We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Ambre Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just stayed 14 nights all inclusive with our 10 & 6 year old. Difficult to pinpoint indivual members of staff as all first class. Nightly entertainment was excellent with Olivier doing his best to keep as varied as possible. My one negative would be poor wifi which is nothing in the scheme of things. Not having to dress up for dinner fantastic. Everyone really tries so good on you all. Have never written one of these people but felt compelled from such as good stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for having chosen Ambre for the 2 weeks stay with the kids and we are delighted to be made aware that your overall experience was to your enjoyment.

On the other hand, we thank you for your comment regarding the WIFI and rest assured that after having read your comment, we have referred this issue to the competent stakeholder for immediate corrective measures.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,166 - 2,172 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Difficult to really see how our holiday could have been better at the Ambre - Great hotel, excellent food and truly truly lovely people. We stayed all inclusive for 14 nights and didn't have a bad one! Look out for Suren at the Indigo, he will make every evening a special occasion for you with the level of service he offers. Find Sunny on the beach and your holiday will be complete - he can't do enough for you, bottles of sparking wine and fresh tropical fruits served on the beach right to your sunbed - wow. Will be back next year and the year after that........

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging compliments pertaining your recent 2 weeks experience at our resort.

We are delighted to be made aware that the facilities, food, coupled with the extremely serviable team members, who have contributed to your delights!

Your compliments about Suren and Sunny will be shared with them.

We shall certainly be looking forward to welcoming you back next year for another one-of-a-kind experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

.. What a wonderful experience we had while staying at the Ambre for 10 days in March. The rooms are spacious and well serviced. The service levels are high and nothing was too much of a problem. Hats off to Alessandro Schenone and his assistant Tina and their team for a really well run hotel - this team have really got it right. Also enjoyed the shuttle to Ille aux Cerf. Will definately return to the Ambre.

Room Tip: sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Ambre resort.

We are glad to read that the rooms and the level of service provided were to your utmost satisfaction.

We are eager to read about your renewed stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My honeymoon in this awesome romantic hotel was an affair to remember forever... The ambience, the food, the room, the view, the service, the staff....everything has etched itself in our memory. We (my hubby & I) have already planned to revisit on our 10th anniversary this time with kids in tow :P

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We are delighted to read for having been able to make your Honeymoon stay at our resort into a wonderful recall!

The fun memories about the ambiance, food, service and our friendly team have contributed to your romantic stay and we shall certainly be pleased to mark your intended 10th anniversary with kids for a feastful stay at our shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed every minute of the greatest holiday ever. Food, service, rooms, heaps to do and friendly staff all helped to make our stay so memorable. We would love to return. Keep up the good work. From the Perry family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perryzoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your positive comment related to your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We are delighted to read that our food, service, room and faciltiies have contributed to make your stay a memorable one!

We are looking forward to read your renewed stay very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Before we booked the hotel, we did not know it is a new one. the hotel is nice, and the restaurants are also good, services are good, everyone looks soooooo friendly, made me feel comfortable. Very near the Ile Lux Chef, we took the ABC taxi to go there. one suggestion, if we could get a better view room, would be excellent,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: we lived in room 608 and my friends were in 611, these two rooms are in one building, and it is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyG387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We are delighted to read your positive note with regards to the services and our team members.

We are looking forward to welcome you to meet your expectations, very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights. We had our wedding followed by our Honeymoon at the Ambre hotel.It was an amazing experience!! ALL the staff, from management to cleaners is absolutely fantastic. The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. All food at all the restaurants was a great variety & excellent quality. We went on the “all inclusive” and it was really worth it. Our wedding day was SUPER special and the hotel staff went out of their way to make this day just perfect.
I recon that this is one of the best beaches in Mauritius. Our treatments at the spa was great! Even 10 nights was too short. We will most definitely return to the Ambre very soon. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip unforgettable.

Room Tip: Superior room- spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liezlcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your wedding and honeymoon.

We are delighted to read that our team has contributed in making your Honeymoon stay in a memorable one and are glad to read your intention to renew your return to Ambre, whereby we wish to reassure you for another wonderful recall of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.1 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,681 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,863 reviews
16.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $285 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing