We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel, staff and food”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
woodbridge
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“superb hotel, staff and food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

stayed fo4 3 nights in May and should have stayed for longer. Great welcome from Jenny at reception and that was the standard that was maintained throughout our stay. Some of the best seafood I have had the pleasure to eat. Great rooms. Good beach and pool. We were on the full board package and it was good value for money. You are unlikely to fund a better hotel on the island for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robinWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for your wonderful review for us on this forum.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay right from the warm welcome to the food to spacious and comfortable rooms to the great beach and pool of ours. We thank you for also listing the important fact that we do offer a great value experience. We honestly believe that Lux* Belle Mare offers a genuine and complete holiday experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,581
    453
    100
    35
    14
See reviews for
1,632
2,686
70
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare in May 2012.
It was our first time in Mauritius and followed the trip-advisor reviews to decide where to stay.
At the end the experience was pretty good: the hotel had recently been renovated, the personnel was very attentive and the beach very nice (even for a bit of snorkeling when the stream is not too strong).
The only area of improvement would be on the food. There are 3 main restaurants + the buffet and expected a bit more from the hotel in terms of choice and food quantity (and trust me, we are not big eaters!).

Oh! Too bad drinks are not included in the price....

Again, all in all highly recommended if you are looking for a week of relax without doing much which is what we hoped for :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrxavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for your review for us on this forum. We are glad that overall as a resort experience you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for recommending us to the future travellers. We have noted your concern on food and would like to assure you that we take every single feedback with utmost seriousness and will work on the same immediately. Infact, we continuously review our food and beverage offerings and while the offerings on food are very subjective, we try to offer the best options in terms of variety and quality to meet our guests' requirements. For guests looking to enjoy their drinks with pre-paid options; we do offer a very attractive All Inclusive meal plan as well and this allows the guests to enjoy beverages at the bar and with the meals throught their stay as per set guidelines.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing holiday with us and assuring you of a yet another wonderful experience.

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was traveling around the island for a week, going from place to place. I had booked the Lux Belle Mare for one night. After the first night (and day) I booked a second night because it was so nice. For example, the business area has three apple computers for guest's use. The rooms are immaculate, the location on the island's east coast is really special because you get the fresh trade winds. I really liked the breakfast - lots of choices including special indian dishes. Also have good 7-grain bread, which seems to be a scarce commodity in Mauritius. Will certainly return there on my next visit.

Greg from Nashville

Room Tip: The only negative is that the rooms don't have screens. This seems to be the case everywhere in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greg098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for your wonderful review for us on this forum. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned by you, you were going around the island visiting various resorts and the very fact that you chose to stay for an additional day with us means a lot to us. This fact simply reinforces our belief that the resort as a whole is indeed a very unique offering and the various features and facilities on offer like the Imacs in the reception area, the Cafe Lux* coffees, Ice creams at the ICI parlour and many more such treasures combine together to make a stay with us a complete experience for all our guests!

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings as well! We continually work on our food and beverage offerings and your feedback in this regard is a proof of the same! We thank you for your plan to visit and stay with us again on your next trip and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back home!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We landed back in the uk on monday 25th June after 7 wonderful nights at the Lux Belle Mare.

This place truly is like a paradise hideaway and I couldn't recommend it highly enough to anyone wanting a truly pampering time. The staff, the location, the standards are truly second to none. We will definitely return to this beautiful place in the years to come.

I need to mention a few things though for other people thinking of travelling here...

1.Despite newly refurbished junior suites being available - which are fantastic!! - (which we weren't aware of when we checked in) , we were given a rather dark and dated suite, until we found out from some other guests that there was far nicer suites available at no extra cost... we just needed to ask. We asked and the staff kindly moved us but we feel we should have been put in a newly refurbished suite at the very start. The Lux wasn't running at full capacity anyway so we were a little disappointed to know we were not initially offered the best junior suites available. It seemed a little unfair.

2. Be very careful about the extra charges as the package details aren't as clear as you would like. Milk shakes and fruit juice are not included...coffee at the cafe is only free before 10.30am... bbq on the beach on sat evening is extra.

3. The food at the Kitchen restaurant is not that good and the other two restaurants stick to the exact same menu all week which can prove to be a tad boring

4. If you check out late in the afternoon, bare in mind that after 1pm you have to pay for everything and this can prove to be very costly indeed. We didn't leave while 7pm and lunch was really expensive.

I think Lux Belle Mare should provide a sandwich bar that's free to guests 24/7 regardless of check out times. I think that's the least they could do to help you on your homeward journey.

That said, I couldn't praise it highly enough, it's a fabulous place to visit...Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: ask for a suite on the first or second floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donska18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team joins me in thanking you for your time to write a very valuable review for us here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the resort overall and you are already thinking of another stay with us in the near future! We have taken note of your comments and we will be working on the same with our team. The resort has several categories of rooms and based on the category booked, we allocate rooms to our guests. We endeavour in all circumstances to provide the best possible rooms for our guests and should a guest like to move to another room; based on the availabilities we do our best to meet the guests' requirements. We also offer a daily tour of the hotel wherein we explain to our guest the various features, facilities and services offered by the resort and all the chargeable and complimentary activities. We encourage all our guests to participate in the tour and even if any guest is not able to join in on the scheduled tour, we arrange a special tour for such guests. Some of the facilities are not included in the various meal plans and we explain these to our guests during the tour and through a letter placed in the rooms on arrival listing the entitilements. We shall be working on your feedback on food as well immediately. I would personally like to thank you once more for your feedback and for your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you home once again in the near future;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The service at Lux Belle Mare is exceptional. We stayed at the resort in the early days of May. My parents had a great time relaxing and unwinding.
The resort offers a lot of water sports that are fun to try. The staff at the resort is very polite and cordial. The beach and the gardens are very well looked after and the overall atmosphere at the resort is very relaxing and soothing.
We even visited a small island Ile Des Deux Cocos owned by LUX. It is a secluded island and a wonderful place to relax. They have exceptional rum on the island. Will be visiting again with friends. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxrt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare for the first time in June this year and were very impressed with the resort, standard of service and facilities provided. It is a beautiful resort - spacious, tranquil and peaceful. The decor is subtle but effective, grounds are very well maintained and clean. Our rooms were absolutely lovely - very spacious and clean. We had 2 ground floor adjoining junior suites with a large terrace that looked onto the koi pond and sea. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and fresh towel provided each time. The resort is set on a stunning white sand beach - very clean with crystal clear water. There was always plenty of space available on the beach with lots of sunbeds. We enjoyed the water sports offered by the hotel. Para-sailing and horse-riding were also great but came at an additional cost. The service was impeccable in all areas. Our holiday was made exceptional by the staff. Very friendly, attentive and helpful. Typical Mauritian hospitality, always greeted with a smile. We want to convey our special thanks to Ashish, Ravin, Jennifer, Vikram (the vanilla rum was very nice !!) to mention a few. The food was always excellent, breakfast was always our favourite. A special thanks to Chef Anil for sharing the recipe of the tasty "chilli chutney". A fantastic family holiday - we will definitely be coming back. Manku and Soor family

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms are must and on the ground floor sea facing are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Greetings of the day! Thank you for your wonderfully worded feedback for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that you enjoyed your stay immensely and we as a resort stood up to your expectations. Like described by you, the various features and facilities at the resort combined with the passion, simplicity and genuinity of our team members provides a complete holiday experience to all our guests. I thank you for listing some of the team members of ours and indeed like the names listed, every single team member at Lux* Belle Mare strives towards ensuring a wonderful holiday for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your home here in Mauritius;

Best regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Was very satisfied with service was traveling with a infant and my 2 yr old daughter
The hotel staff was very pleasing and ready for ne service 24/7
Liked the pool Area and the ici parlor. Was favourite. One thing which I can
Suggest is little bit more vareity in the menu. But on the whole
A very memorable experience . Will definatly come back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sudhirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare, Mauritius! Thank you for your wonderful feedback for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you liked the resort as a whole as also the special touches and features of ours which appeal to all guests of every age. We have well noted your feedback on the variety in menus and we will bring in some changes very soon as regards the same.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your home here in Mauritius;

Best regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,707 reviews
4.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,285 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing