We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Disappoints”
Review of Aanari Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Disappoints”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A well-known travel company offered a new year's package to Mauritius. Having taken a package with the company before and loving it (see my review on Pearle Beach), I expected this to be another value-for-money package, but obviously factored in a higher cost than previously because it was now high season.

My first disappointment was realising Aanari is across the road from the beach, when the advert had said "just steps away from the beach" - therefore it was not a resort where the hotel had designated beach loungers for guests...

That was minor compared to other problems we experienced. We got written confirmation from the travel agent that the hotel would provide vegetarian food for my boyfriend but this was not the case, and in fact the food generally was inedible - the fruit and yoghurt at breakfast were hot and soggy, the salads at night were watery and limp and there were cockroaches and flies in the restuarant - needless to say we both got food poisoning on separate occasions during our week stay.

The hotel was not well-run either - the duvet was too short (my feet stuck out and I am not that tall), the bath was tiny and reception couldn't swap our dirty beach towels for fresh ones for three days in a row!

Therefore, I will say that I still love Mauritius, and the day trips are great, but make sure you get all the facts from your travel agent before booking the hotel - there are many details that they omit unless you expressly ask.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauritianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    260
    65
    36
    19
See reviews for
124
269
53
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had spent a week in Mauritius for work and decided to spend the 2011 Xmas in the west coast town - Flic en Flac.

This is a small boutique hotel, with all essential facilities available. This is a place that visitors can relax and be comfortable to roam around the town. It is a 3-star and indeed at this value, or slightly better (3 and half star) if everything does not break down.
* It is at a great location. The hotel is at the intersection of major roads. It is right across from the town police station. SPAR supermarket is next door. There are a few places to eat and drink.
* The staff are very friendly. There may be times that they do not understand fully the requests (the island speaks Creole or French, English is for basic communication). There are a few times I have to request multiple times to get some response. although we cannot quite figure out the reason is due to the staff or the hotel management.
* We got half board room rate - which include breakfast and dinner. I have to say the breakfast is the same everyday and midiocore. The dinner is above average. We can always name one dish out of each night (7 nights we stayed with them) for "Dish of the Day" and wanted to go back to more.
* The public beach is just across from Royal Road. It is very convenient. You can also find sports operators very easily with 5-10min walk along road side.
* The hotel is cute, clean with its own charm. But in general, do not expect quick response.
* The hotel also got a spa on 3rd floor. A very nice view from it. Worth to take a look. The time I went over, it has been very quiet, without any patrons and it still requires one-day advance booking.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay with Aanari hotel. It fit into our idea of convenience and self-efficient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VnK293816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Aanari Hotel & Spa is a 3 star property in mauritius, flic-en-flac area.
Its just an average hotel without a basic feature of room-service availability. It was so terrible to face no room services. Nothing could be ordered in the room from kitchen. The food although was available on the ground floor in the restaurant which has got a good sceneric view.

There is a supermarket, SPAR, loacted right besides the hotel and shopping there was a good fun because all the regular stuff like water, coke, cakes, waffers, etc was easily available there. In Mauritius, no hotels/restaurants provide water for drinking on arrival. So, we had to buy atleast 2 litres of water per day from SPAR. The same in hotel was really expensive. (Approx 4 times). Not even in the rooms, you will find water to make a cup of tea or coffee. So, please be prepared to use either tap water from washroom or keep mineral water bottle handy always.

The hotel staff was good and friendly. they were helpful as well.

SPA requires a one day prior booking and is worth for around 2000 Mau Rupees.
GYM and POOL were not really attractive. The pool is too small to swim.

Room Tip: Please see AC's effectiveness. Some are too far from bed. please check thorougly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarunkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Hotel is very clean & value for money. It has a beautiful beach just opposite the Hotel. The staff is very friendly. Avi was of great help. Thanks for the veg food which was provided as per our request.

Room Tip: Negotiate directly with the Hotel to get a better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharth_b_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days. Although the town is very small and rather far from Grand Bay/ Tourist attractions it is a beautiful quiet area. The hotel is across the street from the beach. The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are rather spacious. The hotel is situated right next to the "Spar" so you can go buy anything from the convenience store, which makes it very affordable if you are a budget traveler. As with most hotels in Mauritius, the TV channels are limited to french channels. The supper is in the form of a buffet, but is a themed buffet. Unfortunately, if you are not fons of a certain theme, you will have very little to eat that evening. However, the food is well prepared. The breakfasts are also buffet. The gym is very small, with only a few (limited) machines, I would advise that you pack your running shoes in and hit the road. The pool area is also small, and can just be used to cool down, one will not be able to swim lengths. Overall this is a very pleasant hotel, and staff are helpful and friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlenesteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorakhpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

myself op singh spent my holidays along with my family in mauritus in hotel anari from 10 of nov to 14 nov,i would like to express my thanks heartdly to all the staff especially the manager mr.rishi for his courteous,kind,polite nature.i was greatly impressed with his hospitality and caring nature.

in the end i would like to thank all staffs of anari for making my holidays especial.

thanking you.

yours

o.p.singh

gorakhpur(up) ,india

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank op s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My Boyfriend booked a holiday for us in May 2011 and I didn't know where I was going until Heathrow Airport. When we arrived at the Aanari it took my breath away, I couldn't have wished for anything better. The accommodation was superb, clean, modern and bright but with a traditional feel; the food was outstanding, with a choice of different cuisines each night, and breakfast each morning. The staff were attentive, polite and accommodating, and the outdoor pool was just beautiful. The beach is a stones throw away, and the sea is so clear and blue it looks like it has been photo-shopped, and at night is the ideal setting for a romantic stroll. All in all the whole experience was 10/10. Thank you to all the staff at the Aanari Hotel & Spa for helping to create a wonderful memory, experience and holiday. Lorain & Clive

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOLO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.5 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas Caroline
Villas Caroline
#9 of 18 in Flic En Flac
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Flic En Flac
979 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,150 reviews
23.8 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanari Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanari Hotel & Spa

Property: Aanari Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Road, Pasadena Village, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#10 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanari Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanari Hotel & Spa is located on the west coast of the island, 50 km, (45 mins car drive), from Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport, and 35 km, (30 mins car drive), from Port Louis, the Capital City. It is strategically located in the heart of Flic En Flac within walking distance of tourist attractions and services. Aanari awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aanari Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanari Hotel Flic En Flac
Aanari Hotel And Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing