We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,333)
Filter reviews
6,333 results
Traveler rating
5,654
518
110
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,654
518
110
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck laundryfood truckcoffee barrum shackmixe restauranttea houseashish modakkelly hoppenrolls roycemessage in a bottlebeach rouge restaurantice cream parlouramari by vineetour honeymoonevents managerspecial thanksjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
3,143 - 3,148 of 6,333 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare in May 2012.
It was our first time in Mauritius and followed the trip-advisor reviews to decide where to stay.
At the end the experience was pretty good: the hotel had recently been renovated, the personnel was very attentive and the beach very nice (even for a bit of snorkeling when the stream is not too strong).
The only area of improvement would be on the food. There are 3 main restaurants + the buffet and expected a bit more from the hotel in terms of choice and food quantity (and trust me, we are not big eaters!).

Oh! Too bad drinks are not included in the price....

Again, all in all highly recommended if you are looking for a week of relax without doing much which is what we hoped for :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrxavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for your review for us on this forum. We are glad that overall as a resort experience you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for recommending us to the future travellers. We have noted your concern on food and would like to assure you that we take every single feedback with utmost seriousness and will work on the same immediately. Infact, we continuously review our food and beverage offerings and while the offerings on food are very subjective, we try to offer the best options in terms of variety and quality to meet our guests' requirements. For guests looking to enjoy their drinks with pre-paid options; we do offer a very attractive All Inclusive meal plan as well and this allows the guests to enjoy beverages at the bar and with the meals throught their stay as per set guidelines.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing holiday with us and assuring you of a yet another wonderful experience.

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was traveling around the island for a week, going from place to place. I had booked the Lux Belle Mare for one night. After the first night (and day) I booked a second night because it was so nice. For example, the business area has three apple computers for guest's use. The rooms are immaculate, the location on the island's east coast is really special because you get the fresh trade winds. I really liked the breakfast - lots of choices including special indian dishes. Also have good 7-grain bread, which seems to be a scarce commodity in Mauritius. Will certainly return there on my next visit.

Greg from Nashville

Room Tip: The only negative is that the rooms don't have screens. This seems to be the case everywhere in Mauritius, and so it is hard to open the windows for fresh air because there are some mosquitoes. For some reason they prefer these scented repellent devices that you plug into an outlet, and I don't like the smell or concept. So ask for a third floor room, and you can open it right up and enjoy the fresh winds.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greg098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for your wonderful review for us on this forum. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned by you, you were going around the island visiting various resorts and the very fact that you chose to stay for an additional day with us means a lot to us. This fact simply reinforces our belief that the resort as a whole is indeed a very unique offering and the various features and facilities on offer like the Imacs in the reception area, the Cafe Lux* coffees, Ice creams at the ICI parlour and many more such treasures combine together to make a stay with us a complete experience for all our guests!

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings as well! We continually work on our food and beverage offerings and your feedback in this regard is a proof of the same! We thank you for your plan to visit and stay with us again on your next trip and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back home!

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We landed back in the uk on monday 25th June after 7 wonderful nights at the Lux Belle Mare.

This place truly is like a paradise hideaway and I couldn't recommend it highly enough to anyone wanting a truly pampering time. The staff, the location, the standards are truly second to none. We will definitely return to this beautiful place in the years to come.

I need to mention a few things though for other people thinking of travelling here...

1.Despite newly refurbished junior suites being available - which are fantastic!! - (which we weren't aware of when we checked in) , we were given a rather dark and dated suite, until we found out from some other guests that there was far nicer suites available at no extra cost... we just needed to ask. We asked and the staff kindly moved us but we feel we should have been put in a newly refurbished suite at the very start. The Lux wasn't running at full capacity anyway so we were a little disappointed to know we were not initially offered the best junior suites available. It seemed a little unfair.

2. Be very careful about the extra charges as the package details aren't as clear as you would like. Milk shakes and fruit juice are not included...coffee at the cafe is only free before 10.30am... bbq on the beach on sat evening is extra.

3. The food at the Kitchen restaurant is not that good and the other two restaurants stick to the exact same menu all week which can prove to be a tad boring

4. If you check out late in the afternoon, bare in mind that after 1pm you have to pay for everything and this can prove to be very costly indeed. We didn't leave while 7pm and lunch was really expensive.

I think Lux Belle Mare should provide a sandwich bar that's free to guests 24/7 regardless of check out times. I think that's the least they could do to help you on your homeward journey.

That said, I couldn't praise it highly enough, it's a fabulous place to visit...Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: ask for a suite on the first or second floor with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donska18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team joins me in thanking you for your time to write a very valuable review for us here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the resort overall and you are already thinking of another stay with us in the near future! We have taken note of your comments and we will be working on the same with our team. The resort has several categories of rooms and based on the category booked, we allocate rooms to our guests. We endeavour in all circumstances to provide the best possible rooms for our guests and should a guest like to move to another room; based on the availabilities we do our best to meet the guests' requirements. We also offer a daily tour of the hotel wherein we explain to our guest the various features, facilities and services offered by the resort and all the chargeable and complimentary activities. We encourage all our guests to participate in the tour and even if any guest is not able to join in on the scheduled tour, we arrange a special tour for such guests. Some of the facilities are not included in the various meal plans and we explain these to our guests during the tour and through a letter placed in the rooms on arrival listing the entitilements. We shall be working on your feedback on food as well immediately. I would personally like to thank you once more for your feedback and for your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you home once again in the near future;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The service at Lux Belle Mare is exceptional. We stayed at the resort in the early days of May. My parents had a great time relaxing and unwinding.
The resort offers a lot of water sports that are fun to try. The staff at the resort is very polite and cordial. The beach and the gardens are very well looked after and the overall atmosphere at the resort is very relaxing and soothing.
We even visited a small island Ile Des Deux Cocos owned by LUX. It is a secluded island and a wonderful place to relax. They have exceptional rum on the island. Will be visiting again with friends. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare for the first time in June this year and were very impressed with the resort, standard of service and facilities provided. It is a beautiful resort - spacious, tranquil and peaceful. The decor is subtle but effective, grounds are very well maintained and clean. Our rooms were absolutely lovely - very spacious and clean. We had 2 ground floor adjoining junior suites with a large terrace that looked onto the koi pond and sea. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and fresh towel provided each time. The resort is set on a stunning white sand beach - very clean with crystal clear water. There was always plenty of space available on the beach with lots of sunbeds. We enjoyed the water sports offered by the hotel. Para-sailing and horse-riding were also great but came at an additional cost. The service was impeccable in all areas. Our holiday was made exceptional by the staff. Very friendly, attentive and helpful. Typical Mauritian hospitality, always greeted with a smile. We want to convey our special thanks to Ashish, Ravin, Jennifer, Vikram (the vanilla rum was very nice !!) to mention a few. The food was always excellent, breakfast was always our favourite. A special thanks to Chef Anil for sharing the recipe of the tasty "chilli chutney". A fantastic family holiday - we will definitely be coming back. Manku and Soor family

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms are must and on the ground floor sea facing are the best
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drumysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Greetings of the day! Thank you for your wonderfully worded feedback for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that you enjoyed your stay immensely and we as a resort stood up to your expectations. Like described by you, the various features and facilities at the resort combined with the passion, simplicity and genuinity of our team members provides a complete holiday experience to all our guests. I thank you for listing some of the team members of ours and indeed like the names listed, every single team member at Lux* Belle Mare strives towards ensuring a wonderful holiday for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again to your home here in Mauritius;

Best regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews