We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Resort”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in Mid-September 2013. Villa with all-inclusive package
Quite a long drive from the airport on some very windy roads, but well worth the travel.

Villa: Stayed in the 1 bed ocean view villa. All I can say is that it's worth every penny. Very beautiful view. Quiet location. Excellent bed. Very spacious inside. Cleaning exceptional. Breakfast can be served in your room and your butler is on call all day for any requests or issues you may have. Only small criticism is that the pool was a too cold to use... shame really as it's nice to have a private place to have a dip.

Privileges of being in a villa: Bottle of bubbly on arrival - nice touch! A la carte restaurant bookings are very simple. Private area of the beach which plenty of sun-beds and bean-bag (what a great idea!). Also waiting staff is always on hand to get you another drink so no waiting around. The butler...excellent, need I say more! Canapes and bubbly brought to the room each evening before our dinner reservations.

All - inclusive: Drinks - very good selection, didn't want for anything off the paid section of the menu. Friendly and skilled bar staff. Wine selection is very good for my taste - but is pretty much all South African.
Food - very good. Tried both the al la carte restaurants - both very good standard. Ate in the buffet for one breakfast and one dinner. Breakfast is very good. Dinner, slightly limited selection but the quality was okay.

Resort: Beautiful. Nice long beach. All buildings are local style white washed structures. Gives the hotel a very clean, modern and executive feel. The grounds are all immaculate. Pools are very nice but spent most of the time in the sea. Not too noisy or crowded despite appearing to be nearly full. Plenty of water sports and other activities available, mostly at no extra cost. Coffee bar is a great idea and we went several times to get our fix.

Staff: Exceptional - no request was too much. Very friendly, 80% remembered our names.

Our check-out time wasn't until 5:30pm as we were taking a late flight. They couldn't offer us the villa after 11am but instead they moved us to a standard room in the resort for the day. Very generous and the standard rooms are of a very high standard too.

We also went on an excursion to the Zoo on the south-west side. Long drive but totally worth is. Segway safari was great fun and stroking the lion cubs was something I've always wanted to do. All booked through the staff near reception. Good value and good service.

Cons: More water should be included in the room on all-inclusive. It's a hot place, need to keep hydrated!
Don't let the standard of the villas slip - one of our blinds was broken/missing.

Room Tip: If you can avoid the Villa you really must book it. Also, all-inclusive is a brilliant option and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PontiusMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Pontius MP, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make the villas of ours and the overall experience in the resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects. We are glad that the resort stood up to your expectations and we could create some golden memories for you. We hope to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday with us in the near future;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,462 - 2,468 of 5,632 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was for our first wedding anniversary in August - we were married in lux grand gaube this time last year. Needless to say we have been very impressed with the lux hotels.

The hotel formula is superb at lux belle mare. Wonderful location (if you like sea, sun, watersports), sublime service, great food, and ultra relaxation.

We were in a beachfront villa (deuce plage 1201), which are at the higher end of the accommodation offerings. These are absolutely world class in design and comfort, and privacy. The villa manager, Suren, and our three butlers were exceptional, and couldn't have done more to make our stay very special and personal. Thank you guys!! From 'breakfast in the sea', a private BBQ like no other we've experienced, treats brought to the room... to champagne arriving on time very day!

Dining the restaurants: 'East' stood out to us, serving Asian cuisine a la carte. But the other restaurants are varied and high quality. The chefs were happy to cater for our fussy requests, e.g. Gluten free pizza made from scratch, or freshly grilled red snapper.

Activity wise, scuba was good, relaxed and extremely convenient (5 mins out front the beach by speedboat) - I'm an experienced diver. The beach is better than the north (grand gaube) and lagoon suited to kayaking, water skiing, etc. but we were mainly happy to ask the waiting guy on our private beach to bring drinks from he bar. The spa is very good, but not outstanding. If you take a trip, choose a private driver - we made a specific itinerary to visit various sites including walking with the lions.

The all inclusive is very comprehensive (decent brands, proper wine lists), and would be recommended over other board options - if like us you intend to indulge.

Enjoy!


Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear James O, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and experienced a "fantastic holiday" with us. I thank you for the detailed and wonderfully written review of yours. You have mentioned all the various aspects of the resort which makes us special. I am glad we stood up to your expectations. This has been your second stay with us at LUX* and we hope to welcome you back soon to make it three times!

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited in September for our wedding & honeymoon. The hotel staff are second to none in their attentativeness to your every need Ashkar & Vishal the pool boys, Sanjiv in the bar, Deepak in the kitchen restaurant Orane the wedding co-ordinator & Jennifer events manager thank you all for making this holiday special in every way. The food at the hotel in the restaurants & the kitchen is quality with plenty of variety & we could not fault it. The wedding was co-ordinated very well by Orane (special thanks to Brendon & Carole for being our witnesses also helping us enjoy the beverages) the day was excellent topped off by a special romantic dinner for two in the Gazebo. The villa's at the hotel are exceptional with the pool & the butler service really topping things off. If you are looking for somewhere special where the staff treat you like kings this is the place to go. The only downside was the work being carried out to the beach bar which closed it for the duration of the holiday it would have been nice to have that special evening drink overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: The newly upgraded rooms are better decorated & brighter but the villa's if you are feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Kevin F, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded and detailed review for us.We are glad you chose us as a wedding venue and that we stood up to your expectations. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special. You have listed names of some of our team members who made your stay extra special by their passion and dedication and I thank you for mentioning these STARS of ours. I have personally complimented them post this review. We hope to see you back soon for a yet another special holiday with us - the first wedding anniversary is just under a year away!

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a must visit hotel with the class that you come to expect of a Luxj property with Impeccable service and spacious rooms. The Suite is very well appointed and comfy. Highly reccomended for a relaxed get away. The large infinity Pool is a huge plus and good for a daily dip.
The evening inhouse events are good and provide a nice insight into the local culture. The Duty Manager made our special occasion even more special.
Five stars to this awesome property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajesh661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us. You have highlighted the various features which make our resort special and I thank you for mentioning all these various aspects of the resort. We genuinely believe our resort combines the best of all the essential elements to make a beach holiday special. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another relaxing holiday with us;


Sincerely,
Ashish Modak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been there for 10 days in February and I have even now the full taste and flavor, the entire vibration of this haven.We did considered many other hotels and thank God we came here !
We traveled with our 2 years old baby and we were doubting if it was not a mistake. Well certainly it wasn’t as he had the best time ever thanks to Lux Belle Mare arrangements. We toke a Lux junior suite , the renovated one , and everything concerning our room was well taking care of , we had twice per day room service , refilling with drinks and so our room did look perfect all the time. In the last to days we did have to ask for some extra water as for some reason the team in our hotel looked extremely busy, and we did noticed a huge number of Chinese tourists celebrating the new year. We did used a babysitter service every evening and thanks to RUBY , our angel , we could enjoy some of the most romantic evenings ever!!! Strongly recommended if you are traveling with a small baby, they do have the Kids Club and it is more then perfect but they will take care only on kids from the age 3 or more. Even if my kid did not understand English, her way of talking and being with him, it was just unreal!!!
There are some other small things about this hotel , firstly , even when fully booked , we never felt it , enough place for everyone , the beach looked empty , the pool as well.
Great pool , and the best beach !!! Especially if you have small toddlers , there is a nice small island coming out of the beach , and they can have so much fun over there. The colors of the send , the skies , the sea , just heaven ! The smell at the entrance in the lobby area , of green tea , we had to buy 2 small bottles of this essence and we enjoy the smell even now ! The kindness of all the team, the best frappe with exotic flavors, the great selection of restaurants and menus …and I can go on like this forever !!!
We did traveled most of the days , and part of our trips we booked in advance before our arrival . It is good to know that there is a small area with a travel agent and a rent a car office . Very convenient they do have all the trips available, deep sea fishing , diving and car trips all over Mauritius , with prices that are similar to what you can find on the internet . We toke a swim with the dolphins private trip, (650 euro) and some 6-8 hours car trips (100-120 euro). We used the cab offered by the hotel and it is a very nice service, they take you and wait for you up to 2-3 hours and the price is very decent. We recommend buying gold on the traditional shops in the near by city, as it is not so expensive and they have very interesting models.
We did missed the sunset , and we did learned that on the other side of the island , the sunsets can be breathtaking , but on the other hand , this hotel offered us so many other things that compensate a good sunset ((:
I would want to experience other accommodations on this great island, but on the other hand , you have everything and more at Lux Belle Mare so way to risk ?
Go for a full board or at least half board especially if you are with kids. We did use the laundry service and we had some small problems there but got fixed always fast. We findthis service to be overpriced !
We miss Lux Belle Mare and all the great team working there!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vasylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in September for our honeymoon. The trip was a last minute package but I couldn't have asked for more. The location is brilliant - right on the beach with safe swimming, the hotel and its facilities are superb with loads of little extras thrown in (tennis, kayaking, ice cream) and a great value all-inclusive.

But it was the staff who really made it come alive, so attentive and friendly. We loved Deepak - he shared some recipes with us, and the marvelous Ravi at Ile des deux Cocos who made us rum cocktails, but a special mention must be made for Jennifer Clarisse, Events Manager. It was also my husband's birthday whilst we were out there and she gave me loads of her time to help plot a wonderful surprise dinner and gift for him. She went out of her way to secure things for us and even though we were on a package she made us feel like royalty. Thank you for a truly special time that we will always remember and cherish.
I would certainly recommend Lux Belle Mare to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelskir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have celebrated our wedding at Lux Belle Mare and we can only say THANK YOU and what a wonderful time we had. Jessica and her team were outstanding. Everything was perfectly organized for our wedding at the beach, the dinner at the beach thereafter and the breakfast in our Villa in the morning.

Our two butlers Khem and Rao were extraordinary. The small things matter and they made a dream come true. Thanks both of you and we do miss you.

The beach and the whole resort are fantastic. For us the best one on the island!
We did a tour with the hotel guide through the southern part of the island. A more than 10 hours trip, but the knowledge from our guide and his always focused on us attitude made this trip a fully rememberable one.

We will definitely come back! Thanks LUX BELLE MARE TEAM!!! You guys are outstanding and made us part of a great family.

Room Tip: You have to book the Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KH_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,014 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $313 - $1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing