We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one or two niggles, but great time at the BMP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We found the service at the BMP to be exceptional. We arrived after an early morning flight and were taken immediately to a table by the pool for a continental breakfast. We were checked in at the table by someone from the reception staff. Our room was ready and our bags were delivered immediately. This standard of service was typical of our whole stay. Yes, the decor and the standard of the furnishings of the "Prestige" (i.e. standard room) were a bit tired. Still, we spent no time in the room, and the housekeeping standards were very good. The decor and ambience of the rest of the hotel were gorgeous. No worry about getting up at 5am to reserve your sunbed by the beach - there are sunbeds a-plenty, and notices to say reserving is not allowed. When you want service at the beach, simply displaying a little flag on your thatched parasol will send someone running to take your drink and food order. Beach lovely, but be warned, snorkling is poor. Go for a day trip to Isle aux Cerfs for better snorkling conditions (15 min taxi-ride away). My husband found the golf courses to be challenging (with a handicap of 10) - and are included in the tariff. He reports that the course at Le Tousserok (sp?) to be somewhat better, but green fees are 95 euros.
Buffet included in the half-board was excellent; many dishes are prepared for you on the spot. The Deerhunter restaurant was good. Menu is set and you can check it out a few days in advance so you can decide whether to reserve a table. I wouldn't recommend Deerhunter for children - frequented by older people and more serious atmosphere. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the BMP and would return.

Stayed: February 2008
9  Thank Jenny2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,545)
There are newer reviews for Constance Belle Mare Plage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,976 - 1,982 of 3,548 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2008

i recently went to mauritius and after a long plane flight i was tired, and ready to go to bed, as we made our way out of the airport we were not sure were we where, straight away though there was a man to greet us and to take us to the hotel. once we reached the hotel it was chucking it down and the staff came out and got our bags and brought out umbrellers for us. at the front desk we didnt have to fanny about for an hour we got in and got the keys to our villa. once we went in the villa it was imaculate, large cossy andhad everthing from satelite tv to a swimming pool....... the service was amazing and the food was acceptional cooked fresh and in front of you. the hotel had many restrauntes one being a buffet, i know what your thinking but they would cook it in 5 mins infront of you, it was great. also the golf courses are great and so were the clubhouses!!! the beach is fantastic and the watersports are fun. if you do gho you should try the boat ride to the waterfall. the one negative thing is when we went out of the hotel there was nothing to do. if your thinking about going to st louise.... dont bother.

all in all a fantastic hotel and there is something for everyone

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jackko1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

The Belle Mare is a beautiful resort and its decor and ambience are truly 5 star ,but without the price tag of nearby Le Touessrok to which we have been twice.
The food is amazing and the rooms luxurious , even garden facing rooms are lovely.
I have noticed adverse remarks on service and I will agree that compared to the one and only Le Touessrok the service was slower , but we did not find it impossible by any means , we felt the locale and style of resort more than made up for it.
the beach is stunning and the daily lunchtime buffet is really special , talk about lunch with your feet in the sand , we loved it.
Also did the typical tourist thing and sat in the pool and were served from the bar on the little pool bar ..
Drinks are expensive but that is the way of Mauritius , the full board packages the best value.
the Shiseido spa was ambrosial and the gym , yes we did go , cool and well stocked.
loved the belle mare , we will go back ..

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

I chose this particular hotel as I had read great reviews about the kids club. I needed somewhere where my 10 year old would find other kids to hang out with.

The kids club catered mainly for younger children. My son spent one day there and hated it. He said he felt like he was in a prison.

The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the location is fantastic. We had a ground floor room just a few meters from the beach and pool.

The so-called “Prestige Rooms“ are far from prestige. I wasn’t happy with the room at all definitely more 4 star than 5 star.

I was traveling alone with my son and when I made the booking the hotel wanted to charge me for double occupancy plus a surcharge for my son. Making it more expensive to take a child than and adult. I pointed out to them that this was unfair and they dropped the surcharge but I still had to pay the half board price for 2 adults.

Another point I would like to make people aware of is that. If you book half board i.e. breakfast and dinner. It only entitles you to eat at the buffet or the Deer Hunter Restaurant. The food at the buffet is quite good (for a buffet) but you get a bit fed up with it after a while. Also the service is very slow – make sure you order your drinks as soon as you arrive and you might get them by the time you get to dessert. The Deer Hunter Restaurant is in a great location, however if you are eating there on the half board basis it is a set menu. I would suggest you book the hotel on a bed a breakfast basis if possible.

There are other restaurants within the resort but you have to pay for them. You are given a discount of approx €20 which is nothing when you think about what it costs in the first place and the restaurants are expensive anyway.

The service from the staff varies a great deal depending on whether they think there is anything in it for them or not!

The organization of the hotel makes one think that the left hand has absolutely no idea what the right hand is doing.

The Spa is gorgeous but pricey.

The resident band looked thoroughly bored. The entertainment programme in general needs an overhaul.

Having moaned quite a bit I have to say we did enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Loulou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed in this lovely (but big) hotel after a safari trip in Kenya and it was great. Lovely architecture, wonderful service and beautiful golf courses. It's advisable to book a suite (if your budget allows it). Although the hotel is massive, they managed to create cosy warm areas where you can stay. The food in the general restaurant is excellent (big, very big and extended buffet) so no need to spend extra money in one of the dedicated separated restaurants of the complex.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Belle Mare Plage Hotel, Mauritius - definitely not 5* - more like 3-4*

We stayed at the Belle Mare Plage from the 23.12.07 to the 4.1.08. After a wonderful flight with Emirates Business Class we arrived at the hotel at 9.30 am. Our rooms were not ready but we did not have to wait too long. We are a family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 children - 16/13/6 and we had reserved 2 Prestige Rooms which we were informed were 5*.
When we arrived we were all very very disappointed. The rooms were in desperate need of a refurbishment. The bathrooms were dated and the furniture and fittings in the main bedroom were very shabby. The in-room entertainment consisted of a television with 2 english speaking channels, the rest being french and german (my 6 year old son was not too pleased!!).
There was only 1 bar of soap, 1 shampoo and 1 bubble bath in the bathrooms and everything else had to requested. Not what you expect in a 5* hotel.

After we had made our disappointment known to the management, we started to explore the hotel and its amenities
and found the grounds etc very very nice. The pools were distributed well around the complex and the beach was only a stones throw away from our rooms so that was wonderful.

Food - we stayed half board at the hotel and we could not fault the food at La Citronelle which was the main restaurant. Every night they altered the choice and there was something for everybody. We also ate the the Deer Hunter restaurant which was included in our price, this also was very good and it was nice to be waited on instead of having to serve yourself. They had a limited childs menu but it was adequate. The supplements for Christmas and New Year in some the restaurants were ridiculous they were asking for approx 175 euros each extra for new years eve!!

Hotel Staff - we found they varied considerably, the pool and beach staff were very helpful and friendly, the housekeeping staff the same. The main reception and guest relations staff were quite often not very helpful at all, and they did not seem to communicate very well together as we found out on numerous occasions.

Prices - the hotel was not cheap, considering we were half board we spent rather alot of money mainly on wine and drinks. We have stayed the the Jumeriah Beach Hotel in Dubai for the last 2 xmases on a bed and breakfast basis, and we can honestly say that the money we spent was almost the same. 2 small
glasses of Champagne by the pool 48 euros.

After saying all this, we had a very relaxing holiday, the weather was exceptional, the food very good, and the children enjoyed it which is a bonus.

Would we go back again - No definitely not too a Prestige Room. We tried to view a Junior Suite which is the next grade up, but we were told on numerous occasions to report to reception to go and view a room, but when we got there it had been a misunderstanding etc etc.and we still did not get to see one evern after 12 days!!!

I would seriously look around the island and decide carefully on your hotel choice, and try and find out abit more before you go about room facilities etc, as in our opinion this was definitely 3-4* quality.

Stayed: December 2007
16  Thank paumart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at the Belle Mare Plage in October for 2 weeks. We were attracted by the golf courses and the other sporting and leisure facilities.

The hotel itself is very picturesque with low rise buildings mingling with the greenery and palm trees. It was hard to believe that there were so many rooms, it was apparently full but nowhere seemed busy. We booked a junior suite and the room was awesome: kingsize bed, large seating area, spacious bathroom and a great outside seating area on the balcony overlooking the pool.

The food was good and plentiful at the buffet but we took advantage of eating at the other restaurants (mainly Deerhunter) and taking the set menu option at no extra cost. Drinks were expensive (especially wine) in the restaurants and bars, make sure you bring in your duty free allowance. The expensive drinks meant that the bar was usually quiet in the evenings even with the nightly live entertainment.

The 2 golf courses were excellent, wide and forgiving enough for a club golfer but challenging from the back tees for a more experienced player, especially with the prevailing winds. Be sure to take plenty of balls, these courses eat them!

The other free sporting activities included squash, tennis, watersports, yoga and aerobics to name a few. There was almost too much to do!

In summary it was a great hotel and a very relaxing 2 weeks, the staff were really friendly and we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank pugsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,306 reviews
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,785 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,479 reviews
27.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,470 reviews
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Belle Mare Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Belle Mare Plage

Address: Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $284 - $1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Belle Mare Plage 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soft white sand, blue sky dotted with white clouds and turquoise lagoon which beckons long soaks…Stylishly renovated Constance Belle Mare Plage offers comfortable accommodations in a lively and cosy atmosphere; choose from one of the 104 Prestige Rooms, 149 Junior Suites, 6 Deluxe Suites, 18 distinctive Villas or the Presidential Villa for a top-notch island holiday. Seize the opportunity to try new things while having fun. Whether it’s relaxing on the beach or at one of the trendy bars, working out at the gym, pampering at the spa or enjoying water sports, Constance Belle Mare Plage is for an exciting memorable break! Seven distinctive restaurants and six hip bars situated at prime locations await you. And if you are staying with your kids, you will be thrilled to know that they will be having their share of adventures and fun too, at the Constance Kids Club. Set along a stunning 2km white sand beach, in a sheltered bay on the east coast of Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage is a harmonious combination of tropical environment and Constance Chic. Combining space and design, all rooms are thoughtfully furnished and decorated for your comfort. Inspired by the unique beauty of the East Coast; space and style were combined to create comfort, to radiate brightness and to breathe in the freshness of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Belle Mare Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Belle Mare Plage Hotel Belle Mare
Belle Mare Plage Mauritius
Belle Mare Plage Hotel Mauritius
Constance Belle Mare Plage Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing