We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,333)
Filter reviews
6,333 results
Traveler rating
5,654
518
110
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,654
518
110
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck laundryfood truckcoffee barrum shackmixe restauranttea houseashish modakkelly hoppenrolls roycemessage in a bottlebeach rouge restaurantice cream parlouramari by vineetour honeymoonevents managerspecial thanksjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
3,210 - 3,215 of 6,333 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our stay offered us more than we could ever have even imagined! Absolutely beautiful hotel area and interior, wonderful beach and for the most, very friendly and polite staff! When ever we wanted something to drink or eat, we could order those from the beach staff without having have to walk to the drink bar by ourselves. Our room was cleaned twice a day! We we're constantly asked and made sure that we feel ourselves comfortable and joyable. And the breakfast buffet - so much to choose that you go crazy!! We also enjoyed the atmosphere at nights and the beach restaurant offered us some memorable dining moments! We loved our stay and we do recommend this hotel to everyone looking for some luxurious peace and qiuet! Would go back there anytime, greetings from Finland!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PSiHeartTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights in february 2012 for our marriage anniversary. Our junior suite pool room was reallly beautiful, great terrace, private garden and ....the ocean with comfortable chaises longues on a white beach. Lux occupies the best part of the wide beach Belle Mare.
All the staff was very very kind and helpful, our room was not simply clean but decorated with flowers every day. The four restaurants are very well managed and offer a great variety of food. Courtesy and care of our needs was the leitmotif of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hottinger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare - your home here in Mauritius. The entire team here joins me in thanking you for your beautiful comment for us on Trip Advisor. May I thank you specially for listing the four major special features of the resort which make us unique and differentiate us from the others on the island. 1. The spacious and comfortable rooms. 2. The wide stretch of the white sandy beach; probably amongst the widest stretches of beach for any resort in Mauritius. 3. The wide variety of quality food and beverage offerings and 4. The very passionate and friendly team working with us. Each of the above play a very important role in making a great holiday for all our guests and we are glad you had a perfect holiday experience.

We look forward to wlecoming you again in the near future;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lux belle mare in february.
The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in calm neutrals. It smells continuously of fresh jasmine or such like, and has the air of calm. Rooms are big, and towels and sheets are changed every day- which i found rather extravagant due to the 'save water' sign in the bathrooms. Rooms all face the sea, but you cant actually see the sea from most rooms, as they are set back from the beach behind grassy area with tall palms.
We went with our two kids who were extremely well catered for. Nannies and creche for the youngest ones, beach volleyball, football organised every day for the older ones. There is also a games room , ping pong, tennis and a wii and tv room, and a cinema room which we only discovered on our last night! - not all of this was advertised on the website. In addition there is free waterskiing, windsurfing, sailing, glass bottom boat trips.
We really enjoyed the soft sell aproach of the hotel- nothing forced upon you. The staff were cheerful and respectful and well presented. They treated us extremely well.
There was different entertainment every night- a beach barbeque one night, with local dancers and flame throwers, market stalls and a band another night, open air cinema viewing another.
Boules, hammocks, draughts nestle in the shade of the palm trees off the beach for those quiet moments, and there's a fresh juice stall in the morning by the pool, which changes into an icecream parlour in the afternoons.

Local guys walk the beach selling bracelets/sarongs etc but they are not annoying. Also on the beach is Sam, who sells trips around the island, such as swimming with dolphins, or visiting the isle des Cerfs, both which we did, and I highly reccommend you use him. He will also arrange parasailing, and walking on the seabed in the bay of the hotel.
Take sea shoes if you have them- there are a few sea urchins around.

Even with all this going on, it is extremely relaxing, and you can do virtually nothing , undisturbed if thats what you're there for. The spa is exceptional. Best pampering ever!

Down side? Rather slow service at the bar. Thats all.

Room Tip: I would say the higher the better for the view, and you dont get people waking past and peering in.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! Thank you for a wonderful comment and an even more beautiful title to the feedback - "Holiday of a lifetime". We are really glad that you had a perfect holiday experience with us. We truly believe that Lux* Belle Mare is all about an experience and a journey for all our guests towards exploring something different and unique through the holiday. Our various offerings from the fruit juice bar to the Ice cream parlour, the open air cinemas to the entertainment performances, the screening of important sports events on a large screen to the beach dinners (all so nicely listed by you) are all aimed at providing moments for guests to cherish and remember their holiday for a long time. The team at the resort thanks you for kindly mentioning all of the above as also the passionate, friendly but professional apporach of theirs in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your home here in Mauritius;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were unexpecedly upgraded to a villa and this is a "blessing" because of their new deign. They are only 3 years old and this is "noticeable". The service is kind and attentive (butlers Kumar and Chadran especially) and the beach of the hotel is one of the best spots in Mauritius.
I recommend to hire the hotel limo to do an island excursion even for four hours. We paid 108 Euros for a brand new black WV Tuareg and the assistance and attention of their driver Navin who showed us around before taking us to the airport. Anyway the taxi fare to the airport could reach 55 Euros... so take advantage of this treat!! The only objection I can make is that there are many families with children (noise at the big pool and buffet restaurants) mainly from France during the half term holidays in the European schools.

Room Tip: Their new 12 villas is another hotel and the beach spot opposite a luxury
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moises1064230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare. Thank you for posting a wonderful review about your experience at the resort. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for listing the team members who made a difference to your experience at the resort. Like Kumar, Chandan and Navin, all of our team members are always keen to ensure a relaxing and memorable holiday for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your home here in Mauritius;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

What struck me was the enormeous warmth and friendliness by the staff at the hotel!
this without beeing afraid or too respectful, but with a sense of humour which was liberating!
This was the thing that stood out at a very well managed hotel indeed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mats O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team here joins me in thanking you for the beautiful comment of yours for us on Trip Advisor. We have always beleived that our team members at Lux* Belle Mare are our biggest strength and their passion, friendliness and sincere desire to delight every guest of ours is outstanding. Your note reinforces our belief.

The service combined with the very many beautiful features of the resort make a completely relaxing and rejuvenating holiday experience for all our guests and I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at your home here in Mauritius;

Sincerely,

Ashish

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews