We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and facilities”
Review of Ambre Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambre Mauritius
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We returned 14 Feb from one week at the Ambre. We would recommend this hotel, the staff were fantastic - too many to mention but the food and beverage Manager was excellent (sorry do not remember name but he always remembered ours ) - but all the managers were out and talking to guests and leading by example. I have stayed at many hotels in MRU - the last time just next door and this is by far and away the best. The food was great, it had a good selection and was of a high quality. The staff in the bar worked hard, yes you had to wait 5 mins sometimes for the drink but the staff never stopped and you are on holiday. The beach was lovely and you are spoilt with beautiful swimming pools. If I had one area for improvement it would be the cleaning of the room - (all the communal areas were spotless) - it is not quite as good as it could be - dont get me wrong I would definitely return and I am recommending to others but I have stayed in hotels who do this much better - i.e. the floors still got sand on when cleaning just finished. This is a very minor point which could be improved but overall a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: we did not book a sea view room as others recommended and enjoyed our holiday just as much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience after sojourning at Ambre Hotel Mauritius.

We are delighted to know that your stay was a successful one and your suitcase was filled with memories from Ambre hotel on your departure day.
We will surely convey your regards to Mr.Puttee , our Food and Beverage Manager.
Indeed he is a gentleman.

Your comments are vital to us. We thank you for the little highlights.
The following issues has been discussed to the department concerned in order to avoid such future niggles.

We wish to reiterate our thanks to your for having chosen our hotel for your holidays and we look forward to the plesaure of welcoming you back home very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Incredible destination in Mauritius. Service, food and accommodation were outstanding. I will definitely return. I also went on a memorable cruise with Chris, a local tour operator that works off the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajmeyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holidays and that all the facilities and services were to your convenience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for a memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Ambre and have nothing but praise for the hotel, staff and food!
We had a standard room, ground floor (703), view across the grass to the sea was quite beautiful to open the curtains every morning too. Standard of housekeeping for our room was excellent and mini bar topped up daily. The Coral bar was nice place to relax during the day and at night. The pool, beach and gardens were all well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Food in restaurants was all wonderful, we particularly enjoyed eating at the beach restaurant and Indigo. Dolce Vitta was ok, but wasn't our favourite. The choice of food was huge, I particularly liked the vegetarian and Indian choices. The little desserts were lovely and choice of fresh fruit at all sittings available. All inclusive really covers everything, but if you want green tea or cappuccino then it's extra! I definitely think that green tea should included in the AI though. Something to think about... Management.

The staff presented themselves in a very friendly, courteous and professional manner. We felt welcomed and special by everyone, have to give a special 'Thank You' to Yousef, Neilish from Coral bar for looking after us so well and spoiling me! Sweetie and Wendy from Indigo, reception staff for letting us have our room check out and all inclusive extended. Our room house keeper, (didn't get his name) and the chap who topped up our minibar each day!!

It may be a 4star hotel, but food, service, amenities and staff make it 5 stars. We'll definitely be back, just not sure when!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Zakkers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time afforded to share your expereience of staying at Ambre on Trip Advisor.

Your feedbacks are vital to us as it helps in improving our service and motivates our team members to give their best.

We are delighted to know that we were able to "blow you away" with the little acts of kidnness which ultimately gave you something extra in your suitcase back home... Memories to cherish...

We wish to reiterate our thanks to you for having chosen Ambre Resort & Spa.
To the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our recent 10 night stay would have been perfect had the, mostly very high, standard of the service in the dining rooms been consistent. On several occasions our drinks orders in the Indigo restaurant were not delivered until we had almost finished eating & our starter plates were not cleared when we returned with our main courses - we do wait a reasonable period between courses!

When I complained about a glass of red wine which was running with condensation because the wine was so cold I was told by the head waiter in the Dolce Vita that the temperature was appropriate for the ambient conditions. I told him that I, as the customer, disagreed & wanted to drink that particular red at room temperature - I was given a different glass of warmer wine.

Room Tip: Some superior rooms do not have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time afforded to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We would like to extend our apologies for the glitches occured during your stay.

Appropriate measures will be taken so that theses kind of situations are not produced again.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for having chosen our resort for your holidays and look forward to welcoming you back for a "perfect" holiday.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent a week on our honeymoon at Ambre and had just the best experience ever! The property is absolutely beautiful and soothing for a relaxed holiday. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. From what we've learnt, compared to the other resorts in Mauritius, this one stands out. The full inclusive package is ideal, takes care of pretty much everything and you hardly have any expenditure outside of it, the only thing you might spend on is sight-seeing travel & souvenirs. The property is just beautiful, I've already said that but it's got one of the best views and worth every penny. If you're going to Mauritius, you must stay here. They have multiple restaurants to dine at, entertainment programs almost every evening, excellent pool, great water sports and the best beach side view. Even though the check out time is 12 pm, if you need to stay longer, you could hang out in the property itself and they would give you a shower room (a regular guest room) to use just before you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avinashsmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time afforded to share your experience of sojourning at Ambre Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are vital to us. For it helps in improving our service level and ultimately lead to the success of the company.

We wish to reiterate our thanks to you for having put your trust in us.

The whole team looks forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future for another memorable sojourn.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a relaxing very happy fortnight here. I was thrilled that snorkelling, pedaloes and sailing was included in our All Inclusive. This package was such good value and we didn't have to wear any nasty rubbery bracelets, the staff were already informed which guests were on what package, very efficient.
We travelled with Kuoni and their rep Natacha was one of the best we'v come across.
The food was superb all very fresh fantastic salads and veggie food for me and plenty of meat for my husband. Our room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The staff were courteous and friendly.
The only improvement I would make is to notify guests that they need to book for the Beach or Italian restaurant. We just turned up one evening and although the staff were lovely it was a little embarrassing.
Overall thank you Ambre and hopefully we'll be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dentist4Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your valuable comments on this famous social engine.

It feels immense pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your holiday and it was a memorable one.

Your warm note will surely be cascaded among the team members which will help boosting their spirit in providing better service to our guests.

The whole team looks forward with great joy to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Beautiful beach, lovely room, helpful staff.
Had a slight issue with some staff at Coral Bar, dealt with by the manager quickly and without fuss - although the young ladies who worked there were fantastic, always smiling and extremely efficient!
The staff at the main restaurant were always attentive and happy to help, Souky, thank you so very much for your superb service and the invaluable information you gave in regards the places we wished to visit.
Our meal at the Italian Restaurant was top notch, many thanks to the chef, who personally enquired as to whether we had enjoyed our meal and that everything was to our satisfaction.
We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the Ambre and cant wait to return!
Please pass on our thanks and best wishes to all the staff, from our room attendant Bheesek, to the wonderful ground staff, who always kept the grounds clean and beautifully kept.
We cant wait to see you all next year!
Next time we will be staying much longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JulieM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guests

We thank you for choosing our resort and for the time taken to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very important in improving and providing better service to our guests.

However , we would like to extend our apologies for the niggles that could have disturb your stay with us, but appreciate the fact that it was solved quickly and efficiently which helped in making your stay a memorable one at the end.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,888 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,632 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,702 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Mauritius

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $253 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ambre Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing