We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely hotel- lots of things to do should you want to, or great spaces to chill out if that's all you want to do. Food was good- we tried sea urchins which were unexpectedly good, despite how they look! The hotel try hard to vary the food and have lots of choice on offer.
Pool was good but to be honest we went in the sea, and it was nice to have free use of kayaks etc.
Staff are attentive, kept offering us drinks etc on the beach, and the giant bean bags were fun.
We met with some lovely people here, who were most sociable (and also quite a bad influence- no names mentioned but you know who you are!)
We hired a boat for the day from a guy on the beach and had a fantastic time going round the pretty beaches, with a barbequed fish for lunch. The local village was pleasant, if a bit hard sell in the shops. Unfortunately didn't have time to explore the island more.
Would definitely choose this hotel again.
Had a nice massage in the spa in the same room as my hubby, which was fun.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, but not all rooms are near the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLodgeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced an "excellent holiday" with us. I thank you for the beautifully worded review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special. I am glad we stood up to your expectations.

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,322)
There are newer reviews for LUX* Belle Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,258 - 2,264 of 5,325 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had booked Tamassa Hotel but were upgraded to Lux Belle Mare due to a huge reservation from external deleguates. We are very thankful to Lux Management for this. Lux Belle Mare is recommendable to all. We had a really great time. We could also enjoy a discotheque specially arranged for a wedding held on that day. Breakfast and lunch as well as variety of drinks on the all inclusive basis were great. The ice cream buffet in the evening was marvellous. One lil disappointment was during the dinner where th buffet could be improved with a larger variety of sea food and chicken dishes. I preferred to eat the indian vegetarian dishes which were very delicious. The best thing of all was the Balinese massage i did wiz a
Ady from Bali, that was divine. On the whole, Lux really cares for customers' comfort :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishta1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special and your review reinforces our belief. You should come back to experience a longer stay and also the delightful Indian cuisine now on offer at the resort. We hope to see you back soon;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Wonderful place with a stunning beach & pool - the suites are large and the gardens just amazing. Lots of places to relax in the resort, great spa and great service. The only issue would be around the food - the buffets are not that fine, we have found better food many times in Mauritius hotels - missing more fish, seafood, and more fine cuisine on the buffet.

otherwise it is an amazing place with a great service

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathchris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear cathchris75, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare, Mauritius! First, A sincere thank you for your review. You have listed all the several positives of the resort and I am glad you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I have well noted your comment on the variety of food on the buffets and we have worked on the same to ensure a wider choice of offerings to appeal to all guests. We hope to see you back for a yet another wonderful holiday.

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed for 7 days in Lux Belle Mare. I have visited quited a lot of 5 star hotels and resorts. But none of them were even close to this place. Lux Resort in Belle Mare, Mauritius is the best resort i have ever been to. It has all those features and things which will make your holiday extra special. The best beach in mauritius is the one right in front of the hotel. The largest swimming pool in the country is the one in this hotel. Superb spa, gym, multi cuisine restaurants, bar and what not? The service is so good that you will feel pampered all the time. They have a solution to all your problems. The concierge and the hotel staff are extremely well trained and really cooperative and helpful. I remember Gopee and Devyaani were extra special. The ambience is aristocratic and cleanliness is their top priority. I would never even consider any other hotel if I travel to mauritius again. They also have a free calling booth from where calls to any where in the world is free. Food is excellent. The chef will also prepare anything of your choice if you let him know in advance. The rooms are spic and span. All the water sports are conducted by the hotel boat house. It is a divine experience staying in this resort. Amazing place to relax and rejuvenate yourself. It is a paradise, especially for honeymoon couples. I would love to get back to this place ASAP.

Room Tip: All the rooms are heavenly. Go for the lagoon view rooms which are closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tushartibrewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a perfect holiday with us. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort from the spacious and comfortable rooms, the huge pool, the beautiful landscaping of the gardens in the resort, variety and quality of food and beverage experiences and the various special touches on offer like the Phone Home. A big Thank you for also mentioning the various team members who stood out and made their mark on your experiences at the resort. All of our team members continually strive to provide top notch and genuine service to all our guests and your review is a great reinforcement of our belief that we are moving in the right direction. The resort lays a lot of importance on creating special moments for all of our guests by offering a wide choice of unique experiences and I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We hope to see you back soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome and were told by Guito Simiette (Asst Front Manager for Villas) that we were upgraded from a Beach Front Suite to a 2 bedroom villa with a butler. The pool in the villa was fabulous- so warm that you could swim early and late-pure luxury. Ragesh who looked after us in the villa was so delightful, nothing was too much trouble but he also did not overwhelm us with his presence, he would come in at various times of the day but was never intrusive. Rajen (villa co-ordinator) and Jennifer (supervisor) did a wonderful job of making things run smoothly. A special mention about Kaylash who always seemed to turn up when you needed a lift around the resort - a charming man. Thank you Ragesh for the Anniversary surprise - you made our day with the Cake and Champagne. Next visit we will just have Bed/Breakfast as we are not Buffet people and it suited us to eat at the Italian restaurant on site, golf club, room service one evening or late lunch after golf, we also had a meal at the sister Hotel- Prince Maurice where you could use your supplement (worth a visit) A courtesy bus will take you if you ask. You could use your supplement at the golf and pay extra at the Italian but late lunch could not be used under your half board supplement neither could the room service meal. Found that Lager and wine were expensive (Just over £10 for a large beer although it was brewed locally... Phoenix lager which was a fabulous drink! The average wine was about £40 a bottle) We got a taxi to the town (20 mins) where there is a reasonable supermarket and various shops where you can buy the odd gift. The taxi driver was happy to wait while we shopped (about £20 for the trip).Went to a great Zumba class, there were other fitness classes but was golfing the rest of the time. Preferred the Links to the Legend course as the Legend had sooo much water. You could only book your tee time 2 days before so advisable to book it before breakfast as most good times are snapped up. Water ski instructor (Chris) was really good, hadn't ski-d for years and soon got back into it. We stayed one week and moved to the Anahita Resort for our second week. We loved the Belle Mar, I was really upset to leave these truly lovely people. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful 10 nights at Lux Belle Mare. The attentive pampering started when the Hotel chauffeur picked us up at the airport loaded our luggage, popped the champagne cork and began our 45 mins transfer to the hotel. During this time he was very informative about thing to do and see both in and outside the hotel.
On arrival around 8am we were greeted by friendly staff who quickly checked us in while being refreshed with fresh fruits and juices. Our room was one of the newly refurbished LUX suites overlooking the large fish pond and gazebo. The room was beautifully appointed, perhaps the finest we have ever stayed in.
The resort is maintained to a very high standard, even the beach is cleaned at the eaters edge several times per day ensuring that the seaweed and coral is removed so as not to detract from the beauty.
We stayed on half board and found the choice of restaurants at night to be adequate. Out favourite was East which served beautiful, tasty oriental cuisine, but all the restaurants and the buffet were to a high standard.

During our stay we found all the staff to courteous and very attentive, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The entertainment in the evening was pretty low key and not really to our taste but this in no way should detract anyone from visiting the truly fantastic hotel, we certainly will at the next opportunity.

If you are looking for somewhere with outstanding accommodation with a true paradise setting try the Lux Belle Mare, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a "fantastic holiday" with us. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special. I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon to your home in Mauritius!!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Pure perfection. Great location, impeccable service, great facility and with no doubt the perfect place to relax and loose track of time. I would warmly recommend it. The staff made our stay a pure bliss!!!!!!! The rooms with the sea view were stunning, and the facility is big and large enough to give everybody just the perfect space to be 'alone' in great company. Finally, the SPa is a no miss!............................

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special perfectly complimented by our team as mentioned by you. We hope to see you back soon for a yet another wonderful holiday!;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,309 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,629 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $362 - $1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing