We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Belle Mare
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,118)
Filter reviews
2,118 results
Traveler rating
1,325
549
168
41
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,325
549
168
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bar pomelo restaurant all inclusive package deluxe room sea view our honeymoon aqua gym glass bottom boat entertainment team special thanks boat house beach towels different theme special mention main restaurant water activities every evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 2,118 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

My wife and I took a 10 night half board holiday here for some winter sun this January. Solana Beach is a 4 Star resort and overall it justifies this rating.
Water sports such as snorkelling, windsurfing, kayaking are free. There are 2 free snorkelling boat trips each day which takes you out closer to the reef which protects the water in front of the resort from big waves. There are also paid activities such as diving and underwater walking. The staff at the Boat House are excellent and safety conscious.
Although there were the occasional tropical storms, January is part of the wet season, these were few and far between and generally over quickly. They did not spoil out enjoyment, in fact it added to the experience.
The food was buffet style with a different theme each night, although about half of the dishes remained the same each night, e.g. pizza, grilled fish, salad, curries. As we stayed 10 nights, the food and buffet style did get a bit repetitive. Overall, I would give the food about 6 out of 10.
Drinks are not included as part of the half board package. Allow 225 MUR for a small beer - about £5, and around 350 MUR - about £7 or £8 for a cocktail. The cocktails in the Lakas Rum bar were much better than those at the main Indigo Bar which seemed a bit weak.
Had upgraded to a Prestige Room which was well worth it, good size and large balcony or terrace if on the Ground floor. The housekeeping of the room was excellent. Overall, Solana Beach is clean and well maintained.
The resort is Adults only and every room looks straight out onto the sea - fantastic views. Enjoyed sitting on the terrace looking out over the beautiful sea with a beer after a hard day relaxing on the beach.
Whether going All Inclusive is worth it for you will depend on how happy you are to eat buffet style for all of your meals and how much you drink ! All Inclusive is about £40 per person per night more than Half Board.
For lunch we often ate at Symons restaurant which is more or less next door to the Solana just past the taxis. A large beer is 190 MUR and cocktails about 225 MUR. The food is Indian and Mauritian. The staff there are very friendly - recommended. For other eating options close by you have to go to Belle Mare which is either 500 MUR return by taxi or a pleasant 30 minute walk along the seafront through pine trees.
Overall, I gave the Solana 4 our of 5 because we felt the food could be a bit better. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The holiday lived up to our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room tip: The Prestige rooms are definitely worth it.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MikeyP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerncrosshotels, Manager at Solana Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good morning MikeyP001,

Thank you for reviewing Solana Beach on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you overall felt comfortable during your stay and our services lived up to your expectations.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Julie
Social Media Executive
Southern Cross Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 9 nights and were delighted overall.
The room was spacious and kept sparkling clean by Gaytree, our fabulous room attendant / cleaner.
The grounds are kept in lovely condition and the staff very attentive.
The beach really is beautiful, though, lots of sharp coral mean you have to be careful when walking in the sea as it’s very easy to cut your feet.
The hotel is very quiet so I would only recommend if you’re looking for a peaceful break. Most attractions on the island are in the west and on the south coast so be prepared to hire a car or rent a bike. We rented a 125cc from Daniel at the hotel, approx £50 for 3 days and we thoroughly enjoyed touring.
The food in the evening really is of good quality with lots of choice and great service.

What could be improved? It would be unfair to name her, but, our check in and out was handled by the same young lady and it was poor. The introduction was poor with just opening times to the restaurants fired at us and we were left to find things out for ourselves, she really was just going through the motions.
Check out was very disappointing. I was handed a bill, I paid, I was handed back my card. Not a single comment like ‘thanks for your stay’ or ‘have a safe journey’.

I told the hotel several times it was our honeymoon. I genuinely wasn’t looking for anything in particular, a passing comment of congratulations would’ve been nice, or a message on the chalk board in the room would’ve been a nice touch, but nothing.

Finally breakfast. There’s lots of choice and the food is good. However, although open until 10am, if you arrive after 9:30, many items were missing, there was regularly no milk or clean glasses. The most frustrating part is tables after 8:30 are never set. Sure, the waitresses will set a table, but to arrive to a restaurant with no clean tables set isn’t the best start to the day. While I can’t say the restaurant is dirty, I never once saw a table wiped and cleaned. Between settings, crumbs are simply brushed aside and clean cutlery laid.

These are all small details, but, could be so easily fixed. That said, we would stay again if in Mauritius and I would recommend it as, most of the time, the service is excellent, the food great and the beach location just stunning

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 148stuartp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerncrosshotels, Manager at Solana Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Good morning 148stuartp,

First of all, congrats on your wedding and thank you for choosing our establishment for your honeymoon stay!
We are pleased to read that your overall stay was nice and we also took good note for the negative side and will share it to the concerned department for a follow up.

Still, we hope to welcome you back soon in better conditions for another memorable stay.

Wishing you a lovely day ahead.

Kind regards,

Julie
Social Media Executive
Southern Cross Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

We came bere with forza 1weekhad a very good time,eveything Went very Wells.the staff are very helpful band friendly.the room always cleaned,food very good specially pomello.we sound like to Hanks Emmanuele,Rita,Rutna,Amalia band everyone.thank u slot solana team.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank brunovittorioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerncrosshotels, Manager at Solana Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Good morning brunovittorioa,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We a glad to read that you appreciated your stay among us and truly hope to welcome you back soon.

Wishing you a pleasant ahead.

Best regards,

Julie
Social Media Executive
Southern Cross Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Solana Beach Resort was amazing.Relaxing and calm, where one is able to escape from daily routine. The staff are super friendly,proffessional and hospitable. Highly recommended. I, for sure, intend to return again

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Braveheart019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerncrosshotels, Manager at Solana Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Good morning Braveheart019,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated your stay and our services.
We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay.

Best regards,

Julie
Social Media Executive
Southern Cross Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

The resort was a wonderful place to start our honeymoon. The room beautifulle decorated and had some free gifts as well as a spa treatment. The candlelight dinner was exquisite and the food world class. Everyone was helpful and friendly, from the entertaiment team - esp Chris. Our room maid Sangeeta was so friendly and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. My husband lost his cap and sunglasses on the Monday and Saturday night it was returned to our room. Remarkable! Maybe a suggestion is to add a bottle of water for dinner in the price?

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerncrosshotels, Manager at Solana Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Good morning Ingrid J,

Thank you for taking time reviewing your stay among us.
We are pleased to read that you had a lovely and memorable honeymoon.
We took good note of your suggestions as well.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Julie
Social Media Executive
Southern Cross Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews