We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding for kids"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Outstanding for kids"”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks at the Belle Mare Plage and i can't rate it highly enough! We travelled as a family of 5; the children are 2, 5 and 6 so a handful at the moment. Every member of staff went the extra mile to help us; whether it was staff opening doors and helping with buggies, or the waiters filling up the infants' milk cup- every member of staff was extremely helpful. We were upgraded to a villa upon arrival which was utterly amazing.....i'm still not sure why but i'm certainly not complaining. Our Villa manager and the staff were incredibly helpful throughout the stay and couldn't do enough for us and, in particular, the kids.

I'd read horrendous reviews about pricing but found it fairly reasonable. You can expect to pay approx £20 for a normal bottle of wine with evening meal and prices increase up to the ridiculous. We were half board and stuck with the free half-bottle of white most evening; that was just about drinkable. Cocktails were appx £4.50- £10 and were ok. Bar staff were very friendly and make a mean Mojito, although i found the Whisky choice poor( i am a little picky as we live in Speyside).

I managed to sneak awayy for a few hours for a round of Golf on the Legends Course and this was sublime, so well kept with swept-up golf equipment for hire. It cost me appx £65 for a round including buggy hire and club hire so not bad at all really.

The beach was incredible and perfect for the kids as there are so many loungers to choose from, all of which have their own sun shelter allowing the kids to sit in the shade when required. The beac staff were excellent and looked after us and the kids very well indeed. Ours kids are reasonably fussy but there was food for everyone and a varied choice. The chef's would make special dishes for the kids when required too !

The children's club was open 0900-2200 and the staff were excellent. It is not sold very well on the website but it really was very good indeed and our kids loved it! They were asking to go for most of the afternoon and after evening meal too which also allowed us some respite :) They have a great set-up, including a pool, climbing frames and indoor play stuff too.

Would go back tomorrow.......if we could afford it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmanc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, Resort Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We sincerely thank you for such warm review. Family holidays are something that is long awaited and well deserved and we are glad to know that our resort and the team has made your such a great memory.

Your positive comments will be shared with all of our team, especially the Kakoo one.

Seing you have enjoed your stay with us, we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back, whenever you wish to have some more of sun, beach and relaxing family time.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Le Gac
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,638
    487
    131
    42
    22
See reviews for
965
1,750
59
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What an amazing place. Perfect for golfers as there are two wonderful courses but also loads of other sports to participate in. However, if you want to just relax then the pools and beach are fantastic. The pools are clean and a lovely temperature and the beach is white (cool) sand, palm fringed by a turquoise sea. Fantastic. Loads of big bright orange towels available and the sun beds are really comfortable.
The food is very good although the choice for starters is a little limited in the self service restaurant. Plus point is that you always get hot milk with your coffee even at breakfast. The food and service in the other restaurants where you pay extra is really five star and well worth the extra.
The staff are excellent and always smile and say hello and are always ready to help you.
One note of caution.....There are a lot of changes of levels around the complex and they are not always well lit at night so please TAKE CARE. I fell down one on the first night and hurt my knee so badly I couldn't play golf but despite this I still Had a GREAT holiday.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite that had loads of room with a lovely patio that overlooked the pool and then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, Resort Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is a pleasure for our team to know that you have enjoed your stay with us in such a measure, especially the beach, relaxing pool areas and the friendliness of our team.

All of your comments will be shared with the team , as we are allways looking for an improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here, or any other Constanec Hotels, when in need of beaitiful beaches and great food, service and relaxation.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Le Gac
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We returned yesterday from a blissful week at the Constance Belle Mare Plage in Mauritius and cannot praise the Manager and his team enough for providing such a superb environment for a holiday. This was our fourth visit to Mauritius over the past 20 years and this hotel was by far the most superior in every aspect. From the smiling welcome at the entrance to the efficient way we were met and settled in with a welcome drink at the bar by a charming young lady who then escorted us to our immaculate room, we felt immediately special. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, much to our delight, and found this to be beautifully furnished as was the balcony. The ladies looking after our room worked so hard and kept it looking so good, replenishing lotions etc., without ever having to be asked to do so.

We were on the half-board golf and dining package and found each of the restaurants provided a wide range of dishes, all beautifully presented and delicious The Indian meal at the Deerhunter Restaurant on our last evening was delectable. Make sure a booking for here is made well in advance as it is very popular. All the catering staff were so pleasant and nothing seemed to be any trouble. The omelette chefs in the Citronelle restaurant for breakfast were so happy and worked so fast as indeed did the smiling fresh fruit preparation team. Special mention must be made ofSahid, our waiter in the mornings, who was so conscientious and caring, taking such a pride in his work.

The sports facilities, gym, spa, boating activities and golf courses were marvellous. All the staff were so enthusiastic and helpful.

The beach is heavenly and the sunbeds and towels were in good supply. The beach staff were so accommodating and were always on hand to assist with moving beds into the shade etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

A fantastic holiday, and one we can thoroughly recommend. Mr. Puchtler (General Manager) you are doing a wonderful job. Well done and our best wishes to all of your smiling staff!

Room Tip: All rooms well sited with views of pool and sea or beach-fronted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKAnnDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second visit to the Constance Belle Mare Plage and we will definitely be returning for more. We enjoyed the sun at the beach every morning and played golf every afternoon. Both courses, Links and Legends, are stunning. We played Legends more often because we prefer to walk around a course (carts are compulsory, but currently free for hotel guests, on Links). Caddies and carts are available at a small fee for guests at Legends, but we were never under any pressure to book either and didn't, since one of the main joys for us playing golf is the exercise it offers. As a golfing destination, I really don't think this resort can be beaten anywhere in the world (and we have played on four continents). If you don't like golf, there are plenty of watersports to indulge in and a range of other activities (tennis, cycling, petanque, etc). The rooms are lovely, clean and very spacious (we stayed in junior suites on both holidays and would recommend paying a little extra for them) and the service is generally exceptional, though it can stutter a little in the main buffet restaurant. Our best advice in the buffet restaurant is to pick one of the sections off the main area - some sections are run beautifully well, to genuine silver-service standards, but the main area can be a little chaotic at times and, in consequence, slow. Find a spot off the beaten track and you'll have nothing to quibble about at all. All in all, a fabulous resort, one we would highly recommend, and one we have every intention of returning to, time and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ergonomictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, General Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Kidn regards

Gert Puchtler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Mauritius on this 'impulse buy' with no preconceptions. We arrived and were greeted by a charming smiling young lady who ensured that we were seated with a welcome cold drink whilst she checked us in and escorted us to our room. She set the standard of friendliness and efficiency which was upheld by all staff for the rest of our stay to such a degree that we both agreed that 'the people' are an outstanding asset to Mauritius.

Belle Mare Plage offers a holiday destination which challenges the senses. A white sandy beach where the bright blue waters of the Indian Ocean provided a cooling adult playground for gentle swimming, snorkelling and a glass bottomed boat (all at no charge) or more daring water sports including water skiing and parasailing. Sufficient heavy hard wood sun beds (all towelled) both on the beach and all around the hotel pools and gardens provided for the needs of sunworshippers (not us!!).

We were off on the two hotel Golf Courses!! We could have played every day but took two days off!! The Links (slightly wider fairways and larger green, but VERY short par 3's) provided free buggies. The Legend, slightly tighter fairways and smaller greens is on the European PGA Seniors Tour and requires a greater degree of accuracy and you have to pay for a caddy (£6.00 or £10.00) or hire a buggy. We did both and both were fine. Of the two courses, I preferred the Links possibly because I won the Guest Competition (run alternate Tuesdays on the Links and Legend) and probably because the FREE buggies appeals to a Yorkshireman!! We also played Le Touessrok a course on an island off Mauritius. We booked through the hotel and paid £80.00 each (25% discount0 which included 'ferry, buggy, scorecard and a small bottle of water' their words not mine!. Taxi to the ferry costs £80 - pay the driver on return. All the golf courses were in VERY good condition. The white tees can be challenging (200 yard carry to the fairway on the 17th at Le Touessrok) but the ball does travel further in the warm air!!

The staff on both the hotel golf courses were outstanding - buggies loaded with bags and cold drinks (water free), bags transferred between courses, clubs cleaned and stored, optional shoes cleaned and polished for £2.00. and all with a smile. After two days always greeted by name. Package includes an ESSENTIAL half of beer or solf drink in the clubhouse. It was all so wonderful.

The buffet restaurant with Mauritian, Asian, vegetarian, pasta, fish, salad, 'carnivore corner' (my name and favourite!) stations provided 'high end' quality food prepared in many cases in front of you by chefs so that you had an 'input'. The palate was certainly satisfied. We had a half board 'Golf and Dine' package which included a bottle of 'satisfactory' wine and a bottle of water with dinner. We also dined three times at the Deer Hunter Restaurant by the 18th green on the Legends Golf Course which provided a superb set menu as part of the same package. You can pay extra at the three other 'specialised' restaurants but at a price. We enjoyed a 'Lobster Evening' (every Tuesday - advanced booking VERY necessay) and even the £48.00 bottle Chateau Neuf du Pape did not take too much shine off a gourmet sensation!!

Sitting outside having a coffee of midday glass of wine in one of the oceanside restaurants as we gazed at the gentle surf is it any wonder we did not want to leave this little piece of paradise. As someone who is usually itching for home after ten ten days this was a first. Thank you Belle Mare Plage! We will back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtleyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Division Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Reading your review which will be shared with our team will surely bring out lots of proud smiles, and we thank you for that.

Even though your holiday has been as you said not so researched and planned, we are glad to learn that we have managed to meet all your passionate golfers expectations, and as well your cullinary palat. Our golf course and kitchen and restaurant teams are the two biggest parts of our hotel "orchestra" and it will be great for them to know how they provided great holiday to a
"Yorkshireman " (as you have put it).

We thank you again for this great review and hope to welcome you back alredy next year. In the meantime, we will look after all the greens for you.

Yours sincerely

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its been just few weeks since i returned from the Best Vacation of my Life, We had been for our honeymoon to Mauritius . its a awesome place , i truly recommend it to all my friends who are planning to visit to Mauritius. the resort is located in one of the best shore lines. the staffs are very friendly, the service is top class. the stay at “Constance Belle Mare Plage” will be in our memories for ever ......

Room Tip: if you are planning to travel from India then don't forget to carry a adapter for electric socke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShruSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have just returned from the best holiday of our lives. A beautiful hotel, immaculately kept and gentle and helpful staff who will do anything to help you. If you complained about being here you obviously have very sad lives. It is just beautiful and go to the Deer Hunter at night for dinner, we saw the Java Deers as we were eating dinner overlooking the 18th green. They strolled in front of us and then two stags started rutting. What a privilege to witness that. We ate also at the Blue Penny Cafe - best food we have ever eaten. We did not eat at La Spaggia but that will happen next year. Everyone raved about it though. The main restaurant, La Citronelle was clean and lots to choose from. Italian, English, Asian, Mauritian, Indian food all available - all buffet style which meant you have to be on diets as soon as you get home.!! We spent most lunchtimes at La Kaze where were looked after by Boodhoo, Soobash, Ajay & Vinnaye. Lovely people and looked after us fantastically well. Great sense of humours. Chand and Jeeto (and Jeremy) on the beach were great and looked after us during the day with our drinks and food if you wished and of course with providing us with dry towels and great sunbeds in great positions. A special thanks to Mayveena who looked after our room and made my birthday very special. What a stunningingly beautiful looking lady. To Rai who looked after us in the bar before dinner - lots of laughs and great hospitality. To Mario, Levinson, Addish and the rest of the boys at the Legend and Links course for all the fun and entertainment. If you play golf you must enter the competition on Monday. Lots of fun and drinks and food afterwards at Symons Bar. The Mauritian people are incredibly friendly and made you feel very welcome. You certainly did not feel it was put on. Cannot highly recommend this place enough. Around every corner is another little surpise. We had three massages at La Spa Constance - fantastic. Thank you ladies. Go do some scuba diving with Raphael and Christoff. Amazing experience and I have lots of back problems but they looked after me so well. Nothing was too much trouble. The dives were amazing and I saw a turtle!! Belle Mare Plage is a must for anyone visiting Mauritius. People we spoke to have been going for 14 years. Says it all.

Room Tip: If you like swimming choose rooms by La Kaze or Indigo. Both quiet but ON the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,270 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,651 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,568 reviews
27.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,400 reviews
2.5 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing