We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I hesitated between 4 and 5 stars...Much of the previous reviews are dead on. We had a great time, however, I'm not sure if this is truly a 5 star resort. The beach is wonderful, service at the beach is great, but was a little disappointed with the room, and the buffet food (I am admittedly not a buffet person). I would highly recommend the All Inclusive package though, as it is quite inclusive. My daughter loved the Kids Club and would come back in a heart beat. We would come back if we could get a good deal on the hotel again (I wouldn't pay full price).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CocoCoucou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear CocoCoucou, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your review for us on this forum. We are glad that you had a great family time with us and loved some of the features of the resort in totality. I have noted your comment on the food options and rooms. We continually work on our food and beverage offerings and keep up the standards expected; however this is a very subjective topic and I appreciate your comment. I take every single feedback in all earnest and work on the same to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest.I am glad your daughter enjoyed her time at the kids club and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,581
    453
    100
    35
    14
See reviews for
1,632
2,686
70
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in October and absolutely loved the hotel. We were put up in a junior suite which was amazing. Loved the fact that the decor was minimal and the suite spacious. The beach was well maintained and we felt so special having breakfast on the beach. Open air cinema on Monday nights was another imaginative touch.

The staff was always smiling and the management took genuine interest in how the customers were feeling. Ashish, Elvis, and Celine were all amazing. We'd love to go back for longer.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Vid
http://www.bruisedpassports.com

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViditT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear ViditT,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and that the team managed to create some golden memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from a great holiday at a fantastic hotel where the staff are excellent. The beach service was 2nd to none and the food was a delight, especially the beach rouge restaurant. The beach is paradise!!!! Also the activities for children were great a must for all families. Look forward to seeing you all again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear PeterG,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you and the family had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the service team to meet our guests' expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overall we loved the hotel. The rooms were amazing, the restaurants were great and the staff were truly excellent. One thing that really annoyed us was some of the pricing. The hotel cost is already quite pricey however thats fine. We didn't mind paying for it because it really was worth it. We were however shocked with the price of little things. Like getting some laundry done, or the mini bar items, and the drinks. When you leave the hotel everything costs a fraction of the price. We didn't mind paying a little more for the convenience but these prices were ridiculous. Although it's a small cost compared to the rest of our stay we really don't like to be so blatantly ripped off. For this reason alone we wouldn't stay there again. My laundry costs were only 5% of what the hotel wanted to charge and there is a 1000% markup on drinks etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Brett N, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for your review for us and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and loved the hotel, the services and the team at the resort. We continually work on enhancing our offerings and your review praising the aspects like room, restaurants and team gives us an assurance that the resort is working in the right direction. It is unfortunate that you felt that the prices were on a higher side. At LUX* Belle Mare, we closely benchmark ourselves with the pricing followed by similar resorts on the island and I would like to assure you as also all the readers of this forum that we ensure our pricing is in line with similar hotel offerings on the island. The resort also offers several different meal plans including possible upgrades to All Inclusive meal plans and we often recommend these to our guests as well. However, every single feedback is taken with utmost seriousness by me and I assure you that we shall once more review our pricing of consumables in the resort. I thank you once again for your review and for your stay with us. I do hope that you visit us once more and we hope to see you back;

warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent amazing 12 days in LUX Belle Mare resort this Feb. Professional, happy and friendly staff always prepared to serve you with top quality service....special thanks to guys in the Bar :-). The food was simply excellent, delicious cuisine (every day different cuisine event) in all 4 restaurants. Our room was large, every day clean, situating in the garden with the sea view...amazing. We truly do recommend a stay at LUX Belle Mare to all who would like to spent unforgettable moments on this wonderfull island. We will definitely return back ....! Zuzana & Pavel from Czech Republic

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

After changing rooms to a Junior suite which is one of the newer Kelly Hoppen rooms we were really happy, the Honeymoon suite we were initially in was very dated and tired looking, changing rooms was no problem and handled smoothly by Viraje on reception who was very accomadating.

This hotel is fabulous in every way, the standard of the food in the restaurants is fantastic, we especially liked The Beach with really fresh sauces on the pastas and lovely fish and steaks.
The Spa is worth a visit for a pamper, i had a really good reflexology treatment.
The location is obviously stunning and the beach is literally swept free of seaweed etc every day, the beach is as spotless as the hotel.

The staff here are wonderful, Marius tried his very best to arrange a honeymoon beach breakfast for us but we were happy just doing our own thing, Fabrice in the coffee shop is lovely and makes a fabulous coffee with all beans roasted on the premises. The guys on the beach are lovely and Nitesh deserves a special mention. Too many staff to mention but they really are warm and friendly which all adds to making the stay so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda6685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Amanda6685,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded and detailed review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special. You have listed names of some of our team members who made your stay extra special by their passion and dedication and I thank you for mentioning these STARS of ours. I have personally complimented them post this review. We hope to see you back soon for a yet another wonderful holiday with us - perhaps the first wedding anniversary!;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have recently returned from this lovely Hotel having spent 2 weeks between 29th January and 12th February.
A lot has already been said in previous reviews about what to expect at Lux Belle Mare and we can certainly endorse much of what has already been reported.
The hotel is situated on a beautiful beach with white sand and crystal clear blue/ turquoise sea that is inviting and warm to swim in.
The beach is regularly kept clean and swept by local people so it is always in top condition.
This is a very large hotel complex spanning the beach and extending back into its own grounds, you need to take the daily orienteering tour to appreciate just where everything is and what’s on offer.
It is promoted as being family friendly and certainly attracts many guests with their children, something to bear in mind if you are wishing to escape from having children around, however there is plenty of space on the beach or in the grounds to find a quiet spot.
We had one of the new recently refurbished rooms that overlooked the sea; it was clean, very spacious and well maintained by our room maid.
The room had two fridges and if you are on the All Inclusive package (AI) like us, includes some of the drinks in the fridge, coke, sprite, local beer, water, it does not however included the wine, hotels own branded water, various bottles of spirits located in a drawer. Although these spirits are available to AI guests at the hotels bars it would have been nice to use these to have a gin and tonic or similar on our balcony before dinner, perhaps the hotel may consider this and instead of placing the larger bottles of spirits in the rooms just include the small miniatures per occupant then this consumption can be easily controlled?
The night before we left a mini iPad appeared in our room, I was informed that these had just been rolled out and you can use it to look at facilities in the hotel book the restaurants and access the internet.
One very good aspect of this hotel is that free wi-fi is available throughout the whole complex, rooms, public areas, around the pool and onto the beach area, this has been greatly improved and the signal is excellent, we were able to pick up e-mails, browse the internet and Skype our friends and family at home without any problems or break in signal.
Failing all that the phone box to phone home free of charge is a real nice touch.
The hotel has a number of dinning areas, The Kitchen, which is the large buffet dinning room where breakfast is taken by all guests, occasional lunches and evening dinner; East, which is a la carte, opens for Dinner serving contemporary Asian cuisine; Senses exclusive restaurant showcases Indian and Indian ocean dishes; the Bar which is open for lunch snacks and Beach Rouge the new dinning area directly overlooking the beach which is open at lunchtime and for dinner.
If you are on the AI package you can dine in all of these restaurants except Senses where you have to pay extra, you also need to watch out as occasionally East served dinners where a further supplement is charged to AI guests such as on the Asian Tapas night.
There is also the ice cream parlour ICI located next to the pool area where ice cream is included in the AI package, however this did not include fresh juices which was a shame.
And finally Café LUX in the hotel foyer where various coffees, cakes and biscuits can be obtained.
Overall the food is of a high standard particularly the dinning experience in Beach Rouge is preferable to the Kitchen, where buffets can be just a bit okay. We had a lovely meal in both Senses and East, our recommendation at other times is to dine at Beach Rouge, you need to book on an evening but it is open on lunchtime without booking.
Service in the Restaurants and bar areas can generally be good depending on the members of staff, sometimes it can be a bit hit and miss in the Kitchen where they are occasionally slow to cope with clearing and re-setting tables, and the pool/beach area service could be more attentive to guests requirements.
However most staff are friendly and welcoming with big smiles.
The Hotel have a dress code for evening but we did not see it enforced, this is okay for those that wish to dress in a very casual style but we liked to make the effort on an evening and wear reasonably smart outfits.
Water sports are available free of charge including water-skiing, sailing, glass bottom boat rides etc. this is all run from the Hotels Boathouse where staff were always pleasant and helpful.
The management are dedicated to ensuring that all guests enjoy their stay, this is genuine as they do appreciate that an operation of this size can bring with it the odd problem or issue, we particularly would highlight Jennifer who we met on arrival on the first day and subsequent to that she remembered our names and always made a point of speaking to us and asking if everything was okay, when we did have an issue this was quickly and speedily addressed to more than our satisfaction.
Having returned from this hotel we have recommended it to a member of our family who immediately booked it for 10 days in March, and in a couple of weeks time will be flying out with his wife to celebrate his recent marriage, they are very keen on water sports in particular sailing and will make the most of what’s on offer as well as the other facilities and hospitality offered here.

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms are preferable as the older rooms appear to look a bit dated with dark furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear HolidayExpert,

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a perfect holiday with us. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort from the spacious and comfortable rooms, the huge pool, the beautiful landscaping of the gardens in the resort, variety and quality of food and beverage experiences and the various special touches on offer like the Phone Home. A big Thank you for also mentioning Jennifer who stood out and made her mark on your experiences at the resort. All of our team members continually strive to provide top notch and genuine service to all our guests and your review is a great reinforcement of our belief that we are moving in the right direction. The resort lays a lot of importance on creating special moments for all of our guests by offering a wide choice of unique experiences and I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,703 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,284 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing