We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled value for money!”
Review of Ambre Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambre Mauritius
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just come back from a 7-night stay at Ambre hotel and we are still overwhelmed at how wonderful the trip was. You'll experience 5-star service at this breath-taking 4-star hotel, that is consistent throughout your stay. From the reception to the lady handing out towels on the beach, each person took special care to meet our needs and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was absolutely outstanding! An enormous selection of tastes and flavours at the breakfast and dinner buffet tables that included exotic dishes as well traditional dishes such as good 'ol roast chicken.

Ambre overlooks a little bay that is very sheltered from the wind - this was important. The activities by the boat house were great. We kayaked, learned to windsurf, went on the peddle boat and snorkeled from the glass bottom boat. The team on hand is super efficient and friendly.

The amenities are spectacular. The eternity pool has a number of different levels and sections, there are 3 different restaurants so you never get board, and there's even a fun games room where you can play table tennis, pool and foosball. The night entertainment was really fun and light hearted. I have stayed at many hotels and this one outshines them all. If we return to Mauritius I won't even think twice about coming back to Ambre.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is such that whichever room you get, it'll be peaceful and you'll re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed and most positive comments relative to your recent stay at Ambre!

Your feedback is most encouraging in our quest for quality and highest service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not-too-distant future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,175 - 2,181 of 3,989 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in May, check in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our room by a friendly receptionist. Room just as described in the brochure, clean fresh and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony which was great to chill out after a day at the pool. The service in all areas is exceptional with friendly and efficient staff. Food is good with plenty of choice at all meals, very impressed with the fresh fruit offer at breakfast. The bar is comfortable with plenty seats and a good atmosphere.
Plenty sun beds both on the beach and round the pool.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, but on all inclusive as the bar prices are steep.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony request this when booking and most 1st floor rooms only have a window, or terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guests,

We wish to extend our heartfelt thanks for choosing Ambre for your stay and for the time taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to read that we have been able to exceed your expectations and that we have been able to make your stay a memorable one!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our great hotel!!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just spent a week at the Ambre with my mum. The check in left a bit to be desired, they know you're coming so why it takes forever to hand over the keys and get you to the room I can't imagine. Once you are beyond that there really is nothing to complain about. Lovely room, steps from the beach. Lovely food plenty of selection. We were on an all inc package. Everywhere was clean and everyone was helpful and friendly. There are lots of activities if you want to join in. Rented a car from the desk in the hotel very helpful and easy. Drove to pamplemouse gardens and sugar plantation. Port Louise, then up go Grand Bay and round the N.E coat to hotel Beautiful.

Room Tip: I did e-mail and ask for a ground floor room close to facilities, because I've had 2 hip replace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobloggslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for sharing your comments relative to your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We take note with great care your feedback pertaining the check-in formalities and extend our apologies for the inconvenience encountered and would like to thank you for the opportunity offered to welcome you in our resort.

Looking forward to the soonest opportunity for another experience amongst us.

With our sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had booked Ambre Hotel for a 4 night stay with family from 11th May to 15th May. The brand new look of Ambre was praiseworthy. The stay was excellent with all the facilities upto the mark. The swimming pool and the adjacent area layout was excellent. Well maintained private beach, kids play area and lawns. Overall excellent holiday experience

Room Tip: try to book a room near the reception, as many rooms are spread far on both sides of the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navkarritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Ambre and really appreciate the opportunity offered to welcome you in our resort as well as to read your good comments on our property and facilities offered.

Looking forward to the soonest opportunity to welcoming you back to our shores.

With our sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the time we arrived at Ambre Hotel we were greeted with friendly, professional and courteous staff. The hotel is spotless and the room comfortable and modern. The food was simply superb with curries to die for (especially for my vegetarian husband)! The facilities were simply wonderful and on more than one occasion I heard children that were behaving badly being threatened by their parents that they would NOT be allowed to go to the kid's club - VERY good sign for the kid's club as the children must have been having a blast! Our toddler was treated with patiece all the time and all the staff are so incredibvly kind to all the kids. The pools were simply wonderful with enough space that guests were not on top of each other. The beach was absolutely lovely and right on our doorstop which was too lovely. I work in a 5 star hotel myself and have to say that Ambre hotel is of 5 star quality in my books. Such a fabulous family holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COB1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks for sharing your most positive comments pertaining our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments have been shared with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another Wonderful Family Holiday in a not too far future!

With our kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Thanks once again to Tripadvisor postings - Ambre became my hotel of choice due to your positive reviews. This was our third visit to Mauritius - staying at different hotels around the island. We recently returned from a wonderful vacation after spending a relaxing seven days (11 -18 May 2013) at the Ambre Hotel. We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and immediately fell in love with the entrance view of the hotel - which just creates a magical ambience. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, modern, and clean. Every morning and evening you are greeted with a wide variety of dishes to suit every tastebud. The buffet in the evening was divine - and I need to share that every dish served is absolutely delicious. The one thing that really stood out for my husband and I was the friendliness of all staff. NOTHING was ever too much to ask or do. The staff almost felt like family after a few days. Most of all - I loved the fact that I could swim in the lagoon (no coral - just sand) near the beach bar every day. Ambre comes highly, highly recommended to anyone contemplating on a hotel situated on the East side of one of my favourite holiday destinations in the world - Mauritius.

Room Tip: Room 518 on the first floor - lovely view and quite a distance from the disco music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theroncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your most positive review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We are delighted that you had wonderful times at Ambre and that you enjoyed all our services. Your great comments will be passed on to our hotel staff.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back in our piece of paradise!

With our sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went to Ambre April 2013 and it was fantastic! The weather was wonderful, the resort was clean & organised. The day we arrived was absolutlely amazing, when we walked into the reception area at the resort it felt like we'd entered paradise! We took the 'All Inclusive' package and I would suggest you take this option - especially if you have kids (it costs a little extra before you leave on your trip but its value for money - definitely the way to go)! We went on the Under Sea Walk, also a fantastic experience - the hotel will arrange this for you! Our rooms were clean, modern and had everything we need. We had adoining rooms a 5 minute walk from the reception/entertainment area and this worked well for us. We had a sea facing, ground floor room. We would definitley go back to Ambre!

Room Tip: We had adoining rooms a 5 minute walk from the reception/entertainment area and this worked well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor which we have shared with great pleasure with our team.

We are very delighted to take note of your overall satisfaction with regards to the services and facilities offered at Ambre.

Looking forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to our shores.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,791 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,554 reviews
19.3 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Mauritius

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $276 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambre Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing