We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in Paradise - Great People, Delicious Food, Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent six glorious days in this beautiful hotel, situated on a picture perfect tropical beach, with volcanic mountains in the distance and crystal clear water right outside our door.
First impressions of the hotel were all you could ask for - greeted warmly by the front desk staff while being ushered to luxurious lounges where we were presented with refreshing lime and coconut cocktails and a cooling towel while checking-in in comfort.
Our ground floor deluxe room was very spacious, beautifully appointed with a plush king-sized bed, marble bathroom with full-sized bath and top-class toiletries and fittings, and luxurious bathrobes and slippers supplied. We also enjoyed a very comfortable chaise-like lounge for watching the LCD TV, and a writing desk and private balcony overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens, with glimpses of the aqua blue water and pool. The views weren't as good as those in the rooms above but the convenience of access to the pool, restaurants and the beach more than made up for it. Being on the ground floor meant we were often visited by tiny tropical birds as we enjoyed a "cuppa" on the balcony - some quite inquisitive but never intrusive.
The water activities at the resort were included in the price and we enjoyed several trips on the glass-bottom boat, spying on the different varieties of coral and fish in the sparkling clear water, as well as seeking out pods of dolphins as they fed in Tamarin Bay only a short boat trip away. Once we were surrounded by about 60 of these beautiful creatures and we spied several people swimming with them and having a wonderful time. Floating around the lagoon on a paddleboat or kayak were more great experiences and the water was always clear enough to catch sight of several tropical fish varieties. Although the varieties and the population of fish weren't as prolific as those in the lagoon at the Cook Islands when we snorkelled off the Rarotongan beach, it was still worth it, especially if it's your first attempt - the clarity of the water is perfect, similar to Aitutaki in the Cook Islands.
The staff were exceptional in their service and friendliness - always with a ready smile, a friendly greeting and the beautiful gesture of a hand over their heart as they greet you with "Bonjour". When we asked the significance of the hand gesture, we were told their greeting was meant in a genuine heartfelt attitude.
At 7.00 pm each evening, staff from all the areas of the hotel, e.g. wait staff, chefs, housemaids, gardening, water activities staff, maintenance and administration etc, gather beside the beach for the Torch Lighting Ceremony where torches are lit from a pit fire and then each staff member light more torches peppered around the entire resort so that it looks like a fairyland. While the ritual is being observed, the stirring piece "Adiemus" by Karl Jenkins is playing and it creates a wonderful accompaniment to such a moving custom. (You can listen to this beautiful piece here - I recommend it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vrhgk8Fa_QE )
The food at the resort was plentiful, fresh, delicious and satisfying. We had the advantage of half-board, which included a full American-style breakfast and a different themed buffet each evening. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, all manner of hot dishes, eggs, cereals, many varieties of bread for toasting, sweet pastries and yoghurts - and probably other offerings which I didn't see as there were far too many to enjoy! The dinner buffet was sumptuous with fresh soup and many different bread types, umpteen choices of Hors d'oeuvres beautifully arranged in formations of tiny dishes, several different piping hot dishes, including fresh fish cooked as you watched, several different vegetables, many assorted salads and an eye-catching vast array of delicious French patisseries and desserts - again displayed beautifully and something to suit every palate, including fresh fruit. The only thing we had to pay for were our drinks and lunch if we stayed in at the hotel for the day.
Special mention must go to Joelle, Aartee and Alexandre from the La Pomme D'Amore restaurant and Les Coquillages Beach Café who always greeted us warmly and made our dining experiences extra special, and another to Deepak, the exceptional concierge with his warm smile and readiness to make our stay the best it could be. He organised two excellent tours with a private driver for us - one an all day tour around the south-west corner of the island which is the most spectacular part of all, with volcanic mountains, a dormant crater, eye-catching ribbon-like waterfalls plunging into lush valley floors, the Seven Coloured-Earth - a fascinating tourist attraction also with some petting Seychelles tortoises to amuse you, and huge waves crashing onto black volcanic rocks at the only section of the island where the reef doesn't prevent waves from making it to the island itself. Our second trip which he organised was to the fabulous Casela Nature and Leisure Park where we patted lions and cheetahs - simply stunning and so moving - and taking a segue journey through the safari park where we fed and patted ostriches, wild piglets before playing with a herd of zebras - the most incredible experience!
I thoroughly recommend this hotel for all its comforts and amenities - and the people who treat you like kings and queens but make you feel as though you're part of their family.

Room Tip: Although the view isn't as good of the ocean, the convenience to all the activities and restaura...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferLarmarAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,478)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice resort. We had a great time at the Hilton Mauritius. Food was lovely and my son loved the pool. I highly recommend happy hour on the beach while you watch the sun set. Only set back was that we spent 10 nights there but never got to see a Sega show which is a traditional dance in Mauritius. Also had a major renovation happening to the main poolside bar and we didnt get to use it. Otherwise its a great place to relax and forget about the world. Any concerns were always looked after and taken care off by Dharshinee in customer service/relations. She was great. The beach is also beautiful. I highly recommend this resort but ensure you check if any renovations are occuring at the time of your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a fantastic experience with Hilton Phuket and when I landed at Hilton Mauritius, my expectations were soaring sky high and believe me the resort just took my breath away....it's a epitome of luxury with lot of water sports and extremely courteous staff...the only reason I give it 4 stars is not because of the quality of stay, which was unmatched and brilliant experience but the way the entire pricing is stuctured, I was told only after check in that the room rate does not includes breakfast, now anybody has to be really out of senses to book a room without breakfast, infact Hilton should never have this option as the booking agents misled the travelers by showing lower charges, secondly if you ask for drinking water, the hotel says its chargeable, now this is absurd as drinking water is basic requirement, thirdly they impose a formal dress code at the time of dinner and I thought its supposed to be resort, fourthly the restaurant expects the guests to make reservation in advance, now imagine you come at 8 PM, check in restaurant for a dinner and you are turned down because of your causal dress or lack of reservation....if the management just takes cares of these minor irritants, I think this resort will be unbeatable in terms of luxury....

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Check in was smooth and welcoming - it was very personalized and you got to sit in the lobby and relax while they checked you in. An upscale touch that I've enjoyed at places like the Four Seasons.

Also the Concierge was helpful in booking a day trip.

Beach service could be improved. They employ the "towel" card concept here like they do at other beach hotels. It's so Obnoxious!! Hilton you need to do away with the towel cards. One towel per person?? You need at least two - one to line the beach chair and another to dry with. It's just an annoying thing to deal with when you're on a beach vaca and when you stay at a nicer tier of hotels you never have to deal with stupid stuff like this.

Also the beach is covered in rocks and leaves and coral. I'd understand if this were a public beach but since it's on property they should groom it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexaopi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMauritius, General Manager at Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear lexaopi9,

We thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed many aspects of our property and we have well noted the items which need improvement.

The comments and suggestions from our Guests are always of a great help because they allow us to check on the hotel operations and thus give us the opportunity to improve our services.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa.

The Hilton Mauritius Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

we booked a deluxe room which was comfortable and kept very clean by the staff. wonderful food. bathroom big and clean. beachfront location, 45 mins walk to flic en flac town or 5 mins taxi ride £4.00 each way. very friendly and helpful staff. plenty of watersports.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank lindax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived late as usual it appears, planes are late quite often.

We were thrilled to see our large spacious senior suite with direct access to beach.
Bed beautifully decorated with welcome and flowers. We were so tired we fell into bed.

Unfortunately we were next to a building renewal, which does not mean heavy machinery, but men digging trenches etc, but still 7am was not appreciated. They had long lunches so we slept then lol.

We arose and went to breakfast, which was situated in the middle of water features with fish beside you. Our table was there for us most mornings. We enjoyed our breakfast and meals.
The staff are charming, they have this greeting where they place their hand over their heart and greet you. Only used in this hotel. Nice thinking by management.

We would recommend the Thai restaurant , we had the chefs selection, with not too hot request, was amazing and it kept coming! We don't drink wines often so not overly expensive for us.
All said in last report was true except for maid.

Our room is top of the range but one, only two on site, we saw our maid once, we had no evening down turn service at all, our sheets were so rough and old it irritated my legs. We had to call three times to have room cleaned and finally a supervisor came with two seniors and changed the bed. Doona is very heavy and no top sheet so no covering when too hot. We like to turn off air con but not this suite.
There are directions to lock your room which we did, except once in evening, we were told afterwards the staff come in at night, so there may be a reason for one night. There was no information given to us on this.

Apart from this, the beach is glorious and our suite had is own chairs and table plus two lay back chairs in other area. We sat out there most of the time and relaxed. We swam in pool which is a sight to see with waterfalls and children area and hot spa, nice for oldies.

There is a ceremony every evening of lighting torches, with music, nice touch.
We went on paddle boats and glass bottom boat, again the boat crews are wonderful, chatting away and trying to find best fish etc. due to weather we didn't go out over reef but we were happy.

Soudesh Chamaree, is the most exceptional concierge we have seen. He arranged our helicopter tour for an hour over the island just before are plane to Seychelles departed. Also our trip to Casella park to have interaction with the lions, every time he saw us using wireless in the lobby he came to see if he could do anything for us, a charming man and his staff also. He was like a relative or brother to us, we really appreciated all his attention and help. Nothing was too difficult for him

We congratulate the manager for the manner he has his staff operating in all areas but one. The location and the staff make this holiday a memorable one
I encourage more Australians to come here to stay and also to continue on for another wonderful Hilton in the Seychelles.

Room Tip: Senior suite, spacious and beach access.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Was in Mauritius for business however arriving at the Hilton made it feel like a holiday! The staff were unbelievable! I worked most days & on my last day the Restaurant Manager said at breakfast "this is your last day you should have a champagne & OJ" he also arranged a fantastic chicken curry lunch for me on the beach. The Mauritians take pride in spoiling you & at the Hilton you will never have to lift a finger let alone your drink. If you move from the Vista Bar to the restaurant they will carry your drinks downstairs & accompany you. Maybe because I was on my own but everyone was amazing. Very special place. Will go back soon! Hotel is also very well maintained. Under going renovations. Can't wait to see the new improvements.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesunsetsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
11.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,199 reviews
28.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90503
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#5 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $219 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star resort enjoys an exceptionally sunny position, located on the western coast. It stands on one of the island's most famous beaches, Flic en Flac. The warm and refined atmosphere of the Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa, characterised by a unique purity of line, has been built using a palette of forms and colours to evoke a contemporary Asian and Mauritian design in perfect harmony with its lush setting. This delicate atmosphere can also be found in the 193 rooms and suites laid out in series of low buildings, all of them facing out to the sea and the setting sun. The choice of restaurants includes La Pomme d'Amour with its range of local and international fare, Ginger Thai featuring authentic Thai cuisine. Hotel guests can as well enjoy lunch at Les Coquillages, the beach restaurant.Relax and unwind at The Spa Mauritius, inspired from the 4 sensorial elements - fire, water, air and earth. Guests can choose from a wide range of treatments to restore their natural equilibrium. Apart from the water sports and activities available at the hotel, guests have access to a 9-hole putting green, three tennis courts and a Kids Club, for children aged from 4 to 12, and run by a team of fully qualified professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mauritius Resort And Spa
Hilton Mauritius Hotel Flic En Flac
Hilton International Wolmar
Hilton Wolmar
Wolmar Hilton
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing