We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambre Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
$189
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$354
$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
$289
$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$462
$211
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
$183
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (4,321)
Filter reviews
4,321 results
Traveler rating
2,646
1,196
346
86
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,646
1,196
346
86
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral barla plagedolce vitabeach restaurantindigo buffetdogs and catsboat tripthomson repfive islandsitalian restauranttwo weekssea viewrum and cokea la carte restaurantsmet some great peoplesuperior roomall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,409 - 2,414 of 4,321 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I decided on Ambre to celebrate our birthdays as we saw it had just been refurbed and wanted somehthing shiny and new. Well we got more than we bargained for. From the minute we arrived at the resort we were treated like royalty. The impressive entrance and lobby is a welcomed vision after a long day of flying. Before you is the most beautiful swimming pool you have ever seen and just beyond that the azure ocean and white soft sandy beach. The rooms are great, comfortable and clean - our room maid Priya needs special mention because she kept our room immaculate and there were several surprises during our stay with gorgeous flower arrangements on our bed. The food was good but I would strongly recommend taking the All Inclusive option. In fact I would not even consider going there without take the All Inclusive. After 3 cocktails you have already paid for the AI. Plus you get to choose from the 3 restaurants with All Inclusive although we ate every night in the main dining room as we enjoyed the food and never bored of it.
Now onto the staff...I cannot say enough good things about this amazing team of people. First and foremost I have to mention my good friend Sundeep Seerkissoon, who for reasons I dont want to get into turned a problematic situation on our first night into the most wonderful experience my partner and I could ever have wished for - thanks Sundeep. Sundeep who is the head executive housekeeper should be running his own hotel as his level of service is incredible. His second in charge GoKool Gowtham also deserves as much praise and together they make a formiddable team. The staff at the Coral Bar were fantastic, nothing was ever too much trouble and they always had a smile on their faces.
The activities were more than adequate. There is a glass bottom boat that goes out every morning at 9:15 for free to a beautiful snorkelling spot. It leaves from the main boat-house area on the beach in front of the resort so dont get conned by people trying to charge you to take you out snorkelling when this facilitity is there every day for free...and again at 15h15 in the afternoon.
The beach and pool area is just spectacularly beautiful and we went around the island and looked at a few other resorts and none of them came close to what we had at Ambre.
Thank you to Allasandro, Sundeep, GoKool and all the rest of the wonderful staff at Ambre for making our holiday so special. We will be back....soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fortyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guests

We thank you for taking the time to rate our resort on Trip Advisor.

Your comments have been noted with great appreciation and are pleased to read about your satisfaction with regards to the services and facilities provided. Your high praise of the team members have been shared with them who contributed to your delights.

Looking forward to welcoming you for another wonderful recall.

sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is good, nice zen decor and amenities. Very good service. The only downsize is that prices are prohibitives for all drinks and there is no close option around so with kids it can become quite expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0v2dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor pertaining your recent stay at Ambre Hotel.

We are glad to read that you had great times. The point outilned relative to the drinks prices has been taken very constructive, which will assist us for any remedial action to better satisfy and serve our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another experience at Ambre.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ambre hotel is easy accessible from the airport about 20minutes drive, we were welcome with drinks and the staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and very close to the beach with breathtaking views. We spend a lot of time in the pool where drinks (many cocktail options and great local rum) were served. As this was me and my twin 30th Birthday the hotel went out of their way to make it special. Our rooms were upgraded and they baked us a special birthday cake! Our husbands went fishing in Grand Baie and the Hotel packed them lunch and drinks. We had an amazing stay at Ambre and I can recommend the spa, water sports, restaurants and excellent service from this Hotel. Ask for Jay at the bar..

Room Tip: room with a view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank estietwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro S, General Manager at Ambre Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind rating on Trip Advisor and read with great pleasure about your overall satisfaction with regards to the service and facilities offered at Ambre Hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another amazing experience at Ambre!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at hotel in the dark & checked in, Reception was OK.
Receptionist showed us around the pool & bar areas then took us to our room.
The walkway leading to our room was of Mono Block paved walkway, up until the entrance to our building, where it stopped abruptly & was of poured concrete type, which was broken & cracked with pieces missing.
This was not only unsafe but was not highlighted in anyway.
We walked up the stairways, which were also in need of repair, concrete was cracked & had been painted over. Not what you expect of 4 star hotel.
We were shown into our room. Which had an extra single bed in. The receptionist asked if we were happy if it was left there. We said no & asked if it could be, removed, as the room was not very big.
The furniture was Ikea (type if not original) & very sparse, not comfortable in anyway. Bed was OK.
The room was in my opinion of a 2 maybe 3 star quality.
We then went for dinner in the Indigo restaurant, which was the buffet we had our dinner with 2 glasses of wine & 1 bottle of water.
As we were tired we went back to our room to get a sleep. On the way back my wife who has Parkinson’s disease tripped on the broken concrete at the entrance to our building
In the room, I then worked out the price of the 2 glasses of wine & bottle of water which was approximately £30. We then noticed that we only had 2 complimentary tea bags & 2 coffee sachets. After that on Half board we had to buy tea & coffee for the room, which I thought was a bit of a liberty.
At that point we worked it out that it would be cheaper for us to go All Inclusive at these prices.

The following morning we upgraded to All inclusive at a cost of 45 Euros per night EACH, then went to see our white sands rep’, she asked us we were happy, we said No & explained & gave her some of our complaints.
She then said she would try & get a manager to see us.
A manager came over to see us, cant remember his name (white sands rep’ may remember) he appeared & was not in the least bit interested in anything we had to say, we asked if we could be moved to another hotel in the chain, he said yes but at extra cost. We declined that offer as we thought we had paid way over the odds already.
I then pointed out that the walkway at the entrance to our building was in need of repair. He then got a little bit angry saying that this was a, 2 hour job
(they, had starting working on it that morning). To my calculations it had taken them 4 months 2 weeks & 2 hours, as the Hotel opened in October last year!
He then said he would give us an upgrade to a Suite, which we reluctantly agreed to.
The All Inclusive deal does not include all meals & you still have to pay for tea & Coffee in the room.
Mini Bar on AI only gives you 2 bottles each of beer Coke & Sprite. If they have a special meal you don’t pay a supplement while on AI you have to pay the full price
If the hotel is any way busy, which it was on our first weekend as it was the Chinese New year, they cant cope, at the buffet on Saturday night we had to que for 25 minutes to get our meal. On Sunday night we went to the Italian Dolce’ Vita we had booked a table for 2000hrs, which was also very busy, we had to wait 30 minutes for a menu, then we when asked for a menu they staff were going up to tables to take the menus away form other guests, who had not finished with them.
The Staff in all the restaurants & Bar were excellent.
But there were not enough of them to cope.
Breakfast was a buffet, & most mornings the items on the hot plates were cold.
FYI if a family were to go on Ai Ice cream bars are not included, you can get a plate of ice cream, but that’s not what kids are looking for.
The pool & bar areas were excellent.
Beach was excellent.
On checking out, We were asked to pay for 2 items 3 martinis (not on Ai & 1 bottle of wine which was on Ai) which we never had & a bit of trouble trying to get them removed from the bill
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. And in our opinion if your are used to 4 star in Europe or Dubai for example this it is not a 4 Star compared to them

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brannybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The moment u enter the hotel - breath talking view,huge swimming pool and the blue sea.We were welcome by many smiling faces Mr Rajen Canniah EAM was there to welcome us.Cold towels and a refreshing tamarind fruit cocta.il ,just what we needed.We were escorted to our room .The room was clean and spacious.Excellent explanation re room n hotel.
Hats off to super Chef Mr Kallooa and his brigade.The taste,quality,display and varieties of dishes excellent 5 star.We did not like the sega show but we really enjoyed the belly dance especially the two funny guys.What a performance.Would like to thank Ashish,Brinda,Amar and Davina for their great service .WILL VISIT AGAIN ?

Room Tip: Request ground floor room not far from reception .
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khunchun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews