We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Time Diving centre (part of Emeraude Beach Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Dive Time offers novice and experienced divers the unique opportunity to explore the East Coast dive sites in the very experienced hands of Dev, an exceptionally confident and professional instructor guide and manager with years of experience. The significant advantage with DiveTime and the set up here is the ability to go out diving with minimal fuss - quick kit up, and just you, or your budy, Dev and the skipper. In 10 days we saw no groups - just 2 divers typically at any one time. He took me to my best dive yet, the Canyon, and looked after me throughout as it was my first proper drift dive, and I had no buddy. We 'travelled' through the current at speed - feeling safe and exhilarated! The fish were incredible - number and size, and the barracuda the biggest I've seen (1.5m!). Dive sites are located within minutes of the shoreline - no sea sickness. Equipment all branded and well looked after. For £45 all in, with almost one to one service I couldn't fault it!

Dev has a video of the Canyon on youtube .

Enjoy this low-key company if you are staying at Emeraude! I felt I was 150% in good hands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sallmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Dear reader, I am taking the time to write so you know what to expect when booking this particular hotel.
We are a couple passed their 30's traveling with a 17 months baby. We are addicted to traveling and we have plenty of experience so it's nothing personal, but objective feedback.
The welcome in the hotel was inexistent. We booked on a short notice (24hrs) and asked for meet and greet at the airport to avoid wasting time and get our baby some rest. No one showed up. Mauritians are very helpful people so a woman called the hotel to enquiry and they asked her to send us by taxi. On our arrival, they weren't prepared with the room for us, saying that was a late booking. It took the taxi another hour to drive so was plenty of time to prepare, I would say. Around the small reception are 2 computers and between 2 to 4 people all the time, which means that was simply not a good excuse. We booked a superior room and we were given a standard room instead. Only the second day, after we went to clarify the issues we came to different agreements. The reception also didn't provide us with any information about the hotel's services. Later we came to know that they have entertainment programs (in french - we don't understand any), that they have free boat rides for a bit of snorkeling and that if you stay longer than 7 days (we stayed 8 because we paid in advance - terrible mistake) you have a free tour on any island. We can't confirm this because we only heard from a guest when leaving.
Rooms are beautiful and they have excellent cleaning. But the cleaning personal ignore the DND so they will still go in your rooms. On 3 occasion out of 8 days Sunnil did beautiful origami out of towels for our baby girl. Our AC didn't work properly and would drip water consistently which was very annoying. But we wouldn't want to raise the issues since the staff seemed not to care much. It seemed really a waste of time. We weren't given a cot for the baby and she slept on an improvised bed even though we discovered close to leaving that they did have cots.
Garden is the only thing that stood out. Beautiful indeed. And a tiny play ground for children that again, we found out by mistake, they have a qualified person to engage with kids. She is a very nice lady. Too bad her service is not advertised.
The beach is not cleaned every day and there are some algae. The beach is not so great and you need beach sandals when going in the water.
The food... Was good for one day, but the breakfast was the same for all 8 days. It's not worth mentioning it and the staff is enough but no one goes out of the way for anyone. We eat many times at a near by place called Vicky. They were really taking care of our baby's special diet and cook for her according to our instructions.
The hotel staff is courteous but no one is interested in doing anything other than to be polite. Our experience in this hotel was bad, not just disappointing and I would clearly never recommend it to anyone else. We only stayed there because we paid on line and having our daughter makes it difficult to change hotels.
Apparently they are called family members, but they are nothing like it. People and genuine care is what always makes the difference. I hope this helps...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank MandeaDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

All the staff were so courteous, kind and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel and surrounding area is really beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone. Ashok, the General Manager, was always on hand should he be needed and was always courteous and ready to have a chat.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Don't be fooled by the amazing reviews of this hotel - we were, and have never regretted anything more! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, wasting the first 4 days of our 12 day holiday before we managed to get moved to the beautiful Silver Beach, which is the same 3 star, same price, but a completely different level. We literally went from Transport Cafe to the Ritz!

We were aware that the beach was across the main road and didn't have a problem with this. However the day we arrived was a national day of celebration of a Hindu god of the sea, meaning that we could not use the beach and had to sit by the pool. The pool is dirty such that you cannot see the bottom. The temperature poolside is stifling and airless.

The room was OK, but VERY small. Plumbing worked well, good shower. We had a first floor room with our requested sea view, meaning we were right next to the road. This caused us no problem with noise. The ground floor Superior rooms looked like dungeons, with no light, so the Standard room was better.

With a couple of exceptions - one receptionist and Kevin the duty manager - the staff were unfriendly, verging on rude, and made no effort to make us feel welcome. As English, we were probably only 1% of the guest population and the emphasis was definitely on the French. The bar staff watched you approach the bar, then disappeared without a word to collect glasses! The promised bar service on the beach, from 11 to 3 was a joke. They gave you a Do Not Disturb flag and a Service flag, which seemed promising. However nothing happened until I chased at 11.45, then we got ONE drink served to us, the rest we had to walk across the road and wait at the bar to get ourselves.

The beach was fine and, as early risers, we had no problem getting loungers, although there are nowhere near enough for the number of guests. However, you could not swim directly from the beach and there were no water sports. There are much better beaches nearby.

Our main issues were with the restaurant, the all-inclusive and the quality of the food and drink. The restaurant looked more like a beach bar. Wooden tables had no table cloths just a table mat which was there for breakfast, lunch and dinner and did not appear to have ever been washed! You got one knife and fork, which you had to hold on to for the entire meal. Rarely was there a saucer to go with your tea cup. Service was dreadful, dirty plates were never cleared and getting a drink was a mission. If you were lucky you got one of the 14 soup bowls - soup was the only decent food we had. Water was served in manky plastic jugs, not bottled water as you would expect.

The bread at breakfast was the cheapest, thinnest sliced available. The cheese and ham was see-through and re-appeared each morning - there was just less on the tray each day! Cereal was inedible, croissants were 2 inches long and had been reheated so many times they were like bricks. Tea and coffee was undrinkable, the milk tasted like a cross between evaporated milk and vanilla milkshake. At lunch we struggled to find anything to eat. 3 bowls of unidentifiable salad with water-thin dressing. The promised table d'hôte does not exist. There is no table d'hôte menu. You have to ask for what you want, although I don't know how you are supposed to know what is available. We did ask for a ham sandwich and chips and by the reaction you'd have thought we'd asked for champagne and caviar!

Dinner was equally dire, except for the soup. The dress code of long trousers for men, which is stipulated as essential in the brochure, on the website and at the entrance to the restaurant, does NOT exist. Some men turned up at dinner in the same shorts, vest and flip flops they'd had on all day. When raised with the GM he said he could not educate guests to conform - he wouldn't accept my suggestion that they do as every other hotel does and refuse to let guests in to eat unless they are correctly dressed. This set the standard for the restaurant.

I watched stray cats being fed on the table from the same crockery to be used by guests! The same cats dug the sandy floor of the bar, went to the toilet and covered it up, waiting for some unsuspecting bare-footed guest to find! Birds flew around the restaurant, into the bread baskets and other uncovered food.

BA only offer the full all-inclusive. Do not waste your money on this. It is not all-inclusive. Very few drinks, spirits or cocktails, are included. Snacks in the in-room fridge are not included. There is far more on the menu excluded than included!

We were given a cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary. However, by that time we could not take any more and finally managed to get our move to enjoy the rest of our holiday.

I have never given a bad review of a hotel before. Please believe that it really is this bad. If you have any expectations of good, friendly service, good food and drink, all-inclusive, water sports, etc, etc, DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Carose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

But from then on, we felt like the scum of the earth. Reception staff were ignorant, to the point of not giving a damn, with just 2 exceptions, Dana and Sweta, who were great, did everything with a smile. Bar staff were brilliant. Always served you with no fuss. Poor service in the restaurant, with plates not being cleared between courses. Every course. Every day. Private beach that is beautiful, but very dirty and poorly kept. only about 26 beach loungers between 300 or so guests. So you had to queue every morning to get a bed chair, from 8am, so you couldn't even have a lie in, or you were left with the pool. Which was awful. Very enclosed area with no breeze whatsoever, and with temperatures up to 34 degrees, and 92% humidity, hell on earth. Management seemed oblivious to people's problems with this, and seemed as though we were a problem to them! Beautiful island, awful resort. Go somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Very good resort. Friendly staff and lovely place. All inclusive package (full board) is very good. Beach is a minutes walk. Clean and big family rooms for 2+2. Spa is also nice. Snorkelling was also a good experience. Ensure to take glass bottom boat trip, for some snorkelling too.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Jeetendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was my first time in Mauritius and I have to say, everything was perfect. I was traveling alone and all the time I felt safe. People there are so friendly and nature is so beautiful. Weather was fantastic. About hotel : everybody (I mean staff) was friendly and willing to help all the time. From cleaning ladies to manager of hotel, everybody was smiling and asking me "how are you? everything is fine? :) They took care of me as Im small child :) In hotel was very good spa and beautiful garden, tasty food and cocktails.. If you dont like something and say that, they are trying to do all the best for you. Beach is few metters from hotel, between beach and hotel is road, so staff from hotel is near beach and taking orders for drinks from you, so you dont need to cross the road if you want something for drink. This hotel is for people, who wants to take a rest in beautiful garden with very nice and clean 2 floor bungalows and pools and little lizards and singing birds. :) It was just for me :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden near dining room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuciePeslova2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
875 reviews
15.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,817 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#3 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
585 reviews
18 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Beach Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Beach Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius (Formerly Emeraude Beach Hotel)
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $102 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emeraude Beach Attitude 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeraude Beach Attitude faces one of the island's most beautiful beaches, Belle Mare beach, with its kilometres of white sand, turquoise and emerald lagoon running along the east coast. Holidays are spent swimming and diving in a turquoise sea, without forgetting the magic of the glass bottom boat trips. To that genuinely Mauritian seaside holiday experience, the two bonuses offered are the beach attendance with Coco and his typically Mauritian beach cart, and the serenity of the Spa Attitude.Wood, stone and thatch are widely used in decoration and architecture. Built in the middle of a lush green garden, the four room bungalows totaling 61 rooms are decorated with refined taste and creativity. Of small capacity, friendly and charming, this 3 star hotel, together with its family members with their typical Mauritian expertise, reminds one of the old days' gentle way of life. Its innovative package "Emeraude Plus" is ideal to enjoy unrestrainedly, as a couple or a family, a seaside holiday in such an exclusive spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeraude Beach Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Beach Attitude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Hotel Belle Mare
Emeraude Beach Attitude Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing