We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hardware and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Hilton hotel delivers better service comparing with other Resort & Spa on the island. The room is not big but enough to use. The breakfast is good. The staff are friendly, especially the medical room. However, you cannot compare it with other Hiltons. It is a 5-star-hotel but not Hilton service. The receptionists are not warm enough - they alway look busy and tired to answer guest's query. The boat house and bar tenders are outstanding nice. The hardware and facilities are really good. The hotel next to a public beach, it is really noisy during public holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Zhencao W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Zhencao W (Mauritius),

We thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed many aspects of our resort and we have well noted the items which need improvement.

The comments and suggestions from our Guests are always of a great help because they allow us to check on the hotel operations and thus give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa in order to experience our services again.

Kind regards

Dominique Dmytryszyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,470)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent location, layout of the place and most beautiful swimming pool. Views over the pool are fantastic. Good for business, couples, family, friends and even solo! All you need is there as long as you are prepared to pay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Larysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We are just completing our time at the Hilton Mauritius and have to say that it has been one of the best holidays we have enjoyed as a family. As they say, it 'all starts from the top' in terms of service excellence and Dominique - the General Manager - has done a fantastic job in creating a culture that ensures hotel guests are well taken care of. The resort rooms are well designed and have easy access to the pools and ocean. The evening entertainment is also very enjoyable. Would recommend this property to families and couples.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank FrankinShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had only just been married in Australia a couple of days before arriving and were on our honeymoon, looking forward to a dream time on a beautiful island. Unfortunately, however, our overall experience at the Hilton Mauritius was not a pleasant one.
The main reason for this was the exposure to smoking in different parts of the resort, including and especially, inside our room. My wife suffers asthma, so whenever we are exposed to cigarette smoke, we find it difficult to breathe. We suspect cigarette smoke was carried into our room via the air conditioning ducts, from elsewhere in the hotel. Regardless of where it came from, the stench of cigarettes in our room was so bad one evening, that we called reception to have something done about it. While my wife was gagging in the bathroom, some air freshener was sprayed and that made things a little better for a while, but then the smell returned. We turned off the air conditioner and ensured the balcony door was properly closed, but of course in such hot and humid conditions, we spent an extremely restless and uncomfortable night, much of it awake, before checking out the following morning. When I complained to management, their response was that "we cannot be held responsible for other guests’ actions". We were amazed at this arrogant dismissal of our right to have a smoke-free room. They just didn't seem to care.
The smoke in our room was the worst, but we were disappointed we could not enjoy sitting outside our room on the chairs provided, simply because of the continuous smoking of others in adjoining rooms, who were smoking on their balconies. We therefore had to lock ourselves in our room whenever we were there. We found this to be unacceptable. I recommended to the management that perhaps a certain part of the resort could be made completely smoke-free, so that non-smokers like us could also enjoy sitting outside, but they weren't interested.
The smoking experience did not end there. While swimming in the pool, three young men were standing in the pool drinking from beer bottles and smoking cigarettes. I approached them and politely asked them to stop, but they refused and were rude to me. Hotel staff were not far away and did not intervene. Later, while sitting near the bar trying to enjoy a cocktail, a woman also sitting at the bar lit up a cigarette not far from us. Again, hotel staff did nothing to stop her even though it is against hotel rules to smoke there, and after the previous threats I had received from the male smokers, I decided to take no action.
Even when we checked into the hotel, we were guided to seats adjacent to the reception area, and immediately, other guests sat alongside us and lit up cigarettes. We couldn't believe that this would occur at reception, and we complained to the staff member checking us in. Nothing was done as smoking is actually permitted in that location. We were forced to move to a different location to complete check-in, and we found this to be unacceptable too.
The evening before we left I requested a wake-up call from the concierge for 5:30am as we had to leave for the airport at 6:00am. No wake-up call was received, and it was only good luck that we were awake, so we could get away on time.
There were aspects of our stay at the Hilton Mauritius we were very pleased with. Many of the staff were lovely and it's a beautiful location. However, on such a special occasion as our honeymoon, we were extremely disappointed that we chose to stay at this hotel. We left feeling tired and frustrated, and annoyed that our once-in-a-lifetime experience fell so short of our expectations.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel if you are bothered by cigarette smoke. You can't escape it at the Hilton.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Peter H,

We are very sorry you misinterpreted our reply which was made following your request for a full refund of your stay.

We do take our guests’ wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet their expectations and we are very sad when we do not succeed, as in your case. We truly regret the inconvenience caused to you and we hope that you will take up our offer for a complimentary upgrade should you stay with us again.

With best regards
The Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here last weekend again for a couple of days, Had a fantastic room with a direct sea view in the new section of the hotel, which has its own swimming pool. Always able to find a good spot to relax on the beach under a parasol, service was as always excellent. Food is exceptional, dont miss the fire ceremony after sunset. The sunset here is truly awesome. Special thanks to JULIEN REYNAUD who is the front reception manager who was most helpful and made us feel like VIP guests. Have made this a favourite place and will always go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss the sunset
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhogguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located and the concierge is very helpful. The helped us with alot of sightseeing and other works in Mauritius. The food is expensive and water even more! The disappointing experience with my stay was there was a leak in toilet (and a massive stink) in my room. I had informed the staff about it and it took more than 2 hours (3 different staff members) for them to identify the problem even when I had informed them about the leak spot (with my basic knowledge). After identifying the problem the staff expected me to stay in that room! There were a few dead insects in the room which had ants on them. It took 1 hour for the house keeping staff to clean it. Had the house keeping staff been a bit more active and caring - this stay would have been alot better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sumedh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Sumedh K,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are happy our concierge team lived up to your expectations and we hope that they contributed to making your stay with us memorable.

We would like to reassure you that meanwhile we have proceeded to a complete review of this room and done the necessary to ensure that all is in good working condition. We sincerely apologise for these incidents which did not reflect the image that we always deliver.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again so that you may experience the excellent service standard we are known for.

The Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Service was excellence. The food was Great. A good Varieté and taste.
The Beach and the Garden Areas were phenomenal.

But there were some things that could be Better. For example the rooms could be cleaner and the Furniture in The rooms could be newer, Specially the Bath Area. There are too Many exclusions for a fullboardmember, and we do Not Talk about the lobster or such things.

But in General it was a Great Holiday and we can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenColog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
11.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,190 reviews
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90503
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $214 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing