We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing experience, and bulging at the seams!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“disappointing experience, and bulging at the seams!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here at Christmas , and had a disappointing time.
Firstly we asked for 2 twin rooms for our 4 children , and got 2 double beds with separate matresses, not the same thing . As 2 of these children were adults they were not very happy sharing a double bed. Eventually they sorted out one twin room , but could not do the other as they have hardly any twin rooms in the hotel.
The hotel was packed as they allow extra children in the rooms for no extra cost,( i think the only hotel that is 5 star that does this in Mauritius)
Consequently , the hotel had at least 100 guests over its max capacity.This was a big strain on the infrasructure. It was impossible to get a sunbed unless you bagged it at about 6 am!
The service was slow, and it was often impossible for the 6 of us to get a table together in the buffet. There were also long queues at the variuos stations in the buffet, a 20 minute wait for a bowl of pasta?Not acceptable.The wine and water we ordered to go with our meals often turned up long after we had started eating. There was very little sign of any management making sure it was running smoothly , and the staff just looked fed up .The standard of food was generally very average.
The water sports were downright dangerous , as there were other boats from other hotels,using the same strip of water outside the hotel, how there hasnt been an accident I do not know! Again huge long waits for a ski.
Finally, for a 5 star hotel , nothing was included , even paid extra for the coffee pods in the room!! Wifi was extra as was a dvd player , and even a peice of pineapple on the sunlounger had to be bought from a vendor out of a cardboard box!!
If this were a 3 star hotel , fine , but for a 5 star it was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timberdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,409
    467
    128
    42
    22
See reviews for
878
1,633
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and adult daughter and I stayed at the Belle Mare Plage between 20th January - 1st February this year.
This was the third time we had visited as our previous stays were so impressive.
On arrival we learnt we had been upgraded from 2 suites to a villa. This was just amazing with our own pool and sun terrace, enormous lounge area, kitchen and 2 spacious en suite bedrooms, one with a very secluded outside bathing area. We also had the services of the 'villa master' who was linked to our villa to make our holiday run as smoothly as possible.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, in particular by Rajen. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made the difference between a good and a great holiday. My husband stated that Rajen has made a lasting impresion upon him as he was an exceptional person, both personally and professionally. We also would like to thank Nand and Jogo who took very good care of us in our villa.
Some of our favourite times at the hotel were spent eating in the Blue Penny Cafe and in La Espaggio, where the food was superb and in our opinion deserves Michelin star status. Another exceptional member of staff and consumate professional was Wesley in the Blue Penny Cafe, where his care of us and attention to detail was superb.
The beach, the setting, and the ambiance in the rest of the hotel was fabulous, as it had been on previous occasions. However, on our third trip to this wonderful hotel was a particularly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently returned from a two week stay at the Belle Mare Plage Hotel and can honestly say I am so glad to be home. We arrived at 11 am after flying from the uk only to be told our room was not ready till 2 pm not acceptable, when we got our room it was lovely and clean and well maintained and kept really clean for the whole two weeks. That is about the only good thing we have to say about Belle Mare Plage.

We have had the worst service anywhere we have ever travelled, the staff are uninterested, patronising and most times the service is non existent apart from at the end when you want the bill and they may get a tip, if you don't' they raise there eyebrows !

The food in the main buffet is not good, at breakfast birds are flying around the restaurant and eating out of the pots of food, jam and pecking at the breads and from anything left open. Evening meal is like eating in a staff canteen and the food in the buffet was never hot. The hotel prices are really expensive on the half board package you can use two restaurants with an allowance given at the other two evening restaurants, but these are so expensive the allowance only covers a starter !! If you want lunch an example of the prices are £35 for one pizza chips and two small beers and as there is no where near by you have to pay it. We have travelled a lot and safe to say we will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWRIGLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third time in Belle Mare Plage in Mauritius. Previous was very nice but this time was really fantastic. We got an upgrade in villa and this experience was amazing. I want to say thank you to the management and expecial thanks to our house-steward PRAKASH , a really fantastic person !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Saurogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This has to be one of our best holidays ever, The hotel is kept extremly clean especially our room which was done twice a day, the food in the buffet can be a bit repetative but we chose from different areas each evening to make it more intresting, everything was well cooked and well presented.The hotel staff work hard to make your holiday pleasant and relaxing. The golf courses are free to hotel guests and of good standard and well used by all.plenty of choice which pool to swim in , and evening entertainment is good compared to ome hotels i have been in.

Room Tip: we had room 700 this was in a quieter area, as some suites are sea front excellent view but not so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from this super hotel with very attentive staff. Our room was pefectly situated virtually on the beach. Frogs croaking you off to sleep at night, beautiful gardens, pretty birds chirping all day. Two excellent golf courses - The Legend and The Links, you are driven there in a bus which runs all day long. If you attempt to walk anywhere there is always a buggy offering you a lift - if you feel lazy in the heat!! We had a lovely maid who made our room look pretty everyday with flowers and hibiscus laid prettily on the bed. Lots of water within the hotel area making it such a peaceful place to be, with flower arrangements everywhere. Yes I agree with another writer, the extra food and drinks are rather expensive in the hotel. Food buffet style with a variety of cuisines, can get a bit boring every evening, but there are other alternatives, some you pay a supplement for over and above your original holiday booking, but others no extra charge. We stayed in Cape Town the week before, and obviously a vast difference between the two, Cape Town being very reasonably priced for everything, but you didnt have the beautiful warm clear water of the sea etc., and felt very safe amongst delightful people. The weather can be changeable this time of year up to March apparently, we had a fair amount of rain and thunder and a few cloudy days, but the rest of the holiday was wall to wall sunshine!!

Room Tip: Some rooms and suites are quite a long walk to the dining area, we stayed in room 920 which was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetheartSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It was all a picture perfect holiday. The 6N/7D trip to Mauritius which I eagerly looked forward to was made perfect with my stay at Belle Mare Plage. Chirping birds, serene beaches, turquoise waters, silent breeze, relaxing mood, top notch service with smiling faces there is nothing you can expect more than this royal treatment. Rooms were excellent both by location and cleanliness. The special honeymoon arrangement was a surprise and delight. Overall an five star experience and best relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,477 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,404 reviews
13.7 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing