We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$471
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$126
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
$300
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$548
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Eden Villa Hotel Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$81
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
$277
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orchid Villas Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$113
$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,222)
Filter reviews
6,222 results
Traveler rating
5,551
513
107
37
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,551
513
107
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduck laundryfood truckcoffee barrum shackmixe restauranttea houseashish modakkelly hoppenrolls roycemessage in a bottlebeach rouge restaurantice cream parlouramari by vineetour honeymoonevents managerspecial thanksjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
3,169 - 3,174 of 6,222 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife, 8 month old son and I just got back from a week at the Lux. We are going back! Overall we were very happy, though there are some areas they could improve. The strong points are the staff who are incredibly helpful, efficient and friendly. They are particularly fond of children and go out of their way to help providing high chairs and special food. The pool,with its gentle slope into deeper areas is very child friendly. There is plenty of room by the beach, chairs and shade.

The room we checked into was fine but a bit tired and dark, with heavy dark wooden furniture. It turns out the rooms are all being refurbished and made to feel much lighter and more contemporary. We were able to switch rooms after a couple of days and we were much more comfortable in the lighter, fresher feeling room. The conversion of all the rooms will be finished this year, we were told. The rooms are large with very well kept, large bathrooms, great housekeeping.

The food is good. Service in the restaurants can be slow at times but in general is efficient and friendly. We we thought that the food at L'Angoustier was the best. L'Indouchine also good, as was the beach restaurant. If you have food allergies, particularly nuts, be careful to explain clearly. We had a couple of issues. They put pesto on the pizzas and forgot to mention a peanut sauce on a vegetarian dish. They were very apologetic and it is something they try to address.

Overall, if you are expecting a slick US/European 5 star experience you might be frustrated. If you are happy with friendly helpful staff, great comfort around pool and beach and good food, particularly if you have children, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 10 days in Half board basis.
The interior and the exterior are very good, but the service level is very low.
There are no vegetables in breakfast, in the evening fruits finishes very fast.
Indoshine rest is very bad, meals are not tasty at all. Servants are very slow, and forget about ordered beverages. The cocktails in the bar are bad.
The entertainment in the hotel is very good, especially singer in the bar and local dance.
The hotel price is fare the service you get.
If you can better take villa because sound level in the room is high.
The beach is good because of lagoon which is super for children.

Room Tip: Take villa or room in the ground floor with little terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare. Thank you for your feedback for us on Trip Advisor. I thank you for your kind words on the exteriors and interiors of the resort as also the entertainment programme offered by us in the resort. I have also noted your comments on the food and service in the restaurants and bar. Our food and options offered in terms of variety and quality are usually very appreciated by all our guests; however your notes on the food options have been taken on board immediately. Our team members have always been our biggest assets but our service didn’t stand up to your expectations and we have taken corrective actions in this regard as well. We thank you for recommending the villas and the rooms as also the beach. I really do hope you will give us a chance of us being able to showcase the changes and standards with regards to food and service for the next stay of yours with us.

Warm regards from all of us at the resort,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Lux at Belle Mare is a wonderful place and I would best describe it as a "hybrid" resort - it offers the best of either a four-star or five-star(plus) property, depending on the accomodation you choose; if you stay in a regular room or even a Jr. Suite, it is a great four-star experience; if you stay in a Villa, it can be a fantastic and magnificent five-star (or greater) experience. As always in travel, you get what you pay for.
We stayed in a Villa called PARFUM EXOTIQUE and our stay was absolutely heavenly ! We didn't want to leave !
The villas are private and exclusive, set in a beautiful part of the resort at the quiet edge. The accomodations are extremely large, spacious and ultra-modern. The private garden and pool are something out of one's best dreams. The amenities of the room and the bathroom are superb. And regarding cleanliness, the rooms and grounds are immaculate !
The service throughout the resort is first class with an abundance of staff everywhere (and almost without exception, they are all so accomodating and charming); but the service at the villas is over the top ! The butler and his associates can never do enough for you. Our butler Kissun was intelligent, charming, ultra-polite and omnipresent. He took care of everything. My wife wanted to take him home with us !
The beach is one of the most beautiful in Mauritius (possibly anywhere) and the service by the attendants is superlative (Allen was terrific). Even the beach hawkers are pleasant, entertaining and nonobtrusive.
The food at the resort is variable. The gourmet restaurant Indouchine is good, but not great. The breakfasts are terrific and the Beach restaurant is excellent. The main Bar is perfect.
For a real treat, the BBQ night and Fire show at the beach is a must. The food was excellent and the show was spectacular. Worth every penny !
Security at the resort is very high, as is privacy in the villas section.
Special mention of the Rooms Manager Anatoly should be made. He was wonderful.
Our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgurudoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Wonderful place for a family vacation.Very good service.excellent staff all over Freidrich,Deepak,Sofie,Doreine,Roopesh just to name a few.Lots of nice and carefully planned activities to suit guests of all age groups.
Reservation seems to be a tricky issue as I faced a lot of difficulties with the travel agent Tam Tam tours which is supposed to be one of the best in Mauritius.I wish that the resort management could offer direct bookings at competitive rates.This would be an added advantage.
Would surely like to revisit.

Om Asthana New Delhi India

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Om A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December 2011 for 10 nights. We had actually booked into the Grand Mauritian and after the fire this hotel was one of the options we were given. it was absolutely incredible!
We were on an all inclusive package which I highly recommend so that you never have to worry about the cost of drinks etc. If not I would think you are probably in for R500 for lunch for 2 people per day.
The hotel is on the East coast and since we have been to Mauritius many times and usually stay in the north I would say that the east is definitely much windier. This does provide some relief from the heat but if you sit on open becah it can get crazy windy. Luckily the restaurant etc acted as a windbreaker.
Being on the east we loved that the drive from the airport was not through port Louis - as the December before we almost missed our plane as there was a traffic jam and a one hour drive took us 3 hours.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was incredible - great location within the hotel, great double balcony and if you can i would recommend this room. Some of the rooms have been renovated and are beautiful (a pure oasis of white). The service from the staff was outstanding - everyone runs circles around you and cannot do enough to make your stay fabulous.From the bartenders to the pool staff to the housekeeping staff - everyone is so friendly and goes out of their way.
The breakfasts were incredible with an amazing selection (especially of pastries etc). We travelled with our 2 year old son and the restauarnt staff would even wrap him some breakfast in a takeaway in case he got hungry at the beach. There is a smoothies and fresh fruit stand by the pool in the mornings which turned into an ice cream parlour in the afternoons which my son loved.
Lunch and dinners were great with many options of where to eat (the main restaurant has a great buffet).
What was great about the hotel was that whilst it was full - you never felt like it was. The pool which is amazing especially for children was never crowded and neither were the dining rooms.
The kids club was great - although our son was too young to go alone, we went with him and he really loved it.
The hotel is about a 10min walk away from the village of Belle Mare which was a nice afternoon walk to do some local shopping.
The only complaint is that the food for small children was not extensive. There should be more kiddies food on the buffet at all melas, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, fish fingers etc. We found at night there was a kiddies buffet but it was pretty limited to grilled fish / chicken.
To sum up - the best hotel we have stayed at in Mauritius (we were at Club Med the year before and its incomparable with this being far superior). We will defeinitely be back. A special thanks to Jilany and Suren.

Room Tip: If you can - go the Honeymoon suite - pure luxury!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KerriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews