We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Pure perfection. Great location, impeccable service, great facility and with no doubt the perfect place to relax and loose track of time. I would warmly recommend it. The staff made our stay a pure bliss!!!!!!! The rooms with the sea view were stunning, and the facility is big and large enough to give everybody just the perfect space to be 'alone' in great company. Finally, the SPa is a no miss!............................

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special perfectly complimented by our team as mentioned by you. We hope to see you back soon for a yet another wonderful holiday!;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,325)
There are newer reviews for LUX* Belle Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 5,325 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I were there on our honeymoon in mid December, when we checked in around 10pm, the staff told us to sit and they would check us in, 20 minutes later, with no one in front of us, were we shown to our room. Our bags were never taken by anyone and we were taken to our room via the stairs, even though there was an elevator. The person showing us to our room watched us carry our own bags up the stairs! When we finally got to the room, the key didn't work, she had to run back to reception. After waiting another 10min, she came back and the key still didn't work. After waiting outside the room for 5min, someone comes out of that room and asks if they can help us, she was trying to get into a room with a guest in it! I met her in the lobby and she says they programmed the wrong key and I politely told it wasn't the wrong key, the room was already occupied! We asked for the manager, and they only had a line manager, who wasn't empowered to make any decisions. After another 10min, they are ready to show us to another room. They grab a golf cart, but the manager comfortably sits in the front with the driver as I have my suitcase on my lap in the back! We finally get to the room on the other side of the resort and we rush to make dinner so we can get the leftover buffet. When we come back we discover the air conditioning and the fan are not working. We call that same manager (the only one there at the time) and they move us to the room next door with the same problem. Finally room number 3 seems better, but we were wrong. At 2am in the morning in 90 degree heat, we had maintenance come fix the fan since there was no other rooms available. The next morning, we spoke to Sheila, the general manager. She was lovely and very apologetic. She upgraded us to the all-inclusive package and changed our room. As an FYI, if you are on half board, there are no drinks included, even water and you only have access to the buffet, not the other restaurants on the resort, unless you want to pay full price! After speaking to Sheila, she was even willing to put us in the villas, but they were already occupied. The employees are NOT empowered to make any upgrade decisions at this place like some better hotels, only the main manager, not the manager on duty at the time. The employees are very friendly, but only understand their function and role, but don't understand beyond. This applies across the board to the staff in restaurants or anywhere on the resort. Very process oriented. The all-inclusive made the trip worth it. The rest of the stay was much much better, the resort was beautiful, the buffet was pretty good, and the new restaurant that opened on the beach was great, all the food at this restaurant was delicious and a very nice view! We ate there most meals, the other restaurants weren't great and lacked atmosphere. I would give this resort more of an average rating only because the staff are a bit challenged in terms of process and there are a lot of management issues. To give you an example, if you order a bottle of water and the bill at the same time, they will ask what do you want first, they don't understand to bring it to you at the same time, even after explaining it to you. Another example is if you order a glass of wine and a beer, they will bring an empty wine glass and then go back to get the bottle of wine, and then go back a 3rnd time to bring the beer. This happened almost every time! In terms of stars, I would say it's a 4 star, the hotel has potential to be a 5 star if they clean up the management issues. Aside from the first night, we had a great time! As a side note, apparently the other Lux hotels on the islands have issues with the air conditioning, we are not the first ones to complain at this resort and have heard that the others have the same issue. Also, this is supposed to be the nicest Lux on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samanthaabelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Samanthaabelson, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for the review for us on this forum. At the onset, I would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience caused to you on arrival to the resort and the first night. We, as LUX* Belle Mare take pride in our team and our service standards but we completely failed in providing the right start for your stay. The issue was brought to our notice immediately and the next morning my colleague Sheila met you and like listed by you apologized and tried to make amends through suitable gestures for the very unfortunate experience of yours on arrival. The last two weeks have been extremely hot and humid and unfortunately we experienced Air Conditioning problems on the night of your arrival in a couple of our rooms. You have mentioned in your review that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that the resort was beautiful, the buffet was pretty good, and that you enjoyed our Beach Rouge - the new restaurant and Lounge at the beach. Thank you for listing these positives about our resort in the review. We genuinely believe that the resort provides a true relaxing holiday to all our guests and the several reviews by our guests is a testimony to this. All of us in the resort would like to welcome you back at LUX* Belle Mare to enjoy the true LUX* experience and I really do hope that you give us an opportunity to showcase the same to you.

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It has been a while since we've been but we had such a great experience it is worth adding something for the discerning traveller.

LUX Belle Mare is a great hotel - no question about it. Key points: Friendly staff, clean, fabulous gardens, good spa and treatments, poster card white sand beach, plenty of loungers, good food, great breakfast spread, wonderful aroma in the main area of the hotel - that really puts everyone in a psoitive mood. They even have a doctor's/medic's office. I injured myself and was able to see them and get advice.

What you need to know is:
- Location: As LUX Belle Mare is on the east coast of Mauritius it is coller than the west coast, so is great in the hotter season but can have unsettled weather in the cooler season (European spring and summer). Also is far from most of the hubab which is great if yiu want a quiet holiday, If you don't choose one of the other LUX.
- Ocean View Rooms: They oversee the gardens with a partial view of the ocean so not worth the extra amount. We did highlight this during our stay and were treated well.
- Staff: The hotel's greatest asset - they're friendly to all and if you're friendly with them they really treat you like guests! Obviously expect some inconsistencies - that partly comes from the fact they going through a change in their service style.
- Spa: Great spa, good selection of treatments. If you're not used to spas it's fabulous. If you're a regularspa goer you will spot the littel things that can be improved. Great thing is they listen - so give your feedback.

Would we go again? Definitely! So don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms - only part ocean view. Garden view rooms face the garden which faces the ocean, so...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnP_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a "fabulous holiday" with us. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special. I am glad we stood up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has one of the best beaches in Mauritius!
Ask for a renovated room, they are much better than std ones!
Hotel is a 5 star....not quite 5+ as they promote it
Food is great...especially at Beaches Restaurant!
Service is very good, and they are very helpful....don't be afraid to ask
For anything, as they will try there best to assist!
Will definitely return!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WSA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the efforts of the service team to meet our guests' expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the service is second to none.
Service and food is exceptional, this is what really makes this destination a "Must Do" holiday destination and please do try this resort, you will not be disappointed
Staff who are honourable of a massive thank you are Marius, Ramuss and Anatolie, an absolute asset to any hotel, they are passionate, inspirational and lead by example
Ashish Modak, Hotel General Manager, is truly and warm and sincere individual and the hotel have their team absolutely spot on
Restuarants to mention include East, Senses and The Beach, all phenonemal

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear BrendaR, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and that the team managed to create some golden memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was that we had landed in paradise, it really does have the wow factor.

The position is magnificent on a long stretch of white powder sand (see images) with warm calm water. The pool is huge (see images) and very safe for children with its shallow entry. The thatched buildings are well laid out in beautifully manicured gardens. It is stunning!

The staff were fantastic, all very genuine, humble and sincere in their desire to please and ensure you have a good time. The food served to us in the speciality restaurants was excellent. The fish curry in Senses Restaurant was the best we have ever tasted, the service, provided by Ravi in particular was excellent.

The brand new Beach Rouge Restaurant has just opened (see images) and it’s all white décor and fabulous beach front location makes this an amazing place for a drink or a meal. Great selection of cocktails (try the Lux Colada served in a coconut) and great food, especially the steaks. The staff show a great sense of pride in this new venture and are eager for you to try the new cocktails available.

I can't praise the staff enough, they are this awesome hotels best asset and help to make up for some minor inconsistencies in service which were disappointing but didn’t spoil the holiday overall. The management also need to look at the décor in the Junior Suites which is starting to look a little tired if they want to maintain the top reviews they currently enjoy
.
In summary, a fabulous hotel with fabulous staff in a fabulous location. Not perfect but all the plus points outweigh the negatives and overall we had a fantastic week and really enjoyed the hospitality at the Lux Belle Mare.

We would return and would recommend it to potential visitors.

Room Tip: As for a newly refurbished room if available.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced an "excellent holiday" with us. I thank you for the wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special and a huge thank you for highlighting the team here - I truly believe the team at our resort is one of the finest anywhere in the world and your review reinforces this belief of mine. I am glad we stood up to your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were really impressed by the quality and great service we received during our stay. The resort is the best we have visited. The resort, service and friendliness and overall quality can be rated a 10/10.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and thank you so much for appreciating the quality, service and friendliness of our team experienced by you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday soon;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,796 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,309 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,630 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $362 - $1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing