We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have travelled a lot but what I really wanted to comment on here was unparalleled service at this hotel. All -in-one a fantastic place to stay at lux Belle Mare.

We have a fantastic memories of hugely enjoyable stay at a highly efficient hotel.

We were on honeymoons we booked for a junior pool suite and Suren who proposed us to upgrade in a villa,which a private swimming pool. The pool given many specials features like t-shirt,fresh fruits everyday,cocktailsand appetizers every evening was great. The villa was ultra-spacious, with a seperate dressing and a huge king size bed. We were treated as there only guest and every need was taken personalize butler service.we were made to feel welcome from each moment.Each moment we were celebrating new events as we were on honeymoon. My favorite memory we had breakfast close to the sea and with our feet dangling in the sea on a stunning dessert beach.It was just out of this world.I can say honestly it was the best breakfast I have ever had.He also arranged for a barbecue in our villa and one day a personalised romantic dinner on the beach. Suren organized everything for us, so all we had to do was enjoy and had an excellent time enjoying the spa.we spent our days either lounging on the beach of the villa,we enjoy the home made ice-cream,the best of cafe lux and of course making everyone jealous at home with updated Facebook. (Free WiFi throughout the resort).

Also so many little touch make our honeymoon amazing. When you returned from dinner your room has been decorated and the bathtub with warm water,bubble and with some candle. As you can probably tell we had a magical time at the resort and did not want to come back home.It is so beautiful and the people work are excellent.You will have lots of fabulous memories,the food was excellent the themed buffets and gala evening. The water sports were complimentary and ice cream parlor very good idea loved trying different ice creams everyday and the phone home you can call for free at any time. Pleasant to be at the bar after dinner over a drink and enjoying the music from live band.

I have to thanks especially Suren who was highly courteous, friendly and genius in the approach to guest who made our trips a memorable and his magnificent effort.so we had a wonderful treatment and good hospitality. We would definitely like to come again to reminisce these moments.

From incohne

London,United Kingdom

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,823
    414
    92
    34
    14
See reviews for
1,368
2,288
54
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Well thought choice knowing we are so picky in everything we choose. The most amazing hotel we have ever stayed at so far. From the way they welcome you to the beautiful room & environment.
Every step of the way during our stay at the hotel we felt well looked after.
Could you imagine the housekeeping & bar team know our names wow what a communication.Everyone greets you with the smile.we were in a honeymoon suites a bed that swallows you up and does not want to spit you out.We even taken the address to purchase similar mattress.Room cleaning is done twice with so much details behind it. Green tea scent in room which was so refreshing every time you are in.Fluffy white towels and divine bathroom amenities fully stocked.Top notch team.Our last holiday was in dubai but cannot compared to luxury tangible experience we had this time.
The food was unbelievable and we even buy coffee so that we can have the same taste at home.we tried all the restaurants which was perfect in term of service and food.Not miss the ice cream parlor you will love it.
Well you all deserve to be proud for a such wonderful team but still would like to mention special thanks to Sarvam,Babita,Dolores and Vijay.
Thank you Lux Belle Mare you really made us feel so special can't wait till we come back

Room Tip: Pool view or beach room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I am writing this review a year after having stayed there last year. I had always wanted to do the review at some stage and as I had just done a review foll a recent holiday to the Maldives, I thought I should fill a long waited review for this very good resort.

This was my second visit to Mauritius in 7 years and the sat time we stayed at the ober- luxurious, but small resort of Oberoi Mauritius were we were pampered, so I was initially a bit trepiditious about the resort. But I can confidently say that all f our fears were unfounded, this is a lovely resort.

We stayed in the luxury pool / beach villas section. We were looked after very well by a very hard working Kem, our butler and the management team. Nagessan the villa manager was very helpful. The kids club was good, the restaurant were good with a decent variety of dishes on the menu and a few interesting theme nights.

The F&B manager was very affable and helpful with my daughters special dietary needs. Great burgers in room service ! Buffet breakfast, lunches and dinners were very good, but we referred the a la carte restaurant offerings better.

We rented the resorts driver and 4 WD twice and had a couple of trips out of the hotel.

The beach is scenic and the water was reasonably clear, beware of touts in speedboats who offer trips (it is a beach open to the public). No one guarantees the safety or quality or safety of these boats, and the hotel takes no responsibility.

Overall, very good resort and a pampering experience from staff on the pool villas section which also has its own separate kitchen. Good bit was when you wanted privacy, you had it within your own villa, very shady green area and a section of your own beach and when you wanted to mingle, the larger resort was just outside your door. The vila itself was very spacious and the bathroom was ginormous, the heated pool was in good shape and the kids, at that time 18 weeks old baby and a 4 year old ad fun. We met some very friendly and chilled families whilst we were there, and their experiences was also positive.

We had an excellent Personal Trainer from the gym - Patrick Mooken who worked very hard on a suitable programme which a huge difference to our fitness states during and even after our stay. Thank you Patrick.Spa had good therapists.

Would we return? Absolutely, as it is met our needs in every way. Huge credit to the guest focussed nature of the very polite, hard working and very efficient staff which makes such a great difference to anyone's stay. Never met the GM, but obviously does a good job, with such an excellent team . Well done !

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids take the beach pool villas, you won't regret the spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rakekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Thank you LUX Belle Mare for at wonderful vacation. The hotel, the room, the beach and the pool is Heaven on Earth and the staff is our "White Angles". Their service is outstanding without being importunate. A special thank to Sommelier Amar - and also thanks to the staff in the bar (Chica, Sanjiv, Vinns, Poonam) and in the restaurants, at the front desk, on the beach, in the spa and the room cleaning as well as to the rest of the staff.
We are looking forward to returning to LUX Belle Mare next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

A quick note in praise of the lux belle mare Mauritius. Fabulous resort and wonderful staff. Particular mention to all at the kids club for helping with our boys. It made our holiday to have such kind staff and babysitters!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the LUX Belle Mare for 8 nights in September 2013.

Our overall impression is that this is a great hotel in a beautiful location, and the staff were friendly, helpful, and provided excellent service. However, there were many times where the hotel “missed the mark” and did not meet our expectation of a 5 star resort. All that is required is some attention to detail, and these issues could be easily fixed.

What we liked:

- Stunning location with beautiful clear water and white sand. The property is very clean, well maintained, with lovely gardens, and a big swimming pool.

- The hotel room (a junior suite) was spacious and clean. While the room decor was dated, it was in good condition.

- Service at the beach was excellent. The staff were attentive and friendly, and we were looked after very well.

- Bathroom amenities, such as soap, body wash, and shampoo, were divine. Beautiful and unique fragrances.

- Room service. Fast and excellent attention to detail, setting up and presenting the food within the room. They were also quick to return (when called) to collect the empty room service plates.

- Special events. We celebrated a birthday with a special beach BBQ. The presentation and setting was outstanding. There was a separate table for four on the beach with a partition/wind break separating it from the main beach area. The food was divine, with fresh bread, salads, lobster, steak, desserts, and a birthday cake. A very memorable event, with excellent food and service.


What we think could be improved:

- Concierge. In a word, hopeless. Early in our visit, we enquired about tours for Mauritius and were left with the impression that we would need to get information about tours and make arrangements on our own - we were not even given the name of recommended tour operators. Concierge failed to mention that tour operators and car rental representatives are located onsite in the hotel, next to the spa -- we discovered them only by accident while walking through to the spa in the later days of our visit. Concierge provided no maps, no information about tours, and was just not helpful. We avoided them for the remainder of our stay.

- No mention about renovations taking place at the hotel. We can appreciate that hotels need to maintain properties to a high standard, and it’s great that this kind of work is being done. However, the renovations were for the beach bar, which reduced the number of food alternatives in the hotel (which is limited in variety anyway). You could hear construction noise while on the beach, however, it was not overwhelming; it was more of a distraction. At the very least, the hotel should mention this during the hotel introduction and check in, and offer an apology in advance. My partner thinks that they should have at least offered a complementary drink in the bar as an apology.

- Information about the hotel. The hotel directory provided in each room was hopelessly out of date. These should have been updated and reprinted. At the very least, an erratum should be inserted or attached to the directory. For example, the directory lists the hotel restaurants and bars. Two of the restaurants and one of the bars listed in the directory no longer exist. Another example is that we wanted to order a picnic listed in the directory, and when we called to order, we were told that the picnic menu had changed, and room service would need to delivery an updated menu. Save time for everyone (customers and hotel staff) by communicating these changes proactively.

- Housekeeping. While our room was cleaned very well, there were problems with attention to detail. One morning, there was no coffee in the room. Next morning, there was no sugar. The next morning, there were no teaspoons. Bathroom amenities were not refilled/replaced on a daily basis. Each of these instances requires a call to housekeeping. Once again, save time for everyone (customers and hotel staff) by getting these jobs right in the first instance. And the number of visits by housekeeping -- there were too many. In addition, someone (presumably housekeeping) entered our room at 9pm one night, while we were in bed. I could hear a knock on the door, and I started to get up to answer it -- too late, they opened the door, and then quickly exited, without an apology for entering the room.

- Food. Best described as pleasant. It’s not great, but it’s not horrible either. As an example, on two nights I had Indian dishes (a chicken biryani and a chicken and prawn curry) and both were bland and lacking authentic flavour. The best dish was their hamburger. We were uninspired by the food, and set off to the neighbouring 4 star resort of Ambre (a 10 to 15 minute walk down the beach) that has an Italian a la carte restaurant -- the food there was excellent. To explore other locations for dining, you need to travel some distance, either in a car or in a taxi, as Belle Mare is an isolated location. Having a good alternative for standard dinners, that was within walking distance, was a relief. Having said the above, the food for the special event organised for a birthday celebration was outstanding -- a beach BBQ. Overall, the food was hit and miss.

- Some nice touches that were disappointing in execution. One of these touches at the LUX Belle Mare is hidden “messages in the bottle”. Here’s a description of message in a bottle from their promotional material:


“After a relaxing day spent on the beach, how surprising to stumble across a random, lonely bottle carefully placed on the side of the winding path leading back to your room...
Some days the message in a bottle may reveal a complimentary spa treatment coupon for a pedicure, facial or massage on the house.
 Other days, the message in a bottle may contain written clues directing you towards the Secret Bar, or offering the opportunity to enjoy a special dining experience for two on the beach.”


Can you imagine the anticipation when we found a message in a bottle? We took the bottle into our room and gathered some friends to read the message. We were very excited. What was the message? “You can claim a bar of soap”. What? I know it may sound ungrateful, but the hotel’s promotional material makes it sound so special, so surprising. If I wanted a bar of soap, I would have called housekeeping. Is that really a special and exciting touch to receive, a small bar of soap that is already provided in your room? Perhaps a basket of goodies, but not one hotel size bar of soap. Call me ungrateful and disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thank you LUX team for making our event memorable and exceptional. Great ideas and execution. Indeed LUX values and culture are felt across all levels - special thanks to Ashish, Elvis and Ramesh for their unremitting and flawless service. Well done!

Room Tip: Great white marquis for corporate events
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suneeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
4.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,269 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,227 reviews
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing