We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - Book it!!”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went to The Ambre Hotel in September 2013 and it was amazing! The hotel itself is breathtaking from the first time you walk in to the Reception area and see the view all the way down the to indian ocean.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two weeks and loved it, the food is lovely with one main buffet restaurant with chef's preparing different fresh bits every night like nan bread's and amazing currys! There is also two Al a Carte Restaurants which you can go in as many times as you like as long as you book in (not like some hotels where you can only go in once or twice)! My favourite restaurant was the Al a Carte one down on the beach, which was right by the ocean and had flame torches with lovely food - very romantic!!

The only thing I was disappointed with was our room, no view, quite small but was clean and okay. A couple we met said they tried to put them in one of these rooms too but they made such a fuss they moved them, we had already unpacked so we didn't bother.

I am pleased to see that they have now changed this to a adults only hotel as on our second week the hotel was overrun with children! Which did change the relaxing atmosphere slightly - Cannot wait to go back now there will be no kids running around!

To sum it up...the beach, sea, pool, bar, staff, surroundings, spa and food are all great! If you are thinking of booking this hotel - don't hesitate, I guarentee you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Valued guests,

Thank you for the time taken to drop down such wonderful words on this Search Engine.

Its indeed a matter of great privilege learning that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the effort done is making your sojourn a comfortable one although you have had some niggles to which we sincerely apologize.

Thank you over again for appreciating our new concept “Adults Only”. This will surely act as a great source of motivation in providing the best in coming days.

We look forward to welcome your for a second time for new discoveries.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,872)
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,980 - 1,986 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I come back for the second time in Ambre Hotel alone and everything it was very special and I never felt alone!! Ambre Hotel is a magic and beautiful place.
I love all people who work there.
At the reception the staff is very professional, educated and always smiling.
At the Indigo restaurant every evening I had a good dinner with special Mauritian food and the staff of the restaurant is very kind!
At the Coral Bar I have always had a special cocktail thanks to Yousouf, good and nice barman, but all staff of the Coral Bar is very professional!!

I spent my winter holiday from 27 december to 5 january and so I could celebrate the end of year in this wonderful place.
The show on 31 December it was amazing and very special: excellent presentation of Oli Tamby, talented dancers and beautiful fireworks on the sea!!!
Everything it was magic thanks to the guys of the sport team (Olivier Lara, Brian, Anoushka, Ram and nice lifeguard Sangeeta), thanks also to Danilo, good DJ, to Desire, incredible dancer and thanks to all those who have made me feel good in their company!!!
The team of Ambre Hotel is really excellent team!!
The General Manager Alessandro Schenone has done a very good job and I will be very happy to come back again if I will find all guys of this team!!

About the rooms: superior room in sea view is very wonderful ….. every morning was a pleasure to open the window and see a beautiful landscape, the sea, the sun and the silence of nature!!!
Room always clean, towels are changed every day and the staff cleaning is always helpful and polite!!!

Ambre ..... what else!!!

THANKS to everybody and we see soon, very soon!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet close to the gym even if are a bit far from the reception, but walk a litt...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elisabetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Ms. Elisabetta,

Thank you for the time taken to share such marvelous words for us about your stay on Trip Advisor.

As it has always been said “Life’s most beautiful thing are not seen with the eyes, but felt with the heart”.

We cannot thank you enough for such selected words used to describe your repeated visit on our shores. We feel proud to have you as our ambassador encouraging and inspiring our future visitors to experience this uniqueness.

Your words will be certainly cascaded to the team and this will certainly act as a great source of motivation for us to continue the good job with the same level of spirit.

The whole team looks forward to welcome you back home for another wonderful sojourn.

Should you wish to write us personally please feel free to contact us on: info@ambre.mu.

Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Ambre is in an excellent location decorated in fresh colours and open spaces. Food is fantastic and service very good. Staff helpful and generally havr a happy approach to guests.Spa treatments and romantic dinners on the beach can be arranged , lovely setting. Really loved my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Valued Guests,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your summer vacations and for your lovely comments on this search engine.

The message will be cascaded to the team accordingly.

Should you wish to write to us personally please feel free to contact us on : info@ambre.mu

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel had a good location on the east coast backing onto the white sand and beautiful blue ocean. The room was very spacious and always clean. We found it very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The food was good and there was a nice variety especially a favourite was being able to have the BBQ on the beach every lunchtime really made you feel in paradise. The restaurants were nice we especially liked the Italian however as per most of the hotel the service was a little hit and miss. Sometimes the staff were there whenever you needed and other times you couldnt find anyone to serve you.
An added bonus was being able to play the golf course for free down at Le Tousserrok which was an enjoyable experience and the island was very safe to walk around and explore.
Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and would go back to the hotel if the deal was good!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra big space and walk in shower
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holiday escape and for the time taken to write about your lovely experience on our shores.

We are delighted to learn our services and location made you feel the fragrance of paradise.

On the other hand we would like to extend our profuse apology for the little hiccup occurred.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for your comments and for sojourning with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon on our shores.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two weeks "all inclusive" at the Ambre and we had a lovely time. It didn't start out perfectly though, because the room we were allocated did not have even a Juliet balcony, only a window. We had asked for a sea view but although we could see the sea, it was obscured by two support pillars just outside, either side the window. As we'd paid a considerable amount extra for the sea view, we asked to be moved. Ankush (Guest Relations Manager) said he would do his best to find us another room, and although it took a day or two he was as good as his word and we were moved to a lovely room on the ground floor near the beach restaurant and bar.
The pool area was really nice and we were generally able to get a couple of sunbeds around the pool most days although sometimes we ended up on the beach on the days we were late risers.
The staff in the resort were really friendly and the food in the restaurants was varied and plentiful. There is a distinct Indian theme to the food which was fine with me, but there was a good choice of other dishes to suit most tastes.
We took a walk along the road to Belle Mare and then walked back along the beach. It was a weekend so there were lots of locals enjoying the weather with their families. All the beaches in Mauritius are public beaches, which we think is as it should be!
We had a day trip around the north of the island and visited Port Louis which is really worth a look. Earlier in the week we booked a tour of the south of the island visiting the volcano and various other attractions. Lunch was included at a lovely hillside restaurant where Prince Edward had visited.
All in all it was a very relaxing holiday but, and there is always a but! The thing that really irritated, not just us, but a lot of the other guests, was having to sign for everything, even though we were all inclusive. The management apparently said it was for stock control, but from a guest perspective, it was a nuisance having to attract someones attention every time to sign a bill amounting to zero!! Sometime if you forgot to sign you would be pursued by one of the staff with the bill to sign. All the bill signing seems to achieve in essence, is to slow down customer service, especially at the bars. Having said that, all the staff worked really hard despite this cumbersome piece of admin.
I think the management are aware of this "signing for everything" issue and hopefully it will be addressed.
Grumble over! We really enjoyed the holiday and would possibly return to the Ambre if there weren't so many other wonderful places on our list.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Most rooms have a Juliet balcony with a full length patio door, although some hav...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LeedsTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, The Management at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

New Year Greetings from Ambre Team!

We thank you for the time taken to write about your holiday experience at our resort.

It’s always a pleasure knowing that our guests enjoyed their sojourn and our services were to their expectations.

However, we have well noted the little glitch you mentioned about. Please rest assured corrective measures will be taken accordingly.

We wish to reiterate our thanks for having chosen our hotel and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you on our shores in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

4* Hotel with min. 5* Service. excellent spot, beach, pool and Food. Perfect for Golfers, as Le Tousserok Golf Courseis free of Charge incl. shuttle Service. Spa facilties also excellent...all over HIGHLY RECOMMENDED..

Room Tip: Standard Rooms not automatically facing seaside. check for a room, whis not too Close to coral bar...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miracolimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambre H, Executive Assistant Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for having rated us on Trip Advisor and wish to express our most profuse apologies for our belated reply.

We are so delighted to be made aware that your experience at Ambre has been a positive one and we look forward to the soonest opportunity of welcoming back to our littie paradise.

Sincerely,
Rajen Canniah
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our dream wedding on the beautiful beach at Ambre resort on the 13th of December 2013 and it was stress free. Ankush (client relationship manager) and the staff went out of their way to arrange everything (we even requested a red velvet wedding cake) and truly made it the most special day ever! We stayed in the superior room which is definitely worth it as it is very spacious and has a spectacular view of the beach. The resort is very exquisite and there is plenty of space to lie by the pool and the beach. The infinity pool with the view of the sea truly creates the feeling of paradise. The food and cocktails were amazing with so many choices, the all-inclusive package is the way to go. The staff were friendly and helpful. Ambre has a great atmosphere and there was entertainment each evening. We did daily snorkeling from Ambre and also did the following excursions through Summertimes ( travel agent) - Aqua walk where you walk at the bottom of the sea and the catamaran cruise to a waterfall with lots of snorkeling in the turquoise water and exploring ill aux Cerfs ( small island). The excursions were of a high quality and I will recommend it to anyone. Ambre has it all, from relaxing to being active. We are already planning on our next return....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
11  Thank Jaurdine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,630 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,794 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $309 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing