We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese food”
Review of Ah youn

Ah youn
Ranked #24 of 67 Restaurants in Flic En Flac
Price range: $15 - $57
Cuisines: Chinese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Http://ah-youn.restaurant.mu/
JB
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chinese food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

They close at 3pm for lunch. We arrived at 2.30pm, so the choices of food was very limited. We tried fried rice with Chinese sausage,taste good!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChinKepoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    229
    125
    42
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not missing anything”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Not a pleasant dining experience at all. Service was incredibly slow - took forever just to even get menus, then we saw our drinks sitting at the bar for ages while the staff just kept walking past! Food was very average. Our meal was completely ruined by overwhelming numbers of flies (might have been the weather, but none of the other restaurants we ate at had the problem to the extent that Ah Youn did)!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellesees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So-so...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food was like everywhere else where we ate, but the staff were not nice. I think waiter didn't say even one word during our visit there. Not to say about a smile. I prefered other restaurants, where the staff was much nicer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anya_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nAah”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

bad service, bad food full of raw onion, not nice at all, poor costumer service, full of flies, not nice at all,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milan_nozka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even below the average”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a disappointing dinner! I guess, this place has so many reviews simply because it is located on the main street in Flic en Flac and it gets all those diners without looking after the quality of the food they serve!

Food is disappointingly simple. For instance, the well-known chicken with cashew nuts is nothing else than some pieces of chicken cooked together with 'defrosted' mixed carrots and green peas that you can buy in every supermarket and on top some dry nuts. Well… if your are traveling on a small budget, are very hungry and don't mind that it all tastes pretty much the same then this is the place for you - otherwise there are so much better alternatives without costing much more.

The second disappointment was the lobster. Fine, I admit I don’t know how to eat a lobster, so I couldn’t enjoy my meal a lot. But there was nearly nothing to enjoy! Either my lobster was very skinny or the best bits were on somebody else's plate..

The staff was also not particularly attentive, which rounded off our well below average experience.

Our tip would be: if you don’t mind walking a bit further or if you have a car, try out the Sunset Garden, because it serves delicious food and the staff is very welcoming (see review).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debesumanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ah youn also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Ah youn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing