘quiet’ pool was awkward, I felt, but the main pool is beautifully designed and worth the use.

Spa and gym facilities: we used the hamann which was heavenly; the staff most pleasant considering we did not have an appointment booked; the hotel’s sports facilities are extensive and well-maintained.

Beach: we were fortunate to have tried out the wind-sailing, given the sometimes windy conditions on the west coast. The hotel has other standard boating activities, which we also used. Steven at the boathouse was so helpful and really made our beach experience a great one.

Overall, this was our best stay in Mauritius to date, and will definitely return to Sugar Beach. Hopefully for more than a week next time ;-).

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea-facing room! Upstairs with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon a couple of years ago and sadly because of very large corporate stays our time was spoiled. When this was brought to the attention of the General Manager Andrew Slome he dealt with our problem sympathetically and professionally.
We returned in December 2012 for five nights which we added on to a stay on the other side of the island. This hotel is stunning. Its location is beautiful - probably one of the best on the island. The rooms are clean, attractive, maintained well and are in keeping with a plantation theme. The gym is small but never full and the spa is a lovely place to relax. The food at the Mon Plaisir is very good and lots of variety. Tides is lovely for an early evening cocktail and to enjoy some very good entertainment. The Italian restaurant, Citronella was especially good. The staff throughout the resort could not be more helpful. The standard is consistently high from customer relations to the waiting staff; the beach staff to the housekeeping staff. No one passes without a smile or hello.
The sunsets here are the best. The adult pool is set in a perfect spot to enjoy it.
There may be more modern; bigger; cheaper resorts on Mauritius but there won't be anywhere friendlier with such a relaxed elegance. Please don't change - except the large corporate groups!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshrarebitCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I visited this resort and the most amazing time. We opted for the all inclusive option and had great food, wine and cocktails for our whole holiday. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was lovely with a great view out to sea. Quiet but entertainment most evenings. Idyllic pool and beaches, perfect relaxing time.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lorberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel, great staff, great GM, Andrew Slome! "New" layout great with best restaurant on the island - try the prawn tempura! W'll be back again and again...perfect for a family beach holiday...every year. New Year at Sugar Beach breaks the UK winter and sets us up for a good year. Start longing to go back on the flight home!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had read the reviews, good and bad about this resort but decided to go anyway. I am SO glad we did!!!!!!!!!!!! The rooms are functional and clean and although not sumptious, one does not go to this resort to park in ones room!! Our lovely chamber maid Janine place flowers all over our room every day. The grounds are magnificent as are the beaches. There are swimming areas roped off which have been cleared of coral and sea urchins. The beach is beautiful and the service is brilliant. Waiters serve you on the beach so one doesnt have to move!! The restaurants are excellent - food is varied and plentiful and lush!! Cocktails are wonderful and beautifully presented. The pools are amazing - a quiet pool and a normal pool which is massive. The staff were all amazing, friendly and go out of their way to serve. The whole mantra of this resort is to make sure you have a wonderful time. We will most definitely be going back again. Beautiful warm water, magnificent sunsets, private sandy beach, superb service...........PARADISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
1 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,256 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Mauritius

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90521
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#1 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $293 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of 12 acres of tropical gardens, the luxurious Sugar Beach Resort extends along a vast white sandy beach bordered by the sparkling turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. An idyllic setting surrounded by lush greenery and open spaces, this cool Mauritian Resort displays a colonial style blended with contemporary architecture. The restaurants, beachfront and inventive gourmet kitchens complete this romantic setting which is ideal for a honeymoon or a dream wedding in tropical paradise. Sugar Beach also offers a unique concept with the Aura Spa & Hammam Fitness Centre, unique in Mauritius. The unrivalled comfort, well planned layout and diversity of land and water activities make this resort a perfect holiday destination for families and honeymooners alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Hotel Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach Resort Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing