We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,337)
Filter reviews
6,337 results
Traveler rating
5,658
518
110
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,658
518
110
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck laundryfood truckcoffee barrum shackmixe restauranttea houseashish modakrolls roycekelly hoppenmessage in a bottlebeach rouge restaurantice cream parlouramari by vineetour honeymoonevents managerspecial thanksjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
2,671 - 2,676 of 6,337 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nothing but the highest praise for this establishment. We spent three very enjoyable nights here in December 2013 as the second part of our honeymoon in Mauritius. The highlight for us would the staff that went out of their way to do little things that made our stay so pleasant. To be clear, there were hiccups e.g. shortly after checking in, we discovered that our room (one of the newly refurbished junior suites) had a leak in the ceiling over the bed. Also, our reservation for the honeymoon dinner also appeared to have acquired wings and flown away when we went to the restaurant the following night. But in both cases, it was the timely and helpful response of LUX staff that impressed us. There are too many people to mention and unfortunately, I have forgotten some names but of particular note would Vinesh, Avnesh and Medge (hope I'm not misspelling their names). From complimentary ice cream (which was simply delightful) to towel art and rose petals in our room, we found the staff to be simply commendable.

Other highlights about our stay would include the spa (which the Mrs enjoyed), the food at the main restaurant, the general environment/view and the complimentary water sports. I tried learning to water ski and wind sail (with mixed results). The hotel also has a lot of daily activities (yoga, aqua gym, etc) which my wife enjoyed. You can walk to town along the beach, although we didn't find much to do once we got there. Note: if you want to see the dolphins, this is better achieved on the Western side of the Island. I found out the hard way as I didn't get round to doing this during our earlier stay in Flic en Flac and wasn't able to do so while in Belle Mare.

The evening entertainment was fairly lively and we had a pretty good Sega group one night. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We had a view of the gazebo and lake which was beautiful to watch at night. The hotel staff are conversant in English.

Downsides? Already noted the issue with the room and reservation (which were promptly resolved). My only other gripe would be having to pay a $300 surcharge to keep our room until 8pm on the day of departure. After being spoiled relentlessly for three days, we would have appreciated a waiver of this charge :)

Would we stay in LUX Belle Mare again? Definitely...Next time we're in Mauritius, we'd likely combine a stay in this hotel with a stay in another of the LUX properties.

Room Tip: All rooms are good in my opinion. There are slight differences between the old and newly refurbished rooms but all are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corin_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I thank you for the detailed review. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort and have taken the time and efforts to explain all the positives. Food and Beverage is an integral part of a holiday and I am very happy to note that you enjoyed the variety and quality of food across all the areas.Thank you also for highlighting the various experiences on offer and finally our biggest asset - our team in your review. The resort lays a lot of importance on creating special moments for all of our guests by offering a wide choice of unique experiences and I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Been home 2days arrived at the Lux belle mare after 3days in Dubai, and wow a little bit of paradice, beach is superb and kept very clean not a problem getting a bed and not over crowded. our room was beautiful and kept clean, they even come and turn down the bed in an evening, staff are really nice, even the few beach seller's are nice, but can get a far better deal in the airport so wait, you won't be disappointed here, I did worry before we went with previous review's about hidden charges but it wasn't a problem, just relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: The room we had vas beautiful bright and very clean
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a "Fantastic" holiday with us. I thank you for the wonderfully written review of yours. I am glad we stood up to your expectations. The entire team at the resort hopes to welcome you back soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the Lux Belle Mare and have been home a week now. I can say that we had a great experiance at the hotel but were a little disapointed with a few things.

Having heard such great things about the hotel i wondered if our expectations were too high. On arrival we were given one of the older rooms which i can say i was disapointed in as they were not shown when i booked the hotel. However after a week we were moved to a newer room which made a huge change to our holiday. We felt uplifted as the room is so much lighter and brighter. My husband was frustrated that he could have steak at the Beach rough for lunch on the all inclusive package, but had to pay for the same steak in the evening! What's with that?
Sometimes the service was a little slow, not sure if that is just because we should learn to relax, but a half hour wait for a hot chocolate seems a bit to long.

Anyway, we did have a lovely time there and the staff are truly great, very friendly, so so helpful and caring - the staff at the kids club are AMAZING girls, they really took care of our daughter and made sure she was happy and loved.

The hotel is so well managed and they all go out of their way to help. The management have a cocktail party which enables you to meet team at the resort and they are eager for feedback they are open to suggestions. The food catered to all nationalities and there is a huge choice. One day for dinner i didn't want what was available so one of the waiters went off and brought me back a plate of smoked salmon. Amazing. I really loved the breakfast.

We liked the fact you could phone home for free - I had my mother looking after my teenagers so this was important to me. They also have great WIFI everywhere, even the beach. Apple Mac computers for emails only if kid weren't on them. ( this needs to be better monitored)

The Lux Belle Mare is a very family friendly hotel with great facilities, our 3yr old learnt to water ski with one hand!!

We came away feeling really relaxed and i can honestly say i felt sad to be leaving. I felt very special and cared for.

Thank you to everyone there for makeing me feel special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
1  Thank leafyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear leafy blue,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I thank you for the detailed review. Food and Beverage is an integral part of a holiday and I am very happy to note that you enjoyed the variety and quality of food across all the areas. I have noted your comments and assure you that we shall be working on these in earnest. Thank you also for highlighting our biggest asset - our team in your review. We hope to see you back soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the LUX Belle Mare and can only thank all the staff for making our holiday so wonderful. Not only did the staff always go out of the way to make us feel at ease and relaxed, they were all attentive and very helpful. The food was amazing and catered for all requirements and the bar staff were so friendly and clearly wanted us to have a fab time. I can not fault this hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone. The massage i had in the spa was incredible and i will never forget it. The staff in the coffee shop were welcoming and chatty as were the the pool staff and the staff who work in the ice-cream hut. The room was beautiful as spacious and spotlessness. Its the little things that make a holiday special, the fact that the staff remember who you are, what you drink at the bar, how many towels you like when sunbathing. We wanted to watch a specific rugby match and were elated when the hotel arranged for us to have a big screen in the hotel which was set up for us to enjoy the game. These things make the experience memorable and its the staff who work incredibly hard to create the ambience that we experienced. Thank you Lux Belle Mare for making our holiday so fantastic. We will definitely return soon. GO ALL INCLUSIVE AS MUCH CHEAPER!!!! Thank you xxxxx

Room Tip: Junior suite was excellent. Beautiful view of sea
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and that the team managed to create some golden memories for you. Like stated by me in every forum; our team is one of the finest anywhere in the world and your review reinforces this belief of mine. I shall be complimenting the whole team for their service focus and for meeting your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Lux Villas for our honeymoon. This was a perfect choice as it had all private facilities for us. The private pool, spacious rooms and bathrooms were really amazing. Thank you to Videsh, Rajiv and Suren for your hospitality and making it a memorable stay. The breakfast on the beach, romantic dinner in the villa and boat ride were the most memorable experience from our trip.
I would like to recommend that the waitors at the Kitchen restaurant improve on their service level and communication to clients which are not French speaking.

Room Tip: Villas are the only way to go
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anup M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the villa team. They are truly our STARS and I have complimented each of the team members mentioned by you post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another stay soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews