We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was wished for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what was wished for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

We are very experienced travelers and have been all over the world, but the start of our holiday did not go well we were flying from Bristol to Paris then on to Mauritius with air france never again, we were given other sides of the plane on a 12 hour flight, when we arrived at Mauritus airport my suit case had been left in Paris, my case arrived the next afternoon so was in the same clothes for two days. we got to the hotel which outside looks very nice,was given a cold cocktail and shown to our sea view room which had a great seaview, the room was clean and spacious a great powerful shower lots of space for a couple,you are given towels for your room but they are very small and not enough as they clean them every day then havent enough to replace them, you have 3 pin plugs in the room and a hair dryer not enough tea and coffee so take with you the tv programs are all in German or Frence apart from world news so on a rainy day not alot to do. The food is very repetitive not very hot and some times I could not find much to eat but you can ask for an omlette or chicken but who goes all that way to eat english hot food? The staff in the restaurant cant do enough for you and felt embarrised if we had to order somthing else other than eat the buffett, You can have as much wine as you want and the drinks are great the restaurant staff fall over backwards to help you have a great time, the bar staff on the other hand as stated in the last review are made to do stocktakes twice aday so you are kept waiting and one member of staff makes you feel as if you are an inconvenience to him, the bar shuts at 11pm if you are on allinclusive but by then we were ready for bed anyway as to get a beach bed you have to be up by 6.30am to beat the Germans,the boys in the boat house are very helpful and good fun we went out on the glass bottom boat but not a lot to see as all the coral is broken and not a lot of fish. the beds on the beach are old and the beds around the pool are of good quality but need cusitions as they are vey uncomfortable they need more umbrellas as there are not enough when it gets very hot which it did while we were there. if you are exspecting a exotic place then I would not recommend this place as there are not alot of animals apart from at the zoo. We went on one trip with mercury to the south of the island and also to the flee market on sunday on the bus but it was all the same on each stall. we went to the spa and had a full body massage which was good,if you like to go walking to the left of the hotel is alot of 5 star hotels and to the right you can walk to the town, The flight home was excellant we flew with air mauritius and slept most of the way the food was good and hot, if you have any questions please ask me, I wish i would of paid more and chose a better hotel, we will not be returning to this country.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor room 216 good view but a long walk each time, garden rooms are good if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinker123209971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    303
    130
    60
    50
See reviews for
207
518
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We selected the Pearle Beach based mainly on the opinions of fellow travellers, on the whole, it was a disappointment. On arrival, we were shown to our room which was fine, except that it was on the second floor. As my wife has slight mobility problems, I requested a transfer to a ground floor room. The reception staff could not have been more helpful. Apologising for the fact that it would take some time to clean the new room, we were sent for lunch. After the room was ready, we found it spotless and comfortable. Full marks for reception and housekeeping. Unfortunately, that is where excellence ended. The restaurant staff were good but because of the way it is organised, they were held back from providing a really great service by the hotel routines. They were compelled to produce endless bills on the restaurant Electronic Point of Sale (EPOS) machine for drinks which had to be brought from the bar. We had to sign each of these bills even though the final figure was £0.00. I am not a fussy eater and can always find something that is palatable. What I do expect however is that the food has flavour and that it is at least hot. The restaurant had a la carte menus at lunch time during our first week and buffets thereafter. Food on the a la carte menu was freshly cooked to order and was hot. All evening meals were served buffet style. Soups were bland. In fact without looking at the label on the container, it would sometimes have been almost impossible to guess what the soup was supposed to be. Mostly, food available on the buffets was at best tepid and at worst at room temperature. Whilst the meat available had some, flavour accompanying vegetables and pasta was tasteless. The menu also seemed repetitious as everything seemed to taste the same (when it had taste that is) day in day out. The bar was another area that suffered from hotels managements desire for pointless paperwork. Usually two bar staff were on duty, however, most nights one or the other would spend at least seventy five percent of their time entering data on the EPOS machine or stock taking. If you like a drink after 10.00 pm, expect to be studiously ignored due to administrative tasks. When a fellow guest reminded a barman that she was still waiting for a drink that she had ordered five minutes previously, his response was in my view extremely aggressive. After all, how dare we as clients interrupt his admin!

Evening entertainment when provided was reasonable. Day time entertainment was non existent. When my wife asked whether water aerobics was to take place, she was told that the pool temperature was too low. What a joke, the outside temperature was in the high twenty's, how could the water stay cold?

Parasols were also in short supply around the pool area, those that were available were all broken to some degree or another.

A couple of points that might be helpful. Rooms are fitted with both 2 pin and 3 pin (UK) power sockets. A hair dryer is fitted in the bathroom. The minibar is restocked daily but beware, we were informed by a barman that whilst travellers with Mercury Direct receive a free minibar, others do not. Check with the reception staff on arrival whether this correct as hotel prices are ridiculously high should you have to pay them. If you decide that you wish to travel, take a bus in to Flic en Flac and talk to one of the travel companies in the village. We travelled in a small group of fellow Brits from the hotel around the south of the island for around £15.00 per head instead of the £57.00 per head being charged by our rep.

I think the hotel can be summed by a remark made to me by a fellow traveller who had been at Pearle Beach for two weeks and had another two weeks stay ahead. He said wistfully, "I wish we were going with you" as we left.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete&Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Pearle Beach Resort & Spa for 2 weeks from 27th August 2011 with my boyfriend and we had the most amazing holiday. We chose a hotel on the West of the Island as we heard the weather is always drier and warmer there, especially during the Mauritian winter. When we arrived the weather was quite cloudy and it rained on day 2 of our holiday. As the first week progressed, the weather got much better, still with cloudy spells but mostly in the late afternoon /evening and often clearing up after a bit. So overall, the weather in flic en flac for the 2 weeks was fabulous. I have to warn you though, it did get quite cool in the evenings especially as we were right by the sea.

Our tour operator was Mercury Direct and they really do give you something extra. We went all inclusive and through Mercury Direct has a free minibar and free massage at the hotel's spa, plus a knowledgeable transfer driver straight from the airport to our hotel.

The hotel itself is fairly small compared to other hotels in that area, and it was situated on a fairly busy road. We tried several different rooms on the top floor for noise levels and those furthest from the bar were definitely the noisiest for traffic. We settled for a room overlooking the bar area and we got used to the traffic noise after a few days - plus we weren't in the room that much and it was sporadic. One slight drawback of the hotel being small is that you kind of have to be involved with the evening entertainment as you can hear it very loud in the room. Oddly, the first saturday and sunday were very quiet, then the monday they had a dance group and band in and it was really loud until quite late. But it was a good mix overall.

Enough of the negatives, there were some really great points about this hotel:

Staff: they couldn't do enough for us. They let us change rooms 3 times to find one that suited my tolerance of noise. We complained the fridge was too noisy at night and they came and changed it (replacement still quite noisy so i just unplugged it at night). They were always very helpful and welcoming in and around the hotel, in the restaurant and bar, and the boat house. We got to know some of them quite well and it added to the entertainment value of our holiday.

Nice room: a few shabby elements like bathroom hooks missing, but overall the room was great. Giant oversized double bed, massive double shower and bathroom with a window so you can see the ocean, plenty of storage, air con, nice decor and a sweet little balcony to watch the sunset from.

Restaurant: Excellent! Lots of choice most days. The first week we had a buffet choice for lunch and tea and there was always plenty to choose from, although curry style food seemed to be an underlying theme. There was plenty of freshly cooked fish, salad and side dishes on offer too. Evening themes ranged from chinese, italian, american, indian and others and there were always lots of pudding choices available too. Breakfasts were great, with a nice lady cooking eggs on demand, toast, cereal, continental, full english and fruit. Lunches in the 2nd week went back to a la carte as hotel guest numbers were lower apparently, so we settled for grilled chicken or fish with rice, or a good old toasted sandwich. You could also get snacks from the bar area, again from the a la carte menu. Didn't go hungry once.

Facilities: The hotel had everything you need really for a fun packed and relaxing holiday. There is a pool table inside the reception area, a fantastic spa on site, beach towels provided for you, a large swimming pool and lots of sun beds, plenty of sunbeds on the beach but these probably get full up quicker in the summer, and a really good boat house offering lots of water activities such as a glass bottom boat, snorkelling and dolphin watching trips, canoes, water pedalos and more, many of which is free if you are all inclusive. There is also a volleyball net on the beach and most nights the boathouse boys play games with hotel residents. There is a small gym too.

Entertainment: A mixed bag. Most nights there was a member of the hotel staff who sang songs and played the guitar, some nights there was music and a DJ, some nights they put on a Mauritian dance group which was very good and some nights it was just quiet ambient music. Occasionally we just wanted to go to sleep early and couldn't as the music was quite loud. But generally we could sleep in the next morning so this was ok.

Spa: We had the most amazing couples treatment here. It started a bit odd as not much english was spoken in the Spa, and we got put into a dark steam room for about 25 minutes wondering if they had forgotten about us - don't think i have sweated so much in my life! Then we got taken to a sauna, had a shower, and then had a full body massage side by side A very relaxing and enjoyable experience. With Mercury Direct you get half an hours massage free, and then we paid the extra to have a full hour long treatment - well worth it.

Beach: On most days we walked either up or down the beach as far as we could. To the left if you keep going you can get to Tamarin Bay, quite a long walk. The sand at the beach for our Hotel was beautiful and soft and fluffy and quite clean apart from the odd piece or coral, but a lot more corally if you go into the sea so definitely take sea shoes as there are hidden sea urchins here and there too. If you walk up the beach (left past hotel) the sand becomes quite coarse and full of coral pieces which were very sharp. Some of the larger 5* hotels are up this way and i didn't think they had particularly nice sand, until you get to the last one before Tamarin Bay. To the right of the hotel, you go past flic en flac and if you walk as far as you can, you come to some really cool rock pools on the coral edge, near here the sand is gorgeous, really fluffy..but still coral pieces jutting out here and there so beware.

Sea: Just by our hotel, there is a marked out area of the sea that is 'safe' to swim i.e. no currents. We ventured out of these areas a few times and it was fine as long as you don't go too far out. Mauritius is protected by a large coral reef, which supposedly stops sharks getting into the bays. We had ZERO encounters with any sharks and what we read and heard about the island, it seems very safe. The sea was quite warm on most days and calm. During our 2nd week there was an anti-cyclone off shore which made the sea pretty rough for a few days and many people gave it a wide berth.

Stuff to do:
- water activities: we spent a lot of time in the sea messing about, or on a pedalo or canoe, and the glass bottom boat was cool as the boathouse boys took us out over the coral reef and talked us through everything we were seeing.

- Caselo Safari Park: About a 10 minute bus ride (the stop is right outside the hotel) plus15 minute walk from the hotel - absolutely amazing day out! We arrived 10am and did an interaction with the lions..thought they would be babies...BIG BABY LIONS! We went into their enclosure with the guides and were able to stroke the lions. Its was amazingly terrifying. Fantastic experience. Then we hopped straight on the safari bus which was about £9 each and drove round a huge vast savannah, full of wildlife, ostriches, zebra, deers, tortoises, just loads of animals. Lots of them come up to the bus too so i was able to stroke a zebra! :) Then we went to the petting farm and sat and stroked some deer and other animals. Spent the rest of day walking round the huge safari park and just had a fantastic day out.

- south tour: we booked this through our Mercury direct rep. and got driven round the central and southern part of the island for the day. Included: shopping time in small central towns (can't remember names), a temple with a huge hand carved statue of a god, volcano, black river gorge and waterfalls, seven coloured earth, lunch at an amazing restaurant overlooking a beautiful island with turquoise seas, and various other sights on the drive back. Really good day out, weather was a bit naff in the central areas and it was a lot of car time, but really good sightseeing tour.

- walking: there are so many beautiful sights if you walk up and down the beach as far as you can in both directions. I read the flic en flac beach is about 7km in total and i think Pearle Beach Hotel is roughly half way, so lots to explore. The sunsets and sunrises are amazing too in this area. We watched lots of sunsets from the Hotel beach, spectacular.

- Horse Riding: The next hotel up, La Pirogue, offers horse riding and you often see the horses being ridden up and down the beach by the hotel. Its fairly expensive for a short time but I'm guessing a nice experience.

- gym: there is a small gym in the hotel which we tried out, not a lot in there but a few weights, a cross trainer and treadmill. Its ok for quick workout, but all the beach walking will keep you fit anyway.

- shops: there is a small shop within the hotel complex, and you are right in flic en flac so there are a lot of gift shops, clothing stores and small supermarkets close to the hotel, and then a spar and more shops when you get into the centre - about a 20 minute walk.

- Beach sellers: Beware as up and down every stretch of beach there are beach sellers. This is policed and each seller is allocated a small section of beach - but if you take a walk, you often see many. They have lots of jewelry and shells for sale. After a few days we gave into the one guy, Kevin and he showed us his stock. This helped as he left us alone for a few days, and just came over to say hi and chat, rather than sell, and he was a nice friendly guy. If it wasn't for Kevin, we wouldn't have seen the sea turtle who came into the bay for a rare visit. The woman on our Hotel beach doing the same was very annoying, but we soon got used to just saying no and ignoring her.

SUMMARY: We had an amazing two-week holiday at Pearle Beach Hotel. The staff are really helpful and friendly and cannot do enough for you. It's not 5* accommodation, but you have everything you need there. Its a small and cosy hotel and we met lots of nice guests there too. If you want an inexpensive (compared to most other hotels) trip to a fabulous island and don't mind not having early quiet nights every night, then I really recommend this hotel. You can sleep in the day anyway ;)

Room Tip: We chose a top floor room for better privacy. The rooms closer to the bar area have less traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrightsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here with my family in February and had a great time.Good food friendly staff and lovely room.Free mini bar was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

A constant plague of flies and half wild cats spoiled any of the plus points of the hotel, the rooms are adequate for a beach hotel but the food was very poor. Free water skiing was a plus point but to be honest you would do well to pay a little more and get a much better quality holiday

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peteabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

What an amazing holiday! I'm always extremely skeptical when booking a holiday online, the pictures never match up with the real experience, but I was well impressed when we arrived at Pearle Beach Resort. For anyone considering Pearle Beach as a beautiful and majestic place to spend their honeymoon (or any other holiday for that matter), I'd definitely suggest you give it a try.

We had such a memorable honeymoon, the staff was sooo super friendly, we have never met people so caring and helpful, nothing was too much effort. The beaches were beautiful and the resort offers various activities ranging from snorkeling, to volley-ball, to paddleboats and canoeing.

The buffet food though, was a bit bland and unexciting at times , but I guess that's what you get from buffets. The ala carte menu for the lunch sessions were good. I'd definitely suggest going full board as opposed to half board, the extra money goes a long way.

Again, I can't praise the staff enough for being super helpful and friendly.

We had an amazing week at Pearle Beach Resort and would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at Pearle Beach for 1 night and really enjoyed the dinner, the bar and the sea. The breakfast was very good with a variety of tasty foods. We could not hold on to our room after breakfast and went right on the beach. It was a fantastic experience. Thanks to the staff and we are sure to come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas Caroline
Villas Caroline
#8 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearle Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearle Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#9 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearle Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa is a 4 Star resort situated at Wolmar on the West coast of Mauritius with direct access to the beach. It is a human-size and gayfriendly resort enjoying the natural sandy beach of the of Flic en Flac and the Indian Ocean. Located at only 45 mins from the airport, 45 mins from Port Louis the capital city and 25 mins from the town of Quatre Bornes. Our Standard rooms are as comfortable as our Privilege rooms for they have the same amenities, however, they do not offer a view. They are recommended for some inexpensive well deserved holidays whether in couple or with friends or family. The sandy beach is only one minute away.Our Privilege Pool View rooms are as comfortable as our Privilege Sea view rooms but do not have direct view over the sea is however situated only few metres from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearle Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearle Beach Resort And Spa
Pearle Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Pearl Beach Hotel
Hotel Pearl Beach
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing