We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, pathetic experience”
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 69 Restaurants in Flic En Flac
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome view, pathetic experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We used to pass this restaurant every night but never went in. On our last night in Mauritius, we decided to dine here and believe me, it was a mistake. The place looks fabulous from outside. The waiter called another waiter to answer few questions we had.

Finally we order venison (deer meat) sizzler. The waiter got this dish but did not know if it was beef or venison and spent 2 minutes in confirming it. By that time, the sizzler died and on top of that the dish was super salty. Crispy beef was fine but little dry. Fried noodles were fine but could have been the same taste at any road side stall too. The prices are steep but the taste was bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khalidraza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    50
    49
    39
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very bad..no taste not service..”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Food taste horrible..service as if it's closed ...it's front of the see and has a bar attached to it ...drinks also I was scared to try....better not try it.

Helpful?
Thank theone11137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fish scam”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

After reading other reviews we were also taken in by the fish scam as its being named. We were going to order a small fish but the waiter said there was another fish freshly caught that evening. Sounds good so we ordered it- service was terribly slow though we waited ages and he said it was because we had ordered fish! Anyway the rice, noodles and other meals were good however when the bill came the price of the fish was around £16-18 !! Extortionate when it was only average. Don't order the fish not on the menu unless you check the price beforehand. This was the only downside as well as the slow service. Would probably go back as the rest of the menu was not badly priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walshxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Avoid ”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Before ordering asked for a draft beer. While waiting for our order to be taken everyone around us lit up cigarettes. Moved tables but still no one took our order. We asked to cancel the drink order as we decided to leave. Waiter said we still had to pay for drinks. Out came a very large beer... not a small Beer as I thought I would get. We then asked for the menu again as it would take so long to drink the beer we decided we would eat. Waiters walked past us about 7 times without asking for our order so we finally asked for the bill. The beer price On the menu was 110 but they charged us 175 plus tax because they said I ordered a big beer, which I did not. They claim the only size for draft beer is large but it is not written in the menu or explained. When I complained to the owner the waiter lied and said he explained to me that draft beer is only one large size....which he did not. I paid only the "beer" price On the menu and left.

Helpful?
Thank SydneyGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keele, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Poor service and food!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

To cut a long story short, we got duped into ordering a "900" gram instead of a"500" gram fish. Turned out that the fish that they eventually served us weighed 1200 grams and cost about three times as much as the one that we originally had wanted to order (which they claimed was unavailable). We only found out when the bill arrived; 20 euro here or there would not have mattered if it was not for the fact that the food was average at best... AH YOUN is definitely the place to go for Chinese on the strip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyhKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing