We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belle Mare Plage, Mauritius - as the selected category confirms, the venue of an excellent holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constance Belle Mare Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
St. Clement, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Belle Mare Plage, Mauritius - as the selected category confirms, the venue of an excellent holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just back from a 14 night holiday at this resort hotel and we enjoyed every minute - even the few days of intermittent rain and expected cyclone - the latter eventually gave us a wide berth.

Acting on advice of friends, we opted for half board and a junior suite - 723, on the fourth floor overlooking, through the palm trees, the northern pool and the sparkling sea - distant waves breaking on the coral reef. 4th floor meant steps up and down but we enjoyed the seclusion that the position offered.

The food - quality and range - could not be faulted. Dinner, buffet style, no matter how extensive, does get repetitive, but we broke this with using the option, with friends, of the Deer Hunter Restaurant, overlooking the Legends golf course. To see a herd of deer in the evening light pass quietly around the 18th green is a definite 'one off'!

The staff were proficient, courteous and attentive. From the room cleaner, Gloria, Pool Sun Butler Previn and the extensive staff in the dining hall, not forgetting the reception staff and buggy drivers - all were most helpful.

The junior suite was a good choice in our view, Having the additional space is such a boon when on holiday. Verandah with settee, two armchairs, table and upright chairs for the occasional room service breakfast (we used this facility on the days that we left early on a trip out - room service charge only). A large living area with king size double, settee and chairs, desk and upright chair and whilst I wouldn't want one at home, a large wall mounted flat screen TV for the evening news, major tennis and golf tournaments if the weather was inclement, or that enjoyable time before dinner after coming up from the beach or poolside for a cup of tea.

The hotel complex is large so one doesn't get the feeling of being in a large hotel. We always managed to get a decent table for dinner (overlooking the sea) and therefore the same staff for ordering drinks etc. For breakfast we ate in a different area overlooking the water areas that surround the northern part of the dining hall.

We liked the overall relaxed ambience of the hotel, the caring attitude of the staff - without exception - and the amenities, especially the pool and surrounding loungers. Most patrons appear to favour the beach loungers but we like to get away from the serried rows. Also the onshore prevailing wind was not evident around the pool which was sheltered but still in view of the sea. As one not known to relax easily, I actually switched off completely!!

We travelled with If Only, booked through and at the suggestion of World Travel (BA, St Helier opp Sand St car park). If travelling World Traveller Plus on the long haul, one is automatically upgraded to Club on the Jersey/Gatwick legs. This is very useful due to use of BA Lounge on the home journey as the BA flight from Mauritius arrives at Gatwick at 0530 and the first flight home is 0825. At least two hours to relax, shower, catch up with the papers and have breakfast (excellent creamy porridge!)

The agents for If Only in Mauritius were White Sand Travel - we had 'superior car transfer' within our package and through White Sand we arranged trips to the South - several areas of interest visited and secondly, the Pamplemousses (as they spell it) Botanical Gardens and Port St Louis - excellent waterfront with views of the harbour and shopping malls with good eating opportunities for lunch or snacks.

Being a bit of a 'Martello' Tower anorak, we had to arrange a private full day taxi trip to the 'Martello' Tower Museum at La Preneuse. This was clearly marked in our pocket Berlitz Guide, but unknown to White Sand and not marked on their otherwise excellent maps - hard mounted A3 size used by the tour reps and guides. However, Gertrude and Preety, the White Sand reps that served our hotel arranged the car and it was a very interesting visit - which left time for a further visit to Port Louis and our favourite eatery at the Waterfront.

In all, an excellent holiday. We recommend (without prejudice!) Belle Mare Plage!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ancientmariner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    438
    117
    39
    22
See reviews for
815
1,561
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent my 11th wedding anniversary at Bell Mare Plage and it was perfect. The staff are efficient and friendly and pay attention to the detail. All staff are aware of the events in the hotels and update you regularly. Our 4 year old loved the kids club and my husband and I were able to get some time alone. The resort is beautiful although not as modern as some of the other resorts but it had all the necessary amenities. Food was excellent at all the restaurants but drinks were over priced. The spas were good and offered the needed relaxation.
All in all a great destination and a great hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

we went here in middle of january 2013 for holiday and wedding.
Mauritius- a beatiful island with a very laid back approach.
Belle mare plage resort- we stayed in entry level appartment for 9 days before getting upgrade to junior suite for 5. the entry level was good standard and 10 steps from beach. only negative was it was slightly dull looking due to dark decor. Junior suite was excellent, would recommend spending extra to get this. very modern and large area. got first floor with sea view, great to wake up to that every day. One very small issue was no plug point near mirrors for doing hair so take extra long cables.
The highlight throughout the stay were the staff. I have never met such friendlier people in my life, and it was genuine not just tourist smiles. Although it is hard to pick individuals for praise I have to give thanks to helena, karima in reception, a jay in bar area and chad at beach area. I have no doubt all other staff are equally as nice. Karima actually phoned from her home on our final day to say goodbye as she missed seeing my wife on last day.
Would also like to acknowledge all the staff in the restaurants and at golf course , they could not do enough to help us at all times, (even though the restaurant staff seemed run off their feet).
As part of the wedding package we got a massage and dinner at la spiaggia, and i would highly recommend making use of these facilities.
I have read some reviews on here complaining about prices. We are not big drinkers so didnt really impact on us, but the local spar in flacq is only 15 min away and prices are really cheap, so if you are big drinker just stock up there and drink on balcony. Though I would say the prices are no higher than you would expect from resort hotel.
This is same with food, we dont normally eat at lunch on holiday but we did try the pancakes a few times and for £4 it was well worth the money. We did buy burger on our leaving day which werent brilliant but this was always going to be a one off.
All in all this is a brilliant resort in a beatiful location and we are already planning our return.

Room Tip: upgrade to junior suite if you spend any time in accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just arrived back from Belle Mare Plage 2 weeks half board,great hotel,good beach side location and super golf.Have to say that the staff made us very welcome and could not do enough for us,nothing was too much trouble,just ask and they provided.Food was very good,only one problem The Deerhunter restaurant seemed to be the place that the smokers frequented,so if you like smoke with your food,thats the place to go.All other eateries were fine and would cook most things for you,if there was not enough choice on the main buffet.
We stayed in a Junior Suite,which was great,but the ordinary rooms looked fine as well.One word of warning take plenty of Mosquito repellent as they really bite.
All in all great place for a holiday,would go back again tomorrow.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites toward the Spa are in the best position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would rate ourselves as very experienced and demanding travellers. Since 19 months ago we are travelling with our baby son. Having already stayed in Constance Hotels, Belle Mare Plage was our first time. Hotel is nicely situated, very clean, service very friendly with a tendency to be slow, rooms (junior suites) spacious. Especially for golfers an excellent choice as two nice golf courses are included free of charge. It is not a luxury hotel but offers everything even demanding guests can ask for. We certainly will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank dukeodilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my fifth time in Mauritius and the fifth hotel I stay at. Each time, I am made to feel by safe and very welcome. The staff is making it a point to talk to me, and make me feel at ease. From the restaurant staff (Ramila and Deepak in particular), to the bar (Neetesh and Pascal) to the Boat House crew (thanks to all of you for coaching me in to mono-skiing), they were all very good at what they do.
My Junior Suite was lovely, on the first floor and with pool and sea view, sheltered from the wind (one night of thunder and lighting tested the brick works) and beautifully cleaned by Geetah.
Having only eaten at The Citronelle Restaurant, I can only comment on this one, I was very happy from breakfast to dinner. There was a great variety and with some favourites returning during my fortnight's stay. Fresh, tasty, everything you ever wanted, and more (mini pancakes with a plethora of toppings), to all the exotic fruit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We been here with my husband when were just dating which is 10 years ago.I remember the food was absolutely good,the view was fantastic,and it's their winter time.we live in hongkong before and recommended by our friends

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,267 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
13.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,227 reviews
15.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing