We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Paradise”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have just returned from a very refreshing holiday at this wonderful hotel. I strongly recommend LUX Belle Mare to everyone looking for a perfect getaway. The staff are extremely friendly, attentive and service is seamless. The rooms are well appointed and the beach is the best in Mauritius. The restaurants serve a good variety and quality of food is excellent. There are quite a few kids activites; the pool is a great attraction and large enough to avoid crowding. The staff at the Bar and Beach are very attentive and ensure that everyone feels relaxed and well fed :)

The Boat House has many activities and if you are in for an adventure; you must visit them. The area around the beach offers a decent safe swimming zone which is great if you have kids. Overall I am very happy with our stay and hope to return again towards the end of 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear RobW; Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! The entire team joins me in thanking you for a wonderful and detailed review for us on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed a "complete" holiday and we managed to create wonderful memories for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another enjoyable experience with us soon;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,343
    442
    98
    35
    14
See reviews for
1,548
2,559
64
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Returned earlier this month from a week’s stay at Lux, our 5th visit to the hotel (and the second since it's rebranding.)
Despite the short stay and 12 hour flights, it was instantly relaxing and lovely to catch up with old friends at the hotel.
On arrival (09.45) our room wasn't quite ready, so we were invited to have breakfast and were immediately attended to by our old friends Ramess & Dave. By the time we'd enjoyed a leisurely breakfast on the terrace, our room was available.
Our room overlooked the pool (additional cost as very little availability, having only booked about 2 weeks before the trip.)
The room was on the 2nd floor, spacious and with a balcony. It had not been refurbished. On our last visit (May 12, reviewed here) we had had a refurbished room, which was stunning. Having had this experience, the non refurbished rooms do seem rather dated and "tired". However they remain very comfortable with very large bed, and a sofa and armchair. The closet contains hanging rails, (lighting in here could be brighter), shelving, drawers and a safe.
Bathroom has walk in shower, large bath, 2 sinks and a separate loo. Beautiful (and generous sized) body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel & soap), are provided as well as bathrobes & slippers.
The room is serviced twice a day and 2x 500ml bottles of water are provided in the morning.
Free wi fi is available everywhere in the hotel including the beach!
There are plenty of options for dining aside from the Kitchen which holds themed buffets every evening. We alternated between the Kitchen and other restaurants each evening. We visited East which serves pan Asian food and Senses which is more Indian orientated. Don't be put off by the fact that special menus are served at these restaurants on several evenings. The à 'la carte menu is always available with no additional charges.
We received excellent service from Ramess, Pravin and Dave in the Kitchen. At the bar, Vijaye was always very helpful.
Drinks prices remain high: e.g 2 small beers 400Rps, (£10) bottle of mineral water. 400Rps. Wine starts at about 1600 Rps a bottle.
We always have a good breakfast and don't eat until the evening. Unless you're on an all inclusive package, having lunch or snacks will work out very expensive.
We didn't do any organised trips on this visit but walked into Belle Mare (15 mins) and took a taxi to Flacq. (Note the market is now only there on Sundays.) The supermarket in Belle Mare (on the right hand side with access to clothing shop) charges high prices these days. I was charged 198 Rps for a box of (Mauritian) teabags, which were on sale in the Spar in Flacq for 27 Rps. I'm very happy to support the local economy, but this was just blatant ripping tourists off. I'd recommend taking a taxi to Flacq when the market is on (£17 return) and getting any items you want in the Spar there.
The beach hawkers are fine. If you politely say no they won't hassle you. We are now on first name terms with two or three of them and they recognise us from previous visits!
Snorkelling trips (2 x daily, free) were good. However I did have to ask for instructions to be repeated in English as all the other guests were French and it was assumed I was too!
I also attended the aqua class (most days, free) but the level of this was quite variable, depending on the instructor. Again, instructions not always in English, but you can work it out! One downside (which I've not experienced before) was that a lot of people remained in the pool who were not participating in the class (despite there being 2 other attached pools.) It could become a bit challenging at times when kids continued with ball games in your path or people hang around the edges of the pool when 20+ people were trying to jog around the edge!
This was the first time we have visited at this time of the year and the hotel was full, with mainly French guests (including lots of children.) it remains access all areas for children and as I have said on each review (as do other reviewers), it would be good to see one restaurant that was child free.
We attended the astronomy evening which was excellent and very informative.
I had 1 treatment at the spa (a henna tatoo). Prices for treatments are high (> high end Spas in the UK.) e.g 4000 Rps for a pedicure (I hr.)
We left the hotel at 05.45 and were given a take away breakfast: cardboard box containing pastries, juices and a good selection of fruit. This is new and a really nice touch.
Mr Modak the General Manager has a very visible presence. We were invited to have a drink with him one evening and he is very keen for feedback.
All in all, it was a very long way to go for a week, but as we are so familiar with
Lux, we were able to relax immediately and it was well worth the travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mrs. Picky, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare - your home here in Mauritius! Thank you for your lovely review and the in-depth analysis of each of our features and offerings. I am sincerely thankful to you for detailing your experience and I am sure the readers of this forum and our future guests would hugely benefit from this review. I believe our team is our biggest asset and your review reinforces this belief of mine. I have complimented all the team members listed by you in the review personally and they all in turn thank you for mentioning their names in your review. Just one question from all of us - When are you returning next? We all look forward to seeing the two of you again soon for a yet another wonderful stay;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just had a smooth check out of this wonderful resort in Belle Mare Mauritius. Our room was a junior suite overlooking the beach with a variety of watersports. When we arrived we had a lovely welcome from guest relations and were shown to our room. All the facilities were explained to us. The LUX resorts toiletries are divine to use and smell amazing.
The Kitchen was our regular place for a breakfast which overlooked the massive shallow swimming pool - which we were told is the biggest in Mauritius. Dave was always attentive and helpful. They fulfilled our request for masala chai that my husband craved...There are plenty of families with small children so breakfast time and the pool can get busy. We didn't mind this.
We also reserved spaces at the a la carte restaurants of The Beach, East and Senses. We received exceptional service from Pascal at the Beach, Senses was also good in service and had very good exquisite Indian food. East was good but suffered as there were as many waiters/waitresses as the other restaurants. We were on half board so a 3 course dinner was included meaning we enjoyed desserts most evening. If you are buying lunch and drinks these are expensive so be prepared to pay high prices.
The spa staff and facilities are very good. I especially liked the open air jacuzzi and surrounding beds to relax on after a long day on the beach.
We also bought the LUX oil burner fragrance called Green tea - you can smell this around the hotel. All staff at the LUX Belle Mare are very helpful, polite and always greeted us through out the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sarika R; Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review for us and I am glad you had a wonderful start to your married life through a great experience at the resort. You have detailed the special features like the bathroom amenities and I thank you for the same. The small details like the home roasted coffee, ICI parlour by the pool, the very special bathroom amenities and many such things make LUX* Belle Mare special and combined with spacious comfortable rooms, varied and quality focused food and beverage offerings and the genuine service provided by the team make a holiday at the resort here really special. Thank you for mentioning our STARS like Pascal - I have complimented them personally. We hope to see you back for another wonderful holiday with us soon - may be on your first wedding anniversary?

With warm regards from all of us;

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned from our week long honeymoon and we had such a amazing time.. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a private villa and it was just out of this world! The villa was stunning, beautifully decorated and our 2 butlers Khem and Pravind were fantastic,nothing was to much trouble for them and they went out of their way to make our time at Lux extra special. There are a asset to your beautiful hotel. As we were at the villa we had our own section of beach, it was never crowded and our beds were ready for us no matter what time we arrived this was thanks to Allen who done a fantastic job in looking after us, bringing us drinks and even cleaning our sunglasses!! but best of all he brought a smile to our faces with his lovely personality, and is yet again a fantastic advert for Lux.. Suren also was fantastic making sure everything was to our satisfaction with the villa and our holiday.
The food was great, plenty of choices. Our favorite was the Beach bar, the setting was beautiful and the food and wine always great, we enjoyed some lovely long lunches there! We also ate in East one evening and the service we received from the staff was fantastic, the food was beautiful and apart from the restaurant being rather hot the attention to detail even down to the tiffany cutlery was fantastic, i would highly recommend a visit.
My favorite memory of our honeymoon had to be the breakfast we had in the sea, it was a memory that will stay with me forever.Our butler Khem arranged the most beautiful breakfast and we had it with our feet dangling in the sea on a stunning deserted beach, it was just out of this world!! I can honestly say it was the best breakfast i have ever had!!! We also had a personalised honeymoon dinner on the beach one evening and that also was just fantastic, so much thought and preparation goes into this to make it so special..
We was on a infinity package and would recommend this as its excellant value. The Bar was pleasant for a evening drink and always had very good bands playing although there never seemed to be many people around. We also had massages at the Spa which was so relaxing and the facilities there were very good.
We have had the most fantastic holiday and cannot thank all the staff at the Lux for they excellant service, we will definately be visting again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Donna A, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for your detailed and beautifully worded review for us on this forum. I am really glad that you had a fantastic stay and our team made a big impression on you through their genuine and caring service. Like Khem, Pravind, Allen and Suren - each of our team members is truly a star and all of them continually strive to provide a seamless experience for our guests.

We do hope that you shall plan your next stay with us soon;

Warm regards,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was there for 2 nights. Very nice experience. Service was excellent. The room was ideally located and was very clean. They clean your room a minimum of twice per day. Nothing is more enjoyable to find your room cleaned when coming back from dinner.
Food was excellent. If you're vegetarian, as the buffet dinner is not readily geared towards vegetarian food, you can talk to the chef and he'll arrange something special for you.
Beer and drinks in general are quite expensive (Rs 200 for a small glass of beer ; but you get to drink it at a superb location, so it's kind of worth it).
Wi-fi is free everywhere and even in the sea!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the complete corners of the hotel. They are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear V G; Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Thank you for your very nice review for us. The title of the review says it all and I am so happy that you found us to be one of the best resorts on the island. We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another enjoyable experience in the near future;

Warm regards,
Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

very warm service,excellent service,we had a special candle light dinner at the beach,well arranged,nice pool and the hotel had a variety of entertainment everyday,rooms were very clean and very close proximity to the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Sebaaks, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! Your review is short, to the point and with an amazing title! A big Thank you for the review. I am most certain the review gives the readers and the future guests of ours a crystal clear idea of the resort and equally importantly to all of us at the resort happiness that we could make your stay really enjoyable.

We do hope you come back for a yet another wonderful stay soon;

Best regards,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in a double junior suite classic from 9th to 12th march 2013. Room was spacious and v.clean. Had an excellent time enjoying the sauna, hammam,jacuzzi, yoga, tae-chi,gym,swimming pool,etc- All mentioned here was free. Coffee,tea and bottled water also free in the room. Excellent food 'a la carte' at the 'Senses restaurant'. Also if you love spicy food, taste the chilly pineapple ice-cream from the ice-cream parlour next to the swimming pool opened between 13h30 to 17h.
Pleasant to be at the bar after dinner over a drink and enjoying the nice music from live bands. Drinks were of reasonable price for a 5-star hotel. Good choice of music for the dance lovers-from waltz to cha-cha-cha,rumba,rock,twist,etc + the sega.
Free wi-fi throughout the whole compound + telephone box that allows one to phone for free.
All staff was very helpful and extremely courteous. Good value for your money. Thank you LUX
Enjoyed both Lux Grand Gaube and Lux Belle Mare. Looking forward for another Lux.

Room Tip: the one in which i stayed, had sea view and was quite big. There are so many interesting free activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saro r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, General Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear saro r, Greetings from LUX* Belle Mare! We are glad that you had a very enjoyable experience with us and that you enjoyed all the various features which make us special. Thank you for mentioning the various special features of the resort from the ice-cream to the phone box and the many little things which a guest experiences here...

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another enjoyable experience soon;

Sincerely,

Ashish Modak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,569 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,246 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,437 reviews
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing