We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple days on a business trip and thought it was great...the staff was friendly, the room was great, the beach was a nice (lots of seaweed though). It seemed like a perfect place for a honeymoon. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljavier34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    467
    128
    41
    22
See reviews for
875
1,626
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FARNBOROUGH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Belle Mare is really stunning, with a beautiful beach and our room overlooked the beach which was outstanding.
Unfortunately I cannot say the receptionists were anything close to welcoming. On arrival we were put by a table for a welcome drink. This was overshadowed by the grumpy nature of the receptionists. Eventually after waiting ages, the receptionist took us and another couple round to the rooms. I walk with a stick and the receptionist lost us on the ground floor, eventually realising and shouting over the balcony. Not welcoming at all.
The food during the day was really expensive. We paid around £45 for two burgers and chips with cokes. For an evening meal, not as part of the package, you should allow around £120 for two people. Drinks were around £5 each from the bar.
The beach team were the only good part from the staff at the hotel, they were brilliant. The pizza on the beach was fab, just for the experience, but you are looking at around £25 for one pizza.
On our final evening the Deerhunter restaurant was another experience, I would not recommend. It was blowing a gale and we were put at tables on the patio, told we could not sit inside. We were only offered the set menu, the waiters were rude and the food was cold, nothing was questioned when the food went back untouched
I would recommend this hotel for the beautiful views and the rooms and beach. The staff need to impove on the customer skills.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FarnboroughDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Division Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Constance Belle Mare Plage in some of its aspects, and we welcome your comments as they help us to improve our service,which we are passionate about.

We constantly benchmark ourselves with the competitors in regarsd to the prices and quality of the food, and are glad to confirm to be positioned well in the middle. In order to meet our guests opinion this summer we have had as well the introduction of drinks package which was warmly welcomed by all of our guests.

As your stay was not reflective of the usual guest experience with us, we would be very happy to talk to you about it more. You can contact me directly by email at rdm@bellemareplagehotel.com.

Kind regards

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Initially booked into Constance Le Prince Maurice just up the beach from Belle Mare Plage but after we made our booking, they decided to close for renovations. So, for our trouble and because it was our honeymoon, Constance put us up in a beach front villa for our two week honeymoon!

Every aspect of the honeymoon was awesome! We arrived at 9am on a Monday morning, and the check in was effortless and speedy. We were buggied to the villa (they are at the top end of resort but we walked to and from places mostly) and given a tour of our new home.

The little touches of warming the pool up when we asked, afternoon tea and treats every day, and our own private butler made this a holiday of a lifetime. By day 2, everyone on the resort greeted us by our own names, even those we hadn't met before!

Service here is excellent and the food to die for! Even the house wines (included on a half board package) were of very good quality. The resort itself is a nice balance of chilled and laid-back, but there was entertainment most nights for the more adventurous! (not that you could hear it).

Would thoroughly recommend the villas for romance as total privacy, but the resort itself is amazing enough, even in the standard rooms.

Room Tip: If staying in a villa, make sure you request one of the three beach front villas...the beach is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful and quiet location in a large and awsome groomed, tropic surrounding. The next village is Belle Mare, ca. 2 km away.
The resort belongs to the renown Constance group with in total 7 luxury properties in the Indian Ocean. It`s located directly at the fine sandy beach od about 2 km lenght. Constructed in a village-style, the hotel has got 256 rooms including 21 villas. In the evening there is a decent live music in the bar and 2 shows a week. For activities you find a gym, 2 golf courses, 4 tennis-courts and also 2 spas. All employees are very friendly and corteous. For questions there will be someone at your disposal at any time. Our special thanks goes to Stefanie. Her permanent efforts, to create an unforgettable holiday for us, was a highlight! Also to mention is the kind-hearted engagement of our personal Villa master Nand.
Resume:
This service was unique and unbeatable.
The Belle Mare Plage consists of 7 restaurants. On Halfboard one can eat in La Citronnelle or in two other restaurants fo a la carte with a credit. The breakfast ist also in La Citronnelle. Admittedly, we are very pampered as regards food, but someone who complains about food here, can`t be serious. Unbeatable are the desserts, which you can`t pass by.
We stayed in a specious pool villa close to the golf course, consisting of 2 bedrooms, living- room, kitchenette, 2 en-suite bathrooms and a guest WC. The pool was big enough for a swim. No baby-pool. Always on 28 degree Celsius. In the outside courtyard are 2 very comfortable sun-loungers and a sun-umbrella. There are 3 flat-screen TVs available. The interior of the villa is an exquisite design-mixture of African components. Thanks to Nand it`s always been perfectly clean an a pleasure to enter the villa.
Warm regards Antje und Karlheinz

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Travelled to the Belle Mar Plage mid-Aug for two weeks. Arrived at night to be welcomed by charming reception staff who directed our party to comfy chair area,served us drinks,swiftly checked us into the hotel and walked us over to our delightful rooms. What a lovely, personal start to a wonderful holiday. Come the morning, threw the curtains back to see the most amazing view -- beautiful beach with rows of swaying palm trees. We had booked Prestige Rooms close to The presidential Suite which afforded tremendous sea-views on the second floor - 2 minutes walk to/from the restraunt and directly on the beach. Beach was heaven and a haven for the family (3 kids aged between 7 and 14) shallow water lapping the shore and water as warm as a bath !!!!! Meals on the Golf & Wine package were taken in The Citronella or The Deerhunter -- excellent food, excellent service with waiters going way above and beyond expected levels of service. Special mention to Deepak who looked after us for evening meals and Sweetie at breakfast time. Evening meals were self service from a huge selection of areas where meals were made and served fresh : the pasta area was unbelievable -- freshly made to your own desire with the most amazing pizza. Kids were in absolute heaven - never seen them eating so well and clearing their plates every time. Huge choice at breakfast time which set us up the complimentary golf at your choice of The Legends or The Links : wonderful courses, wonderfully maintained but with a lot of water........sadly. Club house at The Deerhunter was a truly wonderful place to sit and have a beer and reflect on the game and mourn the loss of so many balls -- something the kids would not let me forget - nor my father-in-law who had the most amazingly lucky shot on the 17th (Google images for the lay of the hole). Numerous pools to be enjoyed when the kids grew tired of the free watersports which included water-skiing, kyaks and pedalos. Truly a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location with wonderful friendly staff for whom nothing was ever too much trouble. Looking forwards to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Request Prestige Rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary-McF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we have been going to the Belle Mare Plage for 8 years. In the past we travelled around the world, but there is no other place where we feel so much at home.This is not only the very pretty mauritian style hotel, but also due to the kindness and helpfulness of the staff! we never had the same treatment in any other 5star hotel. The golf courses are very good and so is the food! I also want to mention the excellent price - quality. I recomended it to many of our friends and they all came back enthusiastic! I can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunhild C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our first visit to the hotel and it was a family get-together. All I can say is that Belle Mare plage is the ultimate paradise corner. Right from the time we arrived and until the moment we left, we were pampered by the staff whose warmth and hospitality are boundless. We spent the best holiday ever at this hotel. The resort is beautiful; the atmosphere is soothing and refreshing. The food is great and if you have special dietary needs, don't hesitate to tell the chef! Prepare yourself to be amazed by the wonders he bring for you... We did the glass bottom trip and enjoyed the spa facilities. Don't miss out the golf experience - the only hotel on the island with two lovely golf courses... and where you can play golf among golf pros and wild deer watching you... We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleMarePlage, Rooms Divison Manager at Constance Belle Mare Plage, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Constance Belle Mare Plage team thanks you for such a warm feedback. We know that the short time we all manage to spend with our families are the valuable once, hence it is a pleasure to know you have had a great time despite being with us only for a week-end.

We pride ourselves with combination of beautiful beach, relaxed amthosphere and various activites to offer, from which we may see have tried some. In addition to that there is a long culinary and vine passion that we are well known for and we are glad that you have appreciated it.

We thank you again for this kind review and do hope to be able to welcome you back here or any other of our sister properties.

Barbara Elkaz
Rooms Divsion Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,465 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
13.7 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Property: Constance Belle Mare Plage
Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing