We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I do not have enough words to describe how much I loved this place! heaven on earth with no doubt! attention of staff, spacious room with amazing view to the beach, delicious food and many activities to choose from. Every small detail at this hotel is thought of well to make you feel special! I was feeling sad when we had to leave to be honest!

Thanks to everyone at this hotel for the very memorable stay! and also thanks to Imagine Africa who arranged our visit there.

Room Tip: room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaFeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time that you have afforded to write a review of Constance Belle Mare Plage on Trip Advisor following your visit at our resort.

I cannot hold myself from saying wow! Your review is fantastic and I am glad to read how the entire resort experience has left you with so much memories and feelings.

The greatest reward of an hotelier is to have his or her guests return and you can rest assured that the team and I are all looking forward to welcome you again.

Thank you again for highly recommending our resort. We will all keep on memories the pleasure we had to be at your service.

With sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 3,649 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend at this hotel. The deluxe suite was just great for a family with 2 kids. Fully equipped with imacs and the highest Internet speed I've seen so far in hotels. Inroom Nespresso coffee 24/7. Hotel facilities are just wonderful with a number of restaurants to chose from and several pools to suit the family. It's really a long stretch beach. View from the rooms on the beach is just perfect!
Above all, service was just excellent !
Will definitely go there again and I fully recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ashraf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review of Constance Belle Mare Plage on Trip Advisor following your week-end spent in family.

I am delighted to read that your family and yourself have enjoyed the facilities and services offered. This hotel is indeed wonderful and my team joins me to say that our guests make this hotel even more wonderful.

Thank you again for your appreciation of the service offered for which my associates are grateful to you and also for highly recommending our resort.

I trust to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back home soon for other great moments.

With sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Heaven on earth!!!
The iconic view to the stunning beach never tires.. The staff are friendly, the rooms spacious and well fitted and the food excellent.
If you want somewhere luxurious in which to chill, Belle Mare Plage is the best place to do it.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Dovile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for your fantastic review of Constance Belle Mare Plage.

Your enthusiasm portrays immediately what you have experienced and I am sure that everyone reading this review can imagine that ‘heaven on earth. Indeed it is at Constance Belle Mare Plage.

THANK YOU!

I trust to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the resort on a next trip to the island.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having visited Mauritius many years before at Le Saint Geran we knew the Belle Mare Plage was somewhat isolated but as we only came for sun, sea, sand and golf we knew what to expect. This is not somewhere to come if you want shopping or a town to visit each evening.

We booked a beach view junior suite and we well pleased to be allocated one in Block 4, approximately 20 yards from the beach and Indigo Bar and Pool and around 40 yards from the main bar and restaurant, the Legend Golf Club was also no more than a two minute walk so it was very convenient for all our needs.

The suite was well equipped, spacious with a nice lounge area, had a large bathroom, a walk in wardrobe and a large balcony. An added bonus was our maid, Karuna, a lovely lady who could not have made us feel more welcome and kept everywhere spotless and could not do enough for us. Her origami towel models of a monkey, swan, elephant, duck and piggy made us smile and were left for us each day.

From the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel very welcome, all staff would speak and always had a smile and special mention of Mariette who was the first to greet us and the last to say goodbye as she made a point of coming to say farewell as we left. In between she booked restaurants, golf and generally always made sure we were having a good holiday.

We have no complaints but we did feel that the Buffet evening meals were a little repetitive so we ate 3 times at La Speggia, this was excellent on each occasion but does involve a supplement which can get expensive depending on choice, twice at the Deer Hunter at the Legend golf club, both on half board menus which were excellent, and once at the floating restaurant Barachois at the Prince Maurice where you can use your half board allowance and which was different and very impressive with excellent food and a tame Reef Shark apparently called Jonny who swam past our table 3 times during the evening, definitely worth going for the experience.

The hotel was relatively quiet so it was never a problem to get two beds on the beach or round the pool and there were always plenty of beach towels, plus the drinks service also worked very well at both beach and pool.

Breakfast is also buffet style but with plenty of choice we did not find this a problem.

The golf courses were both excellent, challenging, with very attractive holes, but unless you hit every shot straight take plenty of balls, you will need them.

To sum up we had an excellent holiday and would certainly return to this hotel for a golfing holiday.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a Beach View Junior Suite ours was 417 on the second floor. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor about your Mauritian trip to Constance Belle Mare Plage.
It gives me much pleasure to read your review and I am glad that all the facilities and services were all at one place and also to your holiday convenience.

This hotel has indeed that something different which makes it a better place to be whilst on holidays though other specificity exist elsewhere and I would like to thank you for highlighting the fact that all my associates made you and your family feel welcome throughout your stay.

We cannot thank you enough for your appraisal and for recommending our resort. Your satisfaction and appreciation are the fuels that help us all to make Constance Belle Mare Plage a better place for holidays.

We trust to have the honor to welcome you again on a next trip to Mauritius.

With sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We found Belle Mare Plage impressive. One of the first resorts on the east coast of Mauritius, it is beautifully placed with sea views and a consistent pleasant breeze off the sea. The rooms and suites are in well-spaced blocks intermingled with palm trees and swimming pools and are very comfortable if no longer in immaculate new condition. The central area with its bars and main restaurant is spacious and airy, surrounded by mirror pools at several levels. We enjoyed the resort’s two super golf courses which are very close and are inclusive apart from buggy fees. Several boating activities are inclusive too. The standard of service was high at the point of delivery, always friendly, although the organisation of it slipped up occasionally, as did power, water and the television service on occasions during our stay. Similarly, the food at the Citronella main buffet restaurant was excellent, but they should have managed to get rid of the birds and cats that come for the crumbs. Service at the Deer Hunter restaurant was not so good when we took our half-board dinner there, but food and service at the Spiagia restaurant were excellent. The location of the resort is relatively remote, so if you want more than the sea, sun (and golf), perhaps the freedom to walk out to local shops, restaurants and other points of interest, you may want to check out other options.

Room Tip: We would go for a top floor room again, for privacy and lack of noise from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Constance Belle Mare Plage and also for sharing your impression and opinion about our resort on Trip Advisor following your recent holidays.

I would like to thank you also for your loyalty and appreciation of all the areas with which you were comfortable.

Reading your review, I note with great concern also that there were a few points that you would have preferred to match with your expectations. I understand that our Quality Department has already replied to you on a separate email.

As you are aware, at Constance Belle Mare Plage, our aim is to continuously improve on to the facilities and services provided and your feedback is important for us to achieve our objective.
Thank you for your very good rating and I trust to have the honor of welcoming you on a next visit to our resort.

With sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just came back from an amazing holiday at the Belle Mare Plage. The resort is spectacularly beautiful and from what I could tell it has the best beach on the island. Even though overall we had a great holiday and loved the Constance Belle Mare Plage, there are factors that would make me think twice about staying here again if I was to return to Mauritius.
But the good stuff first!:
The main hotel building definitely has the WOW factor, minimal yet detailed and beautiful. The golf courses are also amazing! Simply beautiful and well taken care of.
The beach is gorgeous and pristine and not rocky like on other parts of the island. The first 5 meters are a little challenging due to sand dunes and quite strong waves but once you get past it, it is soft smooth sand under your feet.

The rooms are nice but nothing extraordinary but if you go to a hotel for the room then why bother going to Mauritius as the splendor is in the beaches and surroundings!

I would warmly recommend doing an excursion through the reservations manager Vincent. He is proper hotelier through and through and was so helpful. He booked me on a full day excursion on a catamaran around the island for 2,800 rupees which was WELL worth the price and an fantastic experience. The hotel also offers free activities like small snorkeling trips and water skiing!

The service was very good with a few exceptions. They are very attentive, almost too attentive as in a few cases plates being cleared while you are in fact still in the middle of eating and almost to the point where conversation is interrupted by over eager staff. This might be nit picking but in a five star hotel this fine balance of attentive and overbearing should be known. This is not the case with the beach staff who were a bit gruff and lacked any charm or humor. But overall the service is great.
The biggest issue we faced is feeling a bit isolated in some ways. We wished there would have been some sort of shuttle bus or ways of getting anywhere besides using a taxi. The taxis are over priced and you are forced to book one for a whole day as the taxis in town love nothing more then to con and trick tourists, we were told. Since there is a challenge into getting into town (or anywhere) there is a serious need for a small shop where one can get chips, ice cream, sweets and soft drinks. The on site bathing suit shop did have 4 sad overpriced kit kats and some gum if we wished but this is simply not enough. Food and Beverage at the hotel are overpriced (even if you are on half board) for what you get and again since you are isolated you have no choice but to pay up and smile. You feel you are overpaying because the hotels know you have no choice but to pay what they say since there is nothing else, which can make you feel cheated at times. We also felt that since this is the case and again being a resort, something like a Happy Hour or something at the bar would be encouraging. We were told there was a happy hour but never seemed to find out when or where this was because every time we asked all we got back was "sorry".
The buffet was large and offered a wide variety. You should be ashamed of yourself if you walked out of there not finding something to your liking, however, that being said the food was not 5 star quality. We found it odd that in our week there not ANY seafood like shrimp or anything was offered, Mauritius is after all an island we were hoping to see a lot more fish and seafood. And a lot of the time the food looked delicious but was seriously lacking flavor or spice, which is also unusual for island cuisine.
The only issue with the beach is you do get "harassed" by vendors selling touristy sarongs and jewlery a little too frequently but everyone has to make a living i guess, but i didnt like that sometimes they would gather and lounge on the tanning beds of the hotel, just felt uncomfortable at times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephanieKristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time that you have taken to write about your personal experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort.

I am glad to read that you have brought home with you so many memories about your holidays worth sharing with the travel community and as Aldous Huxley would say: ‘Experience is not what happens to a man, it is what a man does with what happens to him’.

Indeed, whilst reading your review, I note with concern the factors that you would have preferred to be otherwise and I would like to apologize if those have inconvenienced you. However, I am glad to know them and a few of your preferences, so that we are able to amend or improve those to serve you better and that will benefit of all our guests.

At Constance Belle Mare Plage, our aim is to continuously improve our guests’ experience and your feedback is critical for us to gauge if we are doing things right.

Thank you again for your appreciation and for the very good rating. I trust to have the honor of welcoming you again.

Sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent hotel with lots of facilities and excellent food. We go for the golf and are never disappointed (this was our 6th visit). The 2 courses differ in make up but are both challenging for the experienced golfer as well as friendly enough to allow the novice to enjoy their holiday.

Room Tip: Sea View suites are the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time that you have afforded to write about your experience from your home away from home on Trip Advisor.

We always say that the most simple words are usually the most sincere. I am delighted to read that after your 6th stay you still have a little word of praise for this resort which is now your second home.

Thank you for your sincere appreciation and recommendation. You are the reason why we still like to do this job.

I sincerely wish that you join me for a toast on your seventh visit.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,335 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,863 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,504 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
17.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $311 - $1,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing