We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality”
Review of Tides Restaurant

Tides Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked a meal here whilst staying at La Pirogue on a half board basis.

Although this restaurant is at their sister hotel, Sugar Beech, we got an allowance towards our meal and were seated with a view of the beech.

Even though the food was al a carte we still found the prices reasonable and the taste and quality first class.

Although mainly a seafood restaurant there are meat choices available.

They have a great starter option in a choice of tapas available, if you opted for the six piece you could even share.

We both decided on individual 4 piece tapas followed by slow roasted pork, the presentation was excellent and so was the quality of the food and service.

Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    107
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Just Perfect'”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of the Restaurants not to be missed in Mauritius. The food is excellent and presentation is great! Good wine and professional service. Been there 5 times!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mientjie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunches and Dinner!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I ate here multiple times during my stay, mostly for lunch but for dinner once too. Lunch was a good menu for a typical "beach bar" - drinks, sandwiches, and some sushi/seafood options. There is a nice view of the ocean and the restaurant is right near the main pool so you can easily stop in the middle of your beach day to eat.

The dinner menu impressed me the most. The restaurant menu transforms from a lunch menu to a dinner menu with lots of high end options. I had the filet and it was delicious. The presentation of the food was wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starla729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng , South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good cocktails with not so good food....”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a few lunches at the tides and were not blown away with the food. The menu needs to be looked at to cater for all dietary requirements. When the food arrived it was over cooked and bland. We also had my husband birthday dinner here on the one evening and were not very impressed. The food was average. I ordered a Chocolate fondant for dessert but when it arrived it was over cooked and was like a chocolate cake. The cocktails here are really good though and we were not left disappointed whenever we ordered any...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TashnViven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking Service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

shocking service, for simple beer order, on all the times we went there. management really needs to monitor why it takes so long - especially when the bar wasn't packed / busy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Restaurant also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Tides Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing