We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst holiday I ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Palmeraie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Palmeraie Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the worst holiday I ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hi All , Please do not trust the beautiful pictures of this hotel ! It is all untrue ! The beach is full of stones - there is actually NO beach at all - the sea weeds are not cleaned ! The nearest hotels at least are cleaning the beach from them - but not that Palmeraie . All inclusive - is NOT all incl - if you want a proper and nice food you have to pay ! It works like a discount - so be ready to pay extra ! Nobody ever told us about that . After the 1st week we moved out - though the booking was done for 2 weeks and nobody at the hotel reception even asked what is the reason ! They just do not care as far as they've got the money for nothing . So we just thrown away the cost of this hotel and moved out to the prince maurice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
10 Thank Yuliya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giantit, Manager at La Palmeraie Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear valuable Guests,

Greetings from La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel Mauritius!

We acknowledge your comments and we are very sorry that your stay at La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel was not up to your requirements.

Please note that it is your local representative who informed us that you mentioned that there were seaweeds on the beach. Please note that you had not informed the hotel about the matter, and as soon as we got your comments we got in contact with you to discuss about the matter.

As we explained to you, during the mentioned period we were facing bad weather conditions due to cyclone DUMILE that was not far from our island. When facing these sort of calamities the lagoon becomes rough and seaweeds easily end up on the beach. Every day we clean up the beach, unfortunately with weather conditions like this, seaweeds in the water are more frequent, which become out of our control. Also, please note that we have a natural beach at La Palmeraie, and swimming areas are well indicated, as there are no stones in the marked area.

Concerning the All inclusive no complaints was recorded. The day you left the hotel, you only asked the reception if there would be any cancellation fees if you moved to another hotel. The reception advised you that as per our reservation policy, there would be cancellation fees applicable. Cancellation fees are waived only when guests are facing health problems or valuable reasons which can cause an early departure.

The same afternoon, when you checked-out, you did not inform us about the All inclusive issues, but that you were leaving because you did not like the seaweeds. Even your local representative was not aware to which hotel you had moved.

Guest comments can only be handled if guests communicate to us if they are having some issues during their stay. We always do our best to assist our guests accordingly in order to make their stay memorable.

It may happen that the hotel booked does not match the guest expectations, which we fully understand and we fully respect if guests wish to change property. When facing this kind of situations we invite guests to discuss with us to find a solution.

Kindest Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    278
    65
    21
    19
See reviews for
211
630
54
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is not a 4plus star hotel by our standards, and I have stayed in MANY 4 and 5 star all over the world. There are so many points to complain about: the internet is appalling ! When it works ! Also, there are regular power cuts, especially about 7pm when everyone is getting ready to go down for supper....Unfortunately, a cyclone hit west of the island when we were there, so the weather wasnt at it's best, but there is NOTHING to do in the hotel in bad weather (and I am sure that there are many other days when it rains in the year !, especially during cyclone season, which December usualy isnt...): no pingpong, no pool table (although there is room for both), and the bar is plunged into stifling, darkness as the shutters come down on the open windows...so we borrowed a dvd from their very limited library (maybe 20 ?) only to find half way through the dvd didnt work, so we tried another, only to find the same problem. When we complained, our player was replaced, immediately, but the problem remained, and the staff just put the dvd's back in the box for some future client to have the same frustratinng problem ! There is NO comfortable seating in the whole place ! Although some bases are new, (mainly those round the pool)many of the old sunbeds are broken and the mattresses tatty and positively painful to lie on. There is negligible drinks' service on the sunbeds, and countless times we had to physically go to the bar for a drink, when sitting in the Oasis bar ! The food was plentiful, but by Maldivian hotels standards, nowhere near as decorative or as tasty. In fact, after two weeks, was almost boring, especially the bar menu ! The hotel was kept very clean and the room service was good.Thank you Sailesh. The hotel organised a taxi driver, Khooster, who we then employed privately to drive us around the island. He was friendly, informative, and often cut a better deal when booking trips, especially the boat trip...The reefs are disappointing as so much is dead. They are overrun with starfish and anenome which are detroying the reef....sad ! The hotel snorkelling trip is worthwhile th not very informative. In every Maldive island we have been to, we were told about the current direction, the best place to dive, and had the option of a guide to snorkel with us, as well as advise as to using antifungal eardrops.
The rooms are small. The balcony tiny, and chairs uncomfortable ! There is nowhere to dry clothes. Dont have room 104, it is next to the pump room so Im sure must be very noisy, and the air con units are noisy enough ! The minibar is only stocked with very basics, and no diet drinks available (except water !)
The service at the restaurant is confusing. Some waiters will take your drink order and then disappear for ages, and another will come and take your plate from your hand and walk it back to the table, whilst another insists on not letting you pour your own water. It would be much better to get the waiters to take the orders from the clients, have ONE runner to take the orders to and from the bar. It was also very annoying to have our plates whipped from beneath us before we'd barely put our fork down, or when our partner hadnt finished their serving of food. They also regularly lent across us, wthout so much as an 'excuse me', when often they could serve/remove by walking round...There were three waiters: Vicky and Michael, and Milaine who were regularly smiling and asked after our day, but the others gave a stong air of indifference and disinterest. No manager ever introduced themselves, and asked after our satisfaction.
The information at reception was sometimes conflicting. One told me to change money in the town, but another said they could do it in house, and the exchange rate offered was very good ! There was no noticeboard offering services/money exchange rate/ weather forecast/general info. I guess we were expected to ask for everything ??
I strongly suggest you look elsewhere for your hotel in Belle Mar !

Room Tip: Choose 1st floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palmaexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giantit, Manager at La Palmeraie Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Mauritius!

We acknowledge with thanks receipt of the comments below and we are very sorry that your stay at La Palmeraie was not up to your requirements.

La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel is a human size hotel which offers the facility to guest to easily communicate their problem during their stay. We are very attentive to all the comments and always make our best to find a solution to any problem. Guest comments can only be handled if guests communicate to us if they are having some issues during their stay.

As no complaints have been registered during your stay, you have not given us the opportunity to assist you accordingly. Consequently we will like to bring our comments on the several points mention.

The rating of the hotel is attributed by the Tourism Authority. To be honoured with a 4 star rating we need to abide to certain rules and also offering the services required. For your kind information we have been awarded with the 2013 Travellers choice Award, Top 25 luxury hotels in Mauritius. Travellers choice award are based on millions of reviews and opinions from Trip advisor travellers.

Concerning the internet connection, we agree that we were facing a problem. The cyclonic conditions that we had end of December contributes to this. The bad weather causes technical problem that we need to face that sometimes is beyond our control. During cyclone it is normal that we had regular power cuts, but kindly take note that we have an electrical back up(generator set) that automatically switch on after 60seconds as soon as the power cut is detected. When a cyclone hits the island, it is the whole island that is affected and not only a coast of the island.

We agree that we don’t have a game room offering indoor game. We unfortunately haven’t included this facility in defining the concept of the hotel. Parlour games are available at the reception. Tournaments are usually organised by our entertainer during rainy days.

Concerning the DVD’s, the problem was with the DVD player, it refuses to read the CD, as soon as the problem was detected the DVD was changed. We are aware that our stock of movie has reduced as most of them have been damage due to frequent used. 150 DVD’S (in different languages) have been ordered accordingly.

On the beach we have new trendy sun beds and old fashion sun beds that we are replacing gradually, but they are very far from broken.

We understand that you have been charmed by the Maldives which is completely different from Mauritius. It is a choice that we respect and understand. Unfortunately the reefs of Maldives cannot be compared to those of Mauritius. We have twice a day outings by boat for snorkelling, and the skipper bring the clients to specific places for snorkelling which assure a nice marine life. Flags are raised to indicate the sea conditions and weather forecast are available at the reception. Swimming area is well indicated. There is always someone at the boathouse to assist.

Guests were not allocated with room 104, and we don’t understand why this room number is mentioned and how it can be conclude that it is noisy if he has not stayed in this room. Our room size is 37m ² with a balcony. This information’s are well mention on all the websites of our partners that promote us. Minibar are not equip with diet drink, if guest request for them we immediately made the changes.

Every day we have a restaurant manager present during the service, as well as a duty manager, with the human size of the hotel, it’s very difficult that there has not been any contact. Concerning the staff of the restaurants we have well noted your constructive points and will brief the staff accordingly. Dinner evaluation card are handover every night to all the guests, this exercise allow us to analyse if menus have been appreciated. If it happens that guest has not been happy with the menu, the next day the Chef will meet them and see their requirements.

We offer money change facility at the hotel upon guest requests. The rate of exchange used at the hotel is not the same as the rate of exchange use by a moneychanger outside the hotel. When guests request to have a better rate of exchange we recommend them to go to a moneychanger. The hotel rate of exchange rate is fixed and we can’t reduce it.

We invite guest to share with us their experience

Kindest Regards


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say my friend and I had arranged to go back again for a second time to La Palmeraie as we enjoyed the first time so much. We also met up again with friends we met at the Hotel the first time round. I wish I could fault something but I can't. This place is wonderful. From the moment we arrived we were given Mint tea and cold flannels. We were taken to our room where we were given a double when we requested a twin. A single bed was made up on the Sofa but we were given a new room the next day straight away. The food at night was Theme nights really good. If anything I think it was better this time. I really enjoyed it last time but I think there was more choice. The entertainment was excellent. Trio Music are superb. We did a couple of tours this time and spent a day on a catamaran. This is highly recommended. We had a great day. Overall our stay again was Five Star I cannot fault it. The Staff are excellent and some remembered us straight away from last time. Thanks to Ajay the Reception Manager. This man is amazing and so helpful. He will do anything to ensure your stay is good. Thanks to Vicky in Food and Beverage he is a Character and made us laugh. Thanks to Kunal, Vish, Denis and many more for looking after us again. We will be back again in 2014 which I cant wait. This Hotel is a must for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longneck74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here after being disappointed at other 5 star hotels. This is not 5 star but it is family run so they do whatever they can to make your stay as good as they can. Best room available, sun loungers put where ever you want and if you order the lobster (we didn't) they put you on the top table position (!). Really nice place. NIce beach with amenities and good water skiing as they have a proper beach that goes deep enough, some of the other 5 star hotels had really limited water sports due to the shallowness and the tides (they dont tell you that in the brochures)

Room Tip: pool or sea view although rooms are basic, but you dont go to Mauritius to stay in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived on the 6th November and stayed for two weeks, we were initially provided with cold peppermint drink and given a cold flannel, refreshing after the hours drive from the airport. Our rooms were ready which are lovely, aircon is good if a little noisy, tv with four english movie channels, dvd player, tea and coffee, and mini bar, with beer, sprite, water and coke, there are other things in the fridge which you have to pay for which are expensive 5 euro can of red bull.
The bed was really comfy with a nice duvet, and a safe in the room.
Our room was on the second floor, there was no lift so make sure you use the porter to collect your bags.
The breakfast was usual things, fruit, cereal, omelette and eggs, bacon, sausages. Dinner is inside the bar area, you order your dish which is cooked, egg fried rice, noodles, toasties, chips, salad, pasta. drinks are good, local beer, cocktails and spirits.
The evening food is again nice, there are different themed nights there is soup, salad and then normally fresh cooked fish and another freshly prepared dish, beef, chicken kebab, noodles, porl chops. The staff are very helpful and carry your plate back to the table for you, sometimes this can get to much.however the hotel does have the personal touch and they are very friendly.
There is a shop on site again very expensive if you walk down the beach about 25 minutes there are a few shops selling things for half the price.
We took rupees but everything in the hotel shop and at the airport was in euros which is annoying.
The swimming pool was lovely as was the weather although we did have some rain over a couple of days.
The beach was nice, and sea were lovely. There is a spa in the hotel however we used the spa next door which was amazing, although we were told that the hotel spa was good there view over the beach and sea was nothing compared with the neighbouring hotels.

My only negatives would be that ordering drinks sometimes took a while to come and were often not what we ordered. On the last day you only get breakfast and then the all inclusive finishes which is harsh.

Otherwise a lovely hotel, really nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel: great style, cleaningness and service.

Rooms: Choose preferably a room with sea view.

Food: daily changing dinner theme. Great breakfast, lunch could be better (salads and fish cost extra even with All Inclusive).

Location: excellent lagoon with crystal clear water. One of the best places compared to the hotels around.

Water sports: Possibility for snorkeling, water pedalo and kayak, water ski costs extra.
Unfortunately the sailing equipment was disappointing, you cannot use the lagoon's great potential: no catamaran at the hotel, only 2 windsurfs for beginners, only 2 lasers. At low tide sailing equipment is not distributed. Therefore it can happen that sailing is not possible during the whole day. Wind conditions are quiet good for sailing but as mentioned above limited equipment and distribution.

Conclusion: for people who don't look for crazy sailing activities this hotel can offer great holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were looking for a fantastic honeymoon and we discovered this resort through internet. Initially we were sceptical, but the staff at La Palmeraie was very warm and friendly. RIght from our welcome drink to the check-out (after 7 days), we had no room for complaint at all.

It was just the way we had imagined. Many resorts have something unexpected in store and advertise diferently on the net. This one seemed to fulfill everything it said in the package. We had booked through makemytrip.com and the entire trip was neatly arranged and the bellboys and managers were always eager to help. Wide range of movie collection if you are interested in a nice movie after an adventurous day. Dinners were fabulous and breakfast was superb too. Everyday there was something new in the menu. Warning to Indians (who do not enjoy continental food): Not many indian delicacies in the menu.

The room is equipped with all necessities and luxuries, the beach view was brilliant. The staff really kept the beach clean and pristine.

Must stay in Mauritius. If you can spend a little extra buck, go for the suite. Its pretty awesome !

Room Tip: Choose a beach front or the suite. The view is totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayendra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
16.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,618 reviews
1.6 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie Hotel

Property: La Palmeraie Hotel
Address: Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 74107
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Palmeraie Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The play of light on land and sea. A glimpse of the jade and turquoise waters of the lagoon through fine voile curtains. Warm, sun-drenched colours. The beauty and purity of natural materials. La Palmeraie at Palmar on the east coast of the island possesses a unique alchemy from which its relaxing and intimate atmosphere derives. Under the MBH label, La Palmeraie offers true authenticity and conviviality, typical of traditional Mauritian family homes. A different way of discovering all the treasures – the people and the natural beauty – of the pearl of the Indian Ocean.Bars and restaurants:La Varangue:In the cool of the early morning or the peace of evening, around the pool, in a world of shimmering colour, La Varangue invites you to enjoy moments of deliciously Mauritian gourmandise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Palmeraie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palmeraie Belle Mare
Le Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
La Palmeraie Hotel Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing