We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$307
$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orchid Villas Mauritius(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$116
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/22
$443
$382
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
$314
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$353
$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
$467
$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,420)
Filter reviews
4,420 results
Traveler rating
2,694
1,227
358
91
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,694
1,227
358
91
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdolce vitacoral barla plagebeach restaurantindigo buffetdogs and catsboat tripthomson repfive islandsitalian restauranttwo weeksgreat holidaysea viewrum and cokea la carte restaurantssuperior roomall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 4,420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from a two week stay as a couple who have just turned 30. We flew with TUI on the dreamlinner premium economy. The flight took just over 11 and half hours and was very comfortable. We took off at 2.45 in the afternoon UK time and landed in mauritius about 5.30am local time. Mauritius is 3 hours behind us. The transfer was about an hour and we arrived at the Ambre hotel and spa at 8am.

We were greated warmly and was given a welcome cold drink and cold cloth. Check in was very quick and painless and we were shown to our room straight away.

Sadly this didn't happen to everyone. We travelled with an other couple who's room was not ready and will not be until 2pm this is a little a bit ridiculous when you have been awake for 24 hours, tired and just want to start your holiday you have to wait another 6 hours. The hotel does offer you to use the facilities at the fitness centre to shower and get changed if you wished which I did see some people do. I would suggest to just be prepared for it in case your room is not ready. Maybe pack a swimsuit in your hand luggage. Some other guests were really rude to the hotel staff and our friends did complain to TUI but they said it is in the terms and conditions that your room won't be ready until 3pm and there nothing they can do.

The Room.
I have read plenty of reviews before we came out here so I knew what to expect. Yes the room looks a little tired and needs referbing but it's was fine for us. Plenty of cupboard space to put our clothes. Mini bar stocked with sprite, coke, beer, milk for coffee and water. I don't drink coke so asked to change to diet and was done straight away. I then asked for another bottle of water and that also was given straight away. As park of the all inclusive we also had a some snacks two bags of cheesey skips crisps and two chocolate bars like mars bars. The bathroom had a musty smell when we first arrived but it went after a day. The bathroom comes with most things you need shampoo, conditioner amd shower gel. It also has face cloths and cotton buds. Our room cleaner was fabulous tam he was very friendly greeting us every morning checking we are happy with his hard work which we was and very grateful for his tip. We were in room 516.

Food.

Me and my partner really enjoyed the food. Breakfast was my favourite we got to choose from omelettes freshly made to order, eggs just how you like them even poached. All types of pastries. Fresh fruit. Cereals, the porridge was nice and creamy. Lunch I found to be a little samey but I was happy having pannis and salad or a wrap and fries on the beach. Once we went to the Italian for lunch which was nice but the service was slow so took a while but was worth it.

We ate at the Italian 4 times in the evening. The menu changes from week 1 and week 2. Both having pizza dishes freshly cooked in a pizza oven and pasta which was lovely.
Main buffet had theme nights each night I never had trouble finding something to eat. The deserts we're delish.

Drink.
Me and my partner aren't massive drinkers but we took advantage of the all inclusive. The beer is nice he said and I tired the white wine which was nice with a lemonade top. Cocktails and milkshakes were lovely.

Trips.

I thought in the welcome meeting the rep wasn't every informative like the other TUI welcome meetings I've been to around the world. She said about walking to the local town which we did it's about 3.5k each away. There's a few local shops for gifts.
As for trips we weren't sold them. Nor we're we made interested in buying any from TUI. We did however buy the 5 island trip from Chris on the beach who comes highly recommend on here and by a friend who has been here before. We were out all day on a boat visiting the 5 islands around the beautiful island of mauritius. We were also given food and lots of dark vanilla rum and coke. The trip costs 3000mur each or we was offered a private day for 16000mur but we chose the cheaper option.

We came to ambre at the beginning of June which is the start of there winter it rained pretty much everyday but not for long we had some days where it was overcast all day but we made our own fun.
There table tennis, bowls, even we found a free foosball table located upstairs where the Pc's are.

Dogs.

Yes there are many stray dogs at the resort. I saw the regular fury residents that are there everyday a little pack of 4. If you don't like dogs at all don't come here. I love animals so I had no problem with them at all nor did they bother people. I think of them to be little darlings and watching them play together was lovely.

I'd like to make a special mention of some members of staff the stood out to me. But if I am honest whereever I went in the resort someone always greated me with a morning, how are you? No-one I saw was miserable like some of the reviews I've read before coming out here.

Shirley - beach waitress she works so hard running back and forth.
Ravi - Italian restaurant- he was very attentive and getting us lots of drinks service was quick with him.
Nalini- in the main resturant she was always so nice remembering my partners drink she was very sweet.
Cheryl- pool bar so sweet.

There are so many people who have made our holiday one of the most chilled, stress free holiday we could ever ask for.

Overall I think this hotel is a 4*. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? yes I would definitely. Mauritius is a beautiful island and has beautiful people. Please Don't listen to some of the negative reviews that some narrow minded people have put on here. I find if you are rude to people I would expect to be treated like that back.

Thanks ambre for a fab holiday and memories xxxx

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
7  Thank lisaannwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the beautiful Ambre Resort Mauritius!

At Ambre, we follow our vision which simply says - "We make each moment matter". The team truly believes in making every moment special for our guests and I am glad that the thoughtfulness of the team members and the service standards of the resort stood out for you during your stay with us. I have shared your review with the team and all of us are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest.

All of us look forward to welcoming you back soon for a yet another wonderful holiday!

Sincerely,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happy and friendly but lazy staff, badly organised or not trained properly
Few examples :
Breakfast bar- cofee served after 10 to 20 minutes (when you leaving) , no rush.
If you come late lets say 10am(breakfast served till 10:30) coffee machines are broken everyday if you order cappuccino.
If you like coffe late must pay Extra
Italian restaurant :
If you request different table lets say with sea wiew instead of exit doot view, waitress got angry and will show that to you during your visit (I would like to say hello to waitress Wendy).
Once we have been waiting 52 minutes during lunch time to get pasta! , restaurant not fully occupied, maybe 6 couples inside.
When we decided to leave, they followed us saying 5 more minutes.
We visited Italian restaurant 4 times and only once service was on correct level thanks to waiter Ravi, he is great.
If you wish to visit other a la catre restaurant gues what, must pay extra.
All standard alkohols like Johny walker, smirnoff vodka etc, guess what, must pay extra. (Arround 550 rupees, 11 pouds, and that is what they call happy hour price.
Even if you wish to try local rum, must pay extra.
Selection of alcohol is limited.
The good side of the hotel is the beach and non motorised water spots, all included, no extra cost.
Service at the beach horrible, waiter passing you and pretending to do not see you , will come to you only if you call him few times, waiting time for drinks-dont ask.
Not 4 star hotel, dated room interiors ,
Mauritius is a popular destination, they do not need to worry abut customers and they not. 2 weeks in 3 star hotel just ended

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Rafal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ambre Resort Mauritius.

We regret to learn of your experience in Mauritius.

We do take note of these comments and reassure you that preventive and corrective actions will be taken in order to avoid recurrence of such “unusual” incidents.

However, we wish to inform you that as an all-inclusive resort, we have a large variety of local or locally bottled beverages that are included in the package which includes, water, juice, milkshake, cocktails with or without alcohol, spirits, rum, South African wines, tea and coffee and only the premium items are available with supplement. The beach restaurant is not part of the all-inclusive package as the dishes are available with supplement, however, the drinks from the all-inclusive beverage package can surely be ordered there under the same all-inclusive conditions as the other 2 restaurants.

It is our every intention to provide an excellent service to all our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us in case you will decide to have another experience with us.

We remain available for any assistance you might require.

Sincerely,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

-A great resort where you are assigned an customer liaison person whom you can contact for any/all your needs/requirements.
-Food was scrumptious throughout our 7 night stay
-Full board is the best way to go and is value for money
-Inclusive activities/water sports meets most people's needs
-plenty of entertainment in the night to take you through the early hours of the morning
-plenty of non-sport activities throughout the day
-full on Spa - our massages was OK nothing to shout about. Jacuzzi and steam room were great though.

-Only problem for me was that beer/alcohol was only available after 10am - I enjoy beer with my breakfast when on holiday, which I expected in this over 18s resort.

Room Tip: Their sea facing rooms are excellent and very roomy and spacious (the garden facing rooms are much smaller)
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank MukeshRamjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an fantastic time at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful hotel in Mauritius. Staff are very helpful & friendly. The Italian resturant is lovely, Staff were very friendly. The food was excellent. If i had only one thing to say it would be after a 12 hour flight over night and arriving at the the hotel, It was not very well organised. Having to wait nearly an hour to get into our room was a little mind blowing. so many staff but no organisation anywhere.They had given our envelope to another couple. Apart from that a lovely relaxing time at this hotel. The staff are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: sea view room
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAUGHLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ambre Resort Mauritius!

Thank you so much for sharing your nice relaxing holiday review for us. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and that the resort created several memories for both of you to remember us for years to come.

Sincerely,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I complained several times to the hotel management about poor service at the main bar (waiting 30 mins for a drink in low season is unacceptable). Complaints should be dealt with accordingly with long term solutions (ie having more than 1 bar staff behind the bar), however, by the next day after the complaint, service was back to the same tedious long waits - not what you want on holiday. The bar staff behind the bar cannot keep up with the orders, and it is standard practice for them to accept drink orders and then tell you to take a seat - this is fine if it works, but useless if they forget the order which happened on numerous occasions. No complaints about the bar staff serving drinks though - Cheryl is lovely!

Secondly, there was a big commotion near the beach where one of the beach sellers (who are not part of the hotel) was about to throw a rock at one of the friendly dogs whilst on the hotel property. Some of the hotel guests intervened and the beach seller then got extremely aggressive and started swearing at the hotel guests, all whilst the hotel management just stood there and did nothing. This was disappointing to witness and shows that Ambre management does not care about their guests. I was gobsmacked to see that the hotel staff did nothing about this situation, the least I would’ve expected was for security to be called to sort out the situation and remove the abusive beach sellers off the hotel property.

In terms of the positives:
- Good choice of food for carnivores, and requests are generally well received. Ambre does, however, need to improve it’s food offerings to vegetarian guests.
- hotel grounds are well kept, and I had very nice conservations with Sailen who works tirelessly to keep the grounds maintained.
- excellent housekeeping staff, and the rooms are cleaned to a high standard. Nirmala, our housekeeper, was fantastic!
- Ravi and Nalini in the main buffet restaurant are very engaging with guests and help to create a fun dining experience.

This is my 8th time to Mauritius in as many years, but this is most definitely my first and last time at Ambre. The hotel is in dire need of a renovation, and the all inclusive package is very limited for Mauritian standards - I’ve never had to pay for ice cream during the day on previous visits to the island, but of course Ambre charge you, in addition to only allowing use of the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room if you book a spa treatment. Your money is better spent at a quality 4 star resort such as Tamassa or the nearby 5 star Lux Belle Mare. Overall I would rate Ambre as a 3 star, and I hope some of the feedback above will result in actions to improve the hotel for future guests who have already booked.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Mits10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen C, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our resort.

Please rest assured these outlined points have been already discussed with all top management members in order to "re-work" the staff planning at the main bar in order to facilitate and ease the service at the Coral Bar.

We also wish to inform you that we always value our guests and with regards to the incident you mentioned, we wish to inform you that management was at the spot to assist and intervened in an orderly manner, which calmed the situation.

On the other hand, we glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and for your recognizing those who had the privilege in being at your service.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your faith in our resort.

With our best regards,

Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews