We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, friendly , paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly , paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my wife were on our honeymoon in march 2013 (checked in March 19 and left April 3) for 2 weeks we choose the Lux Belle Mare. The resort was just amazing the staff were so friendly and always on hand to help there was not one day we could say we were bored there is always something to do. The food was great no day was the same the menu changed everyday and if we did not fancy any of the food which was on offer or we fancied something different we just asked the chef to make us something of our choice what ever we asked for was made fresh and served hot it was fantastic. We would like to say a special thanks to Ashish the GM , Sahil , Gopi , Vijay, Ramish who was there everyday and always kept us laughing, Chandani , Sanjay so many names to list but we would like to say a big thank you to all staff and the management team for making our Honeymoon one to remember. We will definitely go back next year and can't wait. Thank you once again.

P & R

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, the villas are beautiful any room you have has easy access to the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singh112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your wonderful review for us on this forum. The entire team is very happy that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and to know that you will be visiting us again next year. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for listing some of the team members who made a special difference during your stay. I shall personally compliment them. Like mentioned by you, indeed all of our team members are our biggest assets and each one of them works towards ensuring a pleasant stay for our guests. Wishing both of you a very happy married life and look forward to welcoming you back soon;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,822
    414
    92
    34
    14
See reviews for
1,368
2,287
54
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Lux Belle Mare treated us to a wonderfully relaxing and indulgent holiday. Located on a wonderful beach gently sloping into the acquamarine Indian Ocean, this hotel is a real treat. We arrived early and tired at 7.20am after the BA night flight the week after Easter and were warmly welcomed with a breakfast feast in the Kitchen restaurant, while our room was finally prepared. Service was really friendly and attentive throughout our stay with all staff intent on making our holiday as enjoyable as possible. There were various activites to keep the kids entertained, including pedallos, kayaks, glass bottom boat trips and not forgetting the daily afternoon treat of the "ICI" ice cream bar.
The alternative cuisines offered from the 4 different restaurants provided diversity, quality and choice on our week long holiday. Our room was spacious, well equipped and the turndown touches showed attention to detail. The only improvement we could think of would be to have a softer matress (our huge bed was VERY firm).
On our final morning, we were brought breakfast in our room at 4.30am to ensure we didn't leave on an empty stomach!
In short, the Lux Belle Mare has helped set a new holiday standard for us, and we are looking forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Helen R, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort thanks you for such a beautifully worded review for us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The last sentence in your review that we managed to set a new benchmark for holidays for you means a lot to all of us here and I would like to assure you that we shall continue to work on our standards going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful holiday at LUX* Belle Mare;

Sincerely;
Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon there in November 2012 and were surprised at how warm, friendly and good value for money this hotel was. We took the all inclusive package and found it to be good value for money. The management of the hotel group have recently re-branded the hotel chain, and I found it to be a big success. Our room was cleaned twice a day, the view from our balcony was very charming. Our room was very spacious, and the food at the main restaurant really authentic. Other people staying at the hotel seemed to be having an equally nice time, and everyone seems happy. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Amrish J, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for a beautiful review for us. We are glad that our team and the overall experience at the resort ensured that you had a wonderful stay and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another great stay with us;

Best regards,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Recently spent 1 week at the lux belle mare .. 3 families altogether total of 11 people.
Fantastic hotel , great facilities .. Staff were excellent and always willing to help . Stayed all inc , which was fantastic value . Great place for family . Adjoining rooms were perfect with a fantastic view. Thanks to Ramess and Ravin in The kitchen .. Mr anatolie Sophie and Mr Anwar Roojee who all made our stay extra special.
The walk along the beach to town was magical , and the spa was a brilliant place to unwind at the end of the day . Would definitely love to return .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nad80essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautiful review and for the very nice title to your review. We are glad you had a very enjoyable stay and thank you for listing some of our STARS in the team. We look forward to welcoming all of you back for a yet another magical experience at the LUX* Belle Mare;

Sincerely;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Lux Belle Mare for 10 days over Easter. We are a family of five, myself, husband, 6 year old daughter, 4 year old son and our baby girl, 10 months. We were looking for a break from the rubbish weather in the UK and hopefully a bit of a rest after a busy year with new baby arriving etc. The Belle Mare (and Mauritius) delivered on both fronts and we had an absolutely fantastic holiday. There were however a couple of niggles that prevent me from giving a five star rating.

First for the positives. The resort is very attractive, low rise and our adjoining rooms opened out onto a beautiful sea view. We had plenty of space for the five of us. Rooms are luxurious but quite minimalist and modern. Extremely comfortable (huge) bed, sitting area and small terrace. Housekeeping did an excellent job keeping them spotlessly clean and there was a turn down service/mini clean every evening.

The pool is fantastic for kids as there is a large shallow area where they can play supervised from the comfort of a sun lounger or the adjacent bar. There is a lifeguard on duty during the day too. The beach is also beautiful and there is a cordoned off area for safe swimming. It was very windy while we were there though so we stuck to the pool which was sheltered. There are various water sports and sailing options on offer from the boat house on the beach.

There are four dining options on site, Kitchen (buffet), The East (Asian food), Senses (local/Indian Ocean food) and The Beach (more European style). The standard of food in all of these was good. We particularly enjoyed The East which has a policy of no kids under 6 so is nice for a bit of adult time. Breakfast in the Kitchen was very good - lots of choice, eggs prepared while you wait, Asian choices etc.

The kids club was outstanding. They had a full program of activities every day from 10am until 10 pm for kids aged 3 - teenagers. Our eldest 2 had an absolute ball, making pizza with the chef in the kitchens, cake decorating, treasure hunts in the dark, glass bottom boat trip. My daughter had to be dragged out most days and would happily have spent her whole holiday there. The evening program is particularly good if you want to have a kid free dinner (baby sitters can be arranged for younger kids) - kids go the kids club at 630, get taken to the buffet for dinner and then back to club for pirate treasure hunt, movie, disco, whatever was on that evening. I can honestly say this absolutely made our holiday - the kids wanted to go and had a great time so we could have some down time guilt free!

A couple of points that I think the management need to address are as follows:

We arrived at the resort on the recently rescheduled BA flight which lands at around 530am local time. We were at the resort by 7am and had to wait a full 7 hours for our room. I know check-in is officially 2pm but I've never had to wait literally until 2pm on the dot to get into our room. We were absolutely exhausted and at one point all five of us were asleep on the sofas in the lobby. We were given access to a shower room so we could change and we had breakfast and lunch while we were waiting but I think it is unacceptable to have to wait so long for a room. The outgoing BA flight leaves at 8am so there were undoubtedly people that checked out at 5 in the morning (as we did on our return). I fail to see how it can take so long to turn the rooms around. The manager was very receptive of our feedback and did say they were aware it was a problem and were working on improving turnaround times so hopefully this will be addressed.

Service was a little hit and miss. Mostly it was good but at times is was "distracted" to say the least. It was particularly lax at the Beach restaurant (the food here is also not quite as good as the other restaurants which is a shame as it has the nicest setting) and I eventually didn't really like going there as I just felt we were unlikely to get what we ordered in a reasonable time (if at all). My husband sent back a steak that was so tough he couldn't cut it. There were a couple of other occasions where service just didn't quite make the standard I would expect from a five star resort. In fairness to the management, we gave feedback a few times and each time it was fully taken on board.

My last point is a positive or a negative depending on your situation - this is very much a family resort. We were also there during the Easter holidays so it was fully booked and absolutely full of families with young kids. This was fine for us, the kids made friends and it's nice to feel completely relaxed eating out as a family etc. However, be prepared to be around children all the time. There were kids in the bar until 10pm most evenings and even I felt it would have been nice to have a bit of kid free time every now and then (particularly when ours were at kids club/with babysitter). In saying that it was also nice to take our children out for dinner and have them with us listening to the band in the evening so I suppose it goes both ways. I would just caution those without children or with older kids, be prepared, particularly during school holidays to be surrounded by families with young children. This is probably not the case outside of school holidays.

Overall, a wonderful family holiday, well worth the 12 hour flight. We will be rebooking for next year and look forward to seeing if the few things that need to be addressed have been!

Room Tip: The adjoining family rooms are great - we had 1115 and 1116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fischen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Fischen, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your detailed review for us on this forum. We are glad that overall you had an enjoyable family holiday and that you are planning to stay with us next year again. Thank you for listing the various positives that make the place special as well. I have taken your feedback on the areas of improvement on board completely and we will be working on it in all earnest. As regards the rooms being ready before 1400 hours - the standard check in time; this is always dependent on the occupancies in house and while we always endeavor to get the rooms ready as early as possible; this one is difficult to promise. Your feedback regarding the beach restaurant has been taken up with our chefs and the service teams and we shall eliminate the errors immediately. As regards the families and children in house; it is a fact that the resort turns in to a complete family holiday resort around the Easter and Christmas holidays; however we are working on ways to ensure that couples and adults will have their space and time in the resort and like East; we are working on developing areas for couples only without diminishing the options for families. You shall definitely see the change in place during your next stay. All of us look forward to welcoming you back soon;

Sincerely;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The entire place is amazing. My husband and I, three teenage children and my 60yr old mother. We all felt the same way, just awesome.
I must say special thanks to Josephine De Ravel, the retail manager at the Lux, who went beyond her call of duty to personally get me a top from 'the other side of the island', and even dropped it at the second resort that we were staying at.
Since we have been back home I have been in contact with her via email as I would like two more of these tops. Friends of mine are going to a resort 'down the road' from the Lux, and she is going to drop my two tops with them so that they can bring them home to me.
Thank you again, nothing seems to be too much trouble, I'm truly blown away at this type of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear MichDurban, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautiful review on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and Josephine presented to you live the purpose of LUX* Resorts - "Helping People Celebrate Life". Like Josephine; we believe many of our team members consistently strive to provide a unique holiday experience and it is those little touches which make a huge difference between us and the rest! A sincere thank you on behalf of Josephine and the entire team at LUX* Belle Mare for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another holiday;

Sincerely;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Well I wrote few days ago a review but it was at first 2 days when I arrived to this lovely resort but I admit that I feel much better in all terms as the management updated and upgraded my room to a much more lovely and room that is sure stylish modern and deserve to be a 5 stars room .. food at restuarnats is so good and they change every evening the menue so each day u have a different world flavor .. the evenings are nice as they have lovely bands .. and most of all in this hotel the staff and every body is always smiling making u feel always happiness and I do mention 3 whom I met my self and where fantastic ravin from resturant who is fantastic . Shella who upgraded my room and anatoly who is a grate manager too although I had one small comment and suggestion that as they have ice cream on the pool why they dont make it for small children as free as kids love and it would be a nice gesture of the resort towards customers although it will not be a big deal.and if the beach area can be cleaned twice a day due the sea grass which is a lot as they clean it perfectly morning but again at noon time there is a lot more on the beach and its a little annoying any way in all I say its a wonderful experience and sure if weather was less raining its a wonderfull place in all termi advise anynone who is planning to go mauritius to try this lovely resort...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maninblackthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings of the day! Thank you so much for your review for us on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and that we were able to change your perception of the place during your stay. We believe hospitality industry is all about people and I am glad our team made a special mark on you through their friendliness and desire to serve all our guests with passion and genuinity. We hope to see you visit and stay with us again in the future;

Sincerely,
Ashish Modak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
4.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,268 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,227 reviews
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing