We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for romantic, relaxing break of all ages!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ideal for romantic, relaxing break of all ages!”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Location:
Constance Belle Mare Plage hotel is found on the East coast of Mauritius around 60 minutes transfer time from the hotel via car. We had a private car waiting for us on arrival arranged by White Sands Tours (I would very much recommend White Sands Tours, we used their services several times during the course of our stay, I will write a separate review in more detail).

The hotel is located, as with the large majority of the hotels on the island, on the coast with an adjoining beach. The car transfer from the airport took the coastal road route, which drives along some very scenic coastal roads with stunning views of the lagoon. It also passes through some local villages, which gives an immediate idea of local coasting living.


Arrival/Check In:
On arrival at the hotel we were met by a plethora of hotel staff, opening car doors, tending to luggage etc. We were given some chilled towels ,which after two flights and around 20 hours total travel time were very much welcomed, then shown through the impressive hotel entrance and lobby to the bar, where we were served complimentary fruit cocktails whilst another member of staff checked us into the hotel.


Room:
We stayed in room 975 on the first floor of the hotel block, located opposite the tennis courts. Our room was a short two minute walk to the lobby, within yards of the tennis courts, hotel pool, poolside bar and lunchtime restaurant, and around 20 yards from the beach (see photos). The room itself was very pleasant, decent air conditioning, bath and shower, comfortable bed, large flat screen tv, complimentary room safe etc, all the usual in room services of a hotel of this rating.

Beach:
The beach in front of the hotel is worth the trip and cost of admission. Despite the hotel complex being fairly sizeable, the beach never feels overcrowded or even close to being busy.


Food & Drink:
We ate breakfast and dinner everyday in La Citronnelle (from 7-10am). The restaurant is buffet style, with sections that are made to order as you wait. I always feel nervous when staying half board at any resort as you have already paid up-front for potentially substandard food, but the food in La Citronelle was excellent. Breakfast offered fresh breads, fresh fruit, made to order eggs or all variations, cereals etc

Dinner (served from 7pm onwards) changed every night with a few permanent sections (Italian pizza and pasta section, salad section). There were meat and vegetarian options every night. Dessert was hugely enjoyable due to the variety.

Lunch was the one downfall of the hotel dining. We ate at one of the poolside restaurants near our room on our first full day. We had a very nice two course meal, both having a very nice burger and french fries, unfortunately this cost around £25 each, which is slightly excessive. We ate most other days on the beach using the beach service, which offers a similar menu to the aforementioned restaurant but a vastly reduced price!

We spoke to other guests who had travelled to the local supermarkets to purchase lunch goods. Several commented that the local supermarket in Belle Mare is overpriced. They recommended that a slightly longer, slightly more expensive taxi drive to the Poste de Flacq offers a much cheaper supermarket.

With regards to drink, we aren’t big alcohol drinkers so didn’t find this a huge problem. An occasional glass of wine was fairly expensive at around £9. Soft drinks were in keeping with most nice hotel resorts.


Hotel Amenities:
The hotel offers a wide variety of water based beach amenities (water skiing, windsurfing etc), which I cannot comment on as we didn’t use any. We did however use the hotel spa, which was very pleasant, I would particularly recommend the Ylang Ylang massage. The hotel has several tennis courts, several pools, two golf courses.

The hotel is fairly quiet and is a great option for holiday makers looking for a quiet, chilled out, relaxing holiday. The setting and views are very impressive and romantic, and the hotel setting, staff and services only add to this atmosphere.

Hotel Staff:
The hotel staff and the people of Mauritius as a whole are very very friendly and pleasant. The service at the hotel was fantastic throughout from the maid services, reception staff, spa staff and restaurant staff.

Pros / Cons
Fantastic Service
Friendly staff
Great beach
Good food

Overpriced lunch options
Overpriced alcohol

Other Tours during stay

White Sand Tours 5 star
Undersea Walk 4 stars
Catamaran Trip to Ile Aux Cerfs 5 stars
South Mauritius Tour 5 stars
Casela Nature & Leisure Park, walking with Lions 5 stars

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigmcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    479
    129
    42
    22
See reviews for
904
1,678
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Superb resort with world class service and facilities. We went for our honeymoon and took our 8 month old son with us. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the children's club was superb. It has its own pool, park and play equipment and Playstations. They helped sterilize bottles and prepared homemade food. Words can not describe how beautiful this hotel is. The 3 pools and the beach are all seconds from the bedrooms. We had a standard room and it was still 5*. The food was to an international standard even in the buffet. The only downside was lunch and drinks were very expensive so it is not cheap once you are there. However, as a special holiday this reallly is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertie3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon at The Constance Belle Mare Plage and we can truly say it was amazing. Please do not take any notice of any bad reviews on this hotel, the only thing is the price of the the alcohol which, as most people have said, get a taxi to the local shop (but get a good price before you set off as we got stung for a tenner for a quick 10 minute run to the local shop), empty your bar in your room and stock up on on your own drinks. The staff are so friendly and helpful. You don't get a kettle in your room so ask reception when you arrive, ours was in our room immediately. I don't know what else to say as everyone on this site has pretty much covered everything. La Citronelle restaurant was just fantastic, we had some of the nicect meals we have ever had in this restaurant. There are always good movies on the tv in your room, and the room are so nice and comfortable, so we tended to go back to our room most evenings and watched a film and drank our own beer.
The taxi rank is right outside the hotel. We hired a taxi for the day and Dave the driver was brilliant. It cost us 2500 Rps and was well worth it. He spoke really good English and he was very knowledgeable so gave us lots of interesting information about the island. Some of the taxi drivers don't talk alot although they are very nice so it is recommended to get a chatty one if you want to learn a bit about the island, Dave is really nice and so highly recommended and knows his stuff!
The weather was relaly good, we had a few clouds somedays but they soon passed over and there is a lovely breeze if you get a lounger by the sea. Oh and, you don't even have to get off your lounger to order food and drinks, you put a flag out and the staff are at your side within minutes! Amazing! You also don't need to take a beach towel with you on this holiday as there are lots of clean ones provided everyday. The sun loungers are also free.
We would definitely return to this hotel again, it really was fantastic and very relaxing!
Jonathan & Helen Walker

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twerter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, NI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

How anyone could fault this resort is beyond me, some of the negative reviewers must be totally unpleasable. We went to BMP for 2 weeks on honeymoon and are currently saving up to go back next year and every year thereafter!
The hotel and beach are stunning, our junior suite beachfront offered an unrivalled view over the Indian Ocean and the room was as luxurious if not moreso than any other 5 star hotel I have stayed in.
My wife and I enjoyed the 2 world class golf courses on at least 8 occasions during our stay and again the service at the courses is 5 star. For any Golfers going to BMP, I would recommend bringing your own clubs as the cost of transit is the same as hiring clubs for 18 holes. Bring plenty of balls for the legends course, though don't panic if you run out as lots of the groundsmen sell them as a sideline, I got 20 Pro V1's for 500rp approx £10. I recommend entering the Friday competition as it is a good way to meet people, though they don't ask for proof of handicap so watch out for the bandits! 49 points won the competition at the legends the week I played! The links course is also outstanding, maybe the slightly easier of the 2 but still a good test of golf.
For currency I was told to bring Euros to BMP, but this is not necessary, bring sterling to Mauritius and change it at arrivals in the airport. I brought £200 to change and it did me for running into Belle Mare Village to stock up on beer and snacks throughout the stay. Don't worry if you run out as there is a cash machine free to use at the hotel gates.
Drinks are expensive at the bar compared to your local pub, but on a par with any European city, a scooner of beer is roughly £3, g+t approx £7, the bar runs Happy hours every other night when you get 2 for 1 on a selection of drinks.
Now to the food, the Citronelle is without a shadow of doubt my best buffet experience ever, the wide selection of freshly cooked meats, pastas, fish, curries etc is more than enough to satisfy the fussiest of eaters and the portions are whatever you ask for. If you are still hungry go up for more! As a honeymoon couple we were treated to a free meal at la Spiaggia on the beachfront, whilst this was a pleasant experience in a lovely setting, the food although delicious was a very small portion (how I wished I was back in the Citronelle!).
Wine with dinner can be anywhere from £18 - £300 a bottle, most nights we went for a nice bottle in and around £30 and it was fine. Lunch is probably the biggest expense but again, £25 per couple will not break the bank.
One warning, you sign for everything at BMP and get a total bill at the end of your stay, so it is easy to get carried away, we received a bill update 2 days before departure and were pleasantly surprised so hammered it for our last couple of days and ended up putting on in 2 days what we had previously in a week! All very worthwhile though.
I can hand on heart say that if you are going to BMP, you will love it, the staff can't do enough for you and the setting is superb.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Just got back from a 7 night stay in BMP and had a nice relaxing break.
We arrived at 11am after a one hour drive from the airport and were luckily able to check in shortly after as the room was ready - normal check in time is 2pm. The welcome was warm and we were offered cool refreshing drinks upon arrival.
The grounds of the hotel are simply quite stunning and the 4 swimming pools are also brilliant.
The room was large and comfortable but not 5 star - i would liken it to a very good 4 star -but dont let that put you off - they are
very clean and comfortable - we stayed in a junior suite.
The main buffet restaurant was excellent - there were different food stations serving pizza , pasta , chinese etc.
Most of the food was made in front of you and was of excellent quality, fresh and very clean.
Drinks were expensive but we were prepared for this - which 5 star hotel isnt.
Just buy drinks from local supermarkets when out and about for a fraction of the cost.
Service was excellent - staff were friendly and attentive and always smiled when walking by..
It rained only twice in one week and only for approx 15 mins each time.
One trip i would recommend would be to Ill aux cerfs which is a 15 min taxi ride from the hotel
- it is a small island and is great for half day / full day trips. The lagoon is amazing and the waters
there are crytsal clear like in the brochures.
A speedboat/ferry will take you to the island in 15 mins and will cost 300 mru.
We also booked a taxi from outside the hotel for a day trip around the island which cost 3000 mru after haggling.
The beach was lovely with soft white sand although watch out for the coral in the sea.
Some of the water sports are free such as Pedalos, Kayaks, Water Skiing.
Overall i would definately recommend a stay at BMP,- the hotel and its surroundings including the beach is beautiful and it is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We’ve just returned from a two week stay at the Belle Mare Plage and we had a wonderful time. Like some other reviewers I wonder if the people who have posted negative reviews are deluded or stayed in a different hotel.

We had three junior suites, all in block 600 and all with views of the pool. The junior suites are a great size with a lovely bathroom with two sinks (very handy), a lovely walk in wardrobe, a seating area inside and outside and a very comfy large bed.

We knew the drinks would be expensive from other reviews so we stopped off at a supermarket on the way to the hotel and bought some water and mixers as we had bought some gin etc in duty free. We emptied the mini bar and used it to keep our drinks in instead. We also made good use of the buy one get one free drinks during happy hour at the bar and if you do this then your drinks bill shouldn’t be too big.

The food was excellent at the hotel – we never had a bad meal during our stay. We mainly ate in the buffet restaurant Citronelle but we ate at the Deer Hunter once and Spaggia twice. The food at the Deer Hunter was ok but we preferred the food at Spaggia - with the half board credit we spent around £60 per person for 3 courses and drinks but we felt the food was worth it.

The pool area and beach were lovely and well looked after (as were all the hotel grounds) and the pool and beach staff were always very helpful. In fact all the staff at the hotel were fantastic – nothing was too much trouble and they were always very friendly. We didn’t tend to tip individuals (you don’t really need to carry money around with you when you’re at the hotel) but there is a general tip box in the reception area for all staff.

I didn’t make much use of the sports facilities but the rest of our party tried the diving, the glass bottom and snorkeling all of which they really enjoyed. My partner and his dad played golf at the links course which they enjoyed but they also played a few times at the Four Seasons which was very nice.

The spa de constance and the shiseido spa were fantastic – the prices are about what you would pay for a good spa in the UK although they do have deals on like have a 45 minute massage and get the second one at 50% off. I had a number of treatments, a facial, revarnish and a couple of massages (the ylang ylang massage was wonderful).

We had a hire car and we did take a few trips around the island. We went to Grand Baie and Port Louis – the shopping is really good in Grand Baie and we enjoyed the central market in Port Louis. We also went to Curepipe which was a bit of a disappointment and saw the coloured sands.

All in all we had a fantastic stay at the Belle Mare Plage and were very sorry to leave. We wouldn’t hesitate to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Just returned from ten days at Belle Mare Plage and was reasonably happy with most aspects of our stay, although not in my opinion as good as some hotels we have stayed in. The layout of the hotel and grounds are very clean and well looked after by attentive and pleasant staff. The resort being on the east coast has a constant sea breeze which on some days can escalate into a pretty constant wind, not too bothersome if you select a location on the beach in front of the Prestige rooms which has more shelter because of the trees at this end. The beach is very nice and kept to a very high standard although there are some areas where sea weed becomes a bit of a problem . Rooms are probably not 5 star standard and simple things like tea and coffee making facilities would make a difference . Most hotels of this standard give water each day as a complimentary gesture but again not the case here. Food in the buffet restaurant was always of a very high standard with a varied menu each day, watch out for the birds at breakfast as they will take every chance they can to attack your table for any food or drink. Very expensive for drinks in all bars and restaurants and therefore not much drinking being done by most guests , you will pay 6 times more for a bottle of beer in the hotel than you will from the shops in the local towns. This seems a bit of a rip off as a reduction in prices would surely mean much higher bar sales for the hotel. Entertainment was of reasonable standard each night although never many people about because of the prices. Staff were always very willing to help and are very pleasant at all times . Weather was excellent most days around 25 degrees although could get a bit chilly at night. Hired a car for a couple of days and toured around a bit , not a great deal to see inland as most areas are covered in sugar cane with all the towns and villages looking much the same as each other and most of the counryside pleasant enough and very green obviously because of the tropical climate. I would say in general it was a very pleasant stay at the Belle Mare and we enjoyed our holiday although having been there I don't know if we would return . We travelled to Dubai and Thailand earlier in the year and feel better value to be found there than in Mauritius.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmac2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,239 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,553 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
17.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing