We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I spent part of my honeymoon at this hotel, and I have been very satisfied with it. Staff is very kindly and helpful, our room waws cleaned twice a day, the Spa was amazing and the service level very high.
Food was great, there has always been plenty of choice; the swimming pool is very nice and also the jacuzzi in it, but we preferred to go to the hotel beach that was amazing. We really liked the boat service (glass boat and snorkeling boat twice a day included in the hotel ffe, as many other services like fins and ,ask renting, canoa renting always for free). The hotel also organizes boat excursions to the best spots of the island, the cost is 10-12 euros higher than with the tour operator but you can stay in a boat with ather 4/6 people instead than 30 without space that is what the tour operators usually do (believe me, I tried) so it is very value for money.
Every part of the hotel is worth visiting, there are a lot of sport activities and babysitting going on but they are very quiet so unless you are interested in them they don't disturb you. There is no boring animation, every evening there is the piano at the vista bar and some concert until 11-30/midnight. Considering that this is not Ibiza and that you should not be looking for disco but just enjoying this paradise, it is enough to spend a nice evening and wake up enjoy the sun the day after.
I really recommend this hotel, it was sad leaving it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatrix81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a typical Hilton chain hotel which has all the usual facilities and the services you would expect from a Hilton


The Good Points

Nice beach which gets good sun through out the day
Water sports are FREE (kayaking, sailing and water skiing)
They also provide FREE boat runs daily to do snorkelling and to see dolphins
Breakfast / Dinner is good – wide choice and you will not go hungry.
Free yoga at the spa is good my wife had some treatment and she said it was good and not over priced as it can be at beach resorts


Bad Points

Drinks are way too expensive £3 for a bottle of water or glass of coke at dinner Most beer / cocktails start at £7 and range to £12…after a few they do get expensive (I do not really understand the hike here for drinks…the bars were empty and no one really hangs around most people had one drink and then. Don’t get me wrong I knew the prices before I booked this hotel and I would pay these prices if I wanted to but there was no atmosphere in the bars to have a drink there – they were full maybe 10% on the days I was there from 7pm till 10pm

No evening entertainment

Dress code in the evening men can not wear shorts or sandals in the bar / restaurant. We are on holiday, were chilled out and relaxed we do not want to be formally dressed to have a buffet dinner and a beer.

Internet was slow and expensive. £115 a week.

We met various people there and there was a common theme. If you tip nicely or be friendly with the staff they you get something in return. Some times free drinks at the bar (as they won’t charge you) or you get a nicely laid table at dinner. I thought this was wrong as then staff would try to be nice to people who they knew or look like they would tip.


Other Tips

Catch a bus from outside the hotel it’s the cheapest way to get to Port Louis 0.50p
Taxis are very expensive
The local shop around 20min walk turn left as you come out the hotel is good for all things you need.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Our original Anniversary holiday got cancelled due to the volcanic Ash so we re-booked and included 4 nights in Dubai Fabulous... as always highy reccomend Le Royal Meridien hotel.
This is a good option to stay for a few days as you will need to change in Dubai and it a long 12 hour flight from London.
On Arrival in Mauritius at the Hotel a lovely young lady named Crity greeted us and showed us to our room. Nice, Clean, everything in there you need for your stay, obviously not as grand as our suite in Dubai but it was fine.Nice touches Compliementary Polo Shirt for My Husband and a scarf for me Oh and a nice bottle of Mauritian Rum. Food in the buffet restaurant is okay bit samey each Morning /evening even though they have themed evening its fine. If you can, try and book a table in the Melaneze restaurant OH MY GOD Fantastic but very expensive but you get what you pay for!!!
Lunch each day was great fresh fish & Seafood what more can you ask for... some of the staff where execptional.... Lorna who cleaned our room Ravi ,Vivash, Pravin, Hemraj, Stephan ,Tony food and beverage Staff deserve a special Mention they where so attentative to our needs remembered out dietary needs remembered what we drank new where we like to sit for breakfast and dinner they treated us like royalty other guests stared in disbelief. We experienced a few issues and minor complaints but the staff certainly made up for this in there service and curtious manor I dont believe this was to get a good tip either they just where really nice people who care and who try to do there job properly to give a good service.
The hotel needs to work on there attention to detail on small things before they become big things but I trully recommend the Hilton Maurtius Resort & Spa not just because of the name but because of the Staff and service that they provided. I read some review and they where of a mixed bag but really sometimes you need to experience hotels for yourself as we all have different standards. We had a wonderful time and when we save up again we would revisit this hotel in a few years time. Yes Mauritius is a beautiful Island and everyone needs to come at least once in there lifetime and experience this Paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daleyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We never write reviews after our holiday but this time we felt it was worth the effort. This holiday knocked all previous holidays off the top spot. From the moment we arrived we enjoyed the exceptional hospitality of the staff. The hotel is set in a a great location, it's relatively quiet. The room was immaculate and clean. We travelled overnight arriving before check in, this was no problem as our room was made available to us early so we could rest and get settled. We arrived at the start of low season, thus enjoying a free upgrade to all inclusive which includes 2 drinks each with every meal. The selection of food and the quality meant we didn't eat anywhere else which is very unusual for us. The prices are in line with any hotel in this range, so don't expect it to be cheap, however, take advantage of duty free on the way out and be prepared for a 15 minute walk into Woolmar where most things can be picked up in the small supermarkets or take a trip into Flic En Flac for a larger range of supplies - we did this a couple of times. Moutain bikes are available at the hotel and it's a flat run into the villages.
The staff will arrange any trips you wish to take. Mauritius is a beautiful island and worth taking a trip out to see it. Highlights were walking with lions at Casela Nature Park.
Back on the beach at the hotel the staff couldn't do enough for you. Diana and her colleagues frequently asked if you wanted refreshments and free water and fruit was handed out during the day. We joined the Hilton Executive Club (free) before we went and enjoyed a cocktail evening because of this. The two bars offer happy hours etc. We would love to list all of the staff who we met and made our holiday perfect, however we'd be dissappointed if we missed anybody - everyone was great!

Although it was the start of low season the temperatures were still good - reaching 30 degrees most days and only one or two brief showers over the two weeks.

This was a completly refreshing stress free holiday. We'd go back tomorrow!

Dianne & Raymond Donald, UK

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daffers1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

This hotel is as you would expect from a Hilton. The hotel is right on the beach and has a fantastic pool. The rooms are nicely finished, with nice bathrooms and good terraces or balconys.

The pool bar that serves food during the day is nice, with tables and chairs right on the beach, the food is good quality, fairly simple food - perfect for the hot weather. The hotel also has a Thai restaurant, the food quality was very good, but would recommend that you book so you can get a table outside, the inside is ok but has no atmosphere. The main restaurant also had a buffet, the theme changed every night, I am not a fan of buffets, but the quality was reasonable, if they have an indian cuisine night when you are there I would strongly recommend for curry fans - very good quality and great selection. This is where they also hosted the buffet breakfasts - these were great, fantastic selection, great pancakes, omlette bar, eggs cooked to order etc. There was another fine dining restaurant we did not try. As with all Hilton's the catering is expensive, so would recommend trying somewhere outside the hotel for something different, the concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants the indian and fish restaurants in Flic-en-Flac were very good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is well maintained. Would recommend the complimentary watersports - the snorkelling trip is great, and the pedalos were very fun!

If you want to take a trip to the Port Louis, would recommend that you arrange a taxi to pick you up from outside the hotel grounds, you will get a much better deal as they have flat rates from the hotel. Ask the concierge.

There is also a spa, which we did not use.

I was travelling with family, but one of our part was there for business. I understand that the conference facilities were good. The internet in the room was RUBBISH!! and expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcdeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The Hilton Mauritius although situated slightly far off from the centre of Mauritius is a great hotel for a holiday. The entire hotel is literally on the beach, where the blue sky touches the sea. From the moment you enter the hotel the service is one thing that stands out completely. The check in staff personally escort you to your room, the rooms resemble a beach cabin complete with high ceilings and a comfortable bed. Other amenities such as a beach bag for your use, beach towels and a nespresso machine make the experience truly unique. The hotel also includes free water sports and snorkeling lessons. The pool shaped like a lagoon around the bar is not so great for swimming but when you have a mile long beach and the sea it really does not matter.

The pool area is great to lounge around, have lunch and drinks. The food in the hotel is very expensive and the breakfast is not as fresh as it should be. The spa is expensive but has some great water treatments. Overall service in the hotel and the hospitality of the people make the stay a repeat over and over again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We (4 adults one baby) stayed here for 2 weeks in May 2010. The hotel is pretty much as you see it on the travellers photos and is beautiful. We had adjoining rooms 1023 & 1025 which were ground floor towards the south of the resort opposite the Spa. I think most rooms here have a sea view with the possible exception of the ground floor ones near the pool.

The service we received was excellent. The staff were friendly and really looked after us with the baby. Pravin in the restaurant deserves special mention as he was very professional and was particularly friendly and efficient.

The food was great and even being there 2 weeks I didn't really tire of it. Some nights are better than others but that depends on your taste. We were half board and breakfast and dinner were both buffet service. For me the main draw back was the price of drinks, I'm perhaps not used to 5 star hotels and although I appreciate that it is going to be expensive (about £7 for a 250ml glass of house wine and the same for a pint) but to charge £3 for bottles of water that are free and unlimited in your room and are handed out during the day seems excessive.

The hotel is between Sugar Beach resort and the Sofitel and there's not really much in Flic en Flac itself. A ten minute bike ride out and left from the resort takes you to some small shops where you can stock up on beers or lunch stuff. Another ten minutes takes you to a Spar supermarket which has a decent wine and rum selection. This is about 200 Rupees in a cab (£4)

All of the places to eat in Flic en Flac were deserted during the day as I guess most of the hotels provide lunch. We went to Domaine Anna which is in the sugar cane on the main road out of Flic en Flac and it was excellent. It must look fantastic at night so I would recommend dragging yourself away from the buffet for one evening to check it out. Great food, lovely setting and a reasonably priced wine list.

If you can, then arrange your cabs with the drivers themselves and not the hotel. They wanted to charge us 2000rupees from the hotel to the airport and we arranged the trip direct with a driver for 1300. Thats about £14 of a saving ... I have the details of the very nice and reliable cab driver should you need them and he also has a baby seat if you need one.

Water sports were free but we only used the Kayaks and pedalos. The lagoon is safe and calm and no more than about 4 feet deep. We took the catamaran trip from the hotel which was fine and we went game fishing a couple of times (not booked through hotel) so feel free to get in touch if you need any advice on this.

The pool area was lovely and the beach was ok if a bit sharp with the coral on occasion. Plenty of loungers and towels etc. The beach restaurant had a happy hour with half price beers and was a nice spot to watch those sunsets. There was entertainment every night but it didn't seem that many people took advantage of it.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who fancied a few days of total R&R, great scenery and good food. The only drawback for me was one evening we waited about 20 minutes to be seated for dinner but this was a one off and was possibly due to staff shortage. Oh and the WIFI was £12 an hour and was rubbish.. I think everything else has probably been said by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,851 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90503
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $273 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing