We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing New Year Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing New Year Eve”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Everything is excellent. We stayed here during the holidays for our wedding anniversary. This place is simply amazing. The staff and the General Manager are exceptional, attentive and exemplary. Always helpful. New Year's celebration was over the top. From the cocktail on the beach, dinner, dancing until countdown and fireworks at midnight to bring the new year. The foods were excellent, many varieties; desserts. The spa is divine. Great massages!

This place is amazing, I could go on this place forever. I would not hesitate in recommending Emeraude Beach Attitude to anyone. Thank you everyone for making our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

First of all, thank you once again for having chosen Emeraude Beach Attitude for your wedding Anniversary

We are truly grateful for your warm recommendations and compliments on our hotel – and are especially pleased that you enjoyed our Mauritian hospitality.

We would be pleased to welcoming you once again in our ‘home’,

Kindest regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

PS: Thank you for the nice pictures posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    443
    137
    42
    26
See reviews for
278
700
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing , the people are amazing the food is amazing. If you want a relaxing holiday then this is the place to go . The beach is beautiful . All inclusive includes the glass bottom boat where u can go snorkelling and also a trip to Lille aux cerfs which is a private beach where you have to go by boat , which is a must. The rooms are small and hardly any English on the tv but who cares your in Mauritius !!! Free wifi by the pool , different theme nights for dinner each night which is good. Lobster night on Fridays which is extra but worth it. The hotel staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble . They organised and helped me propose to my girlfriend on the beach and also set up a surprise meal the next night . I would recommend this hotel to family friends and also would defiantly go back tomorrow if I could.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Wehrley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Emeraude Beach Attitude and your warm appreciations, which have been shared with all the Family Members.

We were happy to be able to help you plan this unique moment in a lifetime and pleased you two enjoyed the little surprise we prepared for you the next night.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again next time you visit Mauritius,

Wishing you all the best for the future,

Warm regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager

PS: The Chef and His Brigade says hello to both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

After having booked the hotel, my credit card was charged very quickly. When I cancelled my reservation for personal reasons, they did not refund, although they are required to do so. On request I was informed it is not possible to refund to my credit card, I had to give them my bank account details. I did so, but still no refund after 2 months. Emails are not answered. Bad business practice, total rip off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RvdB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0tels_Management, Directeur général at Emeraude Beach Attitude, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to apologies for the delay in replying to you.

As your cancellation happened during the festive season, it took more time than usual to process your refund (in Mauritius, most businesses close 2 to 3 weeks at Christmas / New Year Eve time or are running with limited staff).

We endeavor to refund each guest in a reasonable amount of time and are truly sorry this delay affected our level of service and your trust in our hotel.

Please note that since you reach out to us, we changed our process and are now refunding clients on their credit card.

Kind regards,

Ashok Mooroteea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Dive Time offers novice and experienced divers the unique opportunity to explore the East Coast dive sites in the very experienced hands of Dev, an exceptionally confident and professional instructor guide and manager with years of experience. The significant advantage with DiveTime and the set up here is the ability to go out diving with minimal fuss - quick kit up, and just you, or your budy, Dev and the skipper. In 10 days we saw no groups - just 2 divers typically at any one time. He took me to my best dive yet, the Canyon, and looked after me throughout as it was my first proper drift dive, and I had no buddy. We 'travelled' through the current at speed - feeling safe and exhilarated! The fish were incredible - number and size, and the barracuda the biggest I've seen (1.5m!). Dive sites are located within minutes of the shoreline - no sea sickness. Equipment all branded and well looked after. For £45 all in, with almost one to one service I couldn't fault it!

Dev has a video of the Canyon on youtube .

Enjoy this low-key company if you are staying at Emeraude! I felt I was 150% in good hands.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Dear reader, I am taking the time to write so you know what to expect when booking this particular hotel.
We are a couple passed their 30's traveling with a 17 months baby. We are addicted to traveling and we have plenty of experience so it's nothing personal, but objective feedback.
The welcome in the hotel was inexistent. We booked on a short notice (24hrs) and asked for meet and greet at the airport to avoid wasting time and get our baby some rest. No one showed up. Mauritians are very helpful people so a woman called the hotel to enquiry and they asked her to send us by taxi. On our arrival, they weren't prepared with the room for us, saying that was a late booking. It took the taxi another hour to drive so was plenty of time to prepare, I would say. Around the small reception are 2 computers and between 2 to 4 people all the time, which means that was simply not a good excuse. We booked a superior room and we were given a standard room instead. Only the second day, after we went to clarify the issues we came to different agreements. The reception also didn't provide us with any information about the hotel's services. Later we came to know that they have entertainment programs (in french - we don't understand any), that they have free boat rides for a bit of snorkeling and that if you stay longer than 7 days (we stayed 8 because we paid in advance - terrible mistake) you have a free tour on any island. We can't confirm this because we only heard from a guest when leaving.
Rooms are beautiful and they have excellent cleaning. But the cleaning personal ignore the DND so they will still go in your rooms. On 3 occasion out of 8 days Sunnil did beautiful origami out of towels for our baby girl. Our AC didn't work properly and would drip water consistently which was very annoying. But we wouldn't want to raise the issues since the staff seemed not to care much. It seemed really a waste of time. We weren't given a cot for the baby and she slept on an improvised bed even though we discovered close to leaving that they did have cots.
Garden is the only thing that stood out. Beautiful indeed. And a tiny play ground for children that again, we found out by mistake, they have a qualified person to engage with kids. She is a very nice lady. Too bad her service is not advertised.
The beach is not cleaned every day and there are some algae. The beach is not so great and you need beach sandals when going in the water.
The food... Was good for one day, but the breakfast was the same for all 8 days. It's not worth mentioning it and the staff is enough but no one goes out of the way for anyone. We eat many times at a near by place called Vicky. They were really taking care of our baby's special diet and cook for her according to our instructions.
The hotel staff is courteous but no one is interested in doing anything other than to be polite. Our experience in this hotel was bad, not just disappointing and I would clearly never recommend it to anyone else. We only stayed there because we paid on line and having our daughter makes it difficult to change hotels.
Apparently they are called family members, but they are nothing like it. People and genuine care is what always makes the difference. I hope this helps...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank MandeaDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

All the staff were so courteous, kind and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel and surrounding area is really beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone. Ashok, the General Manager, was always on hand should he be needed and was always courteous and ready to have a chat.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't be fooled by the amazing reviews of this hotel - we were, and have never regretted anything more! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, wasting the first 4 days of our 12 day holiday before we managed to get moved to the beautiful Silver Beach, which is the same 3 star, same price, but a completely different level. We literally went from Transport Cafe to the Ritz!

We were aware that the beach was across the main road and didn't have a problem with this. However the day we arrived was a national day of celebration of a Hindu god of the sea, meaning that we could not use the beach and had to sit by the pool. The pool is dirty such that you cannot see the bottom. The temperature poolside is stifling and airless.

The room was OK, but VERY small. Plumbing worked well, good shower. We had a first floor room with our requested sea view, meaning we were right next to the road. This caused us no problem with noise. The ground floor Superior rooms looked like dungeons, with no light, so the Standard room was better.

With a couple of exceptions - one receptionist and Kevin the duty manager - the staff were unfriendly, verging on rude, and made no effort to make us feel welcome. As English, we were probably only 1% of the guest population and the emphasis was definitely on the French. The bar staff watched you approach the bar, then disappeared without a word to collect glasses! The promised bar service on the beach, from 11 to 3 was a joke. They gave you a Do Not Disturb flag and a Service flag, which seemed promising. However nothing happened until I chased at 11.45, then we got ONE drink served to us, the rest we had to walk across the road and wait at the bar to get ourselves.

The beach was fine and, as early risers, we had no problem getting loungers, although there are nowhere near enough for the number of guests. However, you could not swim directly from the beach and there were no water sports. There are much better beaches nearby.

Our main issues were with the restaurant, the all-inclusive and the quality of the food and drink. The restaurant looked more like a beach bar. Wooden tables had no table cloths just a table mat which was there for breakfast, lunch and dinner and did not appear to have ever been washed! You got one knife and fork, which you had to hold on to for the entire meal. Rarely was there a saucer to go with your tea cup. Service was dreadful, dirty plates were never cleared and getting a drink was a mission. If you were lucky you got one of the 14 soup bowls - soup was the only decent food we had. Water was served in manky plastic jugs, not bottled water as you would expect.

The bread at breakfast was the cheapest, thinnest sliced available. The cheese and ham was see-through and re-appeared each morning - there was just less on the tray each day! Cereal was inedible, croissants were 2 inches long and had been reheated so many times they were like bricks. Tea and coffee was undrinkable, the milk tasted like a cross between evaporated milk and vanilla milkshake. At lunch we struggled to find anything to eat. 3 bowls of unidentifiable salad with water-thin dressing. The promised table d'hôte does not exist. There is no table d'hôte menu. You have to ask for what you want, although I don't know how you are supposed to know what is available. We did ask for a ham sandwich and chips and by the reaction you'd have thought we'd asked for champagne and caviar!

Dinner was equally dire, except for the soup. The dress code of long trousers for men, which is stipulated as essential in the brochure, on the website and at the entrance to the restaurant, does NOT exist. Some men turned up at dinner in the same shorts, vest and flip flops they'd had on all day. When raised with the GM he said he could not educate guests to conform - he wouldn't accept my suggestion that they do as every other hotel does and refuse to let guests in to eat unless they are correctly dressed. This set the standard for the restaurant.

I watched stray cats being fed on the table from the same crockery to be used by guests! The same cats dug the sandy floor of the bar, went to the toilet and covered it up, waiting for some unsuspecting bare-footed guest to find! Birds flew around the restaurant, into the bread baskets and other uncovered food.

BA only offer the full all-inclusive. Do not waste your money on this. It is not all-inclusive. Very few drinks, spirits or cocktails, are included. Snacks in the in-room fridge are not included. There is far more on the menu excluded than included!

We were given a cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary. However, by that time we could not take any more and finally managed to get our move to enjoy the rest of our holiday.

I have never given a bad review of a hotel before. Please believe that it really is this bad. If you have any expectations of good, friendly service, good food and drink, all-inclusive, water sports, etc, etc, DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Carose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
768 reviews
18.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,325 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,084 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Property: Emeraude Beach Attitude
Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach, with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast. Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture. Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totaling 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity. Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its family members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days' gentle way of life. Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing