We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constance Belle Mare Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to this Hotel.
We were last here five years ago and really enjoyed the stay so we booked again
expecting the same, however this time we noticed that standards had dropped.
Some of the staff were not as pleasant or helpful as on our previous trip, the food was
not as good as we remember.
At most meals the food was cold from the buffet and staff had to be prompted to replenish
empty trays by several guests.
The location is still great and supplied us with good Golf and beaches, just a shame that
in our opinion standards since our last visit had slipped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathnkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about you experience from your recent stay at our resort and more so for putting our resort again on the top of your list while considering to come to Mauritius.

I have read your comments with great concern and regret that you have been less impressed with this holiday.

I have taken note of your comments concerning the staff attitude and the temperature of the food. Please rest assured that those have been addressed to the head of departments concerned for immediate improvement.

I am glad that the hotel, the golf and the beach were still to your satisfaction.

Obviously, a great holiday is a combination of many little elements and though this time they were not all present, will definitely not prevent you from coming back for a third time.

The team and I would be honoured to have the opportunity to amend your perception of the service provided at Constance Belle Mare Plage.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,302
    440
    117
    39
    22
See reviews for
816
1,570
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Many hotels, can boast dining, pools, sandy beaches, spa to name but a few. Very, very few can offer the excellent customer service Belle Mare Plage can. From arrival, a cool towel is offered to clean your hands and wipe your face, no standing after a long flight to check in, you are escorted to a comfy chair, in the sun and a welcome drink, where a lady takes your details and arranges your room.
Your bags are taken to the room, the lady escorts you to the room and explains all the facilities within the room, including free Wi-Fi (a definite plus).
All staff from the grounds men to the GM will always greet you with a welcoming hello; if you are returning as we were for the third time, they say "welcome home".
We go here not just for this service and welcoming feeling but for golf - two excellent courses which will challenge any golfer; the Links with many risk reward holes and the Legend with tight fairways and water abound. Again the staff always welcome you with a smile, moving your clubs between courses, a cool towel after your round and a cool beer in the bar - you can't wish for more (other than perhaps a better score).
The restaurants are many the main (Citronella) is a buffet style catering for young and old; pasta and pizzas, fish and stir fries, beef, lamb or chicken roasts, curry are all parts of the buffet with much of the food cooked in front of your eyes thus avoiding the overcooked bulk food you can get with buffets. I mainly had the curries cooked by their resident chef from India (Mumbai) they are glorious. Breakfast is served also in the Citronella and again the variety is enormous and the home made bread and pastries lovely.
The central bar area managed by Giulliam and his staff is picturesque as it overlooks the pool, service is polite and they will always find you a chair even when none seem available.
The room choices depend on price and we have stayed in standard rooms and junior suites, all are well designed, clean and tidy with TV, shower etc. The maid for our room was fantastic, twice we had on our bed towels folded into swans decorated by flowers from the gardens and one day an elephant folded from bath our towels, it was so good my wife would not allow me to use the towel for a week.
I can go on but if you appreciate exceptional , friendly staff, excellent facilities and of course super golf on two courses - there is no where else better and we have stayed all over the world.
Colin & Aggie

Room Tip: all our good - we stayed in Junior suites (>800 number) which are well located but the villas if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overland737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write about your EXPERIENCE on trip advisor from your recent stay at our resort and more so for putting again the Constance Belle Mare Plage on the top of your list while planning to come to Mauritius.

Honestly, I cannot say more than THANK YOU for driving everyone through the Constance Belle Mare Plage with your kind words and I will not miss to pass this on to my team who is instrumental to the guest’s satisfaction.

Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and your appreciations go straight to our heart.

The team join me to thank you again and wish to be honored with the pleasure of welcoming you again on a next trip to Mauritius.

With warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently had the pleasure of enjoying this great resort Really a golfers haven the beach food and wine experiences were the best. I'm not a golfer but still enjoyed all aspects The staff are great and rooms large and very comfortable. The wine/food experience is next to none

Room Tip: some rooms are not at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Simple words are usually the most sincere.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday experience on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort.

We cannot thank you enough for being our ambassador.

We trust to be honored with the pleasure of welcoming you back home.

Sincere regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Belle Mare during the first part of our honeymoon last year. It was love at first sight. The resort is amazing, the grounds very beautiful and the beach that streches in front of it practically perfect. As soon as we arrived, after two fairly long flights, we were greeted by our concierge (and fruit cocktails) and we got all the details of our stay. The resort upgraded us in a Junior suite (huge room & bathroom, walk in closet, private veranda in front of the sand) and received vouchers for a special candlelit honeymoon dinner in the resort's nicest restaurant. The dinner was amazing and returning to the room we found candles and rose petals on the bed. Room service was impecable, including small flowers on the bedspread every day. Everyone was amazingly kind, polite and attentive.
The spa is not very large but it was never crowded and it has a certain private and zen atmosphere. It was available every day until late. There were also several spa treatments available at extra cost. The bar is also very nice, featuring live music almost every night and great cocktails which were not very expensive. There are sports and excursions you can book through the hotel; the ladies in the tourism office are always very helpful with anyhting you need including car rental, maps, info etc.
We had half board which covered buffet meals (the buffet was really good and offered many different cuisines) as well as the resort's restaurants on specific days.
We had an amazing week in Mauritius and we loved it, partly because of our choice of resort. We felt we were treated very specially as newlyweds and everyone made sure we enjoyed our honeymoon! It was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good points - Absolutely everything! Went for our honeymoon in 2007 and enjoyed it that much saved up and went 3 years later as well to same resort etc. Shame it is so far away or else we wouldn't eat all year to save up and go every year! Its such a lovely resort, with lovely people and you come away feeling like you have had the most fantastic holiday ever! I could not recommend this place more! If I win the lottery I shall be buying myself a little piece of Mauritius heaven myself! :-) We didn't go in November 2012 it was 2010 we last went but Tripadvisor wouldn't let me back date.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing ground floor room on the far left side to the hotel near the 'private sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on trip advisor following your stay at Constance Belle Mare Plage.

It is fantastic to read how much you still have good memories of your holidays even as far as in 2007 when it was for your honeymoon.

We say that where there is a will, there is a way and I am convinced that we will meet in Mauritius in the future.

In the perspective of meeting you on a next stay, my team and I wish you good health. It was a pleasure to be at your service.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Probably the best overseas hotels we've ever stayed in. The attention to detail and staff service was excellent. We were on a mixed golfing holiday so the golf courses were important, both were in great condition and club house staff were excellent. The drinks prices were a little on the heavy side as was to be expected.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
******
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on trip advisor following your recent stay at Constance Belle Mare Plage.

I am particularly glad to read you have had great golfing holiday experience at our resort.

I would like to thank you for highly recommending our resort; you appreciations go straight to our heart.

The team joins me to thank you for staying at our resort and I trust to be honored with the pleasure of welcoming you back home soon.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been here for a week as a golfing couple on half board and we simply cannot find fault. The facilities are fantastic with the beach, water sports and golf all on our doorstep. The staff are truly magnificent - all friendly and attentive. Golf on the Links is free and includes a buggy. For golf on the Legends you need to take a caddy at less than 12 euro or hire a buggy at 32 euro. The Legends demands precision as there is water everywhere. The Links is more forgiving. The buffet food is very good quality, freshly cooked and with great variety. Asian and Italian theme nights are a treat. Drink prices are not too bad for a 5 star and happy hour is really good value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Sunny greetings from Mauritius!

I would like to personally thank you for the time that you have spared to write about a review on Trip Advisor about your recent experience at our resort.

I am glad to read that the facilities and services offered were to your convenience and that you have had a pleasant golfing holiday.

Thank you for your excellent comment about the quality of food and for highly recommending our resort.

I will certainly keep on memories the pleasure we had to be at your service.

The team joins me to thank you and look forward to welcoming you again to Constance Belle Mare Plage soon.

Warm regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
13.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,243 reviews
15.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing