We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it. Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I simply can't fault this resort. Excellent clean and well maintained accommodation and facilities plus a wide variety of food in the main restaurant. Above all the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff has to be experienced to be believed - they don't look for tips but you want to reward them.
I have given "Average" to the location only because you need a taxi to visit the local town.
A plus point not in the brochures I read, is the availability of wi-fi in all rooms (via an Apple router, no less !)

Room Tip: There is entertainment in the bar until 11.00, so if you want quiet before then pick a room away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 3,644 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

The welcome on entering the hotel set an amazing standard for the whole 2 weeks; the staff were excellent and there was always someone to hand to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The food was varied and interesting whether you ate in the half board buffet style restaurant or visited one of the others such as The Deerhunter.
Surrounded by the coral reef the Indian Ocean invited us to step in and try the activities the hotel offered such as "The Glass Bottomed Boat", whilst relaxing with a cold beer whilst sunbathing after an energetic early morning game of golf on either of the 2 courses. Would recommend you use the services of a bag carrier when possible as this was a cheaper option to buggies, gave one the exercise required to manage to enjoy those meals and introduced one to much more of the wildlife that inhabits the area.
Roll on another visit when the piggy bank can stretch that far once again.

Room Tip: Junior suites facing sea-brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank slj146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the Constance in late september for 7 nights, weather was perfect but more so was the destination.

Sevice at the hotel was second to none, nothing was any trouble for any of the staff, definitely one of the best hotels in terms of service I have stayed at.

Location is perfect if you are looking to get away from it all and just want to relax, east coast has beautiful beaches and tends I feel to be a bit more isolated. Getting to another area of the island is no problem either, around 50 minutes so you can easily plan excursions.

Good selection of food, even more important, quality is excellent.

All in all a perfect holiday, loved every minute. Try not to usually visit the same place twice but have a feeling I will be going back to Constance in Mauritius at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16-Ajit-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our second visit to the Belle Mare Plage hotel. We flew with Air Mauritius so our golf clubs went free of charge, quite a bonus. We flew from Heathrow terminal 4 - not a good experience. Before the flight desks opened we had an hour to wait, there were virtually no seats to sit on except those attached to eating places, so we spent the time wandering around dragging our cases (and clubs). Outside wasn't much better as it was full of smokers.
The 11.5 hour flight was OK, less leg room than on other airlines (on the way back we had a little more, maybe it was just the plane) and the food mediocre.
Once we got to the hotel all was well. We were greeted warmly with a drink and a personal welcome. Our room was as lovely as the one we had last year.
What makes this hotel is the staff and the quality of service. Without exception they are genuinely welcoming and wanting to help in any way they can.
This is also true of the golf staff. They welcomed us back like long lost friends. Our clubs were always ready at which ever course we were playing at that day. The courses themselves were in great condition. What a brilliant golfing venue this is.
Some things had changed from last year. The toiletries in the room were less luxurious and we had to ask for bathrobes. Also, we had to ask for fresh milk to use in the room. Having said that the items came quickly with a smile. Another change was the frequency of buses to the links course, last year we rarely waited 10 minutes, this year they were every 30 minutes only. We have heard that as of next month they will start charging for the golf buggies on the links course as they do already on the Legend. It was about £30 for a buggy.
Having said all this, this is still Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0rthern_belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having visited Belle Mare Plage a year ago we wondered if we could really have had such a luxurious experience and decided to break our policy of 'don't repeat, you'll be disappointed' and returned for a second two week break. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was excellent. A ground floor room 50 yards from a pristine beach lapped by the Indian Ocean! Room was a large with an extra large super king size bed and a spacious bathroom and separate loo! Serviced daily and evening turn down service. Buffet restaurant provided eight different food stations with a worldwide cuisine to choose from. If you preferred two other table service restaurants provide a half board menu in beautiful surroundings. Drinks to accompany starting at £22.00 for a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc are reasonable for a hotel. Poached eggs at breakfast are to die for! The selection of foods at the morning and evening meals mean you will only choose not to be satisfied by both quality and quantity.
For any golfer, whatever your handicap, the star of the show has to be the golf. Two very different courses, the Legend, a European Seniors Tour venue, with tighter driving but excellent greens, required a payment of about £25 for a buggy for two or the use of a caddy and the Links a longer course with wider fairways and very good greens and free buggies!!!! (I understand Constance intend to start charging shortly and I think it may be a decision that may not be prudent in the long term).

It would be remiss not to mention the exception service provided by all staff but especially the golf staff. From the warm welcome to each course each day, the servicing of the buggies with free(!) water, the welcoming cold face towel at the end of a round, the discreet but very effective marshalling of the course including starters and the organising of two weekly competitions (beware the celebrations of staff/guests Texas Scramble in the unofficial 19th!!!) with Super Mario as your host supported by Dhanesh, Ravi and a cast of so many friendly staff....an event not to be missed!!).

Will we undermine our previous policy and return again? Probably!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtleyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 week holiday on Mauritius. 2 at Belle Mare and 1 week having been upgraded to the luxury sister hotel Prince Maurice. The staff at both are wonderful as are the surroundings, they have thought of everything to make it a great experience. The caddies are superb and so friendly and organise a Texas Scramble weekly which they also take part in. A great way to get to know them and other guests. The housekeeping staff are always surprising you with lovely flowers, towel scuptures and warm baths ready to slip into after a long day. Hope to be able to return next year.

Room Tip: We had a first floor suite in the 700 block with lovely sea views and by a pool. In Prince Maurice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our 5th visit to this hotel and standards of hospitality and service remain impeccable. For us, Dhanesh and his caddie master team at the golf courses epitomise the ethos of customer care that prevails at the CBMP. We were greeted as old friends on arriving after a gap of 6 years. The weekly Texas Scramble that they organise and participate in, is great fun and a good way of getting to know other guests.
The facilities in the hotel are excellent, with free WiFi in every room and tea/coffee making equipment added since our last visit.
Although the main dining room is still very good, I have to say that the variety of menus has been reduced with only 1 themed night now in operation. Overall, I have given a 5 star rating and this is only a minor disappointment. We will certainly be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,859 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,503 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
17.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $312 - $1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing